Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB E-commerce Delivery Services Instacart charging for services, double dipping into my bank acct and leaving charges pending
Instacart

Instacart review: charging for services, double dipping into my bank acct and leaving charges pending 8

D
Author of the review
12:28 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I ordered delivery from ralphs on3-23-2018 and was charged a hold deposit of 170.00. On same day the shopper from instacart (I just found out, I never signed up for) charged my credit card twice again for 132.57. On 3-24-2018. One charge went through and another (bouble billed) was left in pending for 132.57 - plus the deposit of 170.00 is still pending. They are doing this to hundreds or more of customers using their money until the customer demands correction. That is bank fraud and theft. I will never use anything powered by instacart again. I never even signed up for this service which is also fraud. I thought I was giving my money to ralphs. Watch out people instacart cant get their act together at the least, and is stealing at the most!

8 comments
Add a comment
W
W
whitewolf3861@gmail.com
US
Sep 22, 2018 5:05 pm EDT

I shopped and used instacart as I am disabled. I was going to use the bus but my disability would not even allow me to walk. I ordered over $200 in groceries which I thought was high and your outrageous service charge is ridiculous! After my order was delivered so many items were replaced that I could not use. I printed out my electronic receipt and added everything up and I was charged 23.78 too much. Contacted insta cart and got bs answers that did not even address my concern of how to get my money refunded. Not getting the weekly special is so unfair to your customer and they never used my tops bonus card to get the deals. What a rip off to poor disabled people. Just to make money and not pay your employees hardly anything. With your outrageous service charge how can anyone afford to give the poor shopper a tip? I will not ever use your service ever again. I will take a lift up for senior citizen and have an uber take me home they are cheaper than your stupid service charge. Keep this treatment up and you will most certainly lose customers and go out of business and a new honest one will take over. Shame on you!

L
L
led1958
US
Jul 17, 2021 2:16 pm EDT

Exactly the same theft experience with Insta-Cart in Indianapolis.

M
M
Mary AnnDS
US
Jul 26, 2019 9:15 am EDT

AVOID THIS COMPANY: Someone there used my bank account as a personal cookie jar. Twice I had unauthorized debits, one for $50.00 and one for $55.00. At the tine these amounts were taken, I had no orders in the system. I did get my money back. I also had an account hacked. Someone in Greensburo, North Carolina charged their gas to my account. InstaCart has offices there.

G
G
Greg210
US
Aug 04, 2021 10:59 am EDT

Had the same issue I'm reporting them to the attorney General

S
S
Sploots72
US
Aug 27, 2022 7:51 am EDT

Purchased through instacart yesterday. Expected the usual "pending hold" for the larger amount. Got my groceries. Usually by next day that amount is replaced by my ACTUAL grocery amount. Not today. I had both the larger amount AND the actual amount. Was told have to wait 3 to 5 business days for bank to drop the charge. DO NOT USE INSTACART.

R
R
Rick Kessel
US
Jan 21, 2023 10:34 pm EST

I had the same exact thing happen. I was charged twice $325 on my credit card! The customer service person talks in circles. They have no right to do this and it’s a constant battle.

I
I
Im Suing Instacart
Miami, US
Mar 15, 2023 7:48 am EDT

Instacart is a company that scams people! they will charge $50 + what you paid for & not drop the charge! you will have extra money out of your account, money that you didnt use on groceries/ items & theres nothing you can do! theyre stealing peoples money. Anyone wanna sue with me!?!?

A
A
AmandaPenn
Grand Prairie, US
Jul 07, 2023 2:03 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I ordered groceries yesterday and the amount was $237 and I think 77 cents and I look on my bank statement it says they are taking out $500.07. I tried to reach out to instacart and just like everybody else is explaining they give you the runaround saying that they are going to refund the $270. The problem is I only spent $237 and they're charging me twice for $270. I now have to wait 5 to 7 days to see if they refund it all. I have a special needs son. I do not have a lot of extra money laying around. The thing is I have been a customer of theirs for years and never had this problem. Talking to customer service was horrible. They're automated help system was worse. I ended up calling my very nice Bank and they are helping me through this.

  1. Instacart Contacts

  2. Instacart phone numbers
    +1 (888) 246-7822
    +1 (888) 246-7822
    Click up if you have successfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (888) 246-7822 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (888) 246-7822 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (888) 246-7822 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (888) 246-7822 phone number
    +1 (910) 817-2278
    +1 (910) 817-2278
    Click up if you have successfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (910) 817-2278 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (910) 817-2278 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (910) 817-2278 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (910) 817-2278 phone number
    +1 (415) 689-5799
    +1 (415) 689-5799
    Click up if you have successfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (415) 689-5799 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (415) 689-5799 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (415) 689-5799 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Instacart by calling +1 (415) 689-5799 phone number
    More phone numbers
  3. Instacart emails
  4. Instacart address
    Blue Shield of California Building, 50 Beale St. Suite 600, San Francisco, California, 94105, United States
  5. Instacart social media
  6. Janet
    Checked and verified by Janet This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jul 12, 2024
Trending companies