The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Info Experian Directcharging acct and now acct bounced due to the charge. no permission to charge acct.

I went online to check my bank acct and found that there are charges going to my acct of $14.95. I do not understand why. My husband nor I ever approved for the monies to come out. Now my acct bounced from this transaction. $61 overcharge fee. This is rediculous. They should not be allowed to take the monies and should have to pay the monies back that were taken without consent. I see at least three times when they took the monies. that is $105.85 that should not be on me.

Responses

  • Be
    BenL51 Oct 25, 2009

    Police reports, credit dispute letters, results and Federal Trade Commission documents available. This company stole money from my credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slimpickins Nov 11, 2009

    This happened to me today to. Same amount, same company. I never agreed to a subscription. They just randomly charged me out of the blue like 6 months after I got a credit report. Kinda ironic, a Credit report company using business practices that can trash your credit...what crooks. Fortunately, my bank caught the charge as fraud and declined, but alerted me nonetheless. I guess its the last time I get a credit report from experian.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CatinaBrown Nov 15, 2009

    This has happened to us on several occasions now! We have been trying to find the site that is charging our account without our consent but today is the first day that I was able to locate one. This month alone they have charged my account $14.95 twice. I will be contacting them tomorrow but I am sickened at the fact that they think they can do this to consumers! Enough is enough!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rockygirlcat Nov 15, 2009

    I also did not authorize Info Experian Direct to charge me $14.95 a month. How did this happen? I will be stopping payments immediately. How did they get into my ATM account to do this? I am outraged! What can I do to stop this from happening to others?
    A Very Angry Rockygirlcat

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    aryj Nov 20, 2009

    i am being charge 14.95 a month for something i don't want .I need to know how I can stop this charge. I did not approve this charge.

    0 Votes
  • Uj
    Ujust wiat Nov 29, 2009

    Exact same thing happened to me. I was charged $14.95 a month for 6 months and customer service said they can only return one month of charge to me since by not telling them I don't want the membership after 7 day trial period I authorized them to charge me. I asked to talk to the manager, they said he is busy and I should take my complaint and write a letter to a POB. I did and never heard back from them. This is a dirty trick they play on us the innocent consumer. I probably threw away their membership letter in the trash since I get hundreds of junk mails and they knew so they prey on this. This is not a matter of money, it's deceptive business practice and if they can con 20 customers a day they will make millions of dollars in a few month. This calls for a class action lawsuit.

    Angry and won't let up Ujustwait.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    RENEE EVERNHAM Nov 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I JUST WENT INTO ONE OF MY CREDIT CARDS AND FOUND A CHARGE, I DO NOT REMEMBER . IT WAS FOR "INFO.EXPERIANDIRECT.CO" IN THE AMOUNT OF $47.58. PLEASE EXPLAIN THIS CHARGE TO ME. OR BETTER YET REVERSE THE CHARGES BACK TO MY ACC'T.
    thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    Nyn Vasquez Dec 01, 2009

    Call them. You might have been scammed like my husband was. He wanted a free credit report and instead was signed up for a free trial for seven days. If he did not cancel before then he would be agreein to join and charged $29.95 monthly. Find out their website, get their number and credit card charged. Ask them to cancel you subscription to whatever it is they are subscribing you to. Do it soon since my husband was only refunded present month. When you call I suggest you get the name of the person you are talking to and their agent number if they have one. Keep it for your records. We cancelled our "account" and yet were billled again just yesterday. So when you call you can have some refernce, because they will probably try to keep charging you otherwise.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    masc Dec 04, 2009

    Stop this nonsense of charging people for services that were not properly explained nor ordered, this is the perfect recipe for a class action lawsuit that Experian Direct will end up with, , there are demonstrating the classic predators that are in this world!! I have been charge the sum of $14.95 for three or more months for services I don't even know about. I called my credit card company and they will put a stop to this, as I am not the only one that has experience this, , This people should be ashamed of themselves for being part of a credit monitoring company and someone in the government should be monitoring their practices as well. I will make sure that a class action lawsuit is filed against this company and will never use their services ever again.

    Beyond Angry.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MIKE CONNELY Dec 09, 2009

    THESE PEOPLE ARE INCREDIBLY DISHONEST AND HAVE NO CONSCIENCE ABOUT STEALING AND LYING ABOUT THEIR SERVICES. THE CHARGES THEY STICK TO UNSUSPECTING CONSUMERS ARE TOTALLY UNREASONABLE. THEY LET UNAUTHORIZED PEOPLE BILL A CREDIT CARD THAT DOES NOT EVEN BELONG TO THEM AND THEN REFUSE TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR PERPETUATING A CONTINUED FRAUD. I HOPE THEY ALL BURN.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Vasile Dec 15, 2009

    I also got a fraudulent withdrawal of 14.95 from my checking account. Called my bank and they called Experian and we had a conference call. Experian will not refund my money
    stating that I requested a credit report in back in May which is a bunch of bull. Experian said they will not deduct any more money from my checking acct. Woopy but I'm still out $14.95. At least call Experian and have them cancel future deductions

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Wolf Metzner Dec 16, 2009

    Same problem here in Austin TX.
    Has anybody found a way to get rid of these charges?
    Wolf Metzner
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Eddie121 Dec 17, 2009

    I'm the latest to be caught in this fraudulent scheme; charged 14.95 for two months before noticing it and like many of you Experian won't rescind the charges. Ujuswait and Masc, your class action lawsuit seems like a good idea.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sawedoff Dec 21, 2009

    I have the same problem. Luckily, I caught it immediately, so only incurred one month. But it took me over 10 minutes to convince the woman on the phone that I don't want the 14.95 package or the 9.95 package or the 5 dollar package, I am trying to CANCEL. (Needless to say, I am steamed.)

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dikshenari Dec 21, 2009

    For the last few months I have been billed by experian on my credit card for credit reports I neither requested nor used. You have been continuing to charge my Bank of America credit card (no. [protected], ref. no. 24351789341372532888181.) I WANT THIS TERMINATED IMMEDIATELY AND MY EXPERIAN ACCT. CLOSED.

    0 Votes
  • In
    in_syte Dec 23, 2009

    I fell victim of this experian direct scam this Dec 2009. I went to experian.com to check my credit score. While I browsed their website I saw the their offer for a free credit report and score. I clicked on it and applied noting that they offer it free for 30 days before charging the credit card. But to my amazement, I caught them charging my credit after only 9 days hence I am now in the process of disputing with my bank. I am not sure where else to complain about their scam. Please email me if you have an idea at [email protected] TY.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MAD AT THE WHOLL PROCESS Dec 25, 2009

    This has happen to me and I want to know howto stop it. I cancelled the subscription within tha alloted time frame not to be charged and I did notice the charges until they had colleted two payments. This is nonsense and should be stopped. I want to scream for what I have to go throught to stop them from charging my acount.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    David Schmidt Jan 04, 2010

    Went to Experian website to get credit report and automatically got signed up for credit protection service I did not want. I thought I had followed all of the rules about cancelation, but still got a monthly charge that I didn't pick up until six months later. Ironic, the people who advertize a service to notify you of unautherized credit card use, uses your credit card to rip you off.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen Drew Jan 11, 2010

    On Credit CARD statement, charged $16.28, WHAT FOR???????Please explain...

    1 Votes
  • He
    Helen Drew Jan 11, 2010

    Please explain why I am being charged $16.28, what for and I hope not again...

    1 Votes
  • Xx
    XxSP311B0UNDxX Jan 23, 2010

    i have also been charged the past 3 months with a total of $48.84, after canceling this service... i understood that when you sign up, you get the FIRST MONTH free but additional monthly charges every month. I did cancel the service but, just noticed that they were still charging me 3 months later... i am glad i just noticed this now.. so i called (which the phone number was hard to get ahold of) and talked to the woman nicely and she told me that their was an issue with the computer systems and i will be refunded the money in the next 7 to 10 business days...

    You all just have to read the fine print, because it has happened to me before with Acai Berry pills and i was overdrawn my bank account and took forever to get refunded for all the fee's!

    1 Votes
  • Su
    sue killgore Feb 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went online to get my 3 free credit reports and was charged $24.95 and $39.95 for the reports, even though the website stated that the reports were free if you cancelled the membership within 9 days. I got the repports on 2/06 and cancelled on 2/10. That seems like within 9 days, but I guess I can't count. When I complained, they said I had used the service so I had to pay for it. I have sent letters to my credit card company and Experian's address given to me by the very nice but completely clueless operator I spoke with at Experian. We will see what comes of it. I have an attorney friend who may write a letter for me if needed.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frederick J. Feb 15, 2010

    I checked my neice's credit report & score in October for to show her how they worked. INFO.EXPERIANDIRECT.COM started charging her debit card and my credit card $14.95 on the 28th of each month starting on 10/28/09. I did not sign my neice or myself up for their service. When I contacted the company, there started asking me all sorts of personal questions. Had I signed up for a legitimate service, they would have already had my imformation. As luck would have it they charged my AMEX card. On my January AMEX bill, I have been credited with the four charges of $14.95. A total of $59.80

    I have contacted the FBI to inform them of this fraud.

    1 Votes
  • 3b
    3bears Feb 18, 2010

    Experian Direct is ridiculous! freecreditreport.com is so misleading! I signed up to get a "free" credit report and was charged $14.95 on my account. I called to find out what that was and they give me this line about how it is clearly stated in the terms and conditions of the website. The trial period is only seven days. At least I caught it after the first charge. They said the amount was not refundable. What a joke!

    Annoyed.

    1 Votes
  • Em
    Embittered Feb 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went to freecreditreport.com to receive my "FREE" credit report only to find out that I am now being charged $14.95 a month for nothing. I can not find a phone number to dispute the charges. I called my credit card card company and they are disputing the charges but can not assure me that it will not happen next month. I could not find a phone number on Experian's website to dispute these charges. This is absurd. What don't they understand about the word FREE!!!

    Very Angry.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Realtor2009 Feb 22, 2010

    Don't ever use free FREECREDITREPORT.COM OR INFO.EXPERIANDIRECT.COM. This company offers Free credit, but what they want is to charge you a monthly membership for $15.88 per person. I was charged twice, I cancel last month and they still charged me for the present month. VERY ANGRY .

    -1 Votes
  • Co
    COMPL'D Feb 23, 2010

    Freecreditreport.com & Infoexperiandirect.com Are RIP Offs & By The Way Both Are One In The Same. I Called To Complaint Of Their BOGUS Charges Of $14.95 & Their So Called Manager Informs Me That I Need To File A Police Report Then Fax Over My "Notorized" Police Report To [protected] With Some Reference # That He Gave Me. I AM REPORTING THEM TO THE BBB ASAP!!

    I WAS GIVEN THEIR ADDRESS OF...
    P.O. BOX 19729
    Irvine, CA 92623

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BERTHA FRANCO Feb 25, 2010

    INFO.EXPERIANDIRECT HAS BEEN TAKE $14.95 FOR FIVE MONTHS ALL TOGETHER TOTAL $74.75 FROM MY ACCOUNT WITH OUT MY PERMITION, THIS FRAUD
    PLEASE I NEED THIS MONEY AS SOON IF POSSIBLE IF I WILL TAKE TO COURT
    BERTHA FRANCO

    0 Votes
  • An
    anal h patel Mar 08, 2010

    hi i just saw the site and the website was showing free credit score check without any charge for 30 days then after we will take charge but it charged to me from my account by direct debit thats the cheating with the costumer this is fraud site i need refund my money otherwise i will take strickley step against this company. it charged to me £19.95 pls refund me .

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    tuber Apr 05, 2010

    Exact same experience. Pretty much word for word. They must have a script and training on how to deal with this. General rule, don't do business with companies that try to reassure you that their product is not a scam on their website. But, it's hard to follow that if you don't even sign up! You have to wonder about a company that has on it's website the following...

    "Is this a scam?"

    "Answer:
    -No, this is not a scam. We go to great lengths to include enrollment disclosures and to disclose the terms of our offer on our websites, emails and advertisements. We also ask that our customers agree to our terms and conditions before the transaction can be completed to further ensure the customers understand the agreement.
    -If you received a charge on your billing statement, it was because you elected not to cancel your membership before the 7-day free trial expired. This style of membership offer is fairly common and is being used online by video game companies, movie and music providers, and even other credit monitoring companies."


    I'm also sure that if you actually do submit a police report, that it would disappear into some back hole, and you'd never hear from them again.

    My advice -
    Keep asking for a full refund, insist on it - calmly and respectfully.

    Keep asking for a higher supervisor.

    Insist on having them send a record of exactly when you "ordered" their service and a phone number from which you called.

    Don't agree to a submit a police report, this is way too much of a hassle (and they know you won't do it anyway).

    Let them know that you're filing complaints with the attorney general, BBB, your credit card company, and actually do so!

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    tuber Apr 05, 2010

    I just got off the phone with "customer service". After an hour of round and round, nothing was solved. He just kept telling me to write to the Consumer Affairs division and file a police report. I asked for their phone number and he said that they didn't have it. Come on - a whole department without a phone number!!! I asked to speak with a supervisor, who was a real...jerk. She wouldn't give me the phone number either.

    I looked on the their website, and it says that if you're a victim of fraud, "we'll hold your hand through the whole process...". I told him that since I'd been paying for their services, with their help, I'd like to start a fraud complaint, against Experian. This stumped him for a bit, but then he went back into his..."write to consumer affairs..." bit. Then he told me to call the FTC and actually gave me their phone number! They're second on my list to call after the BBB, then the Attorney General.

    These people are totally incompetent! Think about if you actually did call them for a legit reason, about a credit problem. My guess is that they wouldn't have a clue about what to do. It was also obvious that he was eating and sounded like reading a newspaper or something through the whole call...I guess it was probably dinner time in India, from where he was calling...

    Anyhow, I don't blame the phone reps for their incompetence - it's a job, and I'd have a hard time caring if I had a job like that, but this business has got to go!!!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lois Callan Apr 07, 2010

    I wish you would also post on this site, information on how to contact Experian and cancel these charges. I did sign up for a 3-month subscription for $25.95. I only accessed it 1 ONE time and, since the first month, have been charged $14.95 on my credit card. I went online and told them to cancel my subscription. Since then I have had two more charges for $14.95. HELP.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    American Citizen Apr 09, 2010

    I too found this to be a sneaky way to steal innocent people's money.
    I filed a dispute with my Discovercard customer service and was told that they
    had the right to take this money. I never authorized anything of the such.
    This has been going on since last year. I finally was given a phone number
    of [protected] to call and cancel my membership. I did call and somebody
    that sounded Indian or something like that tried to talk me into keeping my
    account. You know that I put my foot down on the subject. Anyway I was told that they would cancel my account by the end of next week.
    I guess that they want their last payment. :(

    Good Luck to you all with your attempt to cancel..

    0 Votes
  • Am
    American Citizen Apr 09, 2010

    Let me update everybody with a C&P of my correspondence with them.
    I just received this message so, I can say that they did cancel my membership.============

    We’re sorry to see you go! But we would like to thank you for choosing Experian Direct® as your credit monitoring provider.

    This e-mail confirms that we have received your request to cancel your membership. We are currently processing your request, and this change will take effect on 4/19/2010.

    No further monthly membership fees will be applied to your credit card.

    Rest assured, you will still have unlimited access to the many features and benefits of Experian Direct until 4/19/2010, when your membership expires. At that time, you will receive a final cancellation confirmation e-mail.

    We hope you enjoyed your Experian Direct Membership benefits. Should you decide to keep your membership, simply call us toll-free at [protected].
    Your Experian Direct membership gives you the confidence you need to look after your credit. We encourage you to log-in regularly to take full advantage of the benefits your membership has to offer, such as unlimited access to your Credit Report and Score Tracker. Notifications like this are an important part of your membership, and in helping you stay on top of your Credit.

    Sincerely,

    Douglas Sash
    Vice President of Customer Care
    Experian Direct
    Customer Care
    [protected]
    Monday-Friday from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.,
    Saturday-Sunday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    japri01 Apr 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this same thing happen to me; apparantly this "free" viewing of your credit report isnt so free after all. when you view your credit report; although it said $0.00 it charges you 14.95 after 9 days if you do not call them up and cancel your "automated membership." in the terms and agreement; they say that in order to see the credit report we will be automatically signed up and charged $14.95 on a month to month basis unless canceled and the fee is non-refundable. when i called them; all they could do is cancel my membership and not refund me the $14.95 back. this was a very misleading advertisement. try calling experian customer service at [protected] to resolve it. maybe you'll have better luck than me.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Matthews May 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    credit experian, told me i can have a free credit check, got my bank statement this morning, and they are taking £19.95 per month, through my debit card which i did nit authorize, went to the bank and they said they cannot stop it.How do i go about stopping it and getting my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Matthews May 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    where is my help, and what do i do now,

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Matthews May 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    where is my help, how can i mark this as being useful, when it is not useful, you are leaving stuck here, with no further advice, what am i suppose to do, you can't just leave me stuck here like this

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reallyticked May 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me. I am ticked about it. 14.95 has been charged without my knowing for I don't know how many months. I never signed up for anything, and I don't how it happened. How do we start a class action law suit. I think that we all should. This is fraudulent.

    0 Votes
  • K1
    k1983 Aug 27, 2010

    This JUST happened to me yesterday. What a bunch of scam artists! I thought I was going to pay $1.00 for the report/score but when I checked my bank account online, lo and behold was the $14.95 charge! I had called about 15 minutes after I reviewed and printed my report/score to cancel any membership I may have been immediately signed up for (you don't get the option of not signing up for it) and the guy said "ok you're all set you should get a confirmation email within 24 hours." It is nearing the 24 hour mark and I havent gotten anything. If the $1.00 charge was all there was, fine, but $15.00?!?!? I called again (the number is: [protected] by the way) and the girl told me "you must have opted out of the free trial membership" I said, NO i did not i did everything the website asked for, got my report, then saw the $14.95 charge. Then she said something about "you're talking about experiendirect, not experian" which confused the hell out of me. Now i get ot write a freaking LETTER to california to [censor] about it. This one girl kept saying "you don't have any membership with us" to which I said, I knoiw, I cancled it 15 minutes ago. Then at the end of the conversation while she's telling me to write a letter, she says "and here's your membership number blah blah" and I said, so wait, you're telling me I am not a member of anything but I have a membership number?? and she says "yeah, its not really a membership number, its a transaction number" so why is it CALLED A MEMBERSHIP NUMBER??? wtf! anyway there is my rant! I have so much anxiety about this because if they keep charging me month after month I will be so PISSED!! How can they do this to people? Douchbags!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.