The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Harvey Normanlie to facilitate agreement

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Dear Complaints Board,
Is there an email address to contact the Harvey Norman head franchise office about a customer complaint? I have the following complaint regarding service from the Southlands - Kalgoorlie, Western Australia store.

I purchased a Panasonic 42inch Plasma Television from Harvey Norman on Saturday 15th of July. I was required to take the invoice to the warehouse at the rear of the store where the Storemen gave me the Television and accessories boxes. I travelled home then assembled and set-up the Television in my house. Just as I had finished two Harvey Norman Storemen arrived at my doorstep and told me that they had given me the wrong Television unit. They told me that the unit I was given was an older version of the same Television and they had bought around a newer version for me. They dismantled the Television I had purchased and then I had to assemble and set up the television they had bought to my house.

I have subsequently found out that they actually had given me a newer version of the television with HDTV and not an older version. So they lied to me, maybe to facilitate my agreement to give them back the television I had purchased. I can see why the Storemen were so eager to take the Television I had been originally given.

I was going to purchase a HDTV converter and new gas stove with hotplates from Harvey Norman next month but they have lost my business due to this situation with my Television purchase.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Harvey Norman's response · Jul 14, 2016

    Hi Anitole,

    I sent you a PM requesting some more details. Very sorry to hear about the delays on your fridge repairs. We'll just need to grab your contact details so we can follow this up with the franchisee and store you purchased from. Please check your PM's when you get a chance.

    Kind regards,
    Karl - HN Customer Service Team

  • Updated by Troubledstaff · Apr 21, 2018

    Mcgraths Hill NSW 2763

  • Updated by JohnBeer · Jun 14, 2018

    already done

    Harvey Norman robbing thieving [censored] do not give cash back

  • Updated by Bubbles1234 · Oct 28, 2018

    I have taken the phone to the shop an they can't find a fault and I would like to get a refund for the phone today or I will be going higher

  • Updated by Mother Tereasa · Feb 27, 2020

    Shoutout to Mrs Bernie O'Brian

Responses

  • Mo
    Mother Tereasa Mar 04, 2020

    I have recantly bought a FitBit versa 2 for 199.99 Euros but I have found one online for 199.95 Euros I would have saved 4 cents A COMPLETE RIPOFF I will bring this case to court unless you give me a free FitBit versa 2

    I am not happy with your service
    very disappionting tut tut tut and wisht extra maths

    -1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jillian Jones Aug 25, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Paid $3100.for a leather lounge & 2 recliner chairs. There is only the 2 of us with no family or kids. The flimsy and faulty piece inside the recliner chairs snapped off. We eventually had them fixed. Obviously the problem keeps occurring because of the cheap mechanism. WE feel bullied and demeaned by the way we are spoken to by HN staff.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Jh
    jhon201 Jun 25, 2019

    Hi harvey norman batemans bay n.s.w australia staff are on drugs most of the town know that kerryn and jason cooper are on drugs aswell as most of the staff there

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Bubbles1234 Nov 04, 2018

    The phone is only a week old and I have taken the phone to the shop 2 times already and they reckon that they can't find a fault so I would like a refund today and also they found stuff in the mic part

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kaitlin murray Oct 16, 2018

    We brought a hb computer, the salesman said we needed a premium home care service to be able to use our computer, so we brought it and realised we didnt need the service tried taking it back but they would only give us a refund of $50 for it, after we had paid $200. I thought id seek help here before contacting fair trading

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Steele Sep 11, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You have got to be kidding, who do you pay to supply the most stupid adds. You've gone from the annoying beeps, to the incredibly ridicules Stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, stamp, crap,
    NO WAY WILL THIS GET ME iNTO ANY OF YOUR STORES

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laney2060 Sep 05, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Went to Harvey Norman's Electric department in Bairnsdale, saw Salesman I liked dealing with and waited for him to finish up his current customer. Another salesman named Gary came up to me and asked if he could help me, I politely declined. Gary I turn became rude, grunting at me and walking away muttering to himself. He won't serve me at all now

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Troubledstaff Aug 21, 2018

    http://tiny.cc/tm3vsy

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JohnBeer Aug 15, 2018

    [protected] Thursday John bought $44.00 Norton with $20 cash back

    John did not receive the $20 cash back

    Endeavours this morning to get it resulted in Harvey Norman disconnecting phone call 3 times

    Harvey Norman obviously do not want to give the $20 cash back

    Robbing thieving [censored] who do not honour promise of $20 cash back

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lyn Fowler Nov 15, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have made a complaint which was apparently referred to Lithgow store for resolution. This has been ignored.

    So I am not impressed at all with customer service and have no alternative than to go to the Consumer Affairs Tribunal.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Edridge Apr 21, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't buy from Harvey Norman they do not stand by their warranty, we purchase 13000.00 worth of stuff off Harvey Norman one tap worth approx $90 had a split down the bottom of the spout after two years, it has a 10 year warranty. When we went onto their site a chat line came up we explained what had happened, the chat person told us to take the tap back for a replacement. Today we did this, no replacement offered we were told to take the tap home reinstall it so an experienced technician could come and determine if it was faulty. I told him to look at the tap, can you see the slit he says he's not qualified to see the split??? Me think he's not qualified to work at Harvey Norman. He was the store Manager?????? I think HN has hit the bottom with this manager this was the Maroochydore superstore.. Don't buy anything off them same deal with a computer we purchased off them, honestly I will never deal with them again. At least at other places if something goes wrong they will replace like for like...

    1 Votes
  • Derni Pty Ltd May 12, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Linda Edridge Hi Linda, apologies we didn't see this sooner. Sending you a PM now to get more details so we can follow up further for you. Appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
    Kind regards,
    Karl - HN Customer Service Team

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lewis Borg Nov 28, 2016

    Hello, on sunday 27-11-2016 I rang Launceston store about a flavour stone fry pan I bought about 6 years ago, it had a 10 year gaurantee, , asked if I had a receipt, I said I did'nt, I was told I need a receipt for a refund or replacement, then I was told to come into the store to decide what could be done, , when I arrived at the store after driving from Kings Meadows on my day off and waiting for a considerable amount of time was confronted by the stores manager and was told without looking a the fry pan that I was not entitled to a refund, that's when I saw red after he told me to come into the store to see what could be done, this experience cost me my time and expense going into the store when it could have been delt with over the phone, i am very angry over the arrogance displayed by your staff, I'm not after any replacement or refund for the fry pan just compensation for my time and expence lost in this fiasco, a response would be appreciated asap, ,
    KIND REGARDS
    LEWIS BORG

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    George ONeil Nov 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don't want to go into too much detail, partly because I have enough and I am totally wound up by Harvey Norman. My problem is Harvey Norman Renovations. I just want to say to anyone thinking of using them to stay far away. my whole experience with them has been an absolute disgrace. Harvey likes to say cheap cheap cheap. Well it definitely is. An absolute expensive disaster. They con you into paying the whole amount, which I have and I still don't have a toilet, shower or vanity.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jerry Meek Sep 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My children required CA FL-141 last month and used a document management site with lots of form templates . If others are searching for CA FL-141 too, here's https://goo.gl/GUHDh7

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sanjee Aug 31, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a washing machine on 13th May 2012 and should have been delivered within a month. However, till today (1st Oct'12) I haven't receive my machine.

    1 Votes
  • Tj
    t james Aug 31, 2016

    purchased a Fuji camera as a xmas gift for daughter. The camera was supposed to be shock proof, water proof ect. Daughter used it once and discovered that it was faulty and not working. Returned to Harvey Norman and was served by the most condescending rude staff imaginable and told that the camera would be sent for repairs.
    I explained that I did not want a repaired camera but a perfect new one.
    We went on to have un returned phone calls, staff telling me to have a drink of water in a quiet place, and so forth. I have never encountered anything like it. Phoned dept of fair trading and was advised I am perfectly in my rights to get a replacement New camera or a refund, yet I am still waiting for Harvey Norman staff to ring me as they literally wont really discuss it. Oh and at no time did I raise my voice or have an abusive manner - but I am starting to think I should !!!

    1 Votes
  • Pk
    pkld Aug 31, 2016

    Back in December 2006 we bought a Janda Maddison Lounge Suite from Harvey Norman for well over $5000 and we have had nothing but trouble with the lounge. It has had 5 repairs mainly with the structure breaking 3 times, lounges sagging, and we noticed 2 small spots where the Leather started peeling after 12 months, and leather cracking, even though we bought their recommended leather cleaning/conditioning products, to be told “sorry, you’re just out of warranty”. Each pick up and repair took months which meant that some of us would have to sit on the floor. After a “Friendly” visit from the Harvey Norman Franchisee, we were told he noticed our 20kg 3yo daughter mistreating our lounge by flopping on them, so we have been mistreating our lounge. Not once has she caused the frame to snap, and if this expensive lounge can’t handle a small child, when it is suppose to be manufactured to 130kg, I want nothing more to do with it! Our warranty soon runs out and we have been told they will only repair it one more time and that’s it even if we still have warranty left. I am sick of being treated like we have done something wrong and looking at this 4yo, poor quality, peeling, cracking, sagging lounge, with many other issues, too many problems to list, I am disgusted! Never will our family and friends ever buy Janda or buy from a Harvey Norman store again after the many tears I have had dealing with these Australian companies. Where are you now Gerald Harvey, not even your head office wants to help us?

    1 Votes
  • Li
    licence8 Aug 31, 2016

    I live in rural WA and went on the Harvey Norman site to source out a Trax Red Car Bed but went online to the main site of HN and sourced about 5 different main suburbs in Perth WA to try and get a price, availability and shipping price.
    Not only could I not get a price from the city stores, i tried both our country stores but all stores had none available.
    If they want us to shop local they need to make their website user friendly and surely main shops should have certain items available.
    I have found the same item over east and the price and shipping so easily so why do we bother trying to do the right thing by our WA businesses.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anitole Jul 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    9 weeks later still waiting for my wirlpool fridge to be fixed .Why does Harvey Norman Bye Fridges into Australia that do not have spare parts .Not good enough Harvey Norman.

    If you cant have these parts in Australia the very lest you can do is have the part air freighted in just a few days, I would never buy another fridge again without noing if your carrying spare parts to that fridge, We can all go without tv, micro, and many other items most of us are very understanding that things breakdown.But to wait 9 weeks without fridge and still waiting is a disgrace and un AUSTRALIAN.

    1 Votes
  • Gl
    Gloot May 13, 2016

    Just disappointed in reading so many complaints about transactions with hn
    also disgusted that there are no responses from hn to any of the complaints
    makes me more disappointed as i have had similar experiences and ... Would move away from any more dealings with hn

    peter lismore

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joel Mallett Dec 27, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had such a bad experience buying a laptop from Harvey Norman that I made a YouTube video about it: https://youtu.be/8gMeC3MVPTc
    I was lied about so many things!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Serve well Oct 13, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is shocking. What a mess.

    I am still waiting for management to address numerous emails about faulty products. It seems that someone is deleting emails.

    Harvey Norman don't seem to care and are causing problems to grow and grow.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Collapsed Mattress Oct 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't buy from Harvey Norman WATERGARDENS! 

    They will sell you a bed base that will eventually make your mattress springs collapse causing excruciating pain and severe back issues! Then the franchise owner will belittle you, speak to you in a condescending manner, not apologise and admit they still sell these types of mattresses with the incorrect bases! 

    Even the mattress manufacturer inspe ctors stated that they do it all the time and don't learn their lesson or care about the repercussions to their customers. There is no duty of care for their customers health and wellbeing! 

    They are the only company who choose to withhold the imperative information to customers NOT to use a posture slat base with a pocket spring mattress!! Even worse they sell it to you! 

    My husband and I purchased a mattress and bedroom suite from Harvey Norman Watergardens in 2009. It was a long process but we finally found a mattress we were both happy with. About 2 years ago my husband started having back issues and I started having pain in my hips. At this point although my husband thought it was the mattress, I unfortunately didn't agree. The pain in my hips became worse this year and began to spread to my lower back then upper back. I was going to osteos, physios getting xrays etc trying to identify what the cause was. I was waking up from the excruciating pain and had to get out of bed for it to dissipate. Finally I realized that the only time I was suffering from this pain was when I was in bed. We then thought it was maybe time to change the mattress but had only had it for just over 5 years. While speaking to other bedding experts we realized that our pocket spring mattress was not meant to be on a posture slat bed as purchased from the so called bedding experts at Harvey Norman. We inspected our mattress with a broom stick and confirmed that it had sunk in the middle. The mattress manufacturer came out to inspect and confirmed that not only has the mattress sunk in the middle the mattress has completely collapsed due to the incorrect base provided to us. The franchise owner refuses to take any responsibility for this pure negligence, and is only offering a repair.

    She has not once apologized for the terrible experience and pain and suffering we have endured. Rather she has been condescending and belittled the fact it took us too long to acknowledge our mattress was the issue. Well I'm sorry but we don't have xray vision to see that the springs have completely collapsed on the inside of our mattress! 

    ACCC clearly indentifies that this is a major fault. Particularly when it has caused pain and suffering and particularly when we would not have purchased this if we new this would happen! 

    I strongly advise to anyone out shopping for a mattress to only trust a bedding specialist and not the cowboys at Harvey Norman! 

    The support office doesn't bother to assist you and just throws it back to the franchise operator saying it's their decision how to deal with it. Maybe you all need to refresh your ACCC compliance training and rethink how you sell, what you sell, the retailers duty of care and what constitutes a major fault! 

    Will see you at vcat soon!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Serve well Sep 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I suggest you go to the website - but keep a copy. They hate being contacted with complaints so they will try and ignore you so you go away - of course in the meantime we all hear about their poor customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Serve well Sep 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am still waiting for my complaint to be dealt with - there seems to be an unofficial policy of deleting complaints - this can only make things worse. It's been a few months now. They just don't seem to care. Could close down due to poor sales soon.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mia Augustinović Sep 03, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi guys. I want to make a complaint also about the service here in Croatia. The employees were very impolite when I received the wrong couch, and told me that it was my fault, that I ordered the wrong one.

    Now I'm looking for their contact email for the head office of the store (I assume the head office is in Australia), but I can't find any email. Does any of you know where can I send an email?
    Thank you in advance!

    1 Votes
  • Se
    Serve well Jul 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Stella, that is a shocking. It is not good enough. I will talking about this with colleagues tomorrow.I am sick of their advertisements - they just don't care about their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Serve well Jul 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There seems a culture to ignore customer complaints - delete them. I know a few customers that are furious.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    keithmyth Jul 25, 2015

    Firstly it is really sad i had to write a complaint about Harvey norman that is such a nice brand i have been trusted so much when i buy products.

    on 30/06/15 i visted Coburg Harvey norman to buy washing machine and vacuum. ordered LG washing machine 7.5kg and Dyson handstick vacuum.

    They said these items are not in stock at the moment therefore i need to wait for few weeks to receive them, however it will be free of charge with delivery.

    Until 24/07/15 i have been waiting for them to contact me but never happened.
    i had to contact coburg store at 1540, spoken to one of assistant, confirmed that all items are arrived they are ready to be delivered tommorrow.
    i was so happy despite no one even rang me eariler to inform that these items are ready. John said cannot gurantee the time of delivery will be about 9am to 5pm.

    At 2;30pm delivery man came.He fixed washing machine and came into paying remaing amount. then i asked him " where is my vacuum ?" he said i dont know only i have in my list is washing machine that is it. I was getting a bit unhappy about the service, and rang coburg store immediately.

    Manager in Coburg said on the phone he doesnot know about vacuum and started just blaming about John who has spoken with me. But had to hang up in the middle of conversation as i had to make payment with washing machine then delivery man can leave. i was not happy however i didnot want to waste this man's time so i made payment.

    After delivery gone, i contacted the store again, tried to speak manager but was not avaiable. He called back at about 1505pm.

    I addressed my concens to him because i expected him to explain and find a good way to resolve my concerns, but his statement was really abruptive+++
    and said ' you need to come and take your vacuum' that was shocking because I decided to buy the products at the first time because they will be delivered with free delivery fee. but now what he said was ' you need to come and take items by myself'.

    In my understanding, manager should be on the side with customer and tried to understand our concerns not creating additional problems.
    his attitude and statements were really shocking. Over the phone he was yelling at me and speaking loudly when i was explaining. Also he just interfered during i was expressing my concerns by cutting up my sentence.

    Therefore i have to speak up not only for my self for benefits of whole harvey norman. Because he is representitive of Harvey norman, right?

    it was not only first time to buy items from harvey norman. I have been in clayton, city all place of store, and i always had best service.

    However, this time i could not stand with thess concens expectially with manager at Coburg, that is simply ruining whole image of harvey norman.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Serve well Jul 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am absolutely fed up with Harvey Norman - they seem to treat customers so badly. I am still waiting for my complaint to be dealt with re my non-working VCR and cable. They seem to be not even responding to complaints. If this continues, I think Harvey Norman will soon close down.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Stella Cheung Jul 14, 2015

    I'm told you can send your complaint through the following link: http//j.mp/FB-Contact.

    I'm having a very bad experience with HV Moorabbin too. I spend over 6k at Harvey Norman Moorabbin store. One of the item is Ariston induction cooktop. As we are doing renovation and extension, we had the cooktop delivered to the house without anyone touching it since the kitchen is not ready. When the kitchen installer came to do the cabinet and benchtop, he open the cooktop box so he could get the measurement to do the cutout. To his surprise, the glasstop of the cooktop was all broken So he rang me immediately, I then rang the sales guy. Initially, the sales guy was quite helpful and he rang Ariston contact who told me that they are trying to find a glasstop which would be a week or so. Then I waited and waited, then after 3 weeks, hadn't heard anything, so I rang Ariston sales guy who said that the cooktop was not far away. I didn't want to wait so he said I could take it to the store for a credit. Back to the store on Saturday, waited an hour and was told by the sales guy that they were not going to give a credit and said I should go home and wait another 2 weeks or offer me to buy another brand for $800 more. As my kitchen has been cut out for Ariston cooktop, there are not many other choices. So I decided to wait 2 weeks which quickly passed without any update so I text the Ariston guy who says he was on leave and will check when he's back to work the following Monday. Nothing heard on Monday, then I rang the sales guy who says he is going to talk to Ariston guy and get back to me. Finally, the Ariston guy said I could get a refund because they could not get me a replacement within such long time (now it is 2 months after I reported the issue). So I was very happy and told HV sales guy that I was going to see him on Saturday to get a refund. Was refused and told he was going to talk to Ariston guy. So I was very annoyed and angry, feeling that this HV sales guy is trying to stop me from getting a refund. The following Monday, HV sales guy rang me and said he found a similar cooktop with different brand which is the expensive one and another cheaper brand. But I asked for a refund then he said "NO" and if Ariston can refund to me if they say so. Then back to Ariston guy who says what he meant by refund is to get a store credit and as a manufacturer, he is not dealing with public. I was told to go back to HV store. Today, I rang HV sales guy again to organize a replacement. Initially, he was trying to sale me the more expensive brand by saying that it has a better quality but I have already done my research and know that it was not true as many negative reviews. Then I asked if he could match the price as online shop price, then he said no but can only offer "The good guy" price which is about $80 cheaper than Ariston cooktop. Then I ask if I could get a refund for that $80 bucks, the answer is "no", and was told I could pick up something from the store. I was very angry and had an argument with him. Then he said he would not be dealing with me as I was yelling at him. But I was talking louder over the phone as every request of me was not considered. And I felt like I have no right to get a refund and be forced to accept whatever is available.
    Very disappointed with my experience. They should not only attend my request but also compensate for all the inconvenience that cause since we are living without cooktop for more than 2 months now. And the only thing I get from Ariston is "sorry".

    1 Votes
  • Se
    Serve well Jul 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is shocking. Thanks for sharing. Harvey Norman do not encourage customers to speak up, thus an email address is difficult to locate. Use their website but say you want it to go to the manager of the manager of the store you are talking about. I am finding more and more that Harvey Norman is not respecting customers and their Australian Consumer Law rights. I know so many consumers who will not shop there because of websites like this which tell what they are really like.

    1 Votes
  • Se
    Seerat Jul 02, 2015

    Hi
    I ordered a Brand New Samsung Fridge from Harvey Norman Midland and I was told by the Sales rep I will be getting a brand new unit so have to wait for couple of weeks to get the delivery.
    Delivery was scheduled today.
    My wife was at home and she called me when they came for delivery.
    We were shocked when we saw them bringing the fridge on trolley and without any box and packaging and without any cover on it.
    When my wife asked the delivery man about the box he told her that it's a brand new unit and they delivered new units without any box packaging so that customer can see any damages or dents on the outer body.He than very cleverly again gave a theory that to check if it's a new unit or old one just check any water in the pipe.
    They were again again and tried to convince us that it's a brand new unit.
    They were very cleverly telling lie to us making us fool.
    It sounds fishy to me and I checked with the Samsung Australia sending them the pic and they advised me that it is a Display unit as it's having stickers on it.
    I was very shocked as paying for a brand new unit and waiting for weeks I am getting a old unit saying it's a new one.
    I was being ripped .
    It seems to be a scam and when I called the Harvey Norman and after explaining everything I was told by the guy that the delivery man must have unpacked the unit before bringing in home.
    And then he put me on hold saying he will check it and the phone got disconnected .
    It was completely fraud and I even tried to call Acc but couldn't connect then I again called Harvey Norman and I was told that they are looking into it and will give me a call.
    After this suspicious activity my wife checked the fridge and found dust on the unit as it was sure a old unit.
    Also the delivery man just gave us a manual pack in hand saying it's with the fridge .Was it a joke it should be a brand new packed unit.
    Later I got a call from a man named Jack he told me that it's a Display unit and they don't know how this happen and he told me that they can get me a new unit but it will take couple of weeks and by that time I can keep this unit but he told me to take care of this unit as they will take it back.
    I don't know is it kind of joke or it was done intentionally to give me a old unit
    Everyone one seems to involve in this scam as why Driver told us lie twice it's a new unit .
    He should have known while loading it.
    Why again I was given couple of more weeks saying they will get a new one.
    I already waited weeks for this.
    I don't have any faith on Harvey Norman and it doesn't seems to be a mistake .
    I just want to advise that I don't want to use this old unit just take it back .
    They tried their best to make us fool selling a display unit saying it's a new one.
    Not at all happy with this .
    Didn't expect this from Harvey Norman.
    You can call me any time
    Please take this seriously

    1 Votes
  • Ts
    Tschudy Apr 10, 2015

    I wished I read this blogs before using Harvy Norman . I also had issues but could not be bothered to type . No HN for me

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mintyscribe22 Jun 24, 2014

    I cant believe some of the comments and complaints here. Seriously...some of u really need to understand that the world doesnt revolve around ur petulance. Someone bought a navman and after 3 months when it stops working, they expect to just walk in and have it replaced? How can the retailer be certain that it wasnt dropped in the dishwater? It needs to be EXAMINED. If its repairable, then thats the retailers only obligation and only if no evidence is found indicating negligence by the customer. Its a retailers right to explore the possibilities before simply handing over a new one in exchange for one that may have been mistreated. As for the original poster with the wrong TV delivered, perhaps they took this action in light of the times when wrong items are delivered and the customer simply refuses to return them or let the retailer exchange them? I see the customer allowed them to change it over when they believed it was an older model, but the question remains: would the customer have allowed the changeover if theyd believed it was better than what they purchased? Yes...these things do happen. Customers often refuse to allow retailers to correct mistakes that have benefited the customer. There is a mindset that says its bad luck for the retailer in that situation, and an attitude that can quickly turn feral when retailers attempt to exchange the goods for the correct ones.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    Up you Jun 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Purchased TV from Harvey Norman LISMORE NSW years ago and found out later it having the wrong remote because it being floor stock. Paid around $1500.00 at the time but they could not give a stuff.
    Had bought GPS and went back to store to purchase an optional lead. Was told by salesman there was no lead to connect to my GPS. I did persist and explained what the lead was used for and was approached by a saleslady this time and was basically told the same thing as before. I persisted again and then was handed a cheap looking lead that was not packaged and was told I could have it for free. By this time I became very annoyed but kept my cool and told this saleslady that this lead was not the correct type and would not be able to use it. She confirmed that the manager also advised it was the correct lead for my GPS.I had said to her that he was wrong also and explained several times what type of lead I needed and it was obvious they just wanted to get rid of me. She had told me I would have to speak to the manager but he was busy at the moment. I live 46km from Lismore and was not going to waste my time or fuel so waited around ten minutes for the manager to attend to my request. He finally came over to me and I explained again the lead I needed and being fairly thick he had told me that the lead I was given for free was the right lead. I explained that the lead I was given was a 3.5 mm plug and the lead that I required had a different plug and that the socket on my GPS was an input and not an output socket. He then raised his voice at me in front of other customers and said that nobody had told him about the type of lead that I needed. I had enough of playing their game and returned the abuse and told him that he and the other staff will not bloody listen and if he did not know what type of lead I needed to look on the Internet or their product books and he might have an idea. He went back of shop for a while and came out saying that he found the type of lead I needed and he could order it for $50.00 I then agreed. They worked hard for their $50.00.
    5 years or so later I had purchased 3 laptops and going by the salesman i was getting a higher then normal product for my money. About 14 months later I had discovered that the laptops I had purchased were not that good and the retail price from other sellers were $599.00. I had paid $1299.00 each and bought 3 laptops.
    Lessen learnt, Don't trust Harvey Norman that you are getting exceptional value for money spent. I had purchased products with the wrong remote then abused by the manager later on and then, not just a bit but severely robbed by these thugs. Never again. UP YOURS GERRY.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam. D Apr 20, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have serious issues with Harvey Norman Rothwell, particularly with the staff member Valerie. I purchased a lounge suite from the store at the beginning of November 2013, despite being told at the time it would be a 12-14 week wait for the lounge suite to be delivered (this time frame was also written on my receipt) it took 5 months for the lounge suite to be delivered. Upon making a complaint about the waiting time and after being given every excuse under the sun, I was given a $150 refund. I went into the store recently to collect my refund and unfortunately was required to deal with Valerie. During the process she yelled at me and more or less called me an idiot. She continued to be abusive until I left the store. Absolutely disgusting behaviour.

    0 Votes
  • Es
    Esbj Feb 23, 2014

    Harvey norman rothwell your customer service is
    Nothing short of disgraceful, today my children and myself were insulted with personal
    Comments by a staff assistant called Valerie, she not only got up in my face and hurled abusive and derogatory comments at me she followed my family around the shop intimidating my kids. The manager on duty was made aware of her behavior and had nothing much to say about it, to be honest he seemed scared of her he was not in the slightest bit apologetic.
    Harvey Norman are these the type of people you employ ??
    Are these your standards you set for employees to follow ??
    Harvey Norman ROTHWELL you should be ashamed.

    0 Votes
  • Au
    aussie.mesh Mar 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I want to lodge a complaint against one of your manager named Patrick at Harvey Norman, Osborne Park in WA. I went there to buy electronics (TV and home theatre) and I didn't receive the service I was expecting. The guy who served me was literally rude, even my wife felt the same but I thought that let it go. Then I went to cancel the installation service which was too high and he didn't even tell me how much it would have been cost me. Then finally I got a refund of $323 yesterday but instead of refunding me they charged back my card for the same amount. I went there today to fix this up and he used ill language saying "your bank screwed it up" when I asked him not to use this sort of language he told me that he is going to call the police. Now I am going through my bank to put a dispute about this transaction and then I am going to cancel my purchase at Harvey Norman, Osborne Park. I am going to do this only in one condition and that is a written apology from your so called electrical department manager PATRICK. If I don't hear from you guys then I think I have to go through Consumer affairs or Office of Fair Trading. I hope you take this complain seriously because I think he doesn't have any skills to be a manager. I work myself in Customer Service and I am a manager but I know how to talk to my customers. You should send him to a people skills course and ask him to get communication skills. Hope to hear from you soon

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth black Aug 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a laptop from Harvey Norman & was Hearst into buying a bag, norton protection. When i got it home no lead to charge, they said i had to by an other one.ripped of again. Let it slid . Went back a week later wanted to by T.V. camcorder D.V.D. player & camera & pap per shredder. Each department i went to was totally ignored . Staff were just standing around talking. I tried to approach them & they just walked away. how rude. so i just walked out. Had a couple off grand to spend. they lost my money.this was in Traralgon vic gippsland.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.