The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ecco Shoesdisintegrating soles

J Review updated:

When the soles of my Ecco MX hiking boots turned to gel and layer underneath disintegrated and tracked black gunk all over the carpet and tile, I thought that I had a truly unusual situation. I had worn them only a couple of times, stored them in an air conditioned closet with no humidity or UV. While looking for company information, I came across this website and was amazed that this was clearly a manufacturing defect. Even more amazed at the company's lack of interest or attention. So I wrote an e-mail to Ecco customer service. No response, two weeks later. However, I give credit to Dillard's, where I purchased the shoes (2 identical pairs, no less @$225 each), as they made an adjustment for my inconvenience. By my count, I have purchased at least 10 pairs of Ecco shoes over the years; based on their lack of response, I'll now turn to a competitor. I can't believe, from what I've been reading on your site, that I am precisely the type of return customer that they're alienating! Oh well, nothing lasts forever...

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Ecco's response · Aug 30, 2019

    Mr. Vaughn,
    What is occurring with the soles is called Hydrolysis. Hydrolysis damage occurs when moisture builds up in the thousands of air bubbles found in the polyurethane soles. This has occurred in less than 1% of our shoes and most often occurs with some of the older styles.

    If your shoes have this problem, simply submit a warranty claim so the shoes can be sent in for inspection by our Quality Assurance team. Once inspected, if it is hydrolysis, you will receive a redemption coupon code that will enable you to select a replacement pair on-line at eccousa.com.
    To submit a Warranty Claim, simply visit us.ecco.com . On the bottom navigation, under SERVICES, select Warranty. The Warranty Claim process will be explained in detail. Disregard the one year limited warranty, we do stand behind sole issues.

    A Claim Number will be generated and displayed. Be sure to retain this number to track your Warranty Claim. Once complete, print your Prepaid Return Label or E-mail it to yourself to print later. Then, simply package up your shoes, apply this label and drop off at any US Post Office. An email will be sent once your shoes arrive at ECCO.

    If you have any further questions, please call ECCO Customer Service at [protected].

    ECCO Consumer Customer Service

Responses

  • Sh
    shonan Nov 03, 2020

    From all the reads, I’ve picked up one thing ... the shoe gives up at just the worst time possible ... I went camping and hiking with my family and had planned to give my son a great climbing experience in the wadis valleys of the Middle East ... parked got off the car and there ... the soles stayed behind and PU like talcum powder dropped off ... most disappointed ...

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miggs Feb 29, 2020

    We too have stopped buying Ecco shoes. Completely useless !! I buy shoes of good leather quality to last. They are put away clean and dry. It is very noticeable that the Ecco soles collapse but other makes of shoes do not. When it first happened we returned to the Ecco shop in Chichester West Sussex UK but they could give us no information or support. They even said they’d never heard of such a thing occurring !
    I now wear Gabor and no longer have the problem.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kestutis Smalinskas Feb 08, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought six pair of ECCO shoes, spread out over a number of years. They all suffered from premature crumbling soles. This more than just a hiccup in their production, and I doubt only 1% of their shoes suffer from this. If so, the odds are astronomical that all six of my shoes were bad.

    It's one thing to make a product with planned obsolescence. It's another thing to tell a bold-faced lie.

    3 Votes
  • Bu
    Butch Vaughn Aug 28, 2019

    I have bought numerous pairs of Ecco shoes due to their reputation of being great shoes. That was when I purchased the shoes. shortly after my purchases, one of the pairs sole disintegrated. I contacted Ecco with no luck. I have a pair that the sole has gotten sticky. I carried the shoes to a shoe shop to see about the sole. They told me that there was nothing they could do and that the soles would eventually disintegrate.
    This is two pair of Ecco shoes, which are expensive, that I have lost, not only shoes but money I spent to purchase them.
    Where do I go from here?
    William Vaughn
    [email protected]
    [protected]
    3346 Berryside Drive, Murfreesboro, tn. 37128

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Allyson Tibor Jul 10, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In less than 2 years, with light use, my husband's ecco shoe soles fell apart in his showroom at a gift show! Pieces of his heels were breaking off as he walked around! He walked In the door last night fuming! I honestly don't know how he was even able to walk. An associate proclaimed that they must be Ecco, since he had heard if this happening. On the web, I am reading reports from people all the way back from 2010!! How has the company not recalled these defective shoes? They are sending me a postage paid bag to send them back, and will send a voucher for a new pair. They're making it easy, and are trying to avoid the bad press, but it would be more respectable if they would admit fault!

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Roman Semkiv Jun 21, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi. I bought ECCO Exostrike Dyneema shoes. I don't know how long this Shoe model will last. Does anyone have these shoes? how do you like the quality of these shoes?

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alice Curtiss Apr 29, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wore my black leather ECCO slip-ons to a funeral today and the soles of the shoes started falling apart. It's like they were on a timer to fall apart or something because I wore them a month ago and nothing happened. The leather tops and inside are in perfect condition, I'd really like to get them resoled if it's possible. Some of the chunks that fell off are all the way to the white insides with the insole taken out. Really embarrassing that this happened and I really loved these shoes, cost over $200 when I got them.

    4 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Rigas Apr 19, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ecco tracks are having the same problem. The soles on two pair have denigrated or cracked. I'll phone [protected] and see what results I get.

    1 Votes
  • Rh
    rhfranc Feb 06, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bought two pairs of ECCO mens' shoes. One pair are loafers and I wear them all the time. No problems. Very comfortable. The second pair are oxford style cap dress shoes. Only wear these occasionally. This week, the heels and soles completely disintegrated with black sticky pieces tracking across the carpet! After reading all of these comments, I'll probably have the same problem with the loafers shortly. I won't bother contacting the company as they are over a year old and no one has really gotten satisfaction from the company. I'll just spread the word to avoid ECCO shoes! They are not cheap. Looking for a suitable equal if anyone has a suggestion!

    1 Votes
  • Al
    Allyson Tibor Jul 10, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @rhfranc I just called them and they are sending me a mailer to send them back, and then sending me a voucher. Very satisfying and simple.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    Fuzzy31 Dec 17, 2018

    I bought a pair of Ecco boots (ankle) and after only half a dozens wears the heels of one have totally disintegrated.
    What’s is happening here, your shoes/boots I’ve bought for years without any problems?
    Without any feedback regarding this problem then these will be my final pair from your company.
    To add insult to injury the boots cost a small fortune as well! Not impressed at all.

    2 Votes
  • Kr
    Krishna Talluri Nov 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband loved the feel of ecco shoes and bought 3 pairs, lace uus one black and one brown and a slip on black at Nordstrom paying full price. All 3 met the same fate. The soles simply fell apart with small pieces coming off. It is appalling, these reputable shoes have suck poor quality soles. He just got annoyed when it happened to his first pair worn fairly new attending an important meeting and had to buy a pair of dress shoes available in town to finish his work. The other 2 just stayed in boxes and soles broke apart in pieces. Interestingly I came across this site and thought I should submit a compaint.

    1 Votes
  • Kr
    Krishna Talluri Nov 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband loved the shoes and bought 3 pairs, lace uus one black and one brown and a slip on black at Nordstrom paying full price. All 3 met the same fate. The soles simply fell apart with small pieces coming off. It is appalling, these reputable shoes have suck poor quality soles. He just got annoyed when it happened to his first pair worn fairly new attending an important meeting and had to buy a pair of dress shoes available in town to finish his work. The other 2 just stayed in boxes and soles broke apart in pieces. Interestingly I came across this site and thought I should submit a compaint.

    2 Votes
  • Om
    OmaZ Oct 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Alas! I join this crowd of very unhappy ECCO shoe customers. I had a wonderful pair years ago that lasted a very long time. Now, within 2 days both my brown leather pair and my black leather pair ( same style which I purchased at very near the same time about 4 years ago) have soles which disintegrated in black crud, soiling our carpet and leaving a trail through our home. I'm just waiting for my current third pair to do the same. Come on, ECCO, you should do better than this!!

    1 Votes
  • Av
    A Vernon-Riley May 07, 2018

    Same problem as others, leather sandles, crap soles, disintegrating due to oxidation of the material. I think I'll just 'bin em & forget em '
    As it sounds like a long haul to satisfaction. :(

    1 Votes
  • Jl
    jlesso Oct 09, 2017

    I have had the same problem with crumbling shoe soles starting a about 3 years ago. I hadn't worn some of the shoes in a long time and one pair was bought on sale and never worn. What a stick mess. Some of the shoes crumbled and got sticky but others just got sort of a flat tire. I also thought maybe it was an isolated situation where I was somehow storing them improperly. I will count up my many pairs of shoes and give the customer service 800 number a call. I too have stopped buying Ecco shoes which I used to love and were so comfortable.

    2 Votes
  • Ha
    Hazel M. Jun 26, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What was the email address you sent the complaint to? i have just had the same happen to me in the Hairdressers!
    i went online and saw all the complaints! This has been happening for years, so how does a big company like this still getting away with it?!

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Down Under Jun 17, 2017

    Here in Australia in July 2010 I bought 3 pairs of Ecco shoes at the same visit, all for different weekend purposes: a casual all leather winter sneaker-style, a lightweight suede bowling-style, and a heavier walking shoe with Gortex for wet weather. They were the latest designs so not on sale - and Ecco shoes are not cheap (unless you're used to buying Manolo Blaniks of course). Given I only wore these Ecco shoes on weekends I expected the soles would take time to wear out (eventually, you know, like running shoes do - with wear), not go squishy underfoot and crumble to nothing. All three pairs disintegrated at the same time this year - talk about having a used-by-date! Yes, I had them for 7 years but they were hardly worn and the wardrobe saw them more than my feet. All leather shoes don't disintegrate in the wardrobe! True to form the Gortex upper lasted, as you'd expect...but not Ecco's crappy purpose-built, self-destruct sole. I'm now in the market for replacements and intended visiting an Ecco store this weekend, but given the comments here I won't bother. Thanks to everyone for saving me money and time. Ecco is trashing the name of Danish design - send a complaint to Fred and Mary, who promote their country's design credentials.

    -1 Votes
  • An
    anthony rogers Jun 08, 2017

    Same story with my three ecco dress shoes.beautiful shoes but heels come off n all.when shoes were made in Denmark no such problem but now they are poorly made.what a shame

    1 Votes
  • Hh
    HHanover May 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same sad tale. My Eccos were comfortable, good looking and the soles came completely unstuck from the uppers. I'm pretty sure I could remedy the situation with duct tape, but then my wife would never be seen with me again. I'm old: my shoes never wear out. My closet is packed with shoes of great antiquity whose soles are still attached to the uppers. On the bright side, $140 is pretty cheap tuition, right? Now I know.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Keithred Apr 23, 2017

    CAUTION: Be careful about taking advantage of EccoUSA's policy of checking your shoes for defects/problems. They will provide you with a free mailer to send your shoes to them for inspection. I did this with my favorite pair of shoes with a note that I wanted them sent back to me since they were in very good condition except for a small sole issue. Instead, they sent me a gift card and destroyed my favorite shoes. They refused to return my shoes. I even wrote to their global headquarters, but received no answer. I wanted them to return my shoes as I had indicated in the note that accompanied my shoes to them or to have them make me a new pair. No response from global headquarters. This was a terrible experience for me with ECCO.

    3 Votes
  • Sh
    Shoe Fan Feb 01, 2017

    Why can't ECCO just reformulate their soles? I have a pair of 30 year old Doc Martens that will outlive me. These are not shoes you buy at Walmart. ECCOs are supposedly a premium level shoe. It's too bad that there appears to be a built-in self destruct mechanism in these shoes. I'm done with ECCO and moving on to other brands.

    3 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill in Pleasant Hill Nov 21, 2016

    I've had three pairs of Ecco's fall apart---mostly sport shoes. While I appreciate having the 800 customer service #...I'm DONE with Ecco. How in the world can a brand with such a well-earned reputation allow this to happen--let alone not seem to care? Bye bye Ecco.

    1 Votes
  • Ps
    Psych1 Sep 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same experience - called 800 No. - super service - now waiting for mailing bag. Thanks for the tip!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim in Daytona Beach May 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Called customer service at [protected] due to similar described problems. On other sites several postings said that ECCO was not responding to complaints. So I guess something has changed. The representative I spoke with took ownership of the problem. After a brief description of the heal disintegrating the ECCO rep assured me that the defect was theirs to correct.

    As noted by Steve in Baltimore, it may help to remain respectful when there is a grievance. Fight the unacceptable standards without losing principles. Win or lose you don't want to feel jaded by the experience. However, I don't think my attitude made much difference here. Clearly, something must have changed or Steve, Tony and I just happened to get the same nice ECCO representative.

    -1 Votes
  • To
    Tony Karavidas Feb 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had almost the exact same experience as Steven in Baltimore. My shoes were a few years old, but they are dress shoes and I hardly ever wear them. They fell apart Dec 2015, and now I have some brand new shoes that didn't cost me a penny. Thank you Ecco for standing behind your product.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Steven in Baltimore Dec 27, 2015

    I had a pair of ECCO shoes made in Denmark that disintegrated at Thanksgiving dinner in 2015. I contacted ECCO in the US at [protected] on November 30th and explained the situation. They sent me a postage paid bag to ship the shoes to NuShoe for evaluation. On December 16th I received an email from NuShoe stating that they were forwarding their evaluation to ECCO and giving a 4 to 6 week processing. On December 27th I received a letter from ECCO agreeing to replace the shoes. They enclosed a gift card for one pair of shoes, not to exceed $150. The card had to be used at their online web store where I found a very nice pair that were on sale at $149.99, marked down from $200.

    It probably helped that the shoes had very little wear as I don't have many occasions to wear black dress shoes. I also sent a nice letter along with the claim form.

    I am satisfied with the response from ECCO and will continue to buy their shoes.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim in Canada Feb 21, 2015

    Unfortunately for me, last month I was vacationing in Buenos Aires and wore my Ecco shoes out for a fancy meal. I noticed the shoes were falling apart as I left my table. It was embarrassing. As other people have mentioned, they make a HUGE mess with tiny crumbles of black crap all over the place. Rather than pack them in my suitcase to travel back home with them, I threw them out AFTER taking many photos of them. I contacted ECCO USA, who were going to replace them, but told me they do not ship to Canada. They referred me to ECCO Canada. Unfortunately ECCO Canada’s customer service leaves much to be desired. They only responded to my email after sending emails several days apart, and they refuse to offer any compensation without being able to “inspect” the shoes. They admitted there was a problem with the soles of the shoes, and I attached numerous photos of the shoes, but they don’t care about my plight. It’s not like ECCO shoes are inexpensive, and after their less than stellar customer service, I will never purchase another pair of ECCO shoes, nor would I ever recommend them to anyone.

    3 Votes
  • Ja
    Jalna Nov 13, 2014

    I'm from Ireland and I had that same experience also with three pair of Ecco shoes, two of which had very little wear. I returned these two pair to their H/Q in Cork Ireland. The reply I got was worst than dreadful - it was curt, rude and most condescending. On receiving their reply I unfortunately tore it up in disgust & temper as i should have sent a copy of it to Ecco World H/Q. That finished me with Ecco for life until I bought a pair of Ecco Golf shoes hoping for something better at €220 a pair - but no - same problem again - yes you may say - I deserved it - No, No, No never Ecco again

    3 Votes
  • Ga
    GAPate Jun 07, 2014

    I'm another unhappy consumer. I'm 3 for 3 with ECCO shoes and the disintegrating soles ... and each pair was at the upper end of their price scale. I liked the shoes right up to the messy end with the uppers still in good condition.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vinnyk7 Dec 17, 2013

    Won't be buying ecco again, no customer service in Ireland, they do a visual check as if this will recap manufacturing faults an tell U to like it or lump it, it would be less hassle if they were up front an just stole your money, im being passed from Europe to England like a hot brick some company the customer is wrong, never buy from this lot again

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diane Freeman Apr 09, 2013

    Three pair of Ecco shoes have soles that are disintegrating to the point that I leave a trail of black crumbs and marks where I walk. Didn't know it was happening until I was at a meeting. It was embarrassing.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brad kava Mar 14, 2010

    I had same problem with Eccos. Here is my article with pictures:::http://ctwatchdog.com/2010/03/14/ecco-shoes-warning-almost-new-expensive-shoes-disintegrate#comments

    4 Votes
  • Lo
    loren369 Dec 01, 2009

    It happened to my Ecco shoes too, I havent even wear for a year and it started to crumbles and I almost twist my foot.

    3 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Mar 09, 2009

    I had not worn my black dress (expensive) Ecco shoes in over a year. They have been tucked away in the closet. But I have always loved them and they've been great for the right occasion. However, this past weekend I had them on while I was trying on some new suits at a men's store and noticed that he heels / soles were completely disintegrating and falling apart in sticky chunks all over the floor. You cannot imagine my disbelief and embarrassment at this gunky, yucky mess. It was horrible. I'm going to figure out if they are worth trying to repair or if they are suddenly trash. Truly, I have never seen anything like this with any pair of shoes. I'm guessing they must just be expensive JUNK. So disappointing.

    7 Votes
  • Br
    Brad Rudy Jan 07, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Dan The same exact thing happened to my ECCO dress shoes. I was attending a dressy Christmas event and my soles began to crumble and fall apart. I ended up having to leave the party early because I simply could not walk around in those shoes any more. Like you, I was leaving black rubbery clumps all over the floor. The next day, we found more chunks in the car, on our walkway, and throughout the house.

    5 Votes
  • Jf
    jfrohlich Jun 03, 2019

    @Dan yes! exactly. I sent unbelievable photos! They disintegrated while waling to dinner. I had to limp for 5 blocks!

    Did ECCO offer any discount on future purchase or any recompense?

    2 Votes
  • No
    Noa Ben Uri Mar 06, 2009

    Last year whil visiting the US I bought the most comfteble and expensive hiking boots I ever did, Ecco's.
    The seller (Harry's Soes NY) said they will last me for many good years. A few mont after, the sole started to peel off. I took it to the shoemaker. He glued it and stiched it, and did not understand why it wad not stiched in the first place.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken Keller Dec 27, 2008

    My Ecc0 walking shoes lost their soles in large flakes before they had been worn very long. They were very comfortable and another pair of Ecco's was wearing well, so I thought it was just a fluke and bought a pair of Ecco suede wingtips. The very first day I wore them, the soles cracked across the ball of the foot and the heels began losing large, sticky chunks all around their perimeters. That's two out of three pairs, too high a percentage of early sole failure to be isolated incidents. The faulty soles were of different materials, too, so there was not just one bad batch of sole material. Very comfortable (expensive) shoes, well-assembled, but not worth the risk of buying again. I hope the company fails for its lack of customer concern.

    8 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.