Menu
CB Footwear DSW double charges on credit card
DSW

DSW review: double charges on credit card 8

M
Author of the review
11:56 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I ordered two pairs of shoes from DSW. They debited my account with the full purchase price. Three days later, they debited my account again with a charge for one of the pairs of shoes. I called to ask why and I was told by Becca, a customer service supervisor, that the original charge was just an authorization hold because DSW does not actually charge the account until after an item ships. Since the items were being shipped from two different places, each item would be charged separately and the original total amount will "drop off" my account. Now my account is overdrawn. I told her that the total amount and the amount of one of the items was debited from my account, and therefore deducted from account balance, which has overdrawn my account. I did not authorize DSW to debit my account more than once, and I was not told at the time of purchase that they would have to access my bank account more than once. Becca offered to speak to my bank, but I have already resolved the issue with them. Basically I have to wait for all of the charges to process in order for my account to show a corrected balance. In the meantime my account shows as being overdrawn and I do not have access to the money that DSW has now twice deducted from it. I was not offered any compensation except for Becca offering to speak to my bank, and I already handled that. So I cancelled the second pair of shoes. Becca said that she cancelled the order, but that she couldn't guarantee that they would not be shipped since the order had been processed. I told her that I do not want DSW to access my account anymore. Remember that they will charge my account for a third time when the second pair of shoes ships. I consider DSW accessing my bank account without my permission as stealing. Customers should be told at the time of purchase about DSW's policy of accessing a customer's account more than once, and not have to find out the hard way.

More DSW reviews & complaints

8 comments
Add a comment
L
L
LTFranklin
, US
Dec 01, 2023 3:44 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Actively going through what others have described as I type this. Paid for some shoes in store via Apple Pay around the 25th of Nov 2023. On Nov 30th received a charge on my Apple Pay for a new amount & again about 20 mins ago for that same charge. PNC has flagged the charges and now I have to get a new card while I’m traveling out of state. INCONVENIENCE! Something told me to google my problem and what do you know, others are having the same issue.

How do we take this to court!?!?

L
L
LucyBrewer
, US
Nov 26, 2023 2:09 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree with all of the previous comments. In September 2023, I placed an online order for 6 pairs of boots totaling $999.94. I returned 5 of the 6 pairs of boots and the pair I kept was $119.99. The day, I placed the order, DSW charged me $127.94 which did not reflect the amount of any off the boots I ordered. I spoke to DSW regarding this initial charge of $127.94 and they told me that it was a hold that was placed on my account for my online order and that it would be refunded within 5 business days. They never refunded the money. I spoke to them again and was advised the money would be refunded in 24-48 hours. They never refunded the money. I have been disputing this charge with my bank for almost 2 months and they keep saying that DSW is saying the amount is correct. After I spoke to DSW the first time, they charged me an additional $179.99. They have now charged me $1299.92 for an order that cost $999.94 and only refunded me $879.95. DSW and my credit card company will not help me. So, I reported DSW to the Better Business Bureau. I will never buy from DSW again.

K
K
Kelly Lama
, US
Sep 07, 2023 10:43 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am going thru the same issue. I placed an order for 53.66 now I am being charged over n over.. the amount now don’t even add up. So my $53 order is turning into a $196 order ! I will never order again !

K
K
KristenF17
, US
Mar 06, 2023 8:43 pm EST

The same thing happened to me, too. Completely unacceptable. I ordered some shoes for work yesterday and today I got a notification from my bank saying DSW charged my card a second time for a transaction that I did not authorize. It didn’t show up on my DSW account as a service fee or literally anything. It was only reflected on my bank account separate from what I agreed to pay for the shoes. We’re not talking a small amount either, we’re talking an additional $71.70 that I did not agree to pay. I called DSW customer service and I asked them about it. The first explanation they gave me was that the transaction had “split up” so that the second transaction was $71.70 and when you add that to the first transaction (the one I authorized) it should equal the total amount for the shoes. That was completely false information. I tried to explain to them that I paid the full amount already and the full amount was reflected in my bank account. However, there was a separate ADDITIONAL transaction of $71.70 that I did not authorize. Their second explanation was that it will “fall off” of my account in 3-5 business days. Umm, no. It shouldn’t be reflected in my bank account to begin with. I called my bank and they’re disputing the claim for me and starting an investigation. I’m hoping this fraudulent “fee” isn’t taken out of my account multiple times like other people on here are saying happened to them. Needless to say, I will never be ordering from DSW again. This is theft.

E
E
Erin Batarseh
, US
Feb 15, 2022 11:10 am EST

I’m relieved to see other people are having the same issue as me. I ordered a pair of shoes over a week ago because I had $115 in gift cards to spend. They just took the $115 out of my BANK ACCOUNT last night. I’m furious, and it’s pending now, but thankfully, if it posts to my account, I can easily dispute the charge. I ordered online and don’t have access at all to the receipt or invoice or anything even on my DSW account. I’m telling my family and friends to never get me a giftcard from there again.

T
T
Tess Roberts
, US
Jan 24, 2022 12:30 pm EST

I had a similar issue but IN STORE?! I went in and purchased ONE pair of sneakers from them on January 1st of this year, and they charged me for THREE separate pairs. So not $200 but three separate charges of $65. When I called customer service I was told they couldn't do anything because it was an in store purchase, when I called the store I was told there was no record of it. I have the receipt to prove I only purchased one pair. Even with the receipt and my bank statement I was told they couldn't refund me. Now my bank is taking forever to help refund me the $130 mis-charge. I will never buy from DSW again.

R
R
Regina May
, US
Jan 03, 2022 1:26 pm EST

Literally this just happened to me too. Honestly I will NEVER order shoes online from them again. In store only. It’s really a scam. I think they should either charge you at the beginning and be done with it, or only charge you once each pair is shipped but not BOTH. It was total BS and a dangerous game to play with peoples accounts and money. It should be clearly stated in bold letters BEFORE you check out. If I don’t get my money back after all the shoes have shipped I’m contacting the BBB (maybe even the FTC) because this is poor business practice.

J
J
Joyce Montgomery
Nesconset, New York, US
May 08, 2021 6:01 pm EDT

I just had the same experience with DSW. They charged my account for the total amount and then charged me two additional times for each shipment. After calling customer service I was informed that this is standard procedure and that on Thursday ( today is Saturday) the amount would be refunded to my account. Not acceptable. I’m contacting my representative.

Learn how the rating is calculated

Write a review File a complaint

DSW contacts

Phone number
Website
www.dsw.com
Category
Trending companies
STACEES
2 reviews
INKKAS?
2 reviews
Sogown
10 reviews
Footgear
16 reviews