The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Diamond Resorts - Tim, Esharetimeshare will not let me surrender timeshare, says i'm in "club" for life

I

We bought this Timeshare from Club Sunterra (now Diamond Resorts) in 2004. The loan is paid in full and the only obligation we have to the company are the annual maintanace fees. The fees are paid up for this year. I can no longer afford the annual fees and I contacted the company requesting to "surrender my timeshare". I have tried to sell the timeshare and even give it away but no one wants this burden. I was told that I cannot surrender because I purchased in Arizona which binds me to their "club portion" forever. I have looked over my contract and NO WHERE does it advise me of that nor was I informed of that during the sales presentation. I continued to explain the hardship and asked if I could just surrender my timeshare and explained to them that they were paid $9, 000 and I am the one losing money. The representative on the phone (Albert on the main 1-877 line) advised that they would be willing to allow me to surrender in 2010 after I pay the annual fee for next year. I explained that I am trying to get out now as I am paid up and do not want to incur next year's fee for something I am getting out of. He said there is nothing they can do. I want out of the contract with Diamond Resorts AND their "club" which is an additional annual fee. I want no financial obligation to either. I am willing to pay the $250 cancellation fee that is listed on their site as a requirement but I do not feel it is fair to be required to wait until next year and incur next year's fees in order to get out. My points for this year were used however I was paid up on my account and they were my points to use. I feel my contract was misrepresented (especially in regards to the Club portion- being tied to it forever) and my customer service needs are not being met. I have explained the financial hardship and yet they insist on making me wait until next year's fees are added to the account and requiring me to pay them before they will allow me to surrender a timeshare I have paid in FULL!!!

Responses

  • Ti
    Timesharestop.net Feb 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    www.timesharestop.co.uk - Cancel your timeshare.
    Timesharestop also makes sure that you will receive back part of the money you invested in your timeshare purchase.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Timesharestop.net Feb 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would suggest to get in touch with timesharestop.co.uk. Very professional, no upfront fees and they do the Job.
    It will only take between 2 and 4 weeks before you will receive a confirmation from your Home resort that your Timeshare contract has ended. Check out their website: timesharestop.co.uk
    Amersfoort - Holland

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timeshare4 Elimination Aug 11, 2011

    If you are serious about wanting to dispose of your timeshare and stop paying the associated costs, then contact us now. We will guide you through every aspect of disposing of your timeshare/points burden.

    The process is quite simple. First, you must own your timeshare and it must be free of any outstanding fees etc. If fees are not completely paid, we may not be able to help you.

    * By instructing Timeshare Elimination you will be completely free of your timeshare ownership and your financial obligations!

    * You can control the disposing process to make sure it is truly transferred out of your name.

    * You won't have to deal with companies that may or may not be legitimate.

    * You will have the satisfaction of knowing that you disposed your ownership legally and ethically.

    * Timeshare Elimination uses licensed, insured and professional title agents that have many years of experience.

    * Timeshare Elimination always offers excellent customer service .

    * Timeshare Elimination is considered to be the UK industry leader that has helped a considerable amount of timeshare owners.

    Timeshare Elimination UK, 2nd floor office, 16 Station Road, Llanwrst, Conwy, North Wales LL26 OEP. Telephone: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    timeshareelimination.net Jan 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    NO UP FRONT FEES!


    Most consumers turn to one of two types of companies – the first are resale companies, which place your timeshare on the resale market for a fee and do little else. The second type of company offers what is called a “title transfer” – you pay a fee, and the company takes the timeshare off your hands. What title transfer companies do is arrange to transfer ownership of your timeshare property to a business/private entity.

    For those of you who might be researching one of these companies, we offer this test. The following are 4 questions that you can ask a representative of a company offering to take your timeshare for a fee – the better the answers you get, the more likely that the company is worthy of your business.


    Do I have to pay an upfront fee?


    Title transfer ie your resort or trustees charge a fee and immediately upon receiving it begin transferring ownership of the timeshare out of the owners name (the “title transfer”). Obviously the latter is a satisfactory explanation for these fees, please read the contract to ensure that the company in question is prepared to legally transfer the timeshare. You also might still be responsible for maintenance fees on your timeshare while the transfer is taking place; however, a good title transfer service will make accommodations to reimburse these fees.

    In any case, there is a difference between an “upfront fee” and a genuine title transfer service cost; with the latter you are paying another entity to relinquish the burden of an unwanted timeshare.


    What are you going to do with my timeshare?

    This is a very important question, and we have discovered that most debate over the title transfer industry concerns how a company handles this.

    The best of these businesses work with a legitimate title transfer service that has copious industry connections such as ourselves Timeshare Elimination.co.uk. what the timeshare owner is paying for is the transferring of ownership of the timeshare into the company/private entity, your timeshare ownership is immediately terminated. Without having to worry about the difficulties of the resale market.


    Will I have to continue paying maintenance fees,

    The answer is no, you are in no way expected to continue paying for your timeshare after ownership is transferred, Sometimes transferring ownership can take time 2-4 weeks, but this will be stipulated clearly in the contract.


    Can you take any timeshare, regardless of the quality or circumstances?

    This is a tricky question. The fact of the matter is that some timeshares cannot be taken by title transfer companies for a number of reasons – maybe the timeshare resort won’t let the original buyer out of their contract. Maybe the timeshare resort is embroiled in some kind of legal difficulty and all the contracts are frozen. There are a number of potential situations.

    But if you ask a title transfer company representative this question, the answer will always be NO, he or she might then explain why your particular timeshare canot be transferred. You will be assured in writing that a title transfer is possible on your timeshare before signing a contract or paying any money – many companies say they can take any timeshare, when in fact they cannot


    Finally, it is challenging to hold one’s own in any sales environment – as most timeshare owners know, after sitting through resort presentations. Many company representatives are trained to evade difficult questions and get you to sign contracts as quickly as possible. But when looking to escape from a timeshare contract the consumer should have a very different experience – if you feel you are being “sold” something, as you were when you originally purchased the timeshare, that is probably a good indication that the company is not worth your time or money. Companies that are honest, however, and offer you realistic options to getting out of your contract are probably going to make good on their claims

    Tel [protected] www.timeshareelimination.co.uk


    © Timeshare Elimination 2010
    All rights reserved

    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    timeshareelimination.net Jan 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    www.Timeshare Elimination.co.uk|How to Surrender a Timeshare.
    The best way to surrender your timeshare ownership is to transfer your ownership to Timeshare Elimination.co.uk.

    Many people come to the stage where they realise that their timeshare is more of a burden than an asset. Each year you receive demands from the timeshare resort and/or their appointed collection agent. You have tried to hand the timeshare back to the resort, but the resort is unwilling to accept even the gift of your weeks. This is despite the fact that their salesman had told you what a wonderful asset you were purchasing having had a purchase price from you, why on earth this is such a valuable asset at a timeshare resort not take the timeshare weeks back for nothing!

    You have also begun to realise the increasing desperation that you need to transfer your timeshare, because unless you are able to sell or transfer the timeshare upon your death, your charges will form part of your estate. Rather than receiving a valuable asset, your children and their children will in fact potentially be faced with claims for these annual charges even after your death.

    What options are available?
    If you are unhappy with your timeshare, the first thing you need to do is to try and sell it at the best possible price, even if that is significantly less than you originally paid for it.

    This may be difficult, because the problem with timeshare and maintenance fees is so well publicised that willing buyers are scarce.

    You could try to see if the timeshare resort will accept a surrender of your weeks. Usually the resort will not agree to this. Remember the resort relies on your maintenance fees, and in the present market it will be difficult for the resort to sell on your timeshare weeks. There is no incentive to allow you to surrender your timeshare.

    The only other alternative is to take legal advice to ascertain whether or not you can be released from the agreement. You will need advice on the following:

    What are your legal obligations under the timeshare agreement and/or the resort’s constitution?
    What were you told by the salesman when you purchased? Were you seriously mis led or told outright lies to persuade you to purchase? If so you might be able to argue that you are entitled to terminate the timeshare agreement.
    Did you purchase your timeshare with a credit card or a loan? Potentially the lender is jointly liable for any mis representations made by the salesman.
    What options are available for you on the resale market? What common scams do you need to avoid?
    The law in this area is extremely complicated. There are a number of statutes and statutory instruments which have to be considered. The people that sell you these products are clever sales people. The contracts are deliberately complicated.

    Ultimately my advice is to not buy a timeshare, but if you have then you should take our advice urgently.


    City: cambs

    County: cambridgshire

    Country: United Kingdom


    Contact person: Amanda

    Phone: [protected]

    Web-site: http://www.timeshareelimination.co.uk

    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    timeshareelimination.net Jan 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Diamond resorts Timeshare will not let me surrender ownership, but there is a way to surrender and that is by transferring ownership. You could try www.timeshareelimination.net,
    we did with no upfront fees and it worked for us

    1 Votes
  • Br
    BriHoga Jun 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got off the phone w Frank from Diamond resorts ... He was professional. I explained to him that I did not understanf their outrageous YEARLY FEES... i HAVE 10, 500 points w Diamond... 10, 500 points buys ONE week of a two bedroom timeshare in lake tahoe in the summer ...and in a not so nice Diamond Resorts place in Kauai... My FEES are $1, 450 a YEAR w them to get JUST one week... I also own a Marriott timeshare in Palm Springs and I pay about $875 a year ... Marriott's are ALWAYS 5 stars...and the Lake Tahoe Diamond Resort is a 3.5 star place... and the Kauai place was barely a 2.0 star place.
    It is a BAD DEAL... simply a bad deal from Diamond Resorts ...I paid about $23, 000 for my 10, 500 points... and now pay $1500 a year to get 7 stinking days... That's over $200 a day for the seven days... I can EASILY call Hotels.com and spend LESS per night !!! [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • De
    debdera Jan 05, 2010

    ISABEL:

    I HAD A SIMILAR SITUATION WITH DIAMONDS RESORTS ABOUT A DEEDED PROPERTY WE HAVE IN HAWAII. THEY TOLD ME THE SAME ABOUT PAYING MAINTENCE FEES BEFORE WE COULD SUFFENDER NOW (1/4/10). WHO DID YOU FILE THE COMPLAINT WITH - BBB IN YOUR STATE. OUR MAINTENCE FEES HAVE OVER DOUBLED SINCE WE PURCHASED IN 2000 - DUE TO HEALTH ISSUES - I HAVE NOT USED IT SINCE 2006. ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

    DIAMOND RESORTS IS TELLIN US WE MUST PAY THE $1149 MAINTENCE FEE FOR 2010 BEFORE WE CAN SURRENDER and pay a $85 fee - OUR TIMESHARE IS PAID UP AS WELL. WE ARE CONCERNED ABOUT NOT PAYING AND LETTING GO IN DEFAULT (AS THEY ADVISED WE COULD SURRENDER BEFORE FORECLOSURE PROCEDURES)

    PLEASE ADVISE ASAP
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • It
    italiangirl Jul 13, 2009

    I am a current owner with Diamond and was considering purchasing extra points. If it is not too late, will you contact me about this?

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Is
    Isabel Jun 17, 2009

    UPDATE- Finally got a call from Diamond Resorts after I filed a complaint with the BBB. They say I am free of any club obligation if I sell the timeshare, donate it to a charity or surrender it back to them. If I sell it or donate it, the new buyer will not be a club member. The resort mailed me the paper work to "surrender" which means I give it up to them and pay a $250 transfer fee. I lose my initial investment (over $9000) but I will no longer be obligated to their escalating annual fees and unsavory customer sevice.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.