Decorplanet.comBe very careful of this company

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Decorplanet carries some really modern and stylish vanities, sinks, toilets, etc. Beats the bog standard home depot/lowes fixtures. However, their service and willingness to stand behind what they sell is awful. We bought a toilet, a vanity, sink, faucet and a shower set. The mirror on the vanity was chipped when it arrived. When I called them, they said can't take responsibility because we didn't call them within 24 hours - the guy was actually pretty rude. They said they'll replace it for $85!!! The faucet for the sink was also defective - it was leaking. So, I went to their showroom in Brooklyn to get both things replaced. I got the vanity mirror. On the faucet, I heard a long story about how my contractor must not know what he's doing because he broke the seal on the lines going into the faucet. Anyway, he gave me new lines but the same faucet and assured me it will work. Needless to say when i got home it was still leaking. I ended up going to home depot and getting another faucet because I didn't have time for another trip to Brooklyn to get another faulty faucet.

Be very careful of this company. As I said, they do carry stylish stuff but they'll try to get rid of broken/faulty merchandise by sending it to you and then blaming you for it. One small example, the chipped vanity mirror that I returned wasn't thrown away. They mounted it on a display vanity in the showroom, no doubt for it be shipped to another unsuspecting customer.

Responses

  • Ca
    Carol Lockwood Jul 22, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Went to the Brooklyn store today (7.22.21)….bought NOTHING bc we waited OVER one hour to be helped. The one assistant was on the phone with a client for 43 minutes; then proceeded to help another couple, after 30 minutes we interrupted to ask a single question: Is this Brizio kitchen faucet stainless finish(?)…got a curt and not believable response of ….‘I think they call it something else…uh, yes, it’s the stainless finish’. RIDICULOUSLY poor in person customer service. Don’t waste your time. (Still quite annoyed)

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Dragica Radivojevic Mar 04, 2021

    I have ordered Grohe faucet for my bathroom vanity on 12/14/20 and received it 7 weeks after.I had made multiple calls re the order status but it didn’t help. I finally ordered a faucet from the different company and received it in 3 days.When I tried to cancel the order from this company I was told that it is being shipped and could not be canceled. I inquired about the tracking number but there was none at that time.When I finally received it after waiting 7 weeks I wanted to return it since I didn’t need it any longer I was told that in order to do so they needed to send me an authorization but I first need to submit a picture of all the parts that I received before they would issue an authorization and I would need to pay for the return postage and 15% restocking fee.
    I had nothing but problems and great deal of frustration with this place.
    My advice is STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phil Gatos Jun 29, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company sells Grohe products but don't have ANY inventory. They place the order through the manufacturer and then you wait 2 weeks to get your order. One of the items I ordered was a soap dish and was the wrong size for the Grohe shower set I had. When if cam down to return the product not only do they ask you to pay for the shipping return (that would have been acceptable) but they also charge a "15% Re-stocking Fee". This was my FIRST order with this company and will be the LAST one. Their customer service simply is not up to par with other online companies like build.com where I ended up placing the order for the replacement I needed. STAY away from DecorPlanet!!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donald Goldman Oct 08, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Not the best. Slow service. No indication on products not in stock.

    2 Votes
  • Le
    Leslie Johanson Jan 18, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Return process expensive, antiquated and SLOW!!!

    I somehow ordered a ceiling mount shower head instead of a wall mount, so I called the day after I placed the order but it was too late to change it. I was told I would get the refund faster if I accepted the package and used their label to return it instead of refusing delivery. It cost me $16 to use their label, I didn't get a fast refund at all, it took around 6 weeks to get the refund, and I had to pay a 15% restocking fee, even though I ordered the wall mount to replace the ceiling mount. So all told it cost me $40 to return a $140 purchase. I will NEVER buy from this company again!!!

    2 Votes
  • El
    Elena Byrgazova Oct 16, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Horrible!
    Customer service sucks ! Order mirror wait extra TWO weeks ! received WRONG ! Picture and descriptions do not matching! Wait for too week before pick up! Week after still NOT received refund. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY!

    2 Votes
  • Ps
    Psmr Aug 04, 2018

    I do want to say the vanity & mirror were nice but the vanity top was horrible. I ordered this directly from Decor Planet.com on May 28, 2018. After getting a lot of excuses about my shipment it finally arrived on June 26, 2018. The top had 100's of gouges, scratches & chips. The drain hole had been chipped & repaired. I sent photos to DecorPlanet.com. They said to destroy it & they would send one that wasn't damaged. On July 23, 2018 I was told they shipped the top. We inspected the new top & it was damaged also, so I did not accept it. I called DecorPlanet & told them I did not want to wait another month for them to send a top that was actually new & didn't look like it had been used & terribly abused so I just wanted a refund. They said ok ( I thought that it was strange that they agreed to this so easily. I guess this is a way to get extra money. I paid $570 for the top. They refunded $493 to my credit card that I had been paying interest on since May 29, 2018. That is $77 short for WHAT?? It was not my fault they sent me unacceptable damaged merchandise. Also BUYER BEWARE it is very hard to get a vanity top to fit the vanity that is not James Martin because they are off standard size about 1.5" in depth. I now own a vanity with no top. Would NEVER do business with this company again!!

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    MaureenBrooklyn Sep 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i ordered and paid in full for 4 custom made doors on may 11, 2015. i was told it would take 6-11 weeks for the doors. as of today it is 18 and one half weeks and i have no doors. any promises that have been made have been false. for example i was promised the doors would be in on aug 31st after the first delivery date was missed. that never happened. then they were supposed to be delivered last week. that never happened. all communication has been initiated by me, no one reaches out to me. call backs from the salesperson don't happen. i understand mistakes happen, but this is such a ridiculous situation and it seems my only recourse is to file a claim and take them to court.

    RESOLVED

    Although it took a lengthy period of time, the situation was resolved to my satisfaction and I will be purchasing more items from DecorPlanet.

    2 Votes
  • Sh
    Shti May 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My experience with Decor Planet has been complete nightmare. The vanity we bought took 10 days to arrive when they said two days. Then it came without the sink which took another five days to arrive. Then when I was ready to hang the medicine cabinet I ordered I opened the box and there was a mirror inside. No telling how long it will take to get my correct product.
    I order tiles and was told they would come in two days, they took a week, Then I order more tiles since there were not enough in the order and was told they would arrive last Monday, it is now Saturday and I do not know when they will arrive.
    You cannot reach anyone in the show rooms. Customer service is a much better bet.
    On top of everything, they only offer curb side delivery which both of the salesmen failed to mention. So when the first things finally arrived, which were very heavy tiles, my husband had to carry them upstairs. Two guys on the truck even refused to put them inside the apartment building door which was ten feet from their truck. When I complained, they said I could have paid $150 for having them brought inside. The salesmen also failed to mention this.
    I would NEVER shop at Decor Planet again. I regret shopping there and would warn anyone considering them to run the other way. After reading the other reviews i will be on the lookout for defects as well. Truly unbelievable,

    1 Votes
  • Dr
    Dragica Radivojevic Mar 04, 2021

    @Shti Mine was a horrible experience as well

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rod crosser Aug 31, 2013

    Do not buy from Décor Planet out of state or on-line. The likely hood of a return is about 80% because they do send out defective merchandise and give you hell with returns. Do not ever use their carrier for a return. Use your own carrier get the tracking #'s and give them to your attorney or someone you know well with what's being returned. Take photographs. Décor Planet will attempt to use your tracking #'s as their own claim. Fed X is excellent. They will not honor anyone's claim accept the shipper. Do not use their shipper. You give up your rights at that point. TRUST ME! I have just gone through a horrible hellish experience with this scam company.

    4 Votes
  • Ro
    rod crosser Aug 31, 2013

    Purchased three commodes from Décor Planet that were too small. Had to return them. Alliona sales rep to avoid quoted me 185.00 plus 20% restocking fee and she would be sending out a shipping label. I had nine pieces 3 tanks, 3 basins, 3 toilet seats. I was told the shipper would call once she got into Abilene to pick up the commodes. Décor classified the commodes as a vanity and tto save shipping costs. and the shipper was unaware of this. The shipper called my home and said she was here to pick up a vanity. She didn't know that décor had misclassified the merchandise to save themselves shipping costs. She refused to pick up the vanities which was a wise decision on her part. This was in March 2013, Ali told me herself that since I had informed the shipper that they were commodes the return fee was going to be much higher. I denounced the dishonesty. Ali then jumps to find out how to reduce my shipping charge. There were several options...I was confused at this point and furious for being blame for Decor's processes. I returned the commoded through Fed X and watched the fed x rep restock, pack, tape and retape Decor's commodes. Tracking #'s show Décor received my merchandise. No contact from Décor from that point on. I do not have a refund and I do not have the commodes. Now Décor says it was because I didn't put them on a palet. I agreed to do so, but not until the shipper got there to protect Decor's merchandise from theft. They are not to be trusted. Don't do any on-line business with them especially if you are out of state. Just don't do it.

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    rod crosser Aug 31, 2013

    The worst experience I have had with a vendor since I have been alive. Avoid Alliona - if she offers to help you if you called. Hang up!! Trust me. I would not recommend this place to anyone at this point. After doing thousands of dollars worth of business with Vladimir purchasing 3 beautiful vanities for a wonderful remodel in Abilene., I needed commodes. Got Ali - asked for Vladimir, but he was unavailable and I was nieve about shipping. Décor misclassifies merchandise to save shipping costs and the carrier may or may not know it depending on his intergrity. Their return policy never mentions putting the merchandise on a palet for the shipper to pick up. In my case Ali labeled the commodes I purchased and had to return as a vanity to save shipping costs. Once the shipper arrived in Abilene and contacted me, the carrier was told she was picking up a vanity and not commodes. I asked if she had the correct address. She did, would not pick up the commodes. Décor says because t he commodes were not on a palet. That is a lie. Southwest Chase and MasterCard World said the practice was dishonest and is misinforming to an unsuspecting consumer. I was never instructed to pout the commodes on a palet until Ali told me "since you informed the shipper they were commodes" putting the blame on me. Décor has my commodes and my money. Avoid Décor Planet there are great places in Dallas and if you do deal with Décor make sure you get everything in writing in person and do not at any cost purchase anything from Décor on-line. TRUST ME!

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    fruktina Sep 08, 2012

    The Level of rudeness that we have experienced is just unbelievable ( their Brooklyn store location). We had an encounter with one of their staff members there, the older guy with a beard, didn't ask him his name unfortunately. Rude, rude, rude. SHOCKINGLY RUDE.
    Also the mirrored medicine cabinet was chipped on each side and mirrors got replaces but they were so rude to us and acted like they were doing us a favor with unrepeatable comments and remarks.

    2 Votes
  • Ve
    Veclen Nov 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It took more than 6 months to get our "in stock" bathroom vanity. I spent more then ten hours on hold over that period.

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.