Corelledishes shattering

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I decided to buy a set of corelle dinnerware because it was soo pretty and because of it's advertising that it's chip and break resistant.. well tonight we accidentally dropped one of the bowls and could not believe that it broke into sooo many pieces!!! It was like it exploded. There was glass everywhere, , on our table, in our food, all over the place.. I got a piece of class on my leg and some glass pieces even got in the upholstery of the chairs.. It was unbelievable!! I've never seen any dish break that way.. Ususally they break in several big pieces.. I am definitely NOT KEEPING THESE DISHES IN MY HOUSE AND I DO NOT RECOMMEND THESE TO ANYONE..

Responses

  • Co
    coco4444 May 16, 2018

    Corelle plates shatter. They slid on to my wood floor and I am still picking the glass from arms and leg. Just be careful they do not break like a regular dish. I will not rebuy, Scarry

    0 Votes
  • De
    devonkailey Aug 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband just took a small corelle dinner plate out of the cu be brpboard & it slipped out of his hands & shattered into a million pieces!I thought corelle was supposed to be break proof & chip proof...very dangerous thank goddness the kids weren't close by!

    0 Votes
  • Dp
    DPavlik Jul 11, 2013

    I purchase 2 yrs ago. They look brand new but I recently put my food on it to heat up in microwave for a min, min 1/2 and about 50 sec into it the plate just exploded. I have never seen a plate do this. It just didn't shatter into big pieces it literally exploded into slivers of little pieces. This was a large dinner plate. Very disappointed.. The bowls chip all around the bowl too. I wonder what materials they are using now for this too happen and are they even safe too eat off of. Yrs ago you could drop them and nothing would happen now we don't know what we are eating off of.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jill Clancey Jul 09, 2013

    My Husband tripped and fell, he had a corelle plate in his hand . He landed face first into the plate, the plate shattered to a million pieces. We have to call an ambulance and take him to the ER. The doctors had to work over an hour and a half removing the glass shards from his face. He has stitches in his head and lip and a broken nose. The cuts on his nose were so severe they could not even stitch it. They had to remove pieces of cartilage from his face. He will be scarred for life from this plate. We called corelle to inform them what happened and the agent laughed at him on the phone. Needless to say we have called our lawyer.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonam Raizada Jan 18, 2013

    i had bought corelle dinnerset 2 months before hearing that this is break, chip and stain resistant. but just after few days the corner of the bowl broke and the crockery started having stains of steel colour. i feel cheated and my Rs12500 have wasted. I request plz donot buy Corelle.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    rerememe2002 Dec 15, 2011

    I have used Corelle for over 20 years and have never experienced any problems. . .until last night. I was placing a plate on top of another one when the bottom one EXPLODED into tiny little shards. They left bloody dings in my stomach (closest to the plates), arms, and face. The shards were EVERYWHERE! I'm still debating about replacing them because I've always loved my Corelle. But today I did the dishes and I winced at every plate and bowl I touched. Maybe I will replace them all. A friend said to stay away from Pyrex, as well. I think they're the same company.

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    Pandaluver Jun 10, 2011

    I dropped a bowl and it shattered into THOUSANDS of tiny, very sharp pieces. We did what we could and thought we got them all... we were wrong. I stepped on one and couldn't get it out. Ended up having to go to the ER and THEY couldn't get it out. I don't have insurance, and can't afford a specialist, as was suggested. Has anyone tried to sue Corelle?

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    kaztas May 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had two dishes explode when dropped - one a dinner plate the other a bowl. I'm getting rid of it all as it's unsafe. Just very glad no grandchildren around at the time as it went everywhere

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gomez, Lisa Nov 25, 2009

    I purchased 2 sets of dishes from Corelle because they are advertised as chip and break resistant. I was washing one of the smaller plates yesterday and it cracked into several pieces. I could not believe it. I will not be purchasing Corelle any longer.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patjoco Oct 13, 2009

    I had my lunch all fixed with my sandwich sitting on a plate and I heard a PING! The plate exploded while it was just sitting there. It was the weirdest thing I'd ever seen.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    broken up in nj Sep 15, 2009

    I just had a dinner plate "explode" when it fell off the counter onto my tile floor.

    I'm glad I didn't listen to my husband and buy a whole set at the outlet in PA and only bought 6 all white plates.

    Other than that, I love them for their shape (square) and weight (light).

    Anyone having any luck contacting the company for at least a replacement?

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diane Apr 01, 2009

    I purchased two sets of dinnerware which included mugs. The dishes are fine. The mugs, which seems to be made of a material different than the dishes, have turned black on the inside. The mugs are white, except for the inside. I cannot use them because they look worn and dirty and unhealty.
    I would like them replaced with mugs that are the same material as the dishes. What do you suggest?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.