SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Wilber & AssociatesViolation of Fair Debt Collection Practice Act

Rk Feb 28, 2014 Normal, IL Review updated:

I have received daily phone calls from this "company" stating that we owe them $2300 for a vehicle accident that was not our fault. I had the "pleasure" of speaking with Keenan who informed me that we didn't have proof of insurance and that the police report stated that the accident was our fault. I tried telling her that her information was inaccurate and that we did, indeed, have insurance and have proof to that matter as well as the police report indicating the other driver was at fault. She was firm in her insistence in obtaining my social security number and credit card information so she could collect the money she felt was owed. When I refused to give her any information, she instantly raised her voice to me and proceeded to tell me that she was going to have my and my husbands drivers licenses and insurance suspended. (Doing so would result in immediate termination of my husbands employment).See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Normal, IL When I told her that she has just violated at least 8 articles of the Fair Debt Collection Protection Acts and to no longer call me, she told me that she would "continue to blow up my phone everyday until the matter is resolved" and then she hung up on me. This company never sent any written verification of the debt that they were trying to collect, used harsh and demeaning language, implied that she was a licensed attorney, threatened us with suspension of our licenses, implied that we committed a crime by not have proper insurance and threatened to contact our local law enforcement agency as well as multiple other scare tactics to get us to submit to them. Do your research on this company prior to doing any dealing with them. They are scam artists, pure and simple. I did file a fraud complaint with our Police Department and the local officers are following up with them. To say that these people and their practices are unethical, is an understatement in its purest form.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  •   Mar 05, 2014

    The sad truth is that this type ob behavior is NOT uncommon in debt collection. Most debt collectors (especially debt buyers) follow this type of 'extreme hard ball' to get paid. You did the right thing by not falling for it. The best way to del with ### like this is to hit them where it hurts. Their bank accounts. Hire a consumer lawyer in your area who belongs to the NACA (National association of Consumer Advocates). You can find associates attorneys at www.naca.net. They helped me when I was harassed by ### debt buyers. Best of luck!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      May 10, 2015

    They are pulling the exact same thing with us!

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Feb 05, 2016

    They called and sent a letter telling me that I owe for an accident that my car was involved in while it was stolen. Here in Illinois as far as I understand it, I am not at fault if the accident happened while the vehicle was stolen and done by the car thief. The funny thing is, they claimed that the other person's insurance was State Farm. I also have State Farm. I basically told the lady that she's saying State Farm is trying to sue themselves? She agreed. Thought it was funny. I did too. I gave her some info regarding my insurance, hung up, and figured it was over. Got a letter a few weeks later threatening to have my license suspended. I knew they couldn't do that legally. I called State Farm and spoke with the claims department that I was dealing with for my original claim, they said they would call Wilbur and Assoc. Now we wait and see if Wilbur and Assoc. gets the hint and stop trying to scam me under false pretenses.

    0 Votes
  • Ct
      May 17, 2016

    I returned a phone call they claimed that I was in an accident that I was not. she had my last four of social right but beyond that she didn't have anything right even down to my name... when I told her that I didn't know what she was talking about she got extremely rude didn't let me speak about anything and then yelled at me that they were going to be moving forward on something that I didn't know anything about. they harassed me since two months and refuse to send me anything in my email address. I still don't know if it's a scam or a real company, lawyers or insurance.
    Do you have these informations? they gave me the name of roberts law firm?
    I don't find anything similar in illinois on internet.

    +2 Votes
  • Be
      Jul 28, 2016

    This Wilbur and Associates must be a scam. They are trying to get me to pay over $12, 000 and I don't have any idea what for. I am ignoring their phone calls and their letters as I don't owe that kind of money. I have read many negative reviews about this company and their practices. Seems they do this to a lot of people.

    +3 Votes
  • Tx
      Oct 04, 2016

    I received a letter on what was supposed to look like a law firm letterhead. It stated that I am under investigation for an incident that according to them happened on June 7th. I was at work that day and nothing happened. They said that State Farm Ins is expecting a reimbursement of over $4000.00 and that isn't going to happen.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      Jan 31, 2017

    This company is the rudest most disrespectful most unprofessional company I've ever dealt with in my entire life. I'm a business owner and deal with multiple businesses on a daily. Their vulgar language and attitudes are completely unnecessary and they're threatening manner is also un necessary. I was involved in an accident where unfortunately my insurance was lapsed by 4 days. Never once did I ever disagree and say I'm not paying a penny. Over three months of constant correspondence with the insurance company prior to sending to this subrogation Department and never once did I get kept in the loop. The bill turned out to be completely outrageous unfair and unethical. All I simply asked for was receipts and copies of all repair damages for my review. They completely got rude and said that I was making them to do more work than they're required to do and they will just suspended my license. This is in violation of the Freedom of Information Act a person has the right to be informed of what they are being held responsible for. They constantly call me yelling at me hanging up on me there's no negotiations no room for argument I either pay the full amount that they're requesting or they suspend my license. This is completely unfair and not just. Just because you're a big time attorney's office does not give you the right to treat people in which the way they have treated me. We're talking $3, 700 and I'm being required to pay it right now right here no if ands or buts no negotiations. $1, 200 vehicle rentals 4 18 total days for one dent and a driver side door at a little impact accident in a parking lot backing out.

    +2 Votes
  • Lu
      Feb 13, 2017

    @Fonsop Did they send you the receipts? I am in a similar case and every time I call them they don't allow me to do questions or even speak. Do they really can suspend driver licenses? Did you pay them all the total amount? Can they send the amount owed to collections?

    +2 Votes
  • Qi
      Jun 14, 2017

    @Lulu0508 I have similar situation. I have not try to call them back yet. They send me a letter saying it is reported to the state, but not mention which department. I am ignoring their call now and not sure what to do next. I was planning to ask for the receipt but it seems they would never provide that based on other people's review. I have heard they do not have the right to suspend your driver license, but not sure what would happen if you keep ignoring them.

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Feb 13, 2017

    Don't ask for verification of a debt, ever. all they will do is send you a notarized letter, verifying they are collecting a debt. demand they send you a validation letter. you can google those words for examples of the wording you should use and the information you should be requesting.

    +1 Votes
  • No
      Feb 22, 2017

    Auto owners insurance uses this low rate low class wilbur &associates to collect for car accidents claims. my situation ended with auto owners admitting liability to the accident because witnesses came forward and said their 90year old insured was at fault for the accident as she ran a stop sign. auto owners sent a check for the damages to our vehicle & said they notified the # wilber company... apparently the agent forgot to let them know it was dropped because nakesha @ wilbur told me she would have me put in jail!! auto owners insurance and wilbur are pathetic.

    +1 Votes
  • He
      May 01, 2017

    Dealing with a similar situation. Threatening license suspension for a claim I was at fault in. My company paid the person $50, 000 for bodily injury and they are saying I owe an additional $4800. Has anyone's license ever been suspended?

    0 Votes
  • In
      May 06, 2017

    I would like to know this also. Has anyone's DL even been suspended by this 'company' ?!??
    They're saying I owe $1, 400, which if I don't pay they will suspend it asap.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      May 07, 2017

    A debt collector cannot tell dmv to suspend your license!!! additionally, having good credit is not a condition for driving. if you are being threatened by a debt collector with a suspended license, you need to report them to the ftc.

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Aug 10, 2017

    I want to clear up some things that a lot of people in this chat are misunderstanding. when you get into an accident and don't have coverage (you can have a policy with an insurance company and not have coverage) it is not a debt. it is a civil torte claim. so the fdcpa does not fall under what wilber collects on. now every state in the us requires you to have valid full liability coverage on every vehicle you own and by not having insurance you break said law. wilber can send paperwork to the state for suspension, because that is the consequence for breaking the law with no coverage when you got into an accident. now liability, if you don't feel liable for an accident that is what you have insurance for they fight liability for you, you don't just pay them to pay out for damages, you can not fight liability on your own, you have to have insurance willing to do that for you. that is why the bottom line is pay your insurance on time and make sure you have good coverage otherwise deal with the consequences.

    -2 Votes
  • Jo
      Aug 21, 2019

    @Sadie Johnson Incorrect. NH does not require auto insurance unless you have a violation.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 19, 2017

    I am in a similar situation with Wilbur and Associates. I have told them repeatedly to Cease & Desist, that I would not be giving them any of my personal information, and their scare tactics will not work. The accident I was involved in was decided as not my fault, so I just laugh and hang up now.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Mar 06, 2018

    They can and do suspend drivers licenses. they did it to my boyfriend due to a not-at - fault accident he was involved in without insurance (yes we realize he should have been insured and yes, he went to court and took care of that!)... the only vehicle damaged was his and no one was injured per the police report. a year after the incident, wilbur and associates began calling, he entered a payment arrangement simply to keep his license. after 8 months they doubled the balance owed (from $7, 000 to $14000!) and wanted to double his monthly payment without telling him what he was paying for. he defiantly refused to cooperate with them any longer, and they did send paperwork to the state successfully suspending his drivers license. he lost his job because his license was suspended, and guess what?! they still don’t get any money! what kind of hell is this that when someone fraudulently sues an insurance company after a fender bender and wins, the insurance company then hires [censor] like wilber & associates to harass people and ruin their livelihoods. we have kids and a home to support. he is currently out of work, collecting benefits from the state and filing his own bankruptcy!

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
      Aug 21, 2019

    @Screwedover111 False. No debt collection company can suspend licenses. Only the police can. Please do not comment without doing research!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      Oct 04, 2018

    They have Almost tripled the amount I entered into agreement with. I am looking for a way to handle this without dealing with them, I am in SC. Has anyone been successful with getting away from them?

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      May 22, 2019

    I have been dealing with them for over a year. My husband was in a car accident his fault and no insurance. They suspended our license and we had to come up with $1500 to get it back. We pay $278 a month. They told us it was $9000 that we owed. Well the paperwork we got back was for $12, 000. We had to sign it and agree to get our license back. We paid over $100 to have them EMAIL us the forms, so our license wouldn't be suspended. They still suspended them which added more money to get them back through the dol. They are crooks!

    -1 Votes

Post your comment