SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Walden University / FRAUD

www.walden.edu, Minneapolis, MN, United States Review updated:

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME. EXPENSIVE MISTAKE. Six months into my PhD program, I changed the focus of my major and the enrollment advisor kicked me out of the entire school instead of transferring me into the new major. I had to wait months for the program to begin again, and there was a negative mark on my report (i.e. dropping out of school--but I didn't). I never had anything less than As while in the program. And on top of that, I was continuously ill-advised for the KAM independent study program. The academic advisors kept insisting that I needed to take intro classes at $2, 000 + per class over and over (3x) to be exact. It was the SAME material for each class. When I asked the head of the department he called and said, I'm sorry we can only credit you $200 of the $6, 000 but "I hope we can be friends at some point." Other reps said I should have absolutely been credited the entire amount. The faculty is nothing more than a revolving door of looney tunes that are rookies and just there to take your every penny. I am SO glad I am out of there but regret ALL of the effort and time to obtain straight As and calls made to try to understand the continued Administrative abyss of gross errors. THIS SCHOOL IS A NIGHTMARE.

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • Walden University Customer Care's Response, Apr 24, 2019

    At Walden University, we take the concerns and experiences of our students very seriously, and wish to hear from you if your experience did not meet your expectations, so that we can work with you to try to resolve your concerns. If you would like to discuss your specific situation, we are here to help you.

    If you are a current student, or attended Walden within the past year, please contact us by clicking on this link to complete this form https://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/a01on77Qb5e5z1I and provide us with specific details of your situation, and one of our school managers will contact you.

    If you are a former Walden University student who last attended Walden more than one year ago, please contact [protected]@mail.waldenu.edu and provide us with your name, student ID, program of study, dates of enrollment, location, and specific details of your situation, and a Walden representative will contact you.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Al
      Feb 11, 2011

    YOUR RIGHT THIS SCHOOL IS A NIGHT-MARE AND I'M ONLY IN THE FIRST QUARTER SO FAR
    1. dropped twice explanation computer error and thats a good one how does a computer drop you erase all your grades, , class particpation, like you did'nt exist
    2. Second drop to try to correct we contacted instructor to see if can come to a resilution i still had the possibility of being screwed when i did'nt do anything
    3. Finacial Aid notified same day started paperwork sameday to tell the banks for loans and pell grant i'm dropped but here's a good one i was re-registered same day charged again for same class and its up to me to get my money back from them
    4.i had to ask them where my pell grant was explanation it was in there office aka ""Bursar Office unopened but they made sure they got there money from my loans
    5. loans re-payment excess to me 10 weeks into class before refund pell grant they have investigate come up with decision favorable to me wont get it until before next quarter if then
    6.they refuse to give contact number for Bursar Office they don't talk to students they only reply to e-mails
    7. final comment these people can't understand why i got up-set
    8. give me another college and these people got a A- with BBB

    thanx for your time alex grzybinski

    +1 Votes
  • Ga
      Aug 08, 2018

    @ALEX GRZYBINSKI III Contact Paul to join the lawsuit against Walden:

    Paul Lesko
    Attorney-at-law
    T 314.833.4826 (office)
    [protected]@pwcklegal.com

    Peiffer Wolf Carr & Kane
    A Professional Law Corporation
    818 Lafayette Avenue
    St. Louis, MO 63104
    www.pwcklegal.com

    +1 Votes
  • Wa
      Sep 24, 2018

    @gamelady At Walden University, we take the concerns and experiences of our students very seriously, and wish to hear from you if your experience did not meet your expectations, so that we can work with you to try to resolve your concerns. If you would like to discuss your specific situation, we are here to help you.

    If you are a current student, or attended Walden within the past year, please contact [protected]@mail.waldenu.edu and provide us with your name, student ID, program of study, location, and specific details of your situation, and one of our school managers will contact you.

    If you are a former Walden University student who last attended Walden more than one year ago, please contact [protected]@mail.waldenu.edu and provide us with your name, student ID, program of study, dates of enrollment, location, and specific details of your situation, and a Walden representative will contact you.

    -1 Votes
  • Al
      Feb 11, 2011

    up-date forgot the good one my son is in verification since November and there question to me showed me there intelligence they could'nt read a 1040A they wanted me to explain to them my refund amount what is it !!! because this mess my son alex 4th is now in collection they want to know when they are getting paid they want him to take out a personal loan through them not the subsidized kind or unsubsized this college is a joke the right hand dose'nt know what the left hand is doing MY WARNING INSTEAD OF REGISTERING WITH THIS SCHOOL HEAD FOR THE HILLS AND DON'T LOOK BACK
    ALEX GRZYBINSKI IV

    +4 Votes
  • Ru
      Feb 11, 2011

    I'm so sorry you had to experience all of this as well Alex. It's hard enough being a student and achieving the goals you've set out for yourself...without having to spend even more time and money on the admin side of your education. Each time I phoned to find a solutions to the growing nightmare someone new got on the phone who did not know what the previous person said. Each person provided different information and I learned what a revolving door the faculty and admin staff really is. You are lucky you didn't spend as much time with this school as I did. HUGE WASTE from every angle. I am going to file a complaint with the BBB, Consumer Affairs and the Department of Education. Just because they are for-profit doesn't mean that they can get away with anything they deem necessary. If for-profit education systems are run like this...laws need to be passed ASAP to regulate this abuse. You will do well--it's worth it to attend another college!!

    +2 Votes
  • Ze
      Feb 22, 2011

    I am getting ready to start my third quarter with Walden University and I am happy with the instructors they are great. The problem is with their administration. They do not return phone calls or emails and then when they do they make excuses for the person or persons you are complaining about. The financial aid department is a joke. The sit on your financial aid until the very last minute. They offer you the opportunity to receive up to $500 for a book loan and then they wait until the day before your classes start to release the funds and you have to go through your first week and sometimes your second week without your books. Many students rely on their financial aid to get them through college and Walden keeps raising the tuition and technology fee prices and they can give you no information as to why just that it is policy. They also assured me that I would not have any residency requirements for my MS program and now they are telling me in order to graduate in December, I will have to complete a quarter of residency somewhere in my field of study. Most often these residency programs are in Florida or some other state that is 500 miles away from me. Many students cannot do this because of family obligations, work obligations, or other obligations. However they do not give you an option. I cannot believe the BBB has given them an A- rating. Something is seriously wrong here.

    +2 Votes
  • Ga
      Apr 12, 2011

    Amen. I am graduating (Ed. D.) now & have been in the program 4 years. If I were to list all of their errors, including, but far from limited to financial issues, I'd run out of space. Here's my favorite though. After writing 3 chapters of my dissertation, the professor of the course I was in told me the entire thrust of my dissertation study needed to be revised. That meant I had to discard tens of hours of research and spend tens of hours doing additional research. Done. I got an A in the course. Next course. Next professor says (in effect) "What were you thinking?!" And tells me to re-discard (a new word discovered by Walden students) what I had done and un-discard (another one) what I had previously discarded.

    Next: When I was ready to defend, one of the professors (and I use the term VERY loosely) could not be found to schedule the online meeting. My advisor (who thak God was wonderful and helpful) could not track him down by voice or email. Finally, after waiting for 2 weeks, we scheduled. Of course, by then my stay at Walden had entered another term and they ALWAYS have the meter running. And don't get me started on their computer system.

    They are clearly a business first, last, and always, and an educational institution not at all. From a legal standpoint they probably fly just under the litigation radar. From a moral perspective, they are effectively scam artists. From an educational perspective, they are blatantly incompetent.

    +5 Votes
  • Un
      May 13, 2011

    I agree with the administration at Walden. I graduated over a year ago, with an MBA, and still have not received my degree in the mail, and have not yet received official transcripts. I have e-mailed their support team, as directed on their website, and have never even received a response. It seems once the money from a student stops flowing in, they don't respond. When I was a student and e-mailed the support team, I always received a response rather quickly. I guess they have forgotten the golden rule, that graduates are your best word-of-mouth advertising, and alumni like me would never donate to them. My undergraduate degree, obtained at a brick-mortar university, still contacts me, sends me newsletters, etc...even after 20 years from graduation date. Walden better tighten up the ranks if they want to continue to be a reputable university.

    +3 Votes
  • Ja
      Jul 05, 2011

    Committee chair seems to have as many questions as me. Too new to advise. FInancial aide office a joke, give misinformation and then forfeit your aid. Of course you have no means to fight back. They just tell you 'no problem' and then it's too late to fix it.

    +4 Votes
  • Un
      Jul 13, 2011

    I CAN NOT FIND SOMEONE TO FILL OUT A CLEARANCE LETTER TO TRANSFER. I HAVE NO RESPECT FOR THIS SCHOOL ANYMORE.

    +3 Votes
  • Wa
      Aug 24, 2011

    Such a sad rip off in this time of economic devastation. People leap into the slick promotions of an easey degree thinking it will lead to more income--it does not!!! The evidence is chilling as to the actual placement and income ratio for the money spent. Congress is examining and trying to stop this evil bait and switch practice that preys on the vulnerable and the gullible.

    +3 Votes
  • Pi
      Sep 07, 2011

    I was recently an employee of this university and i resinged 2 weeks ago. They are holding my last paycheck due to "charges i incured". Are you ###ing serious? What possible charges could i have made? I have tied multiple times to contact and they baned me from the grounds. I am filing a suit against them. Students look else where you would be better off going to a community college! This university IS a RIPOFF! They only want your money. In the department i worked in I would have to say out of 18 employees 3 including me were really there for the students. Pay was great but i can not work for a college that i am not proud of. Be aware. And there ### are mine!

    +3 Votes
  • Jb
      Feb 23, 2012

    Walden University scammed me. Had me believing that financial aid through fafsa would take care of cost just like it did with the college I was attending before switching to Walden. However after they got me registered and started then over half way through the quarter/semester they say that My account is on hold because of my outstanding balance. witch is over $1000 dollars. They said that I was supposed to accept their loans program things for the tuition's etc etc.. & so that I owe that now. I withdrew from them immediately and would not recommend that school to anyone unless you feel like getting screwed over.

    +3 Votes
  • Bt
      Jul 02, 2018

    @jbsapp8 There is no financial aid through fafsa. fafsa stands for "free application for federal student aid". it's just an application process to apply for financial aid. once you apply for financial aid, which are grants and loans (that have to be paid back), you may be awarded a pell grant that could be enough money to pay for your tuition at a low cost school, like a community college. higher priced school's tuition cannot be completely covered by the pell grant alone and you will either have to pay the addition yourself or apply for student loans through the federal student loan program (with is not called fafsa). if you don't apply for loans to pay for the additional tuition, you will wind up owing the school money... walden didn't scam you!!! you are just ignorant about how tuition and student loans work.

    +2 Votes
  • Dr
      May 09, 2012

    No wonder their "enrollment advisers" sound like cold calling sales reps! Reminds me of South Harmon Institute of Technology.

    +3 Votes
  • Or
      Jun 17, 2012
    Best Best Advice

    Walden is a totally mill school stealing money from the federal government and does not allow black people to graduate. They are rude disrespctful and discrimatory. I left after 7 years trying to get a phd in ed technology and noone could help me finish ut. ai am filing a law suit to get my money back.

    +5 Votes
  • Or
      Jun 17, 2012

    I am sorry about the spelling, i am just seriously annoyed and out of over 200, 000.00,

    +2 Votes
  • Mi
      Aug 08, 2012

    My thoughts of attending this fine university have been crushed! You industrious people have swayed my judgment and now I must move on to other venues. TNX for the heads up as all can not be bad. Your reviews have been valued. I am a prison nurse that learns from the mistakes of criminals; today I learned from the mistakes of the abused. Point of consideration is not to attend this controversial venue. Bye Bye. I did the Spell Check so you can not prove that I am ate up too much.

    +2 Votes
  • Eq
      Feb 10, 2013

    It is a shamed that these incidents occurred. I wonder why these students and other students could not go to the next level of administrators with their allegations for resolutions. I believe these institutions are obligated by law to have the appropriate avenues for the student report financial incidents and other incidents about the institutions. If not resolve, than the student should be able to go outside the institution to report the incident to FASFA, Board of Education and other Federal Agencies for investigation (after ever avenue is exhausted within the institute, first).
    No student should be cheated out of Financial Aid or be deny of an education because of human error or greed by an institution.

    +3 Votes
  • Ca
      Feb 19, 2013

    I've attended Walden University since 2008 and so far my experience has been good. I received a master’s in psychology in 2010 and was offered a master’s level mental health job within 6 months of graduating. Now I’m working on my Master’s in Mental Health Counseling. Unfortunately, losers like you all make it harder for folks like us that DO make the school work by your slanderous and libelous comments posted online! The only complaint I have is with the racial tension that is often created by mostly black female students in the some of the mental health counseling courses. They have clearly sucked up the anti-white and anti-European American racist crap that was spewed in their multicultural counseling class. Lastly, I have previously earned a master’s degree at another school and have been a licensed professional since 1991. I suspect all Walden U complainers are out of their league in an online learning environment and thus should go to community college where it could take 6 years or more to get an undergraduate degree. Good Luck with that!

    -1 Votes
  • Jf
      Mar 18, 2013

    I have been attending Walden University since 2010 in the Clinical Psychology program and have not had one negative issue with this University. The course work is rigourous to say the least but very challengng and worth the effort. It sadens me to hear of these horror stories which give the University a very bad reputation, but not in my view. I highly recommend the programs to working individuals like myself who was given the opportunity to study online. Online course work is not easy.

    -1 Votes
  • Lu
      Jun 23, 2013

    It's funny that most of the negative complaints are people who needed their hand held to be able to learn. I will be finished with my B.S. in Political Science and Public Administration next summer. I have no complaints, except maybe one teacher that didn't participate as much as I would've liked him to. I really get a kick out of some of the spelling by the people on this board that didn't finish their degree. No wonder why you couldn't get through to administration, they couldn't understand you!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Oct 22, 2013

    Folks,

    I am filing a lawsuit against Walden University. I have documented their tricks and encourage anyone interested to email me their story/complaint against Walden University. There are a few in my growing group who want to make this a class action suit. Anyone interested in helping, please send me an email at [protected]@aol.com.

    +3 Votes
  • Dj
      Apr 30, 2014

    I've been a DBA student for five years and agree with most of the comments on this blog! I've had 4 Chairs and each have made me start over. I know a person who chair died as she was almost done and had to start over! I've been lied to, scammed and ran out of financial aid. The problem is once your this far in there is no turning back!

    +2 Votes
  • Ha
      Jun 06, 2014

    I completed all of the required courses for the Ed.D in a Teacher Leadership between 2007 to 2011. I started my dissertation, and four semesters of it, none of the mentors/professors approved my outline. In fact I had 4 mentors in those 4 semesters. One quit in the middle of it and I was stranded several weeks with no help. Each time that I was assigned to another mentor, s/he disapproved my outline. Frustrated, I just dropped out and refused to pay the $5000+ for that one semester when the mentor quit on me. The school held my transcripts for non-payment.

    Hank

    +2 Votes
  • An
      Jul 17, 2014

    I wish I had done more research on this so-called school before I attended. So far, I have had a pretty good educational experience. The instructors are very nice and knowledgeable in their fields. I also receive helpful feedback on the papers I write. They could use a ton of improvement in their financial aid department though. The financial aid department is a total joke! I never seen a university operate so slow and incompetent when it comes students' money and loans. After disbursement, there's no reason to hold students' refund checks up to 14 days only because the law permits you to. That's not professional of a business or educational institution; however they identify themselves. It is better to beat a deadline rather than to "hit the deadline". I receive my refunds on the 14th day in most cases. The financial aid team always sounds like their hiding things when it comes to the truth about when a loan disburses and when you'll be awarded. I applied for and was approved for a plus loan a week before the term started, and I still have not received awarding of it let alone disbursement. They're feeding me a load of bull about how it takes up to 14 days to award a plus loan. Since when? That's unheard of. I am way past that deadline if that's the case. Then they tell me that it's 14 days from the promissory note, which also doesn't make any sense. So, now I have to wait that out even longer I guess. The rapture may happen first, who knows. The financial aid department sucks at answering any questions or concerns about anything. To make matters was, they could not even tell me why it takes up to 14 days. Especially because in my previous terms with them, I have received plus loan disbursement within the same week as awarding. I was awarded the day after approval of the loan. Once again, it always sounds like someone is lying!

    0 Votes
  • Pu
      Sep 11, 2014

    I am so sorry for all the abuse, however I have two dear friends of mine to graduate from Walden's MBA program with honors. I have never heard anything negative, as I wanted to pursue my master program from Walden also. But now I will not, It is so many reputable Online Universities out there. I suggest WGU, Western Governors University
    . The reviews and the commercials are fabulous.

    +1 Votes
  • Ph
      Sep 11, 2014

    Anonymous, I loved Walden and raved about it, learned a ton but once I reached the PhD dissertation portion, I was abandoned and they keep taking my money, not helping with my dissertation and not approving any of my work. I just got my research questions approved and guess what, I submitted the same questions the same way back in February but 2 teachers made me write them differently. Another committee member now has me writing them the way I did the first time!!! They continue to take my money and give me little help. Lower degrees might do well there. I loved that school until I was abandoned by them. They also lie about it being $48000 to get your PhD, it is really about $200, 000.

    +3 Votes
  • Di
      Sep 22, 2014

    WOW, where do I start? I hold a PhD from a different school and am attending Walden University under a Post-Graduate Certification in Finance. The courses are rigorous although professors' feedback is almost non-existent! For the most part, I am Okay with the courses and my Academic Adviser. Here is the problem: Financial Aid and Bursar. I believe as if they are using the FA money they receive for something fishy as one day I see my FA account with a -$250 balance (they owe me that) then next day I see something totally different for the same period, my account is on hold and I have a balance of almost $5, 000 because they messed up and returned my federal aid for some reason they cannot explain. Once I called to question it, they said they will evaluate this, take up to 14 working days (they always wait until the very last day for anything), and that there were no guarantees that I would get my FA re-instated. That was August 28th! After making a big fuss on the phone, I was told that the process will commence today again and that it will take another 7 to 10 working days to evaluate to see if I was going to get my funds re-instated or not.

    I have no choice but to try to finish the two courses I have left, but I recommend everyone to please go someplace else as the aggravation of the FA process will give you heartaches!

    +2 Votes
  • Ph
      Oct 30, 2014

    Those of you who think Walden is great, get to your PhD and see how things go. I graduated from a brick and mortar Ivy League school with honors for my Bachelor and Master's Degrees so don't tell me I need my "hand held" at Walden. It was great until I reached the PhD and was abandoned for the dissertation. No one has any compassion or help offered. Do not go here for higher degrees. Good Luck. I am well paid and respected in my field yet I am being treated like a child at this university. NIghtmare emotionally and financially.

    +3 Votes
  • Kr
      Nov 03, 2015

    I just graduated with my MSN from Walden in May. I transferred in from a brick and mortar school. The cost was comparable to the brick and mortar (state) school that I attended. My only complaint is that it is difficult to find preceptors. However, there are many brick and mortar schools that no longer find preceptors either. As Walden's MSN program continues, more contracts will be signed between the school and health systems/offices which should make it easier to get preceptors. Also to be considered is that there has been an explosion of MSN/FNP students in general across all schools. So it is not entirely Walden that is the probem.

    My only other complaints are just that they kept increasing tuition, although it stayed comparable to the b/m schools in my area. And they kept changing the requirements for clinical rotations (allowing MD's, then deciding that 1 of the 4 preceptors had to be an NP, allowing minute clinics, then saying no to minite clinics, and then changing their minds. I was a student there for 2 years. These changes could be considered "rapid fire" and annoying. The hardest part about this was the lack of communication that these changes were being made. There was no "grandfathering". It didn't matter if you were admitted to the school under one set of rules, if the rules changed, you changed with the rules. In the end, this did not affect me, so I personally had no complaints, but I know other students did

    I know that there have been communication problems between Walden and the students but at the time that I left, they were working on that and had put together a student advisory council that was to meet on a regular basis to discuss problems. They also started a newsletter they sent out periodically. Included in the newsletter were introductions of staff, faculty, and administrators. They have some very prestigious people in administration. Most recently they opened a forum for students and I know that when we posted complaints on the forums, the admins of the forums were quick to try to find a way to help us resolve the issues. I personally did not experience any communication problems. My emails were almost always promptly answered within 1-2 days, from anyone in administration, support, writing center, and the library that I contacted. In fact, when I was unhappy with some of the information given by student support, I recall that a support manager or administrator contacted me to make sure everything was worked out.

    If I had to choose one thing about Walden that needs changed it would be Academic Advising. Of all the agencies of the school that I contacted, the academic advising staff were completely clueless. I was very happy with my own academic advisor. He was accurate with his information and fast to respond to what I needed. I can't think of a single time that he wasn't on top of things. But there were so many others that I had talked to if I didn't want to wait to hear from mine, and with each question I got a miriad of answers from different advisers. Very frustrating.

    Overall, the school is a good one, and it is affordable. I was very happy with my program. I learned a lot and truly enjoyed it. Just do your homework, and don't expect it to be perfect. Check out facebook for student support pages. Those pages were invaluable.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
      Jan 25, 2016

    Please contact Me if anyone is interested in a Class Action Lawsuit for Predatory Practices; and then-some.

    A. Pichardo

    +1 Votes
  • Za
      Jun 13, 2016

    I don't know where to start so I am going to hope that I am clear in what is going on with hopes this can be rectified. I attended Walden University in 2010-2012, I was not in attendance very long. During the course of being with the university, I was enrolled in a Doctoral program that was for Special Education. This special education program, as I was informed, was based on online learning and a thesis. Being that I was a new mother, this worked best for the needs of my family. Upon enrolling in the program, and after starting courses, I was informed that I would have to attend colloquiums for the program- something that was not informed of me during the time of enrollment by my enrollment counselor, Bev Foster. After discussions with the university and getting the university Ombudsman involved, I was informed that the colloquiums were 1.) required to take for the program and 2.) I was correct that Bev did not inform me appropriately of the demands of this program. I was informed that I could either stay in that program and do the required colloquiums OR transfer to another program that did not have those- myself, me enrollment advisor, and ombudsman did not know what program that would be. I was then put into contact with Miranda Olsen. After further decision and more back and forth with Miranda Olsen, I was informed that NONE of the classes would transfer over to the EDD program which did not have colloquiums in the program. therefore I would have to start from scratch for all of my courses. This was now December 22, 2011. I had already invested a good amount of money into the program and now I was unable to use any of the courses to transfer over to the other program. During this time of trying to figure things out, the system automatically enrolled me in another course (this was supposed to be suspended while this all worked out). In January 4th, 2012 the same day that I started to petitioning being enrolled in the program, I submitted a "Leave of Absence Request" so no further classes were added to my account and so I could figure out what I was going to do. I was also going through a divorce as well as some pretty significant health issues. On March 6, 2012, I emailed the university letting them know I would be changing my program and needed to have the hold removed. I was officially entered into the new program on March 13th, 2012. Mind you, at this point I had not enrolled in any classes in the new program. Issues continued to arise with Walden University and I was unable to get a clear understanding of the new program and continued to work with the Ombudsman. On March 16th, I was informed that 2 classes might be able to transfer over and that I needed to contest this and went through the motions of doing so. On April 3rd, an email from Jenna Gray regarding the new program and the courses that it entailed. Continued email communication back an fourth lead to Jenna Gray enrolling me in a course that started on April 30th, 2012-- still working with the Ombudsman of the University, I was getting no where with the University- I was not getting credit for the majority of courses I had taken and $$ I had spent without it being able to be used towards my degree. I was informed by the Ombudsman to participate some in the courses I was enrolled in while we worked things out as the University was unable to put me on another academic hold while things were figured out. Without getting any support and finalization with the issues I was having, I, in conversations with the Ombudsman, withdrew from Walden University on June 6th, 2012. When I withdrew it was clear understanding and knowledge that due to the issues I had been having with my degree as well as lack of support from the University the withdraw from the University would leave my account at a $0.00 balance and we would amicably go our separate ways. My account remained at a $0.00 balance until September of 2012 when I got notified my account was sent to collections for failure to pay $7, 440.00 in tuition fees!!! I contacted the Cedar Financial regarding this was emails, letters, proof that the account was at a $0.00 balance, they said they would look into it. I heard NOTHING. I called Walden and they said they no longer had my account on file and that I needed to speak with the collection agency. A YEAR later, I got another bill from the collection agency for $7, 440.00 noting I owe this to Walden. Again I called and EMAILED them all the documentation at which point it was clear that I did not, in fact owe the said amount. They never got back to me. Here we are, 2016, and now I have a collection account on my credit report for Walden University when I have evidence that I was not enrolled in the classes willingly nor did I act alone in withdrawing from the University-- clear communications with the Ombudsman about what was happening and the lack of rectification of this issue was presented.

    +2 Votes
  • Un
      Jun 30, 2016

    The advisors at Walden are very poor. I was told I would graduate February 2016 and then was told I had one more class that cost me $2248 and did not graduate until April. Also, if you have a problem in a class such as I did, in which I was bullied and abused, the advisor tells you to forget about it because I got an A. My grade had nothing to do with how I was treated. I talked to the instructor who was just as bad as the students.. I enjoyed most of my classes and did very well and graduated with a 3.65 average, but I would not go back to Walden. I am still fighting with them over the $2248 they say I owe. I filed a petition and received no answer, they only care about money, not the student.

    +1 Votes
  • Ke
      Aug 08, 2016

    I am trying to initiate a class action suit against Walden. My story briefly: I started my Doctorate in 2008 and was approved to start URR in 2011. Since then my chair has been changed twice and I was instructed to to begin my project study all over again. I have been dismissed from the program after accruing $122K in debt and being approved twice to start the URR.
    I am being interviewed by the Philadelphia Inquirer. I have 2 others who have agreed to be interviewed. That makes a total of 6 in 3 different states who are willing to work with a lawyer to proceed.
    I am hopeful this interview will lead to a lawyer becoming interested in taking on Walden. The more merrier. Please contact me at [protected]@yahoo.com.
    Sincerely Yours,
    Keith Newman

    +3 Votes
  • Wa
      Sep 06, 2016

    At Walden University, we take the concerns and experiences of our students very seriously, and wish to hear from you if your experience did not meet your expectations, so that we can work with you to try to resolve your concerns. If you would like to discuss your specific situation, we are here to help you. If you are a current student, or attended Walden within the past year, please contact [protected]@waldenu.edu and provide us with your name, student ID, program of study, location, and specific details of your situation, and one of our school managers will contact you.

    If you are a former Walden University student who last attended Walden more than one year ago, please contact [protected]@waldenu.edu and provide us with your name, student ID, program of study, dates of enrollment, location, and specific details of your situation, and a Walden representative will contact you.

    Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
      Apr 30, 2019

    RUN RUN RUN!

    I simple called to ask about "why" I had a balance and a bully( not gentleman) employed at Walden name Roy Winkler yelled at me. I asked him why was his tone changing and he said I was trying to make him feel stupid! Well if asking questions about this OUTRAGES FAKE bill makes you feel stupid, then keep wearing your shoes on the wrong feet. I'm reaching out to the Department of Education now!

    0 Votes

Post your comment