SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Rodalefraud and scam

Review updated:

Several months ago I suscribed to Prevention Magazine, a Rodale publication. After realizing what a stupid magazine it is, I cancelled the subscription. While I never received a refund, I was just happy not to receive this trash in my mail every week.

Just recently I received a large package containing two books from Rodale. I called customer service to tell them I never ordered any books from them and got a complete run-around -- the magazine CS reps claimed I had to speak to the book CS reps, and back and forth, etc. Nothing was ever resolved.

I wrote to Rodale to inform them I had never ordered these books and wasn't about to spend my money returning them. I requested they remove me from their mailing lists and not to send my anything in the future.

I received correspondence back from Rodale informing me that a bill was on its way for the books.

As a result, I have filed a series of mail fraud complaints and a request for a Prohibitory Order against them with the USPS and a complaint with the Better Business Bureau (the BBB, btw, has received hundreds of complaints about sleazy sales and billing tactics on the part of Rodale, so I'm not alone).

Do not order any of Rodale's publications and certainly don't give them as gifts -- your relatives will NOT thank you!

Su
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Tr
      Jan 06, 2009

    During the summer of 2008 I ordered a book from Rodale publication. I received the book and was not impressed but paid the bill anyway. On December 21, 2008, I received a package in the mail from Rodale with not one but three books!

    I called customer service to tell them that I did not order the books but after several minutes of answering the automated prompts and jumping through the hoops of their automated system, I received the message that due to the high call volume a customer service rep was not available and told to call back.

    On December 22, 2008, at my own expense, I mailed the complete package of books in a flat rate through the post office with a Delivery Confirmation Receipt using Priority Mail with a letter attached demanding that they NOT invoice me and to take me off of their mailing list. As of January 6, 2009 the books have not been received so I can only assume they will never pick them up.

    The only correspondence that I have received is an invoice!

    I have entered numerous messages on their website in the “Contact Us” demanding that they cancel the invoice and take me off of their mailing list but have not received an answer.

    Since they will probably turn me over for collection, I am writing to the Pennsylvania Attorney General.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Jan 07, 2009
    Rodale - I never ordered a book
    Rodale
    United States
    rodalepress.com

    Iam on a Government assistance and I don't have the money to pay for a book that they sent through the mail Called First-Aid Campanion Dogs/Cats claiming that I Owe them 45.94 and I refuse to pay them because someone on their company screwed up.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jan 31, 2009
    Rodale - Fraudulent activity
    Rodale
    United States
    rodale.com

    I received a book from Rodale which I did not order. It states if I do not want it I have to return it at my own expense. I do not feel I should have to pay freight on an item I did not order.

    Trying to find a phone number to complain is virtually impossible. The only phone number I find is to pay the bill.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Mar 05, 2009
    Rodale - Invoice for books not ordered
    RODALE
    Emmaus
    Pennsylvania
    United States

    Have tried to had Rodale cancel books that I did not order twice. Stated that I order them why I renewed my magazine, which I did not renew the magazine.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Aug 12, 2009

    You actually don't have to pay the postage. You can call or email Rodale and they will send you a return label for you to return it free of charge. Also, books are only sent if there has been an order card filled out. If you did not order the book, then someone filled a card out for you.

    0 Votes
  • Gm
      Aug 16, 2009

    This past year (2009) I have had the EXACT same experience. Two years back I got a magazine subscription for Men's Health from a friend, and this year Rodale sent me like 3 large hard-cover books with muscle-building recipes, then a month later sent me a bill for them. I called MULTIPLE times and they keep saying it's up to ME to prove that I did not order these products they are trying to charge me for and REFUSE to give me a method of returning them without charging me for shipping and handling. I hope this scam feels the wrath of the public, who knows how many innocent people they are scamming the $60 for the books from.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 18, 2009

    I am in the middle of this right now, in September 2009, ongoing from almost ONE year ago. I have subscribed to Runners World since high school cross country, but this year, Rodale sent me two things I did NOT want and did not order: A running log book and a calendar. I was traveling for business internationally when this mail arrived, and came home a month later to find these items and bills.

    I sent everything back. I have USPS proof of shipping it back (delivery confirmation and a signature at the Rodale office). I am STILL receiving collections notices for items I no longer even have in my possession and am ready to call yet again. I am NEVER ordering ANYTHING from them and will cancel my Runners World subscription immediately. I have perfect credit and now have to worry about Rodale going after me for a $21 calendar I never ordered and RETURNED? Insane.

    0 Votes
  • Si
      Oct 02, 2009

    What does the law say about all this?
    Surely if Rodale sends you a book that you did not order, that is their fault and they should lose out--not us the consumers!
    I currently have a copy of a typical Rodale piece of BS that I haven't even removed from the packaging. Somehow I spoke to someone with some sense at Customer Services, and they sent me a postage sticker (so at least they are accepting the postal fee!).
    However, I am tempted to shove it back in their faces and just keep the damn book. If everybody they scammed did this, I'll bet they would think about changing their 'marketing ploy'.
    Simon
    South Africa

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Jan 06, 2010

    I just received a $19.90 Runners World calendar I didn't order. I'm sending back the invoice w/a note that i'm not returning the calendar because I didn't order it and don't want to spend money on shipping. I hope I don't have to go through hell over the next year about it. And Republicans think we don't need a Consumer Protection Agency - so these corporate scammers can continue to bilk the American (and South African) public.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
      Jan 07, 2010
    Rodale - Receipt of books not requested
    Rodale
    33 E. Minor St.
    Emmaus
    Pennsylvania
    United States
    Phone: Automated Phone
    Rondalequicklypay.com

    No way to cancel them. No phone to call all is automated to make a payment or change your address. Even the website only is to make a payment. They have cancelled their customer service web site.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Feb 22, 2010

    Here is a customer service email address that my be of some help: [protected]@rodale.com
    In my communications with them, they do not post a phone number.

    Once you send in the card for a free trial, they start you on a repetitive book program and will occassionally send more books for "free" trial.
    I emailed and demanded they drop me from this program and did receive a confirmation email that it was done. I hope it is ligit.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Sep 14, 2010

    I received two books from them that I never ordered, and they charged my credit card through a web site. I spoke to someone that said I had to send the books back and then wait for a refund. I told them that I never ordered the books in the first place, but they said that I visited the web site. Now I have sent back the books, but the money has not yet been credited back to my account. I am hoping that this gets resolved soon.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
      Apr 05, 2011
    Rodale - PAYMENT DEMAND FOR UNORDERED BOOKS
    Columbus
    Ohio
    United States

    I've received multiple demands for payment of a book I did not order. I have e-mailed my protest, declared that I did not order the book, and yet still receive the repeated demands for payment. What recourse do I have in this situation?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Apr 12, 2011

    At Rodale, we take customer satisfaction very seriously. Please reply with your name and account information so we can look into this issue for you.

    Rodale Customer Service

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Apr 03, 2012

    I ordered a book and a DVD from Rodale. Paid for both. Received the book and not the DVD but invoice said both were in the package. I have tried unsuccessfully for WEEKS to get a hold of someone from the company. No one wll answer my emails. The phone number is only for returns and to pay your bill. You speak to NO ONE!! Does anyone have a phone number that you speak to a person??!!! Please I am desperate!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Oct 31, 2015

    Now we have to waste time dealing with this scam.

    0 Votes

Post your comment