SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ipsymistreatment of customers, unprofessional behavior

Review updated:

My name is Chelsea Hoffman and I was a subscriber to Ipsy for a few months and a heavy participant on their Facebook page. I frequently wrote positive reviews about them and referred numerous people to their service. However, on 8/18/2013 when I offered to give away some new urban decay lipsticks to others on the community, Ipsy deleted my subscription from their service altogether without any warning.

I must point out that Ipsy encourages their subscribers to "trade" cosmetics, and they never delete the posts of people advertising "giveaways" on their blogs. So I do not understand why they singled me out in particular. But when I emailed their "Ipsy Care" I never received a response -- even though it was within seconds of this happening. When I went to their Facebook to post about it, my account had been banned from their page. I had to make a new account to ask them why they did this.

Ipsy refused to answer me and then blocked the new account, avoiding even explaining why they would manually cancel a paying member's subscription without reason.See Top 10 Worst Companies in Las Vegas, NVI reached out to the owner of this company -- Michelle Phan who just launched the makeup label "EM" -- and she also deleted my post and refused to answer me. As the owner/founder of Ipsy, I figured she would extend a little more professionalism than her employees, but I was wrong.
I am now left here feeling completely abused and mistreated by Ipsy after I've done nothing but chearleaded for them on my blog and treated all of them with respect. I wonder what would happen if other subscription services like Netflix chose to treat their customers in the way that Ipsy has decided to treat me. Should businesses like this really manually cancel paying members' subscriptions based on Facebook activity?
When you add this issue to the constant problems they have with shipping (oh those bags are always lost in the mail) and the broken and sometimes missing items every month, how long will it take for this business to just go belly-up? I do not recommend this company to anybody. If they can treat me like this, that means they'll treat any of their subscribers like this. I didn't even do anything negative or what I thought was "wrong, " and I was targeted by this utter lack of professionalism. Who will be next?
Sincerely,
Chelsea Hoffman
Criminal profiler an author

Ipsy

Ch
Aug 15, 2013
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  •   Aug 15, 2013

    Don't know what your transgression was to get banned initially, but you violated their terms of use by creating another account after being banned.

    http://www.ipsy.com/account/main?id=terms_of_use

    Next time change your IP addy and/or use a proxy.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 16, 2013

    I meant to put 8/15/2013 -- the 18 is a typoe, obviously.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 16, 2013

    Mkstitch -- Ipsy doesn't make or own any products. They give samples that existing cosmetics companies are already giving out. People use their trading community to trade cosmetics all the time and yes even give them away (a lady gave me a few things through there instead of trading because she didn't want anything in her bag) I was doing nothing more than offering a few items of the same thing they were giving out -- but to disappointed members -- because I was trying to do a good thing and make some people happy.

    My point is that Ipsy could have handled this with far more professionalism than they used. They could have pointed out to me that they did not want me to do that (I would have apologized immediately!) But instead they acted atrociously and didn't even give me an explanation. It was very unprofessional.

    I've already filed the complaint with the Better Business Bureau as of this evening.

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 16, 2013

    Urban Decay doesn't compete with Ipsy. Mkstitch, you clearly do not know what Ipsy is... sorry.

    0 Votes
  • Si
      Jun 12, 2014

    I know what you are talking about.

    About a year ago, I was on the ''waitlist.''

    I would follow their Facebook page to see if they were opening any new spots. I posted asking about how long people were waiting. A woman replied to me and stated she signed up that day and was not waitlisted. I had been waiting almost 2 months as had many other people.

    I made a post on their FB page stating how is it possible. They told me it wasn't, I replied that a customer of theirs just told me it was... they said I was lying and banned me from their page. But they take my money every month. People like "EM" don't want to hear anything negative and don't care if they lose customers. I was just asking a simple question and their response in writing and action were so childish. I guess that's what happens when someone decides they can run a business because they made some Youtube videos. Good luck! I'll give my money to a company who encourages feedback, negative or positive.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Aug 20, 2018
    Ipsy - Haven't received my may glam bag
    Fresno
    California
    United States

    I haven't received my may glam bag

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Sep 01, 2018
    Ipsy - Never received December Bag
    Monroe
    North Carolina
    United States

    I never received my December bag, I sure hope I don't get charged for my January bag, since I never received the December one!!!
    The tracking states it is in Raleigh since December the 12th!!! I know it is the Holiday and expect a little delay but this is a big delay!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 01, 2018
    Ipsy - ipsy RIPOFF!!
    United States

    No phone number, Can not cancel and keeps charging

    0 Votes
  • La
      Sep 02, 2018
    Ipsy / Personalized Beauty Discovery - didn't want to purchase item - feel tricked
    Long Beach
    California
    United States

    please cancel my order
    I accidentally ordered a product
    FAB 5 in one cream and thought I was getting a 35% discount - not ipsy cash back. I'd like to cancel my order

    my name is Linda Palmer
    my email is [protected]@hotmail.com
    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 02, 2018
    Ipsy - My orders
    Owosso
    Michigan
    United States

    I've been getting ipsy bags the past few months & now its saying my payment is declined and my address is not deliverable..!? Could you tell me there not coming to my house anymore?!

    0 Votes
  • 27
      Sep 02, 2018
    Ipsy - Did not receive product
    Flushing
    New York
    United States

    I was charged for November (my first purchase from ipsy) and never received it. I emailed before but did not get any reply back. It's already been one month. The tracking confirmation said product was damaged and sent back to company. My email is [protected]@gmail.com.

    0 Votes
  • Ipsy - I never received my glam bag and yet I was charged for it. So I want to cancel my account or my glam bag
    United States

    I feel I was cheated because I never received my glam bag and yet I was charged twice. So I'm reporting you to my bank and the Bibb.
    Thank you,
    Shawn Hickman
    [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Sep 05, 2018
    Ipsy - unable to cancel subscription
    San Mateo
    California
    United States
    Ipsy.com

    Attempted many times to cancel subscription and cancellation is not finalized. I received emails from Ipsy with link in it that instructs to click to finalize cancellation and when I do it takes me back to beginning of cancellation process and when I proceed to end says same thing about email sent to finalize. So this an impossible task.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Sep 10, 2018
    Ipsy - double products delivered
    Denver
    Colorado
    United States

    I have had ipsy for awhile. I decided to send my neice one. Which was fine foe awhile The past two months she has gotten two. I am being charged for 3 instead of two Please
    check on this for me

    Sharon kish

    [protected]@msn.com

    This has been the second time she has received two I would like t have this taken care of before the November bag

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Sep 10, 2018
    Ipsy - the shipping
    Columbia
    Missouri
    United States

    I got billed as soon as I subscribed and it's been two weeks and my package has still not shipped is what it says? I'm very confused as to where it could be and why it says it has not shipped yet? I'm thinking about canceling but where can I get a refund? Help me

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Sep 11, 2018
    Ipsy - ipsy bag
    Deport, Texas
    United States

    My bag has not been recieved and I changed my address back in the first of August . Just looked at my order and it says it was returned to sender . I don't understand what that means . All my other mail has been coming to my house why can't I get my bag ? I'm almost to the point of canceling and I look forward to my bag every month :(

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Sep 19, 2018
    Ipsy - canceled my subscription
    Harvey
    Louisiana
    United States

    I canceled my subscription along time ago, but as I look at my monthly statements y’all are still taking money out of my account. This is why I would never resubscribe to a memberwith you guys again . I just want my money refunded and for you guys to stop charging me even know I canceled my subscription

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 19, 2018
    Ipsy - sample bag
    Magalia
    California
    United States

    I've already paid for my ipsy bag and I'm STILL waiting. What the hell is going on? This is horrible service.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 19, 2018
    Ipsy - have not recieved my glam bag for july and august
    San Mateo California
    United States

    Have not recieved product from ipsy but have paid for product in july and august.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Sep 20, 2018
    Ipsy - glam bag
    Georgetown
    California
    United States

    My name is Kassie Carter and I receive Ipsy bags and I'm very disappointed. I don't use any of the products you send and I'm done with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Oct 15, 2018
    Ipsy - my complaint
    Binghamton
    New York
    United States

    I haven't received my ipsy bag from March till August but yet ur still taking my money I've been writing y'all about this for months I would like a response ty I don't understand how u can take money from people nd not send the product ty Mrs woodrow.

    0 Votes
  • As
      Oct 21, 2018
    Ipsy - ipsy bag
    United States

    I was charged for an Ipsy bag last month but didn't receive it, and then got charged again for this month. I would like a refund on my last month's one if I'm not going receive it. This is my first time tiring Ipsy and I'm not impressed.

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Oct 22, 2018
    Ipsy - june ipsy bag
    Jacksonville
    Florida
    United States
    Ipsy.com

    I did not receive my bag. I recently moved HOWEVER I made sure to change my address long before my move. My mail has also been re-routed to my new address. What's going on?

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Oct 22, 2018
    Ipsy glam bag - June bag
    Kansas City
    Missouri
    United States
    Ipsy.com

    It was delivered to wrong address I am willing to pay for another one. How can I reorder?

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Oct 22, 2018
    Ipsy - charged
    Bradford
    Pennsylvania
    United States

    I was charged for a 25.00$ fee which last I checked there wasn't a fee for ipsy and charged 10.00$ for makeup 3 different times already on the same day keep taking my money out of my card in the negatives now thanks a [censored]ing lot want a [censored]ing refund do NOT get IPSY!!!

    0 Votes
  • El
      Oct 27, 2018
    Ipsy - subscription
    United States

    I have been charged for 2 months worth of subscription and have never received any items. I cancelled my subscription today. I don't want your samples. I do want my money refunded. You took my money but never sent my items.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Oct 27, 2018
    Ipsy - I pay bags
    Westfield
    Indiana
    United States

    I moved in March however I did change my address and haven't received the last three bags.I've tryed to email you with no responses. My email is [protected]@gmail.com
    I need this resolved asap as iam still paying for something I'm not getting extremely disappointed! My old adress was 165 Lotus #8...my new adress is 1914 e Maple Park Dr...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 28, 2018
    Ipsy - billing
    Chicago
    Illinois
    United States

    I was charge twice and I got my first bag, I was charge on may 24 and June 6, I'm confuse can you please help. Or at least return that money to my account, I was really excited to be a customer but you can't charge me twice.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 27, 2019
    Ipsy / Personalized Beauty Discovery - Membership
    United States

    There is no contact number or email to cancel your membership. I followed the instructions but the site won't let me cancel only delay. I was billed twice for a single glam bag. I cancelled Ipsy on my PayPal account but could not do it on their website.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
      Oct 16, 2019
    Ipsy / Personalized Beauty Discovery - Changing email
    United States

    Does anyone know what I can do to access my account I don't remember my Gmail I used for it I tried calling customer service and it says the phone ain't working I tried all the Gmail's I could try

    0 Votes

Post your comment