SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Freedom Debt Relieflied to me from day 1 about everything

Review updated:

Lied to me from day one. My contact never disclosed their fees. He told me multiple times I could not be sued by Credititors because I was protected under PA laws...we were sued three times... We left program and were told we would get the money left in our escrow account in 3-5 days only to find out they would not be returning it to us, it was for their "fees and services". They settled only 2 of my cards. They were in the process of settling my discover card. They told me a $ amount and I agreed. They never told me their fee on any of the three settlements.See Top 10 Worst Companies in San Mateo, CAThey only paid 300$ from my acct on the discover card before I left the program, I contacted discover card and I am paying off the balance myself with the help of my parents. I have multiple other cards that I was able to negotiate on my own within a few hours. I was totally taken advantage of. Their fees are ridiculous - I have the numbers... I was never told anything about the amounts they would collect. I was lied to multiple times. Me was having financial difficulties and this company made my situation worse! Thanks to my mom and dad they are helping us out of a very stressful situation. It's two weeks before Christmas, I was expecting my money refunded and I have a small child. Now I have no refund and more stress.

Br
Dec 08, 2014
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bi
      Dec 30, 2008
    Freedom Debt Relief - monies paid for services not performed
    Freedom Debt Relief
    Illinois
    United States
    freedomdebtrelief.com

    This "so called" company tricks people into believing that they are a debt settlement company in which they are just acting like it in order to scam money out of innocent people to line their pocketbooks I was believed they were assisted me when I woke up and smelled the coffee and found out they were not actually providing any service at all just different canned lines from operators stay far away from this "so called company

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Jan 23, 2009

    Wow, then they've got everyone right down to the BBB fooled.

    Perhaps you are illiterate and could not read how the program works. Maybe you're just stupid and whiney. Maybe you're another competitor trying to make yourself feel better by making up false claims.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Apr 23, 2017

    @Karen I am a client of FDR who is getting ready to cut them lo0se. I am, in fact, quite literate, which does not always help a person when dealing with a business that operates on nefarious principals . Just today, I looked past the flashy client dashboard, dug into the details of all of my accounts, created my own spreadsheet and learned that, while their information was trying to make me believe that they have saved me $10, 000 - they have actually increased my balances by $15, 000 (I assume because they were not successful in getting the CC companies to waive fees and interest), they sent me a 1099C the day before taxes were due, after I had filed my taxes early - causing me to have to file an amended return and owe $240 (I would have previously received an $800 refund). When I averaged out the percent that they had 'saved' me, including their fees, it ended up being a very small % of 'savings', which was clearly offset by the increased balances due to their apparent lack of 'expert negotiating' that they promised me. You may think that YOU are better than everyone else and so smart, and justified in insulting others, but this business is predatory and deceptive.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Jan 25, 2009

    I had over $28, 000 in credit card debt. After much advisement from a bankruptcy attorney and research of credit card counseling, I went with Freedom Debt Relief. The company and my "counselor" were very professional and straight forward. Now, I must admit, the company or solution is NOT FOR EVERYONE! But, it has been for me. Sure, my credit score is totally trashed (by my own doing). I had to take a second job to help me with reducing my debt. As long as you are doing EVERYTHING Freedom Debt Relief asks you to do, I know longer have the phone calls from debt collectors. I do keep a paper trail of who I talk to at Freedom Debt Relief as well as a paper trail from debt collectors if they still send me a statement in the mail. The 'counselors' at Freedom Debt Relief call you once a month to see how you are doing and if you have any questions or concerns about the program that you are in. Freedom Debt Relief has already settled with one of my cc in a matter of 5 months ( which will probably take 15 years to pay off). Freedom Debt Relief DOES NOT MAKE ANY PROMISES!! ONLY YOU KNOW WHAT IS BEST FOR YOU! They have been straightforward with me and brutally honest.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Jul 25, 2009

    Interesting comments by those who uphold this company and the calling of names to prove your point? Wow you must be intelligent! Actually the show for all the people hurt by FDR was just aired in our area and it really opens your eyes. The vice President could not offer one fact about the company when asked. She could only give speculations and ideas. She constantly said " I'm sorry I don't have that information or numbers for you". The BBB does have and showed a stack of over 1600 ppl they believe have a valid claim aginst FDR. Freedom Debt Relief is up aginst I believe 3 attourny offices and other agencies. FDrom what I have seen if you were helped by them (and according to the attourny generals numbers) you are in the 1% they can claimed they have helped. My advice would be to find a LEGAL attourny to help you set up a fund and start paying off all the debt you owe LEGALLY. It would'nt hurt to offer a settlement to some of your debtors yourself letting them know the truth about your situation and your willingness to give them everything you can which is more than they would get by other means. Just my two cents I'm sure others will shout foul but I don't really care. Sane thought and our legal system will push through I hope.

    Michael B

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Nov 25, 2009

    fdr is a unreliable company and bleeds unsuspecting client who did not check the many complaint before signing up my $16.000.00 as settled for 74% which was the same $16.000.00 because the debt went up th $22.000.00 over $8.000.00 was paid and the remainder went up in two months to $13.000.00 I have to file for bankrucpy because imhave no money now

    0 Votes
  • Sw
      May 29, 2011

    The Fishman Company . They are nothing but a money grab that prays on people in debt. Bankruptcy is not a bad thing, it is the only way to help you out and give you your life back.I lost over 5, 000.00 to the fishman company. I will never see that money again. Another important point of interest. Any money that you settle for with this company, the forgiveness amount, you will get a 1099 form from the IRS

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Mar 11, 2015

    Freedom debt releif did the exact same thing to me. Told me I would get my funds refunded that were in my account. Now they have taken them as fees. This should be illegal. They are taking advantage of people in financial distress that are trying to do the right thing morally.

    0 Votes

Post your comment