The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Farmers Insurance / bad customer service

1 P.O. Box 268994Oklahoma City, OK, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 1-800-4357-7644

I was in a auto accident recently so I contacted my insurance company the day of the accident wich was 09/02/08 to make a claim. I gave them all the information that was needed. My adjuster had told me that he would get back to me asap. Well a week goes by and I called my adjuster back he was not there so I left a message. He didn't return my call so I called him the week after and again did not pick up again so I left another message. Then I contacted my adjusters supervisor which was not answering as well and I left him a message. Finally my adjuster called back saying that he had gotten a hold of my whitness but he didint get a hold of the other party involved in the accident. He said that it might be another week before he would get back to me. So I waited thinking that he was doing something to help me. I call him back in a week later and he didn't answer again so I left a message. The next day he calls me back but I was not home and he left a message saying that he is not handling my case anymore and said that its been transferd to a subragator. So I call back to talk to my insurance company and they don't seem to know who my subragator is and my adjuster was not at his office. The help line suggested that I contact the other partys insurance. I was so mad so I hung up and I endend up doing all of the leg work. I made a claim with the other insurance and told them what had happened. The other insurance Unitrin is still trying to locate their client. It's been almost been two months since my accident and I don't know what to do so I am writing you. Please help me reslove my problem. Thank you.

Sincerely, Lydia Pors

Ly
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Va
      23rd of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    This Cloverdale, CA Farmers Insurance case started on 05/19/2007:

    We have been displaced into temporary housing since then. We have 3 open claims with Farmers. First a 2, 000 lb tree branch fell through our roof, missing our 9-month old by 3 feet or less on May 19, 2007. Then, on September 27, 2007 the tree lost another 2, 000 lb branch through the roof again. Then with the delayed response (again) to the processing of our claim, the rains started up water and wind took the house and those repairs already completed (80% +) to a new level of damage.

    In the midst of all of this we could not afford to have the trees removed, especially this particular one. The local paper put us on the front cover, asking for donations, etc. We put the house up for sale, knowing we might have to go into a Payment Plan to keep the house due to the reasons listed below.

    We put the house up for sale even though wed bought it (our dream house) now shattered (the house and the dream), and we got a buyer within a week! No one could sell their house in Cloverdale! We were so lucky. They hung on through 6 months of repairs!

    Now on to the story.

    We have 4 kids, including an infant. Our third claim wasn't filed in time to get the repairs done on our home - our assigned claims adjuster "forgot" to file the claim for 5 months. This delay caused the repairs to be stalled, due to stalled payment to the contractor, and we lost our buyer for our home. Now we face foreclosure on our house because of this delay, mismanagement and poor reconciliation of our insurance policy ALE payments and claims processing. All 3 of our claims have had horrible mismanagement problems, including evading telephone calls by the claims adjusters supervisors, claims adjusters grave mistakes on claims payments, and I was yelled at today by a very high-ranking supervisor because "his mother had surgery last week and is very sick". This was after he avoided calling me for nearly 2 weeks. We have had to wait over 4 months for thousands of dollars (over 7K) in reimbursements for food. I've had to contact my actual Farmer's insurance agent to obtain support and help to get results in the past numerous times. We are always calling CRS Temporary Housing at the last minute to obtain additional housing and calling our landlord to confirm approval. Our claims adjuster does not complete assignments within reasonable amounts of time, and has caused great losses in our regular everyday lives concurrent with the catastrophic losses of our personal losses involved in the 3 claims we have open. Due to the $7, 000+ delay in ALE reimbursements, we lost a major credit card because we were not able to make the payments. We had to pay our car payments to be able to travel to work, and buy food to feed ourselves and 4 children. In addition, it took 5 months to get the inventory pictures we requested over 10 times so we could go re-purchase our items lost a year ago. We have been told by Marilyn Pouncey claims adjuster, and Dorey Battle (her supervisor) that we were not as important as other claimants at times and that we would have to wait. Larry Butler (Doreys supervisor) was the one who yelled at me because his mother had surgery last week.

    I guess with even three concurrent claims in one year that prevent you from living in your home that causes you to actually lose your home due to their own errors, its still not enough to Get you Back Where you Belong so their logo promotes. Where do you belong? In their claims processes forever???

    Their HELPPOINT customer service number logo is Sanity Makes a Comeback. What does that mean exactly??

    Sanity makes a comeback after you lose it with Farmers???

  • Do
      22nd of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    farmers insurance is a big rip off all they want is your money and that is it. don't have a claim with them because you most likely won't collect sorry about your luck is the feelings i'm getting from my agent and the claims office. won't return phone calls our anything else, really good bussiness. now i'm filing civil lawsuit against them. this claim happen back in july 2009.
    thank you;
    doug

  • Sm
      20th of Jun, 2011
    0 Votes
    Farmers Insurance - Auto Insurance Settlement
    Farmers Insurance
    4680 Wilshire Blvd
    Los Angeles
    California
    United States
    Phone: (866) 857-5052
    farmersinsurance.com

    I filed a claim on the 18th of May 2011. The adjuster and a private forensic investigator finished their reports weeks ago. I can not get Farmers to offer a settlement or fix the damage on my vehicle. I am at a loss as to what to do. Any help in this matter will be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

  • An
      12th of Oct, 2011
    0 Votes
    Farmers Insurance - unreasonable
    Farmers
    Oklahoma
    United States

    Had a accident and gotten hurt and Farmers is refusing to settle so now we are going to court over it..The other person who caused the accident admitted to fault...DON'T USE FARMERS

  • An
      12th of Oct, 2011
    0 Votes

    Take them to court, and report them to the insurance commissior in your state, and contact the FTC ( Federal Trade Commission ) file a complaint.

  • Ra
      10th of Aug, 2014
    0 Votes

    On October 17, 2008, almost 6 years ago, I was at work as a nurse. My husband, driving my car, was rear-ended by a third party on our property. We were both sued by her. I was sued for being the owner of a motor vehicle. Farmers’ accepted coverage initially under our auto policy and paid property damage. They denied coverage under our homeowners policy because it was under the exclusionary clause for use of an auto. Later, plaintiff claimed personal injury damages in excess of 1 million dollars. Farmers’ then denied coverage even as they were defending us. Farmers’ deserted us on the eve of trial three years later and we were forced into a settlement. I paid 150K out of my home equity. Farmers paid zero. Farmers immediately proceeded to sue me for their defense costs for “uncovered claims.”
    At trial, Farmers produced a claim file. It did not contain their own experts opinion that the plaintiff was lying about her injuries. It did not contain offers of settlement to settle me out (for 15K they could have settled me out). I appealed the 60K judgment only to find out that Farmers, by their own admission in their appellate brief, had “omitted certain documents” from the 8000 page file. I am now suing them for Fraud. So, in summary, Farmers not only did not cover me, did not contribute to the settlement, turned around and sued me because they eliminated every single document that would have been exculpatory to me and inculpatory towards them and I WAS NOT EVEN AT THE SCENE OF THE ACCIDENT. I have lost my home equity, most of my retirement, my health and almost my job as a nurse all because I owned a car insured by Farmers. It has cost me over 700K. I am bringing the appeal and the fraud case pro per because I have no money left to pay an attorney. Take this a warning to stay far away from Farmers.

Post your comment