Diamond Resorts International - Hawaii Collection / ripoff - misleading information

HI, United States Review updated:

We purchased a timeshare at Kaanapali beach club in 2008. This was the biggest mistake we have ever made. Not only can you buy the points at less than half the price elsewhere, but the promises they make during the sales presentation are false and misleading. There have been several occasions where I have tried to book reservations only to find out they are not available. Their booking system cancels reservations randomly. They have doubled their maintenance fees over the past 2 years . There are also resort fees that you have to pay and they nickel and dime you with parking fees and wi-fi fees, even though you are a member.
The customer service is terrible -- they can't do anymore than you can on the reservation system -- even if you have a problem or have made an error. They claim they are committed to customer service, but after 3 years of complaining, I have NEVER gotten a phone call or an email asking if they can provide better service or customer satisfaction.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating


  • Di
      22nd of Mar, 2012

    Hi, we have tried to locate your account details, but unfortunately we do not have enough information for us to reach out to you directly. Therefore, we can only respond to the general items you refer to in your post, and urge you to send us a email at [protected] so we can assist with your specific account concerns at the earliest opportunity.
    We are sorry, that you have been unable to utilize your ownership to its full potential; however, there are a few things that we would like to respond to in your statement.
    We apologize that you have had difficulty locating availability but we always recommend planning trips in advance, especially in high-demand locations such as Hawaii. We would be happy to help secure a booking for you when you contact us.
    Please be assured that our reservation system does not cancel reservations randomly - if there has been an error or miscommunication, again, we will definitely address that with you.
    The resort fees on property are determined and approved by the HOA committees, and Ka'anapali Beach Club (KBC) does have a daily resort fee, but these are NOT chargeable to our owners and members. At KBC, these also include the cost of wi-fi. Also, we do have a program for all of our loyalty members owning 15, 000 points or more where wi-fi is free at most Diamond managed resorts. Providing a wi-fi service does incur a cost - it is not free - and therefore charging for wi-fi, for those who wish to use it, rather than include it for all in the fees, is not uncommon.
    The HOA Boards for each property determine the budget for the property and from that determine the annual maintenance fees. We can assure you that the maintenance fees have never doubled. In the cover letter you received this year with your maintenance fees, you can see that the increase for the Hawaii Collection did not exceed 3.5% from the previous year. The increase the year before that was under 3%. There was, though, a water intrusion assessment for the building work required at The Point at Poipu with an associated payment plan, and this did raise the overall fees higher, depending on the number of points you own.
    We truly regret that you feel our customer service is wanting and would like an opportunity to change your perception. We would be more than happy to discuss your ownership, assist you with finding availability, and help you maximize your ownership. We encourage you to reach out to us at [protected]

    0 Votes

Post your comment