SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Cons Call Home / Refund

Ft Myers Florida, US Review updated:

I signed up with this company that offerred a local phone number to my husband who is currently at the Western Correctional center in Mt. Sterling, IL.
This company immediately debited my checking account and sent me a local number. The next day a representative from Cons call home, informed me that since I also lived in the state of Illinois, they could not help me. Seven weeks later they refunded my account, minus a 19.90 set-up fee. They failed to mention on their website that this would not work at this facility. I believe I am entitled to the set-up fee because it is a scam. If everyone in the State of Illinois fell for this scam, this company is getting rich off of people in their most difficult financial times.
Thank you,
Sandra Miller
[protected]@mchsi.com
1220 51 Ave. apt. 103
Rock Island, IL 61201
Phone: [protected]

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • To
      Aug 25, 2009

    thx for your post it will help with my decision hope they give you a FULL REFUND

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Feb 19, 2010

    i was also a victim of the same thing only i filed a dispute with my credit card and they got all my money back including the 19.95 set up fee and cons call home have sent me an email stating that i need to pay an outstanding balance for the fees that my credit card imposed on them for me filing a dispute and they are threatening to turn it over to collections agency so now i am filing a complaint to the bbb. so we'll see what happens from here... i told them i wonder how many people they are actually getting $20 off of, the supervisor stated oh several but there have been some accounts that have gone through

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Mar 26, 2010

    RIP OFF!!!

    This company CONS CALL HOME is a complete RIP OFF!!! They sell phone numbers that Do Not even work.. then they tell you to call MILLI CORP (WHICH IS THEIR DBA NAME) AND Milli Corp tells you that they don't even recognize the number that CONS CALL HOME provided.

    No REFUND!! they are the real CONS - they are not even recognized by the Better Business Bureau
    INFO BY THE BBB LISTED HERE. TO FILE A COMPLAINT ONLINE GO TO:

    Email: [protected]@bbbwestflorida.org
    Web: http://www.bbbwestflorida.org <
    MORE COMPANY INFO:
    Name: Cons Call Home
    Phone: [protected]) [protected]-[protected]
    Address: PO Box 101379

    Cape Coral, FL [protected]
    Website: www.conscallhome.com
    Original Business Start Date: May 2008

    Customer Contact: Ms. Karen L. - [protected]) [protected]-[protected]

    Type of Business: Long Distance Phone Services
    BBB Accreditation: Cons Call Home is not a BBB Accredited business.

    Additional DBA Names: Millicorp

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
      Jun 03, 2010

    i have a son in noble.. who told me to call cons call home so i did and globel tel link which is the phone system they use told me i could not use them that its considerd a three party call.. so i called cons back.. and they said it was a lie. but it wasnt so i told them i wanted a refund they said ok.. well its been 2 months or better and still no money back on my card.. i dont know what kind of game these people are playing but its time it ends.. i am fileing a complaint to the BBB as soon as tommrow... cause i am good at playing thier game but better.. !
    thanks ( kat)

    +1 Votes
  • Ed
      Jun 25, 2010

    these (con)scall for con artist they gave me a number 7 days after they took my money the numbers were no good and it has been 5 weeks and even me calling them almost daily i still havent recieved my second months refund they con me with the first month now they are trying to keep the next month money with a bussiness like this where you make money for nothing they will become rich sooner than later if people keep falling for their lies thank tou "ED" [protected]

    +1 Votes
  • Ed
      Jun 25, 2010

    Yes (con)scall home stands for con artist robbing people of their money and instead of making it easier for the inmate they just take advantage of people DO NOT USE THEIR SERVICE IS JUST A SCAM

    +1 Votes
  • Ed
      Jul 14, 2010

    Well after waiting 7 weeks for my refund oh they said the good news is your refund has been processed yes, processed but not just after waiting 7 weeks and still havent got credit the refund but they also charged for the refund being processed an additional $8.00 they are keeping because it wasent enough for them to keep the first month, and set-up fees that I didnt use now they have to keep an additional $8.00 for their hard work of making me wait 2 months to get my refund FREINDS IT IS CHEAPER FOR YOUR LOVE ONES TO BUY AND USE A CALLING CARD AFTER ALL BELIEVE ME IT IS JUST NOT WORTH THE HASSLE TO DEAL WITH THIS MEGA INTERNET RIP_OFF COMPANY(COMPANYS) CONSCALL HOME, MILLICORP AND WHO KNOWS WHAT OTHER NAMES THEY USE TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF PEOPLE
    EDWIN FONTANEZ [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      Jul 16, 2010

    Tonight has now been 6 weeks and still i havent recieved my refund people do yourself a favor and dont utilize CONSCALLHOME AKA MILLICORP just two of the who knows how many names they use to lure hard working honest people for them to RIP YOU OFF i now have complaint to the BBB i also have spoken to my state representative about CONSCALLHOME RIP!!! OFF!!! and the buck dont stop here just waiting for a few more days and people after i get thru there going to find out what happens to bussineses with these type of practices

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Aug 08, 2010

    This is the letter that I have sent to their customer service trying to resolve the issue. I did call in and speak with a rep. and she stated that she would listen to the call and see if what I was saying was true. I do not mind paying for service's I use but to be blatantly stolen from is not right. I also know that there are many people out there that if this happened to it could be devastating for. Mind you they are registered out of Floridia under Millicorp which is their parent company if you need to file a complaint. Also you can notify the FCC of these unethical practices, but from the research that I have done it appears they are used to dealing with these kinds of issues from them. Just remember to always check with the facility your loved one is in for accepted carriers.
    I opened my account on March 29, 2010. Upon learning that your services could not be used within 24 hours I called customer service to let them know that I would be canceling services. the customer service representative suggested that I call a different carrier PCS. During that converseration I did acknowledge the fact that I would not be receiving a refund. He stated that he would leave the account open for that month due to the fact that it was paid for, and clearly it was just left open unused, collecting a debt. Now unfortunately I am being told that I have all of this outstanding debt of 4 months that will be going to collections.
    Why would anyone leave open an account accruing debt if they could never use it? If this is the unethical practice of your company I am sure that the better business bureau of Florida would like to be informed of such practices.

    Their address is 141 NW 20th St Ste H3 Boca Raton, FL 33431, and their FCC # is FRN [protected]
    If you have a complaint you will want to contact the FCC and the BBB of florida.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Sep 14, 2010

    I am wondering if anyone is familar with a company called Fairrates.org. It sounds to me like this company has the same procedure are conscallhome. I would appreciate any input before I use them.
    Thanks!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Mw
      Nov 05, 2010

    Cons call home is a complete scam. My fiance is being held in the state of VA. I also live in VA. He's 4 hours away. Apparently if you're in the same state the service won't work for you. However, it was no problem for them to assign me a local number and charge my credit card right away. It was never communicated to me by the representative that this service would not benefit us. Now I'm told I have to wait 5 to 7 weeks to receive a refund. I'm on a tight budget and this is the last thing I need right now. From what I'm reading in the complaints here it doesn't look like I'll be getting back the set-up fee either. I hope someone puts this company out of business ASAP!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Nov 08, 2010

    Yes, everyone who has been taken advantage of by conscallhome needs to report them to the BBB but also file a complaint with your bank when you immediately cancel service before using as I did & not getting your total refund of the $19.99 that they charge for basically nothing.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jan 14, 2011

    I am renewing two accounts with ConsCallHome, one domestic and one international. I researched several companies before choosing to go with ConsCallHome. I have not had any trouble with changing numbers, fraudulent activity on my credit card or any other issue. Every time I have contacted them with questions or adding minutes around the holidays it had been super easy. They are also one of the very few companies for prison phone plans when the card information is kept in the United States and not outsourced overseas. I empathize with the problems so many seem to be having, as if having an incarcerated loved one wasn't hard enough. I pray it all works out for you all.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
      Feb 22, 2011

    I use Direct Voice Communications http://direcvoicenow.com, These programs really can save you a lot of money. I was getting calls from my brother in Tennessee to Vermont and was paying almost 20$ for a 15 min call. I now have a local number to the Nashville jail and my calls are $1.38 per 15 min call. Direct Voice works great for me, however I think all these companies provide the same kind of service.
    ALSO Global Tel*link has no way of knowing where you call is being forwarded to, There is no difference if you buy a cell phone local to the jail or prison that you loved one is located so they call call a local number VS a long distance one. Its the same principal. They just don't want you to do it because they loose money on the long distance calls that are very overpriced to begin with. If you are paying long distance to these Prison and Jail phone companies ... STOP... they are ripping everyone off. Get you a local number that routes to your long distance phone and be done with it !
    I have been using one for 2 years now with no problem and 20$ lasts me all month.

    Matthew, Vermont

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Apr 13, 2011

    I wish i had read all of these before i used this service! they ripped me off big time. I will never let this go and I intend to warn the other 535 inmates at the correctional facility i am associated with. Your loss "cons" call home ! perfect name for your company !!!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      May 06, 2011

    Totally agree! Cons Call Home, Get Connected, and all the other "services" or so they call themselves are all just scams! It's really sad when these companies take advantage of those already considered "the disadvantaged". Hopefully, one day they will get their Karma.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      May 16, 2011

    so glad I read this! Someone advised me at my last visit about conscallhome and I was so excited to hear about it. However it sounded to good to be true so i decided to do a little research first. even though I am disappointed I want to thank everyone on here who has made a complaint against this company.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      May 30, 2011

    they have my friend in jail when the people at cons call home should be arrested!!! how can you charge me money for a service you know wont work in my area then refuse too reimbers me????

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Jun 16, 2011

    wow i wished i would have read this stuff i totally got ripped off!!! they lie everytime i talk to them telling me that i am getting my money back. How can they get away with it????? MOST PRISONS DO NOT allow call forwarding. If they get caught using this service they lose their phone and go to the hole. How do we file a class action law suit??? anyone know??? they are a bunch of liers and scams and need to be taken down. what low lives to prey on people who are already down. The people who do not have problems with cons call home is because the prison does not realixe that they are using the service. they just think they are calling a local number but if they find out the person is in HUGE trouble. ya if you want to be like cons call home and con people use the service, but if you get caught the consequences are huge. their name does fit them though i have to agree. I been waiting 5 months now to get my money back. Now they say they refunded my bank and the bank needs to figure it out. truth is thats another lie they been telling for past five months, also they said they could not refund the amount i paid for more lies they said such as the 2nd card was non refundable and extra fees. bottem line is i have not gotten a penny back and they have no intention of doing so. I dont even give a ### about the money any more what they are doing is WRONG!!! I will continue on untill I find the right person to take them DOWN!!! has anyone filed a complaint with the FBOP??? I know at one time they were involved in a lawsuit with them. I will be back they have not heard the last of me Any other people with info on a class action law suit would greatly be appreciated or other places to file a l complaint.

    +1 Votes
  •   Feb 02, 2012

    i am one day into the cons call home experiance. already not happy first trial run did not work. one more try and im calling my lawyer, this is a fight i will win

    0 Votes
  • Kb
      Feb 15, 2012

    I would like to thank you all, I thought I was the only one that was having this problem. I have been agruing with this company since November. I paid $40 with a credit card and then come to find out that I nor my husband could use it. They refuse to cancel my account and continue to bill me. They say that I owe money and that is not possible because it was never used and they had already got money from me. Now they are turning me over to a collection agency. This is highway robbery as far as I am concerned, I would love to get any advice that you have to offer.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
      Jul 01, 2012

    Cons call home are the biggest scram I ever seen. I try setting up a account with the for my niece in VA, after they charge my credit card for a year service, I was notify that there is a back order and I will received my service in one week, after the week was up I contacted them and they told me that I would receive a total refund an 5 to 7 weeks it's been almost 11 months and I still haven't recieved my refund, I call every month to see what's taking so long, they reply they don't know and they will request another refund and look into why I haven't received it,

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Jul 24, 2012

    I agree with all those who complain about the "refund." Mine is now in its 10 week of the 5-7 week refund. I call several times a week. I just emailed the BBB of Florida (not that that matters any). On the plus side, their system worked for me quite well. I am just very disappointed that they have ruined their relationship with me over a couple hundred dollars. (they owe me about $400). So, if it works for you and you don't have much deposited with them, then OK, but I purchased a year in advance (dumb me, but I didn't know) and now I'm screwed.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 26, 2012

    i cancled my account 3 months ago and have been told twice i would recive a confermation e mail and i havent heard anything yet it is still showin on my credit card bill

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Apr 14, 2014

    They are threatening to send me to collections! I was so upset and they called to give me "options" I am a single mother with my husband locked up and I refuse to pay for a whole month of minutes that I didn't even use! I have paid then every month on. Time for the last year and a half! They want to charge for everything! If you're late(understandable) I'd you change minute package if you change area code if you want to change your payment date, and I'm sure other things I didn't mention are all subject to charge!! They don't do right by the customers. I wish I would have read this before giving them my hard earned money!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      Jun 16, 2014

    This company is a rip off!! Their reps will convince you that the best rates are on extended plans (6 months 1 year) etc. i explained to the rep that I only needed 5 months or less as my husband was being released within that time. I was assured that I would receive a refund when i called to cancel the account. Well guess what...now one rep said that the accounts was discounted so much that no refund is due. Another rep said that you can't receive a refund after 4 months. Also they state that supervisors aren't available to take calls or if you give a reps number (775, 522 etc) then that rep isn't available for hours and to try back! I hate that I ever dealt with this company. Save yourself the headache stress and loss of money deal with a more reputable company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jun 21, 2014

    Keep calling them and threatening the company with the police and the BBB they WILL refund your money!! I have not dealt with this specific company but did have a company scam me and refuse to refund my money until the police, BBB were threatened on them! AND DO REPORT THEM TO THE BBB!!! They will investigate them!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jun 21, 2014

    I went back and forth with a company(don't remember the name now) but they kept charging my bank account then I would demand a refund and they refunded part of it but kept charging me!!! so after a couple MONTHS of me calling them and telling them the BBB had been notified and I had contacted the police they gave me all my money back! I hope you can all get yours back! Now before I sign up for anything I run the company name through the BBB's website and look for any complaints, which is how I ended up here my husband is in Cummins prison in AR and was hoping for a cheaper phone calling alternative but it looks like they are ALL SCAMS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Feb 07, 2016

    I cancelled my contract with them 3 days before it was expired. Previously they continued to call and harass my about renewing with them. I finally decided to cancel and they sent me an email informing me that my account is past due and they will send me to collections. They are THUGS! Do not go with them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment