The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Cenlar / report them here!

1 MS, United States Review updated:

I know if you are having problems like I have been experiencing then there is probably fraud taking place. I am sick of it and the representatives working there. This is a fly by night company who is robbing the consumers of TB&W (Taylor, Bean, and Whitaker). They are trying to increase my fixed mortgage up to 40% higher than I ever agreed to. Please contact your State attorney General and the Federal Trade Commission to report your story because they will investigate.

Federal Trade Commission
600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, D.C. 20580
Phone: 1.877.FTC.HELP (1.877.382.4357) or 1.202.326.2222
TTY: 1.866.653.4261

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ta
      12th of Aug, 2010
    0 Votes

    I am going through so much with these people but I'm sure you understand. I have contacted the IL Attorney General's office, I filed a complaint with the BBB, I have even contacted the CBS Investigative News Team in Chicago. I'm in the process of contacting an attorney, I know several that will help me, I am also going to file a complaint with www.ustreas.gov, congress.org CBS On The Money and the Federal Trade Commission. This is plain and simple...FRAUD and something needs to be done. It's not fair what they are doing to people. Keep me informed what happens on your end, and I'll do the same.

  • Mr
      30th of Nov, 2010
    0 Votes

    My former mortgage company Guaranty Bank sent me a letter in September 23 2010 stating there was a sale or transfer of the servicing of my mortgage loan. My new servicer must also send me this notice no later than 15 days after the effective date or at closing. My new servicer is CENLAR, FSB. I immedistly called the number for CENLAR to find out when and where my mortgage is due and should be sent. At that date in time they did not have my mortgage in their system because the transfer had not taken effect yet. Aletter dated October 13, 2010 "notice of transfer od Servicing " was sent out by CENLAR and subsequently received by me shortly after. This letter gave some contacts numbers but no mortgage due date info or where and when it should be sent. I called customer service on 10/29/2010 and Peter (from India) was my representative. He told me to mail my payment to the P.O.Box in Newark, NJ. he assured me that there was a grace period because of the servicing transfer. he also took my request to have paperwork sent to me for an automatic withdrawal from my checking. I sent the check with a letter accompanying it as I was instructed. On November 10, 2010 I received the Automatic Payment Authorization form and immediatly sent it in with a voided check. November 15, 2010 I received a phone call telling me I was 2 months behind in my mortgage. I also received a letter regarding my adjustable rate loan payment. A letter dated Nov. 15, 2010 also was received describing legal rights and protections under the SCRA. Yet another letter dated Nov. 15, 2010 stating that i am entitled to counseling to discuss the delinquent status of my loan ! Then 2 more letters dated Nov. 16, 2010 CERTIFIED stating that I have defaulted in my obligations of my mortgage. So I made a phone call Nov 16, 2010 making an electronic transfer for 2 months mortgage payments. Meanwhile the check I sent to New Jersey has been cashed and my auto pay authorization should be starting tomorrow December1, 2010. This company has it's head up it's butt. I have never seen such a mess of paperwork that is il-timed and could all be avoided if they knew what they were doing, but obviously the departments are not communicating with one another. So far they have $843.60 of mine too much. Tomorrow they may take an additional mortgage payment and they will still have my extra money. This company has driven me to writing this and i will probably write to the State Attorney general as well as the CEO and anyone else I feel is relevant! You know someone once told me for every letter someone has taken the time to writew there are probably 100 that never get written. I'm certain this is true with this company. In this economy to make such a mess of a transfer of servicing they should be fined! Thankls for reading this and i hope i motivate you to document other situations this company has been guity of! These people eat up so much of good peoples time because of their companys inefficiency it drives me crazzy!

  • Ta
      1st of Dec, 2010
    0 Votes

    To Mrs. Fixit, this is almost exactly what happened to me and let me tell you, it has been a mess. I contacted numerous people, BBB, States Attorney, The Office of Thrift Supervision, even the media, I got NOTHING!!! The BBB talked to Cenlar, Cenlar talked to them like they had everything covered and under control and the BBB said case closed, same with the Office of Thrft Supervision, they said it looked like the BBB took care of everything so case closed. What a joke!!! Long story short, when my loan was being switched to Cenlar, they never sent the letters to me that they were supposed to back in August 2009, when they finally got their act together, they sent a letter as to when and where to send my October 2009 payment. Then in April 2010, they started sending letter upon letter, with several of them being certified that I was behind on my payments, finally after all of this BBB stuff and the Office of Thrift Supervision, I ended up having to pay what they said I supposedly owed them. The stress was too much for me, I unwillingly did it. I would highly recommend stopping the automatic withdrawal, they will take more money then what they are supposed to, but good luck with that too.

  • Ll
      20th of Jan, 2011
    +1 Votes

    It sounds like I could have written everyone one of these complaints. CENLAR is trying to steal our homes and looks like they will get away with it. if we don't do anything. Pleaese don't give up. Read all you can read and educate your self. Read the complaint from lightninJack. Makes sense. My email address is 10linda47@att.net if I can be of any help. Get an attorney, a good attorney, and ask that you be reimbursed by CENLAR for any monies out of pocket it takes to clean this mess up. Will add ya'll to my prayers.
    GodBless.

  • Ma
      29th of Apr, 2017
    0 Votes

    This company has screwed us, saying our payments were late, charged us late fees we didn't owe! We fell behind later after my husband's layoff & the loan co has have us the run around. Won't accept partial payments, won't give us a modification loan, denied us the hardest hit fund program that the state approved my veteran husband for. Everytime we talk to them we get no where! This company is pure crap!

  • Ji
      14th of Jul, 2017
    0 Votes

    @Mad mofo I see complaints going back as far as 2009. 8 freaking years of complaints and nothing is being done? Has anybody won a case against these [censor]?

  • Ba
      1st of Sep, 2017
    0 Votes

    @Jiz Mal What about a class action law suit?

  • Sl
      11th of Oct, 2017
    0 Votes

    Cenlar is a shady operation! I went through a divorce and notified Cenlar that I was awarded home and all rights to escrow and home (as well as being solely responsible for mortgage). They issued an escrow check in both my name and ex-husband's name. I called to remind them that I can't cash a check with his name (no contact with ex). I then asked could they apply my escrow to my payment. They cancelled the check and told me yes. A few days later called to verify and was told by another rep it hadn't been done yet. After staying on hold, he assured me it was done and escrow was applied. After a month goes by, I began receiving calls from Cenlar. They had not applied the money and was penalizing me for non payment of mortgage. I called...and after many representatives and escalating my calls (of course when you ask for supervisor they just transfer you to another rep) I was told Cenlar does not allow for the application of escrow to mortgage payments. After being assured that I was talking to supervisor and staking my claim, the supervisor assured me that he would make the exception and that the escrow would get applied. Another month went by and a woman came to my home with paperwork for foreclosure! I was livid! After trying to come up with an extra payment, I paid to get out of that threat. I called and called and each time I received a different "lie" from oh yes, we will get that applied to no one should've told you that. SO finally, I was told to fax in my divorce decree (again) and they would simply reissue the escrow check in my name only. Fast forward one month, no check. Representative confirmed fax received and stated prior representative didn't do something on their end to get the check sent. She guaranteed she was processing request and would request that the check be sent expeditiously. She stated if she couldn't get them to ship check express shipping that I would receive in 5 to 10 business days. Another month go by and I call again. This time I was told that even though they
    have my divorce decree, they won't send me my escrow. They stated they don't honor that and I will have to sell or refinance my home. I am done with them and the lies they tell. I've gotten so much of a run around that it goes beyond a customer service representative error. For every issue one rep says yes and another says no. I don't know that they have any clear procedures and rules in place. I am now seeking legal help. I have had negative reporting to credit, threats of foreclosure, rude representatives, false information, and holding my $$. All of this causing me stress and the threat of financial strain. After reading story after story, I am convinced this company is engaging in fraudulent practices. I plan to sue. I don't even want thousands...although they should pay...but I just want my escrow money and to put my account status back to A+ like it has been since I've been in the home. They don't care about customer satisfaction or rights. Thank you all for posting your stories. There is power in numbers.

Post your comment