SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Badoofraudulent account creation and unauthorized personal data usage

Review updated:

Here is a very dirty way Badoo conducts business. Under the disguise of answering questions about your friends, the Badoo Facebook application takes advantage of access to your personal information and creates a public dating profile without your knowledge. To make it look as if it was a genuine account they even make choices for you by specifying various criteria that you are looking for in a date. So, you end up receiving dating requests from all sort of freaks although you are not looking for any dates, whatsoever.

Okay, so far so good, you can ignore those and treat them like spam in your inbox. But, what do you explain to your friends when they search for your name in Google and they see that according to this profile, you are open for dating, but at the same time have a successful marriage with 3 children? What about the husband himself? Well, it gets even dirtier than this.

Next, try to clean your public image and delete the profile: surprise, it doesn't work since you are not the one who created it in the first place, it was the Facebook application that created it and their system is configured in such a way that only those who personally created a profile are allowed to delete it. Since you never personally created the dating account you are out of luck.

Next logical thing is to file a complaint with their support department to have the account deleted at their end. Do they respond? Nope.

And here is how they artificially boost their membership base to trick their potential legitimate users that they become members into a large dating site.

I think this application should be banned from Facebook as it uses way too dirty methods taking advantage of the access that they get to Facebook users personal data.

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • Badoo Trading Customer Care's Response, Aug 23, 2018

    Thanks for your update on this review.

    Please allow me to assure you that a profile on Badoo will not be created without your authorisation. If you would like some assistance with deleting your account, please message us with your registered email address and we will assist with this, if you registered via Facebook, your Badoo email will be the one you use to sign into Facebook. We can also request the removal of your information from public search results on Google but we'll need to locate your profile first.

    We look forward to hearing from you and helping to resolve this issue you're experiencing.

    Badoo Team

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • As
      Aug 31, 2012

    I had the same problem, but they responded me. They asked me an ID cart but I refused to give them any further information and right now they have deleted my profile but still there is a link that lists my name, age and town. I am looking for a way to sue them.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 29, 2013

    I do have the same problem. I am a happily married 49 year old man with four lovely children, founding CEO of one of Nigeria's leading Advertising agencies, Brand Believers Limited, and a titled Chief in my community. I have never applied or requested to join Badoo, but about three years ago a client jokingly brought to my attention that when he googled my name, the first entry that popped up was my Badoo enlistment and in my ignorance I asked what that was and he said it was a dating site and I said I never applied to join any dating site. I carried out an internet search myself and was shocked to see that someone had stolen my identity by using my photograph in my company's website to perpetrate the fraud, enlist me on Badoo while proceeding to con and mislead unsuspecting women out there. I am not even on facebook and so what would I be looking for on Badoo. If one needed to go on a date, there must certainly be more creative ways to do this than on Badoo. I have sent a mail to an address which I was told could help in expunging my information (photo and any other material that might have been submitted by the crook) from the site and three years after this was done, my photo and indeed other Badoo info still pop up ahead of even my professional profile whenever I google my name. I need help from the internet community on how I can go about bringing this scam to an end... Chief Eshiet Essien. e-mail : [protected]@brandbelievers-ng.com

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Nov 15, 2015

    I too have had a fraudulent Badoo account created in my name and wanted to add my comment in support of the above. Tactics like this can have a serious impact on peoples lives, I have a young family and this has put even more stress into our already tumultuous lives. Prior to this I thought corporate ethics like this only existed in crime syndicates, but to think that a seemingly legitimate company would steal my identity is absolutely absurd.

    0 Votes
  • Ze
      Sep 06, 2017

    I just got an email about people checking me out on Badoo, but I have never heard of this website and am pretty sure I have never created an account here. They had pictures from my Facebook, and there were guys messaging me on it. I tried to delete the Badoo account, but in order to delete it, I had to type in "my password", but given that I didn't create the account, I don't have the password to it. This is infuriating.

    0 Votes
  •   Sep 07, 2017

    @zenithstorm Hi there!

    We're very sorry to hear you've had this experience with us.

    You can get a password by confirming the email address you've used to create the profile, which should be the one you use to log into Facebook. We just want to make sure you're the real owner of the profile!

    Alternatively, please drop us a message on any of our Badoo Help accounts (links in description) on social media and we will delete the account for you.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    -1 Votes
  • Je
      Sep 13, 2017

    I've got the same problem of the others. Some friends goggled my name and they found out that I was registered on a dating site named badoo and it uses some offerte my personal information.
    I need you to delete this profile because you're violating my privacy.
    I never created an account on this site.
    Delete this profile as soon as possible and even the link that conduct to me . This will create a lot of problems on my work.

    +1 Votes
  •   Sep 13, 2017

    @Jessica97 Hi Jessica!

    Thank you for your message.

    We take the privacy of our users very seriously and will never create an account without the user's permission. We have several ways to create accounts on our site, for example, through our Facebook app. It is quite common to create an account this way and to forget about it.

    However, there's no need to worry: we can delete the account for you and create a request for Google to remove the link from the search results. Simply send us the URL of this profile as it comes up on your search results and we'll get back to you as soon as possible. You can do this on our Facebook or Twitter accounts: www.twitter.com/BadooHelp or www.facebook.com/BadooHelp

    We hope this helps!

    -1 Votes
  • Em
      Aug 19, 2018

    How do I find out when my bf created his Badoo account pls as he got on there he is single and we been together for 2 years someone pls help to find out

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 23, 2018

    @Emma bridgestock Unfortunately, because the information does not belong to you, it is not possible for us to provide you with information about the specified account.

    This is in accordance with the law and our Privacy Policy.

    Badoo Team

    -1 Votes
  • Om
      Apr 18, 2019

    I have the same problem, someone has created a fake account using my information and Badoo hasn't resolved the problem.

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2019

    @OM9 Sorry to hear about this! If you could please send us a message with further details about the profile, our team will remove it from Badoo immediately.

    -1 Votes
  • Je
      Aug 27, 2019

    Seems like this a common situation on this dating site... needs to be exposed as could be very dangerous if people are going to meet people and they are a completely different person. I wonder how Badoo would deal with it if something did happen and they had been aware that the accounts were bogus?? I am currently trying to get them to remove two accounts which hold my pictures and some of my details... for the record i have never used Badoo!!

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 28, 2019

    @JEZ5737 Hi Jez,

    We're sorry to hear that this has happened to you and you can be assured that we'll do everything we can to assist you with removing this account.

    We take our user's security and privacy extremely seriously and we're constantly working on ways to improve this. As technologies advance and develop, so do the processes we take which enable us to provide a more secure platform for our users.

    However, we understand that no system alone can be 100% effective at preventing the registration of false accounts and we would urge you to contact our team or report the profile in question if you have located one.

    You can contact our team via email at badoo.com/feedback, or find the @BadooHelp Facebook and Twitter accounts for more immediate assistance.

    0 Votes

Post your comment