SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

24 Hour Fitnessthey cancelled my lifetime ($750) membership

Review updated:

In 2008, I purchased a life-time membership to 24-hr Fitness for approx. $750. (Which the first 3 years are paid for, and after 3 years, the dues will be $29 per year for life). I only went to the gym two times (twice!), then I moved 30 mins away from the nearest gym, and decided to get my exercise by surfing, running, walking at the beach, etc. I just moved again and called the closest location to find out how much I owe ($29 or $29 times two years, etc.). The employee said, "I have bad news for you. Your membership is cancelled.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Carlsbad, CA You only had 3 months to pay the $29 (for the following year, after the first 3 years had past), or your membership is cancelled permanently! (I asked if I could just pay the $29 per year, times how ever many years had past, and she said there was no option.)

Why on earth didn't the membership/sales employee tell me this when he had me sign at the bottom of numerous contract pages, with countless words I wanted to read, but he just pushed me through them so I would sign and he could hurry off to the next prospective membership victim?

I am livid! I threw $750 away on TWO gym visits! What type of lifetime membership is this? What kind of company is this? I will not let this go. I will tell the entire world... blog like crazy and, believe me... I will keep hundreds, hopefully millions, of people from EVER considering joining this ludicrously unethical company's fitness centers!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • 24
      Nov 28, 2011

    We are very sorry to hear about your frustrating experience. Someone from our Corporate Member Services team will be contacting you directly for further assistance.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Feb 29, 2012

    I absolutely Agree! I have been a loyal customer witha lifetime membership for about ten years. L.I.F.E.T.I.M.E...that means for life!!! I moved to nashille for a couple of months where there are no 24hr. fitnesses. I come back to pay my $50.00 yearly fee only for them to say sorry! you have been cancelled. I am right there with you. I am soooo tired of being screwed. Im digging out my contract right now which I still have and Im suing this place... straight up!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Jun 11, 2012

    THIS ALSO HAPPENED TO ME !!!

    0 Votes
  • Pb
      Jul 31, 2012

    It also happened with me.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
      Jan 02, 2013

    24 Fitness have informed me (after 2 hours on the phone) that they cancelled my membership without any notification. I had a LIFETIME membership, and I completely agree with the others commenting here about the dishonesty and bad business going on.

    Now I guess I am not going to be talking about 24 hour fitness in a positive light in the future after this experience.

    Mickey told my that I need to fax my plead to the Carlsbad corporate office at [protected] and there is no phone number that she can give me for someone that can help, just a fax number. I don't want to sign up to a new contract after having a Lifetime membership, it feels like I would indeed need to be born yesterday. (I have been a 24 Fitness Member since 2004) to give them more business after this experience.

    I am also having other members that I know cancel their membership since we cannot attend the same gym to work out. As well as posting Yelp reviews on every 24 hour fitness location I have every attended, and others, since people need to know how they treat people who paid 750.00 for lifetime membership.

    All I wanted to do was pay the 2$ per month fee that they had me sign up for to get all club access. They had an old address for me and no phone number or email address, they cancelled my lifetime membership after 180 days of non payment (THIS IS THE POLICY) which turns out to be 12$.

    Their reasoning is that the system will not allow them to select the package that I had since 2004, because it is terminated. They could not create a new membership with the same terms and allow my to pay the 12$ and fees going forward.

    My last resort is to fax a letter to Member Services in Carlsbad (at corporate) and hope for a response. Somehow I don't think 24 HR Fitness will go out of their way for a lifetime member.

    CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT 24 HOUR FITNESS: Lifetime members who were wrongfully cancelled on VS 24 hour fitness. (750.00 initial investment X all members terminated without due process of notification)

    I bet there are a few who were rushed though their membership sales contract by the employee who was expediting their membership and telling them they just need to sign here, here and here. Not informing customers what the risks associated related to cancellation and termination with your up from Lifetime membership.

    Do a search on google for "24 Hour Class Action". There are quite a few cases that come up. This should give warning for any potential 24 hour fitness customers that you must inspect your contract very closely.

    +1 Votes
  • Dj
      Jan 02, 2013

    Go To www. /link removed/

    +1 Votes
  • Ed
      Mar 14, 2013

    I bought 2 lifetime memberships and they sent a bill the first few years and then stopped in Nov 2011...why? I just realized that I hadn't received a bill and called them - they said that they cancelled my life-time membership and weren't responsible and that they do not have to send out a bill. I never received a bill, email, or call before they cancelled the membership! It sounds more like a scheme to rid themselves of lower paying members! I am pursuing small claims court and will be blogging about how they have horrible "Customer Service."

    0 Votes
  • Vz
      May 20, 2014

    This just happened to me. I'm furious! Has anyone had a positive outcome writing a letter to corporate?

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Oct 08, 2014

    This same exact thing happened to me.

    24 Hr. Fitness is a racket, and they ignorantly choose to screw their very best customers. They turned me into a lifetime anti-evangelist. The damage I have done and will continue to do to their brand is so much huger than the artificial "cost" of honoring the deal we made when I paid them nearly $800 bucks!

    Whenever anyone asks me which fitness center / gym to join, I tear 24 Hr. Fitness apart. And they deserve it.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 04, 2015

    I purchased a 24 hour fitness lifetime membership on Feb, 16, 2000 in Irvine, CA. Due to unforeseen circumstances I left California and moved to Florida, where there were no 24 hours centers nearby. I have continued to pay my monthly dues of approx $13 per month. I am now staying in Maryland where a new 24 hour fitness center has just opened up about 10 min from me. I went there to work out yesterday, July 3, 2015, no problems, but today on July 4, 2015, I was told that my lifetime membership is for the "ALL CLUB SPORTS PLUS" and not the "ALL CLUB SUPER SPORTS", which will cost me another $15 per month extra. And there are no other SUPER SPORTS clubs in the area. THANKS A LOT. I am now seeking representation to combat this.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Feb 23, 2016

    I have no doubt 24 Hour Fitness is intentionally trying to eliminate life time memberships through dubious means to save money. I paid $800 up front 11 years ago with a $120 annual renewal. Last week I was informed that my membership was terminated due to non-payment. I was told I was sent a renewal notice in the mail 3 months ago, just ONE. I asked why I was not called or emailed like they had for the last ten years and was told they don't do that anymore. I asked why no one at the front desk notified me when I came in to work out every other day for the last three months it was overdue, they said they didn't know. This is all very suspicious if not criminal and definitely warrants a full investigation.

    +1 Votes
  • Re
      Mar 29, 2016

    My lifetime membership was also cancelled without notice. I was told it was cancelled for non-payment and had absolutely no recourse.That my business, loyalty and years of referral all meant nothing. That the fact that I came up with all of my cash up front to pay for what was sold to me as something that would be there for me and my health goals for the rest of my life. [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • De
      Apr 05, 2016

    I had the same thing happen. I have bee a lifetime member since 1987! They admitting to mailing only one invoice for the annual renewal. I never received. They cancelled with no second notice, cancelation notice or phone alert of possible termination. I called, reached out thru on line portal, mailed Carlsbad a letter pleading my case. The customer service was once excellent. Now they are to happy to dump me with no recourse on my end. I am also livid, disappointed and beside myself...

    0 Votes
  • Dm
      Apr 13, 2016

    This just happened to me too. They claimed to have sent a notice in the mail, which I never received. Then terminated my membership that I've had since 2000. Does anyone know anything that can be done about this? Any class actions? Does the Carlsbad office even respond?

    0 Votes
  • As
      Aug 23, 2016

    Me and my wife enroll at 24hr fitness on July 28, 2016. Family emergency happened so we had to cancel the membership on Aug 18, 2016 . They refund a partial of the first month but they won't refund us the last month payment of $89.98. they said it's not refundable according to the agreement but we have no copy. We were not given any copy or paper of this agreement. How can we get this refund?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 26, 2017

    I bought 2 lifetime memberships. I got divorced and didn't pay my yearly by a few months after 15 years. Really Sad. I haven't worked since. It really ruined my life.

    0 Votes
  • Es
      Dec 08, 2017

    I had a gym membership: 3 years for $600 and $50 year thereafter. In 2015 they doubled the price of my renewal and I paid, then reversed 1/2 after I realized it that I did not miss an annual payment. I did not know they cancelled my membership till the preceding year when I went to renew again because I was not using it. I contacted them and they corporate would look into it and that it was a computer glitch. I have been busy working various job contracts and tried to address it at the local office when in town and they said the same but when I followed up that agent had moved and not response from corporate. No notification of cancellation and it seems no recourse via lawyer. They did not double my male counterparts rate but then he rarely uses the gym.

    0 Votes
  • Sn
      Jul 02, 2019

    This happened to me but not because I forgot to pay. They returned payment to me and basically said we canceled it tough luck. I've spent many hours dealing and fighting. This was through no fault of mine. Wish me luck!

    +1 Votes
  • Ge
      Aug 19, 2019

    @Sniks Notify the Contra Costa County DA.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Sep 20, 2019

    Has anyone successfully been reinstated by sending/contacting the corporate office? 24 Hour Fitness terminated my lifetime membership early without notice. Now they've deleted my online account so I have no access to my billing history.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Sep 24, 2019

    This happened to me as well. I joined the club in 2005, and my lifetime membership has been canceled without any notice, no email, no letter, no phone call. I found it out when I called 24hourhitness for some other reason. They admitted that they didn't send any notification for the reminder of the payment or cancellation/termination.

    0 Votes

Post your comment