The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Heritage Insurance Servicesscam and cheating

M Review updated:

My truck was stolen in Dec of 08. My primary insurance declared it a total loss, and settled my claim within a month. They did their part in paying what they needed to the finance company, in an appropriate and timely manner.

Now from that point on, all I needed to send A.H.I.S was a copy of the settlement check from my primary Insurance. Which they received on 2/2/09 so they could start processing my claim, which they began on that day. They also sent me an e-mail which said all documentation received, below that read this process should be completed within 3 to 5 business days.
Well those 3 to 5 days turned into a month and a half. I would call them 2 to 3 times a week after the first week had passed by, just to follow up on my claim. And all they would do is give me the run around, it was like playing cat and mouse always the same story. They haven't had time to work on my claim, or that they needed a managers approval etc. etc.
Finally on 3/5/09 I was fed up with these people. So I called A.H.I.S and asked for the Claims Dept. supervisor to file a complaint. And after all this time dealing with them and giving me the run around. The supervisor told me my claim was denied because, I was using my truck for commercial purposes which by no means is true.
Everything that refers to the Gap Addendum; Definition of Commercial Vehicle does not indicate that I used my truck for commercial purposes. My statement was that I drove my truck to and from work Mon-Fri and weekends used it to visit family, or to take my family out. Based on this statement is how they determined there decision to deny my claim.
I now have a balance of $9558.67 which im still making payment's to the finance company as of 1-29-09. There's nothing that's going to stop me from appealing this claim, even if I have to get a lawyer and settle this in court.

Responses

  • Kr
    Krismlombardo Dec 05, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    American Heritage Gap Insurance is the worst. 4 months and still dragging on their feet to finish paying off a car loan when the accident happened back in August of 2019. Shelly and Anna said they could not give me their employee identification number yet said they had a insurance license. Anna said progressive came up with an extra 6000 which progressive never did nor did my sister or me. When ask to speak to a managment higher than Anna she tells me no other manager is here and I can not transfer you to my managers voicemail because the business does not allow us too. This is a scam. I had ask for a copy of the check they are giving to Westlake Anna told me I had to call back in 30 days to get the copy of the check. I wish now I would have hired an attorney to deal with this fraudlent company.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
    olivia romano Jul 31, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i also am having a problem with them refusing a 1300 payoff, if there is a lawsuit i would also like to be included in this, they are saying because i had an extension per there terns and conditions, they do not have to pay. well, i was never provided with any terms and conditions, they were paid from my car payment monthly, and i just two weeks ago found out the name of the company
    oromano184

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Pauley Feb 21, 2017

    They r a scam

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brown123 Feb 08, 2017

    I have had trouble with AHIS also. They only paid half of the remaining balance of my loan (and I paid $1500 to have their GAP coverage). Now I am getting pressure from my lender and insurance claim adjustor about my remaining loan balance. Every time I call AHIS they tell me that they have done everything they were responsible for and to contact my dealer (which I have and my dealer has done everything they needed to do). How can I have GAP insurance and still be responsible for paying $2200 for a car that was totaled and does not exist anymore?

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Preston Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is their a law suit pending for ahis gap? if so i want in on it. they been dragging their feet with my total lost since April 2016. I'm at wits end.

    1 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Pauley Feb 21, 2017

    @Gary Preston Yes we r fighting them with lawsuit, they tried say they sent me papers never got them been fighting them since march 28 2016 the bank finally paid it off, they r a scam I was co signer my sons car caught fire

    1 Votes
  • Ol
    olivia romano Jul 31, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Deborah Pauley I, too, would like to be included in the lawsuit. please let me know how

    1 Votes
  • Ld
    ldubpee Mar 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same here as cham2127. Sent a million emails asking what's up with the claim and finally my lender helped me figure out who the claim was through and whoops! Too late! The things you sent were blurry. We sent you a note, letting you know in the mail! (no).

    0 Votes
  • Al
    allme Mar 08, 2011

    they are a total ripe off they have been getting there money every month that i paid on my vechicle and now when i need them to follow through on there promise.. they pay whatever they feel like which leaves me stuck paying almost 2500 on a vechile i dont even have . i ask to speak to someone who could issue another check, who could really make a difference . i supposely speed talking supervisior was on the phone making abosoultely no sense she didnt even understand the documentation i requested from them with a settlement breakdown of how they got there figures.. also they didnt have it on file some the person myra who i spoke with had to make one up.. then when i called back . i spoke with someone who had no idea of what the sheet was referring to .. a lot of running around and i asked to speak to the adjuster since apparently this is the person who gives the figure, they said i couldnt get that persons name because hes has to deal with a lot of claims, i stated what does that have to do with my situation? hes the only one can explain to me why you didnt pay my loan off like you said you would.. needless to say.. this person doesnt exsist i am now looking for the CEO of this company .. i believe in fair business and this is total unfair, not following through on documentation that was issued the day i signed for the loan for my vechicle. Im praying with everyone who has to deal with this company..

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cham2127 Jul 01, 2009

    I am having the same problem with AHIS. I faxed the forms they needed, now they are saying they never received them and they are nto going to pay becuase they were nto received within 90 days. I am not sure where to go from here to get them to pay because I sent the forms within 30 days and did nto get notice until time had passed that they did not receive one form.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Mar 25, 2009

    I finally did get paid, but it took 45 days for the main check and it looks like another 3 or 4 weeks until I get the smaller check for the balance of the gap policy refund.

    It took 8 days for my primary insirance to pay with one phone call. it took 10 days for my dealership to issue a check for the service contract refund with one phone call.

    I had to call AHiS every day and fight them like crazy. I had to fax and mail and certify mail tons of documents that thety should have already had. From day one they looked for a reason to deny the claim and when they could not find one, they started saying they didnt receive the faxes, or could not read the faxes, etc.

    This is the worst, most unorganized, most difficult company I have ever dealt with. I swear I think they are working out of a garage or shed somewhere with one phone line and a neigbors fax machine.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.