The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Furniture Warehousepoor service!

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I was told by American Furniture Warehouse the new pillow top mattress and boxspring was manufactured by Therapedic. When I received the bed it was only a Therapedic box spring and a cheap pillow top mattress by some unknown manufacture called Medic (manufactured by Summit). I spent over $400 for the Full size mattress and boxspring. From the first nights rest I woke up with horrible lower back pain. I am in excellent physical shape and am not overweight by any means. There is no reason why my back never hurting from a bed would all of a sudden hurt. This went on for two weeks. I contacted American Furniture Warehouse and found out that the mattress was not a Therapedic. I was told that I purchased a Therapedic by their sales rep. Then they told me that I am stuck with the bed because it is like buying a bathing suit. Once you sleep on it, it is used and they won't take it back. So I had enough I went to Denver Mattress a very reputable company, purchased a brand new bed. They warranted my satisfaction for 30 days used or not used, they would take back if I wasn't completely satisfied. I live in a small home and didn't have a truck to donate the American Furniture bed to a charitable organization, so I asked Denver Mattress to haul it away.

I contacted two American Furniture Companies Customer Service Managers by mail, I received two phone calls from customer service reps to tell me they would not do anything for me. I am out over $400 and I will never shop American Furniture Warehouse again. Please take note of my experience and don't be deceived by their sales practices. You may think you purchased a name brand piece of furniture and you are not. They WILL NOT warranty their products.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • American Furniture Warehouse [AFW]'s response · Sep 11, 2009

    Please contact me by calling me direct [protected]. I would love to discuss this with you in hopes of resolution!!! We take customer complaints very seriously, please allow us to revisit your concerns.

    Rob Naish
    American Furniture Warehouse

Responses

  • Kr
    Krystee Oct 27, 2018

    I have had a horrible experience with AFW and I have given them ample times to fix it. No one is taking me seriously so I have filed a complaint with the Attorney General Office. I’m praying for some assistance with their help.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Basti Dec 29, 2016

    Not only are AFW crooks and sell the most poorest made quality furniture; but their delivery people are disgusting slobs who have zero etiquette for delivering furniture to someone's home. I am sickened by the people who work in theses stores. Whoever made the comment about this store being like Walmart... You're on point! AFW is a glorified furniture dump.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    J&BSki Jan 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Recently ordered a pub table and chairs set that I have been saving for two years. Received a call on Sunday that the order was ready for pick up on Tuesday. Get there on Tuesday to pick it up, and it was not ready, was told to come back Wednesday to pick it up. Mind you, we are driving over 50 miles to pick this merchandise up. Get the table picked up Wednesday, get it home and assembled and notice significant damage to the table top. Call customer service and speak with CINDY who tells us they can replace the table top, we just need to bring back the damaged one and pick up a new one. Get there to pick up a new one, and guess what?? NO TABLE TOP for us is there, in fact CINDY failed to note their system so they have no record of this phone call...thanks a lot CINDY in customer service. AFW has done nothing to rectify this issue, except giving us the run around, literally, they are sending us all over town to find a replacement table top. I am highly disappointed with this experience. And I can't even sit down at the table for dinner because I DON'T have a table!! Again, thanks a lot CINDY!!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BettergetMacco Jan 05, 2013

    No worries, they'll just blackball them, and move on! American furniture warehouse really can care more or less. They're $400, 000, 000 a year business. A few complaints from customers or even the workers doesn't slow the money flow. They hate to think of themselves as the Walmart of the furniture world, but they are. They ship in bulk, you buy! They have stacks of resumes and apps., people are a dime a dozen with them. So unless they get a real boycott, they have no fear of business lose. I was employed there, they prefer no questions or concerns, or you're replaced. Easier done than said!

    0 Votes
  • Xm
    xmedic9 Dec 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought one of their Health Care memory foam mattress for $400 in March of 2012. By August of the same year it had a flat spot on one side. I turned it and about two months later the other side had a flat spot. They sent a “technician” to inspect it and all he did was take a picture. Because there were stains they voided the warrantee. The stains were nothing bad and had nothing to do with the collapsed mattress. If I were complaining about the mattress’s smell and the matters looked like it was on the floor of a crack house I could see their point. The stains were no more than normal use and did not contribute to the structural failure of the mattress. I am 6’2” 280 so, I didn’t smash the thing flat under my Jovian mass. When I called to escalate the matter the curt customer service rep gave me no options and, kept repeating that the manufacture was to blame for the warrantee. Its unfortunate however, I will never shop at American Furniture Warehouse again after being treated in this manner.

    0 Votes
  • 30
    303seko Oct 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everything has been fixed with my complaint. I talked to Rob who took care of my issues right away. I am happy with the results of my complaint and will continue to shop at American Furniture Warehouse.

    0 Votes
  • 30
    303seko Sep 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Customer service is the worst i have ever experienced. Talking to the manager is like talking to a front desk high school kid who just got the job. I purchased a dresser that came without knobs. Six weeks later, i still have no knobs. The manager just got done telling me that i created this problem myself. Their only solution was to send me knobs off a floor model and give me a $20 in store credit? That is the biggest crock that i have ever heard. Really? that was a huge insult when i heard that. Give me $20.00 to get me back into the store, at this point i think the manager lost his mind and i lost my cool. Anyway, the call went nowhere and he ended up hanging up on me. The point is: they have no solutions to problems, they do not try to resolve issues, they do not try to help. They are there for the benefit of the company and ONLY the benefit of the company.
    BTW it was Rob Naish that i talked to.

    -1 Votes
  • Fa
    Family in Colorado Jul 09, 2009

    My wife and I bought a new dinning room set three months ago from AFW. The last few weeks the finish started wearing off. We contacted AFW and they sent a repair person to look at it. When he arrived he told us that the table and chairs finish was looking thin and he would file a report. He took pictures and then ask us to wait to hear from customer service. Well the next day customer service called and told us they would not replace the table and chairs because it was normal wear. What lies they tell. After my wife called and asked for a manager they refused her request. She threatened to send a letter to the owner (Jake Jabs) to which the AWF person replied "he will never see it". We are calling the trouble shooter!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chad Timmerman Dec 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    American has disappointed up numerous times. We have received incorrect merchandise, and their customer services seems to not help whatsovever. Recently, I don't know why we returned, they called us to tell us that the rocker recliner from Lane that we ordered was damaged, and they were going to deliver it. We questioned why the heck you would send us damaged furniture, and they gave us the ole "it is just like a dented automobile" routine. Needless to say, we are still trying to get our rocker recliner!!! DO NOT BUY FROM AMERICAN!!!
    Sincerely,
    The Timmermans

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.