American Airlinesno respect for its customers

N
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I am a "gold for life" american aadvantage member. Unfortunately, I am now disabled from a spinal cord injury I suffered 4 years ago. I have traveled 4 times in the past 4 months, and 3 of those times decided to take a different airline for the following reasons.

1.in all 4 cases, I was unable to use my miles to upgrade from coach to either business class or first;

2. When I called in advance to request a bulkhead seat in coach, I was told that it was "held for airport check-in," but that they would "put a note in my record" so that the agent at the airport wouldn't give it away. I got to the airport over an hour before the flight was scheduled to depart, and of course, it was given away. I was told by the gate agent that there was "no such thing" as a hold on a bulkhead, and that it was first come, first served

American has no respect for its customers, including its longtime, loyal ones. I have now switched to jet blue, since they have put my disability into my permanent record and I am able to reserve the bulkhead seat in advance when I make my reservation

Responses

  • S
    s May 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You are correct about AA not having any respect.

    I took a flight today and found that the air hostess was plain ignorant and very rude.

    1. No greeting when entering the plane. Just a dirty look.
    2. Stuffs a card in my face without speaking and then indignantly states that she needs a verbal response acknowledging I was in an exit row.
    3. Woke me up to make place an empty cup into her trash bag.
    4. Prevented me from leaving the aircraft by placing her hand acrss the aisle until she had finished telling me I should not stand until she says so.

    I will be reporting this ignoramous to the airlines.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonnie Biles Aug 15, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Test to see if u received my complaint

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    J. Askew Oct 15, 2018

    Sophie the airline helpers was very rude. Despite being military, she refused to let me seat in the empty seats in row 12. And said I couldn't afford the upgrade. No one should feel less than on a flight

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave RF Feb 12, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I find it very frustrating when I see many passengers with carry on baggage exceeding your dimensions Required. I conform with your rules and I find it offensive that others allowed to bring on much larger baggage. I would love to do the same so I don't have to check in any luggage .
    Why do you allow this ?

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laura LaBoone Feb 25, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently had the gate door closed in my face after their flight being delayed. We made up the time in the air but were in the plane after landing for 20 minutes. This was a late night flight into Charlotte, with many passengers to Columbia, Asheville, Raleigh, Pittsburg missing the last flight of the day by MINUTES. They would not hold the planes as that would make their stats go down - I was able to wave to the pilots, who waved back, but did not open the doors. The flight attendants in the airplane as well as at the gate was sarcastic and seems to not care that I had to decide whether to pay for an overnight hotel room or take a $300 Uber to my final destination.
    I then tried to call to complain BUT THERE IS NO NUMBER THAT I CAN FIND TO TALK WITH A HUMAN! They knew that many passengers were only minutes away from missing their connections and zero concern ... no kindness, no flexibility. very disappointing experience

    1 Votes
  • Ks
    K Sargent Apr 21, 2019

    Apr 19 travel weather delay and then flight canceled of a hydraulic issue. Shuttteled to Wyndham hotel presented voucher got a room. Now have to pay for the hotel because AA has no evidence that the voucher that they gave me ever existed.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Dreu Viola Apr 27, 2019

    Flight AA 2602 was cancelled the night before departure on 4/20/19. The next available direct flight is 4/21/19. We are traveling with 2 small children. Our lodging is $450 per night and not eligible for a refund. We lose a day of vacation, $450, miss Easter. I want to be compensated for our room we will not use and the cost of the airline tickets

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    Smithmarks Oct 07, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Finished a meeting early in DC, so can catch the earlier flight. (National to JAX) NOPE. Even though there is room, you don't have "status!!" Agent at Gate says nothing he can do!! Thanks American Airlines for the customer service!!😡. My original flight was then delayed 1 hr and the next day I got an email with GOLD status!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem