Academy Bankdisputes

1
C Review updated:

I had reserved a post office box through the UPS store in another state. To reserve the PO Box, I had to submit my credit card information. Within 24 hours I cancelled the hold on the PO Box. The merchant decided to take it upon himself and charge me for three months of service even though I never signed for the box, nor did the reservation entail that I be charged a minimum 3 month premium for holding the box. I disputed the charge with Academy Bank. They refused to dispute the charge stating that I gave out my credit card number for a reservation, which gave the merchant the right to charge whatever they deemed necessary. So I explained that the next time I goto a restaurant, they can charge whatever they feel since I gave them my credit card number? The dispute department hung up on me. After several calls, they refused to initiate a dispute and understand the merchant had no right to charge me for three months of service. The service rendered by Academy Bank was that of a third world country. Argued, cursed at, hung up on, mind you, I deposited over 100k in my checking within one year. My point being that I'm not running after chump change in the name of being broke. I cancelled my account and went to Bank of A, where I'm treated with respect!

  • Updated by Dustin brown · Jun 17, 2017

    I went to close my account on the 2nd of June after they gave me a check for my balance they kept my account open which can't be legal .i want my account closed and it seems like they're stalling

Responses

  • Br
    Brenda Marshall Sep 19, 2018

    My name is Jimmy Marshall and I have been with academy bank for several years and this has happened almost every month for the past 4 years can you please put a stop to this ASAP I am a disabled veteran trying to get a home for me and my family we are living in our truck.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stphanie Oct 21, 2018

    Just letting you know I am very ANGRY about your hours on Sunday being closed. My roommate needed to get a check cashed and couldn't make it until today. Please start opening up on Sunday. You guys used to be open on Sunday and it was so handy. I don't like it that you are closed on Sunday! Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Delphinus Jun 01, 2019

    Academy Bank kept an acct open. Then reported my acct to chex sys stating I owed them $82. I have since paid them that money, but 18 months later, they're still reporting to chex systems for same amount. They will not help. I've called many times, and I get directed over to collections, but collections Never picks up the phone. Only voicemail. No calls are returned. What a nightmare bank!! The worst. I can't open an account anywhere because of them. I will not give themn anymore of my hard earned money. I've already given them 82. That should've never been charged.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kayion washington Jul 28, 2019

    I have been with academy bank for a year I always have issues regarding customer service and my money with pending transactions everyone I have talked to someone about reaslovin the issue it's always rude and they don't show concerned about the complaints that I have to say so please can someone have curious about what I have to say thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jake1985 Oct 28, 2019

    Twice in as many days my card has been declined when it has several hundred dollars on it. There is no reason for it it works sometimes and then not others

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Carla Ashley Nov 09, 2019

    I have a pending dispute . I had to sign for this company for my son who is special needs and had to give them my card information. They gave me a different card and made my checking account a positive . Thank you however I am wondering why it takes 90 days on a dispute. I have no clue who Tonight .com is . And when I try to see what it is it says underconstruction . I do not think it should take 90 days for a dispute.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elexandria Archuleta Nov 09, 2019

    I am being charged 224 dollars in just overdraft fees I am extreamly upset because I was originally told that it was a one time overdraft fee, I have never been this negative in the 13 years I have banked at academy, and now I am being told I dont have a limit for being in the negatives. I am a single mother and this really messed me over.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem