Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Unauthorized Charges 24 Protect Plus unauthorized 30 dollar monthly charges from my bank account

24 Protect Plus review: unauthorized 30 dollar monthly charges from my bank account

N
Author of the complaint
9:30 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Over a year ago I signed up for a one month trial with intelis which let me obtain public record information. I intended to search for specific info an never use the service again. I just found out that through intelis 24 protect plus has been charging my checking account 30 dollars a month since last november. I called them to find out who they are cancel these charges an get a refund. The lady I was speaking with told me they provide a 20 percent discount to various home goods. I spoke with a supervisor told them iv never heard of them an check their records an they will see iv never taken advantage of any services they claim to offer. I told them I wanted a full refund. They promised I would hear back from them within 5 days. I havnt heard anything yet! This is a complete scam and I will be going to the local news channels bout this an intelis as well if they do not hurry up an refund every penny!

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More 24 Protect Plus complaints & reviews

24 Protect Plus - fraud
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
24 Protect Plus - potential claims
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
25 comments
Add a comment
L
Oct 19, 2009 1:55 pm EDT

I was a victim of this company for far too long. I had always assumed the charges I was paying were part of my Lifelock subscription due to the name of the charges "ProtectPlus". I googled the name today and found out very disturbing information that I had "signed up" for this membership when I went online and used Intellius to do a phone number lookup. Some where on the screens while processing my request with Intellius it gives you this "FREE" membership with 24Protectplus and if you don't cancel in 30 days they start charging you for this service (I have no idea what there service is because no one would answer that question on the phone). They did agree to cancel my membership now and refund me everything I have paid them during 2009. I made the big mistake of just assuming it was part of my lifelock subscription so I let it go for too long but I am going to contact Intellius now and complain to them. I am RED HOT!

A
Apr 08, 2008 9:24 pm EDT

I noticed an UNAUTHORIZED charge on my account from Feb 2008 and Mar 2008 for $19.95 each month. I never authorized these charges. I checkout the website and have never been on it either. The website is so vague; you can't even tell what it's services are besides "discounts" for amusement parks etc. I called their 800 number and there is an option to cancel my membership by entering the credit card number on file. I was not able to speak to a live person though. I will wait to see if my card is credited. I also checked on the Better Business Bureau and there are over 2200 complaints processed against this company!

Aug 21, 2008 8:46 am EDT

24Protectplus somehow got access to my account and charged 14.95 for a service I know nothing about. I could not cancel through the web because there it would not work miraculously. I did reach them via telephone and they agreed to cancel membership but said nothing about the charges. I did ask them to remove the charges for a service I never received and thay said they would. I will see. I think they are getting memberships when you purchase something online. It appears that you are confirming your card but are really signing up for 24protect plus. It is very deceiving so beware!

M
Feb 02, 2008 12:00 am EST

This company took money out of my account. I called bank and got the number for them and they said they would cancel my account and I asked who are you? And all the woman could tell me was that they give people benefits. I told her they owed me 65.00 and she said they would only refund 14.95 for this month. I never signed up for their services and she had told me that I was on a web site where you pay for someone address and phone number. I remember doing that, but it was a one time fee and I never signed up for what ever services this company offers

Aug 29, 2008 4:02 am EDT

I used Intelius to find info on a suspicious cell phone number that kept showing up on my phone. I paid the $15 and then started to see 12.99 taken out of my bank account each month. I never signed up with them at all. Intelius ripped me off and signed me up for them and gave them my information without my permission.

I called them and spoke to the supervisor and he said I could only get one months worth of my money back and that the other months could not be refunded due to me not contacting them within 60 days. I told him I never signed up for you guys and I was wrongfully signed up by Intelius without my permission. Now because of them I had to close my bank account and get a new one. I explained that to the guy and he didn't seem to care one bit. Then I said I have to get all my money back because I never signed up for you guys, Intelius signed me up without my knowledge. I told them I did not want your service but yet they still signed me up. That's not my fault so I shouldn't have to pay. The guy kept going on and on about this and I was getting mad. I finally yelled and told him well I know a GOOD LAWYER AND I AM FILING A LAW SUIT and I WILL get my money back!

Scam scam do not use them or Intelius!

C
Mar 12, 2010 2:52 pm EST

I am an attorney in Texas. We are currently gathering information from individuals who have been scammed or defrauded by 24 Protect Plus 123, Adaptive Marketing or Intelius. The individuals who have been affected may be joined in a class action lawsuit. Please contact me at ckronzer@cbllp.com.

J
Jun 07, 2007 12:00 am EDT

I found a charge on my account when checking it online for $14.95 that I did not authorize for this company. I tried phoning them with no success. All I got was an answering machine and no return call. This charge was on June 1, 2007 and I have no income right now so this to me was a huge invasion of my income not to mention this also ended up causing an overdraft and $20.00 charge for the overdraft. I would like to know how I can get my money back.

Advise smb!

R
Dec 01, 2008 4:02 pm EST

24 Protrct Plus started charging $19.95/month on our company credit card without authorization. No one could tell me who authorized 24 Protect Plus a.d 24 Protect plus could not tell me who was getting the benefits. Capital One Bank still made me pay 24 Protect Plus for 6 months. Stay away from these people they are a ripoff!

D
Jan 25, 2008 12:00 am EST

Performed a one-time search on Intelius only to have them hand my banking data over to 24 Protect Plus, who then proceeded to charge me a monthly fee of $14.95 for a subscription that I knew nothing about. They managed to steel $44.85 out of my checking account before I caught the problem. I immediately filed a fraud claim with my bank then filed another complaint with the Ohio Attorney General. After a little research I discovered that 24 Protect Plus is one of ten membership subscription programs run by Vertrue, Inc. Currently, these guys are the focus of a class action law suit in Tennessee. Some people lost significant amounts of money before discovering what had happened. Beware.

E
Nov 29, 2010 6:19 pm EST

This is a web site RIP OFF, this company is fraudulent in charging credit cards without notification.
These people are THIEVES and need to be addressed by our government authorities
They have been reported to the Texas State Attorney General's Office.

G
May 17, 2009 1:15 pm EDT

"24 protect plus" is charging my credit card account $19.95 for services I never requested nor agreed to. I do not know how they got my credit card number but I have used USA people search in the past (it's listed as a possible link to these fraudulent charges).
R. Totten

R
Aug 18, 2008 8:50 am EDT

Your company has been cherging my card 14.95 for one year now without my authorization. I have just canceled my account and now I demand a full refund!

T
May 12, 2010 8:34 pm EDT

I did not knowingly sign up for this service and I feel that this is trickery and deceptive trade practices.

T
May 12, 2010 8:33 pm EDT

I have been charged since 7/22/09 for $19.95/month. I called the customer service number and they would only agree to cancel my membership and refund 4 of the last payments. Needless to say I am not pleased about this, was not aware of this, and have never desired this service. I can be reached at tracykcoker@yahoo.com. I would like to join a class action lawsuit for people in the state of texas.

Did you sign up for free credit reports. I did and if you weren't paying attention to cancellation instructions, that is where they get you.

It sounds like you have accepted a third party company’s offer that is advertised on the Intelius website. If you no longer wish to be enrolled in that third party company’s service, please call [protected] Monday – Friday 4:30am – 9:00pm PST. We will be more than happy to assist you.

If you select a promotional price on the Intelius website, you will also receive a free 7 day trial of Identity Protect. After the 7 day trial, it will convert to a regular subscription and bill out at $19.95 monthly.

However, there’s no obligation. If you determine within the 7 day trial that you no longer want Identity Protect, you can cancel your service anytime, online or over the phone with a customer support representative.

Please call [protected] Monday – Friday 4:30am – 9:00pm PST. We will be more than happy to assist you with your account.

S
Oct 19, 2009 2:16 pm EDT

Same here--did a one time search for .99 cents and a week later saw a charge for 19.95 on my on-line bank acct. statement. I was furious and when I called to complain the woman said there is a full-page disclaimer on their site and the .99 charge was a "promotion" that worked in conjunction to their identity protection program. I told her how incredibly tricky and irresponsible I thought the company was and that I wanted a refund and to not only be taken off the program, but dropped from their email list as well. She gave me a confirmation # and a promise of a refund in 7 to 10 business days. I'll be looking for that and if I don't see it credited to my account, I'm going to go ballistic!

C
Jun 10, 2009 10:31 am EDT

Protect Plus is a ripoff. Not only have I filed a complaint via Captial One Visa... I've contacted the State Attorney General's office, the FBI, among others.
###ers will keep on doing this until they're in jail. Outright theft, internet fraud, among other things.

W
Mar 23, 2009 6:24 pm EDT

With me as well. $19.95 charged to my capital one account. No explanation on their part as to how I got signed up. Clearly another corporation taking advantage of the people.

Same thing happened to me, $19.95 unauthorized charges. How do they get the CC number? Change your CC #, call State Atty General's ofc, call your bank. How do we stop thease people? Where is the money going? Not the time for people to be stealing other people's money.

- Mike in Wilton Manors

P
May 18, 2008 7:59 am EDT

They got me too though Intelius. I just caught it and they got me for more than $60.00. I will turn them in for fraud to my bank on Monday and I also contacted Intelius and threatened them with a law suit. I also clicked on Intelius link to Inc. 5, 000 and flagged the company to them. Everyone beware.

S
Mar 19, 2008 6:52 am EDT

I had the same experience. I did a one-time search with USA People Search and then on my next credit card bill there was a charge for $14.95 to Protect Plus in addition to the People Search charge.
I called Protect Plus, whatever that is, and there was no way to reach a person. I called my credit card company and they reached Protect Plus and cancelled the membership I never wanted. This company is a parasit and should be shut down. People Search is also to blame as far as I'm concerned.

J
Aug 09, 2007 10:30 pm EDT

Your 24Protect PlusSM membership has been canceled per your membership terms.

Your cancellation confirmation number is: *************
Shortly, you will receive an email confirming your cancellation at ********@hotmail.com. You do not need to do anything else to cancel your membership.

We thank you for your interest in 24Protect PlusSM, and hope we served you well while you were a member.

J
Aug 09, 2007 10:29 pm EDT

Make a call get ur member number back, then login at their fu***ng website

>>>>>http://www.24protectplus.com

So, u can cancel the fu**n service at that website.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

7 complaints
3 resolved 4 unresolved

24 Protect Plus contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
8770 W. Bryn Mawr, Suite 1000, Illinois United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT