Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Home & Garden Yard Works Tractor is garbage!!!

Yard Works review: Tractor is garbage!!!

D
Author of the complaint
9:44 am EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I purchased this yardworks tractor in June of 2004, with the 4 year extended warranty. At the time I was told that this was one of the best riding lawnmowers available at canadian tire. I paid $1799.00 plus GST for it.In September of 2004, the transmission blew on the tractor. It was under warranty, so it was replaced at the time the tractor had only 25 hours on it. I had to argue with the service team, they made me wait 3 weeks for an answer and a month to repair it. The following year, july of 2005 the second transmission blew on the tractor, the tractor had 60 hours on it at this time. I had to argue, and explain that the tractor is under warranty I waited 3 weeks for an answer and it took them another 3 weeks to put in the 2nd transmission. I also asked if they could replace the lawn mower because it was only a year old and this was the second transmission put into it, maybe it was a faulty machine. They refused. When I got the tractor back, the service team at Canadian Tire blamed me for the transmissions going for misuse of the tractor. (I only ever used the tractor to cut grass and nothing else) The tractor has never ran the same since, nothing but problems...belts breaking, not cutting properly...For the last two years I have fought with Canadian tire over this tractor, they say there is nothing they can do. We have had new owners in and out of the store almost rapidly and they always tell me there is nothing they can do about or blame the old owners and say I have to clear it up with them. Or I have been told to phone yard works and I have and yard works tells me to call Canadian tire! Just one big run around game. The day that my warranty ran out the third transmission blew.(the tractor only has 200 hours on it! In my personal opinion do not ever buy any kind of riding lawnmower through Canadian Tire unless you want to buy garbage and have a permanant and very expensive lawn ornament in your yard.

ADVERTISIMENT

More Yard Works complaints & reviews

Yard Works - Poor customer service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Yard Works - Question re: replacement part
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Yard Works - No receipt to return - broken
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
11 comments
Add a comment
S
Aug 01, 2022 4:55 am EDT

23July2922. This garden hose was $49.99 and I bought it in May of this year from Canadian Tire and it has 2 splits in it. I thought I was buying a quality product and it has failed terribly.

J
Nov 02, 2019 3:23 pm EDT

Product packaging says 2yr warranty.My Receipt is dated 08/05/2018. Staff says I am out of luck.How can we fix this . Never had this problem in the past with these gloves.

View 0 more photos
I
Oct 02, 2013 5:34 pm EDT

Yardworks and the new style Briggs and Stratton OHV engines are garbage! My tractor is less than 4 years old and it uses almost as much oil as it does gas. Belts break -things fall off and it blows noxious smoke all over the neighborhood B and S engines used to be bulletproof but no more. Can Tire need to find a new supplier for ride-on mowers or quit selling their junk mowers alltogether. Yardworks and Briggs and Stratton
NEVER AGAIN !

S
Jun 27, 2013 12:22 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Canadian tire can't even find me a replacement drive belt for mine. Tryed 4 different belts none fit. So there it sits in the back yard and we r useing our little push mower for an acre of grass.I suggest never to buy one of these garbage mowers.

V
Sep 25, 2011 6:42 pm EDT

I bought a yardworks lawn tractor after our house fire since day 1 I have had nothing but problems its blows big clouds of black smoke, everything rattles, won't cut the grass proper, very hard to get started, now it just won't start it is only a year old.I will never purchase another yardworks again.I am very unhappy with this tractor.

M
May 25, 2011 2:46 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have had a yardworks tractor that I purchased in 2004 as well with the snowblower attachment. well to start I am not sure that the problems are with the tractor as with CTC and the way they assemble it. I started with going over the whole machine not even a week after purchase becaue it was falling apart after going over every nut and bolt ia has been running fine but I do find that the service which does not exist at CTC for the tractor is ridiculous they have given me names of service shops that supposedly service these things but forget it and I have been trying now for 2 years to get new blades for my deck still unlucky. I will definately not be buying another riding mower at CTC or anything that requires service ever again .

D
May 19, 2011 2:09 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I bought a Yardworks tractor June 2009, since day one it has burnt oil! When I first took it back the contractor for warranty repairs said that was because I used regular gas in it, so he cleaned the carb and put premium gas in it, when I got it home, same problem, only I noticed that the spark plug was stripped! The contractor went under so that when I took it back again, Briggs and Stratton, the engine mfg said the warranty was voided because I stripped the spark plug! I'm still fighting with them!

B
Mar 27, 2011 10:32 pm EDT

I have a 2009 and everytime I put the deck down to cut it blows black smoke

D
Aug 02, 2009 10:25 am EDT

Also i have trouble with the battery.I can never keep it charged.Any reasons why or how to repair it?

R
Jul 03, 2009 4:24 pm EDT

I too bought a yardworks tractor in 2004 with a 4 year warranty and have had nothing but problems. I can't keep belts on it, everything rattles untill it falls off and then I have to put things back on with nuts and bolts instead of the cheap little screws they used. Both guards on the deck that cover the pulleys have vibrated until they snapped off. The front grill over the muffler is ready to snap off any time now. After taking it back on warranty 3 times Canadian tire would still do nothing about it. The service repair shop claims there is nothing wrong with the tractor to make all the things fall off. I guess I will spend more money and get a John Deere or Kabota mext time.

R
Jul 29, 2008 12:32 pm EDT

For the life of me I cannot understand why Canadian Tire would not replace the tractor that had all the problems outlined in the complaint rather than get this kind of publicity. I have a Yardworks lawn tractor a year old and as of yet I have had no problems, but reading this complaint I may think twice before buying another one at Canadian Tire.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

49 complaints
4 resolved 45 unresolved

Yard Works contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
6 Laumann Court, Stittsville, ON K2S 1V9 , United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT