The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Voobon Ventures IncScammers and liars

J

Run, this is a fraudulent company. This companies claim to do capital venture investments, is not true. The owner Mark Shariar will lie to the employees and have them create PPM to present to investors which is illegal because in order for a person to create this document they must have a license which he nor the other employees don't. I worked there for along time and never met or spoke to one supposed client. He will promise you benefits, for example medical insurance. This is a lie; some employees have worked at the establishment for more than a year and still do not have medical insurance. He will cheat the employee's on their check. If you're hired full-time and on salary, Mark Shariar will deduct money from an employee's paycheck if they don't work at least 40 hours. But if you work overtime you don't get paid extra. Basically the employee is an hourly worker if they work less than 40 hours and is fulltime salary if the employee works more than 40hours. This way Mark Shariar benefits and saves money either way. This is illegal, and told to me by the Department of Labor. He will never give an employee anything in writing stating their pay and the date they are to receive their benefits. To prove how fraudulent this company is, when hired request an operation agreement, stating your pay, when you're supposed to get a raise, and the date your supposed to receive your benefits. Insist that you need this document in writing before you start work and I will guarantee you he will come up with some excuse and you'll never get the agreement. First when you work there Mark Shariar will start you off very low, like slave labor pay and promise you a raise. This will happen in 90 days but it will only be for about $2- $3 more then the original hourly rate. If you go into the office all the employees are supper young (early to mid 20's) he hires young employees because he can manipulate them, no grown adult with reasonable work experience will work their for even a mere minute. The staff of the company has a quick turnover rate every 2-4 months. On top of this I have witnessed him sexually harassing other employees and he's currently being sued for his lewd and obscene behavior. One incidence a female employee was escorted into to the office for her protection to retrieve her personal items because of his inappropriate behavior towards her. If you ask for your benefits before six months he'll either fire you or make you quit so he doesn't have to pay unemployment. I have seen this happen several times. He also does not pay his bills and it very possible that while working there you may witness bill collectors coming to the office because he refuses to pay his bills. I have seen this and he ran out the back door into the hallway (really funny but also extremely sad). One last thing, there are no other companies all over the world or even in the United States. If a person does a little research they will notice that there are no numbers, addresses or any information at all about these other branches all over the nation, but this is company that deals with $5billion dollars worth of capitol investments. Who ever heard of a company that is worth that kind of money and has no record about their other branches even on the internet. This company is extremely fraudulent if you don't believe me work there for two weeks and you'll recognize what's going on.

Responses

  • Ki
    Kimberly Jersey Apr 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dont worry. I am a nobody. Who doesnt like to notice, we all are killing each other. For our own ###.
    The reason why our kids even bully at school and more. We are the example. Lets create a better future for them.
    Respect each other no matter what. We all have got our reason to survive a society thats sick.
    We all try.
    We speak out loud when its negative. And when its positive you dont hear us. Lets change it.
    I am a freedom fighter. A nobody.
    Peace!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kimberly Jersey Apr 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To all the people who are talking negative...repeat yourself please.
    To all the people who are talking positive...repeat yourself please. Beautiful.
    The truth about us. Thank you.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    PHMG2011 May 08, 2012

    Ding Dong the Witch is dead! The Voobon website is finally down. Does this mean no more lies and no more scamming? Let the tally of all the ruined lives, ruined companies, ruined families, ruined reputations begin. Lets put Mark and John and Jessica and all the others involved behind bars. Email [email protected] Unless of course, "your funding will be coming any day now" ... sad...

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    PHMG2011 Apr 08, 2011

    The attorney who posted left an email that does not work., [email protected] if you are for real and you want to collect stories of people screwed by Voobon then you need to post a valid email address. Also Bergerlaw - you posted saying you want to help people but your emails are unanswered. This is the strangest thing. If you all are legit then post legit email addresses. This is going to be a cash cow for some attorney

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    PHMG2011 Apr 05, 2011

    please email me so we can put an end to voobon and all the destruction they cause in people's lives. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    FilmStar123 Mar 17, 2011

    I think what any genius or idiot can gather from all these posts is that Mark Sharer does not have HAPPY EMPLOYEES working for him. That is just plain obvious. I have never seen so many unhappy people post in one place. Wow. Wow. A truly successful company is a company where the people that work there are HAPPY and excited about their jobs. Enough Said.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thetruthforyou123 Feb 25, 2011

    All of you people that post on here you vengeful and childish comments need to grow up. Get jobs that you can keep and do the work, move on with your lives. If you dont understand the concept of private investment, let me help you. The definition of private is : A privately held company or close corporation is a business company owned either by non-governmental organizations or by a relatively small number of shareholders or company members which does not offer or trade its company stock (shares) to the general public on the stock market exchanges, but rather the company's stock is offered, owned and traded or exchanged privately. A privately held company does not have to disclose all its information to make sad beings like you feel satisfied. It is clear that all of you are disgruntled employees! The sad part about it most of you were probably were incapable of completing the work the company required becuase you are very immature, irrational, and express uneducated ways. You are all mad at this company when you should be mad at yourself for being so childish and thinking the world revolves around you. Voobon doesn't have to validate to a buch of sore loosers on a board that is polluted as the walls in a high schoolers bathroom. But clearly some of you probably never graduated high school so how would you know. You should leave these hard working people alone, move on with your lives, and try to become productive people rather than sad, gossiping, criminals who post defaming comments to make you feel better sleeping at home alone becuase no one wants to be around the negative and immature energy you give out. For the actual intelligent people who do go to this website, sit tight all of these people will be seeing jail bars and their mug shots will be posted on here as the only factual evidence that is needed to show the validity of their comments really soon. And that is the action that the legal system is going to take, not catching these so called 'scammers."

    0 Votes
  • At
    AttorneyAtl Feb 22, 2011

    Past employees of this company please contact me [email protected] I charge no upfront fees. Email me to setup an appointment and know your legal rights. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • At
    AttorneyAtl Feb 22, 2011

    Past employees of this company please contact me [email protected] I charge no upfront fees. Email me to setup an appointment and know your legal rights.

    0 Votes
  • He
    helping people101 Feb 22, 2011

    They are just shame for all mankind! They have no life! They are just bunch of losers! Low class serial killer! They need to be punished!

    -1 Votes
  • He
    helping people101 Feb 22, 2011

    Above people are full of [censor]! They have no idea what they are talking about! Most of them are just bunch of ignorant losers and they never had a job in their life. Company like above just hired them and gave them a chance to work an investment bank. They just ruined their chances and they hart other people. Company is just simply not going to hire those ignorant people anymore. on the other hand those losers are going to stay as a loser and they will die as loser, shame full idiots. I have no sympathy anyone who puts those information here. What a site it is to write something! US Gov must do something asap to shut down this kind of websites. These kind of websites are just simply destroying our economy. Government must do something for this kind of unethical websites like this one.

    -2 Votes
  • Ph
    PHMG2011 Feb 21, 2011

    Lets put it all together guys. Please email me at [email protected] I am just trying to collect actual stories from companies. Obviously they have funded no one or they would be wagging it in our faces. Legacy Oil is non existant (just google it and see for yourself), Gridline was never funded (call the number on their web site and see if you think this is a company that has $200M invested in it.) The fashion magazine posted they are out of business due to Mark Shariar. I think this guy is the devil. What we would all give, ex employees and investors alike if these people were for real. It would mean we all hadn't wasted so much of our precious time. These people are ruining lives and sadly they are ruining companies that are actually money making companies that people have poured their lives and hearts and souls into. What I cannot figure out is what is the scam? Just all pretend so they can collect up front fees? It makes no sense because the money they could have made off these companies is more than the up front fees. That is if they even intended to be venture partners in the first place. But why not become partners to these companies? Why scam them? Some of the companies they ruin have the potential to make MILLIONS. So are they just evil beings? Do Mark and John get thrilled each day by lying to people "money will be there monday"? Over and over again! What a sad sad life they lead. Clearly there is fraud going on here. Its obvious to even the most basic investors but help us understand why! The poster Insider knows says to report to Georgia Investigations but I do not think that is the correct place to report them. We need to band together people. I heard of a new magazine they are "talking about investing in" - and we have to stop them from ruining more lives. Its not just business they ruin. Trust me. lets talk. Help us understand is the fraud just so they can live off up front fees? Do they pay rent, and hire people, and create fake PPMs just to live off up front fees? How many companies have they done this to? Lets have a roll call. I mentioned 3 above.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helping you all Feb 18, 2011

    This company filed several lawsuits against many of above former employees and so far total 3 of them found guilty. They are just losers and they have not moral. Polices are chasing them now to arrest them. Most of them hiding. There are many more lawsuit yet to come. Above criminals are shame for all mankind.

    -1 Votes
  • He
    Helping you all Feb 18, 2011

    We know above person and her name is Catrina Reid. She is a real black [censored]. I had a fight with her 2 days. She is a not a good person. I had a friendship with her for last 2 years but she is full of lies. That's why she does not have a job or man or a [censor]er. She is a loser and shame for all humanity. This whole site was written by her alone and she made it up. Her name is Catrina Reid and her same loser friend Destiny Williams. Hope the company take action against them.

    -1 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy2011 Feb 15, 2011

    I currently work for Voobon and am abused on a daily basis. If it were not so hard to find a job then I would have quit by now. Jessica Hawk is Mark Shariar's [censored]. Both Jessica and Mark are uneducated idiots.

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    warning_you Feb 14, 2011

    WHat about all those "Press releases"? (Landvest, 3BS, Gulf Coast Industries, Legacy Petroleum, Gridline Communications, etc). It has to be a joke!

    0 Votes
  • Ah
    Ahiah Feb 11, 2011

    2011 And Voobon has not funded anyone yet.Voobon ventures, mark shariar, john lord. Where are you now?

    1 Votes
  • Th
    thetruther52986 Feb 09, 2011

    Recent interivew Voobon ventures held lol. This company is the shadiest, unorganized, and incompetent place. I arrive 30 minutes early, and wait literally 2 hours for the [censored] bag thailand boss, Mark. We're sent into a room, and the eight of us are to wait again for the boss to come. He seems to get a kick out of making people wait, and then not hire any of them. So we wait another hour in the room, and mostly everyone leaves. Don't bother waiting, coming back for the second/third interview.
    I'm not sure who that [censor] is saying all these comments are false, but she needs some [censor] up her throat. Clearly, it's a desperate way for the small [censor]/bankrupt company to conceal their true manner of doing business and hiring. Plus, you know the company's not legit when you realize the boss looks like he's from a third world country.

    1 Votes
  • Ah
    Ahiah Feb 08, 2011

    Facts: Voobon Ventures cannot validate any funding of any company.
    Fact: They have taken millions from different investors and borrowers looking for money.
    Fact: They have lied to different companies
    Fact: Fake press releases.
    Fact: Mark Shariar John Lord and Larry Tanner all work together. What their exact relationship is we do not know.

    2 Votes
  • In
    insiderknows Feb 08, 2011

    These comments are quite confusing to follow because the original writer- entry-level ex-employee Jessica Hawk who was fired by Mark in early 2009 then was rehired (as an executive) in the beginning of 2010. She started the online smear campaign against Voobon Ventures and now works for them again. How did she go from entry-level to executive you may wonder. She threatened Mark Shariar with a sexual harassment lawsuit and had the evidence needed to prove her case. Now she runs the companies alongside Mark Shariar. Jessica Hawk has no problem conning people as long as she gets a piece of the pie.
    Once hired back as the boss, she began adding comments on this website and one other to counter her initial claims on both. She also tasked employees to add positive comments about the company and even created fake online press releases to try to establish credibility for the company. The company is fraudulent. They have no investors. They promise medium to large sized businesses funding and use their earnest money to operate off of. RUN RUN RUN! If you have experience with this company, please contact the Georgia Bureau of Investigations to report your experience.

    2 Votes
  • Wa
    warning_you Feb 03, 2011

    It seems that this lowlife is still running this fake company...Good luck to those companies waiting to get a penny out of VV.

    2 Votes
  • Xv
    XVVEmp Jan 22, 2011

    Unfortunately after working for this company for sometime the majority of what you read on this board is true.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bowenrji Nov 15, 2010

    Mark Shariar is an evil person.
    RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.
    It is an awful work environment and a completely fake company. Do not take anything that they say seriously.

    1 Votes
  • Ah
    Ahiah Nov 04, 2010

    STAY far away from Voobon Ventures. They cannot verify anything they say. Voobon ventures are frauds.

    Again the fact is that they cannot verify antything they say.

    3 Votes
  • Ni
    nikki56 Nov 04, 2010

    I went in for an interview around a month ago now, went back for a second interview where I performed an assessment for my graphic design skills on their software. I have been calling on the status of my assessment for over two weeks now. Hmmm I'm wondering how many others may feel they gave Voobon nearly two hours of their time and 5 design ideas for nothing only to have Voobon use the designs not have to pay the interviewees anything AND never offer them a job. I've been getting the run around how Mark has been out of town and hasn't reviewed any assessments yet. HMMMMM I'm thinking they had an interviewing spree for graphic artists just to steal our ideas and have inspirations to use for their own campaigns for months???????

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Private_Anonymous Mar 15, 2010

    Take it from an ex-employee who has been there and experienced Voobon and its inner-workings: this business is fraudulent, and Mark Shariar is a con artist. He has multiple "companies" that are reported to the IRS, yet most of them do not receive any income. They are TAX SHELTERS. I am sure the IRS would love to get their hands on him!

    Any positive posts you see on this website or any similar site have been posted by Mark or one of his employees. He assigns employees to write positive reviews to try to recover from his bad reputation.

    Mark makes the mistake of treating his employees incredibly poorly. He is often verbally abusive, and his behavior is erratic. He is suspected of drug use, has brought prostitutes to the office, and he has even solicited job candidates for sex. When finding that out, it makes sense that he is constantly "interviewing" job candidates. Not only is the turnover rate so high, because why would any self-respecting person want to work for this horrible excuse for a man, but he likes to feel a sense of authority. It would be fair to say that out of every 100 interviewees, perhaps only one person will be offered a job. It is not because he is incredibly picky, but that he is constantly interviewing. He also chooses his female employees based upon their appearance, and who often chosen an attractive female over a more qualified and less attractive female. Take a look at Yahoo Hotjobs and see that Voobon is constantly "hiring" for administrative positions. Mark will only interview women for administrative positions, because according to him, "women do a better job at admin". This is also convenient as it allows him to have an excuse to invite young, unknowing women to his office so he can potentially solicit them.

    In addition to his highly inappropriate professional behavior, he also breaks department of labor laws. Often times on pay day, Mark would suddenly have to go out of town. Not only would employees not receive their checks on time, but often their checks would be over a week late. In November, the majority of his employees were excused. He waited until he could no longer afford to pay them before letting them go. Many of them are still waiting to be paid for their wages earned last year! He also punishes employees that quit by paying them what he calls "minimum wage". However, the wage they receive is often not even the legal hourly minimum wage required by law. He claims he has the right to do this because they have not given two weeks notice, when in fact these employees did give verbal/written notice and he chose to ignore it.

    Mark will continue to treat people like this until he is forced to stop by law. The problem is that so many people have let him get away with it in the past that he thinks he can continue to do whatever he wants, with no regard for anyone but himself.

    These financial problems explain why their website goes down. It is because he does not pay his server. Why would anyone want to do business with a man that is so ethically and morally bankrupt??

    2 Votes
  • Po
    poplckndrp Feb 11, 2010

    I worked for about one month with this company here in Atlanta back in 2008 and was cheated out of what I was owed as my hourly wages also. They fired me and refused to pay me. I knew they were up to no good and that everyone associated with the company was full of it. Not surprised with all this information I'm learning about this place right now.

    1 Votes
  • Uk
    UK Investor Feb 03, 2010

    It seems his associate companies have closed and staff laid off see twitter for his fasion magazine. His funding company in Orlando does not exist and was fronted by a convicted fraudster when it was used in the Gridline Investment that HAS NEVER HAPPENED. His new web site which keeps going down does not mention his offices in new youk las vegas and london because THERE NEVER WERE ANY OTHER OFFICES. and his staff have mostly been laid off. He still has some small investors that he still strings along and they keep giving him more and more fee money because they feel they have given him so much they cant give up now. WELL GIVE UP NOW AND TELL YOUR OWN INVESTORS THAT YOU HAVE NOT DONE YOUR HOMEWORK AND HAVE LOST THIE MONEY.

    NOW WILL SOMEONE IN THE USA JUST GO TELL THE POLICE AND GET THIS MAN SHUT DOWN ONCE AND FOR ALL

    2 Votes
  • Da
    David Berger Jan 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Former Employees,
    Please contact me, I can help you guys. My Name is David Berger. I am an attorney practicing in the Metro Atlanta Area. If you want to take a real action, please contact me at
    [email protected]

    I can’t wait to see you guys soon!
    I’ll do it for FREE.
    I’ll get my money from defended

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    ga1111 Jan 13, 2010

    Sadly it appears as if voobon and the orlando people are frauds. No one was ever funded not one single company.

    2 Votes
  • Pe
    pels Sep 15, 2009

    So who has the next update with Voobon? Seems real but like to know a funding

    0 Votes
  • Uk
    UKinvester Aug 24, 2009

    Kind message to the staff at Voobon, I would take your vacation as quickly as possible or make sure you are paid for it this is not a gripe at the staff the overall pawns in this game. So get any outstanding pay accrued dont let him steal from you too.

    2 Votes
  • Uk
    UKinvester Aug 24, 2009

    HEY ALL THESE COMPLAINTS WOULD STOP IF ANYONE EVR COULD COME UP WITH JUST ONE, JUST ONE LITTLE TEENY TINEY COMPANY THAT HAS EVER HAD THE INVESTMENT THAT THE PRESS RELEASES SAID WERE DELIVERED. ANYONE? ITS NOT ASKING MUCH REALLY IS IT BUT VOOBONS DAYS ARE NUMBERED THE PRESS WILL GET THE STORY SOON VOOBON YOU MESSES WITH THE WRONG PEOPLE THIS TIME.

    2 Votes
  • Pr
    Private_Anonymous Aug 19, 2009

    Mark has been assigning his employees to come back and write positive comments on these boards! Any positive remark you see has been written by an employee that was FORCED to do this!

    This company is going down. Mark is the lowest lifeform on the planet.

    3 Votes
  • Ji
    jigga1 Aug 12, 2009

    All anyone wants VOOBON to do is list A deal they have closed.

    3 Votes
  • De
    debie101 Aug 08, 2009

    The following is a list of the criminals* allegedly behind the EZBC and Rip Off Scheme. (BEIC) will continue to say allegedly until each of these criminals has been convicted in court for their involvement in this scheme.
    *Note Ed Magedson and Amr Elgindy are convicted criminals but Henry and Karen Stricker while currently fugitives from justice have yet to be convicted of a crime.

    Convicted Criminal - Ed Magedson More Ed Magedson News
    Internet Hate Sites


    The main architect of the Rip Off portion of the scam is petty criminal Ed Magedson. Magedson started his criminal career in Florida in the early seventies. After several arrests and after he spent some time in Prison for check kiting Magedson left Florida ahead of a current warrant (A call to the Florida probation department will verify that there is a 25 year outstanding warrant for his arrest) Magedson disappeared and went out went out west.
    He spent the next 20 years being a type of evangelist preacher against corporate America. It was when the internet gained fame that Magedson started his Rip Off Scam. Trying to set himself up as the "good guy' against the evil corporate America, Magedson began badbusinessbureau.com and ripoffrepoert.com.
    To hide from lawsuits, Magedson has incorporated Rip Off on the Caribbean island nation of St. Kitts and Nevis in the West Indies
    Alyon Technologies said in a statement last August that it sued Magedson in the West Indies and obtained a $10 million default judgment against him. Magedson brags he has yet to pay Alyon any money.

    Convicted Criminal - Amr Elgindy More Amr Elgindy News
    Strike The Root

    BusinessWeek Online


    Amr Elgindy has a long criminal record that started when he was 18 years old. This is not the first time that Mr. Elgindy has posed as the "good guy" for a profit (he is currently under indictment for a similar scheme). The following is a profile of the mastermind behind the scheme.
    Before the million-dollar homes and flashy cars, Mr. Elgindy was struggling to make his mark in a new world after his family Immigrated to the suburbs of Chicago when he was 2 or 3.
    From an early age, he had trouble living up to the high expectations his family set, he told friends. His father was a professor, his mother was a pediatrician; his two brothers went on to earn advanced degrees, and a sister became a teacher. His own path, he conceded, was more tortured.
    He dropped out of high school and got an equivalency degree in 1985. He enrolled at the University of Southern California to study biomedical engineering and later studied biology at San Diego State, but he completed less than two years of course work, university records show.
    Trouble found him early. In 1986, at 18, he was arrested for assault with a deadly weapon in Los Angeles; the charges were later dropped. He worked as an auto salesman at three different Chevrolet dealerships within a year before entering the murky world of buying and selling penny stocks.
    His resume includes some of the most notorious brokerage firms in the industry, the "pump and dump" shops that had long histories of manipulating stock prices and leaving investors out in the cold. Among these firms he joined, now defunct, was Blinder Robinson, nicknamed "Blind 'em and Rob 'em."
    Mr. Elgindy later confessed to the authorities that he and brokers at another firm had accepted bribes from stock promoters seeking to manipulate shares. According to court records, in 1995 he was granted immunity in exchange for information about the scheme.
    With his cooperation, federal prosecutors won convictions against four people on tax evasion charges. That was the beginning of Mr. Elgindy's life as a government informant, documents show. At a time when Wall Street was overrun by penny stock fraud and even the influence of organized crime, he helped government agents navigate the terrain. In court, the government has acknowledged that his tips were valuable.
    Mr. Elgindy, who moved to Texas in 1994 to run his own brokerage firm, liked to boast about how he began wearing a wire. He also started carrying a gun, a small .380 Colt, because he had been repeatedly threatened, he said. When reporters visited his home, he would play tapes of secretly recorded conversations and show off his gun collection.
    By the late 1990's, Mr. Elgindy had repackaged himself as a short seller who blew the whistle on crooked companies and wise guys. He was mentioned in a 1997 Business Week article about corrupt brokers. He was also written up in Wired magazine and featured on the Discovery Channel program "Justice Files."
    Though many journalists were suspicious of Mr. Elgindy's motives, his information was often useful and provocative to them.
    Bill Alpert, a longtime reporter at Barron's, the financial weekly in New York, remembers visiting Mr. Elgindy in 1996 at his home in Fort Worth and seeing stacks of cassette recordings he had made with people from the underbelly of Wall Street.
    By then, Mr. Elgindy was driving a Ferrari and living comfortably in a home decorated with statues on columns, draped in velvet.
    "Everyone in his family was accomplished, an achiever, and he'd gone astray, " Mr. Alpert said. "But by helping the government and helping get swindlers, this would help redeem him."
    When stock trading moved to the Internet and day trading became a fad, he moved his soapbox to the Web. On popular sites like Silicon Investor, an online stock forum, he plied his trade with great bravado.
    He later set up a Web site and sold tips for a $600-a-month subscription fee. Few complained about the price.
    "Most of the people on that site were doing 20 to 30k a week -- what's 600 bucks/mo., " one fan, who called himself Tool Dude, wrote in a recent post on the Silicon Investor site.
    As early as 1997, though, Mr. Elgindy began to run into legal troubles. He had worked briefly for Bear Stearns in 1994 and later lost a civil suit over his firing by that firm. He was also sued by the insurance company MassMutual, which accused him of fraud for accepting disability checks worth $7, 500 a month in 1994 for unemployment attributed to "emotional stress" even though he was employed at Bear, Stearns and another brokerage firm at that time.
    That case was referred to the Justice Department and in 1999, while living in San Diego, he was indicted by a federal grand jury in Texas. He pleaded guilty to insurance fraud and was sentenced to four months in a California prison.
    When he was released in October 2000, Mr. Elgindy resumed his position as a prominent short seller on the Internet. He also began assisting the government in investigating cyberspace scams, he said.
    His case was supported by a letter from Jeffrey A. Royer, an F.B.I. agent in Gallup, N.M., who said that Mr. Elgindy had "gone above and beyond to assist law enforcement and civil regulatory agencies in combating fraudulent activities."
    The F.B.I. now says the letter, which was undated and not on official letterhead, is suspect. "It is highly unlikely that as an agent Royer worked on any significant white-collar cases in Gallup, " said H. Douglas Beldon, an F.B.I. spokesman.
    Indeed, by the time of that letter, the Justice Department had opened an investigation into Mr. Elgindy's activities. After Sept. 11, the government said, a Wall Street broker told federal officials that Mr. Elgindy had tried to sell $300, 000 in stock in anticipation of a market plunge. He placed his order on Sept. 10.
    As part of that inquiry, the government said it uncovered a broader plot that involved Mr. Royer, who had left the F.B.I. in December to work for Mr. Elgindy.
    In a 33-page indictment handed up over two weeks ago, the government portrayed Mr. Elgindy as a con man's con man. For the last two years, the government contends, Mr. Elgindy led a double life: He told people he was helping the government uncover stock market manipulation, but instead, the indictment charges, he was bribing F.B.I. agents to supply him with information to commit his own frauds.
    Mr. Elgindy and four others, including Mr. Royer and another F.B.I. agent, were charged with obstruction of justice and securities fraud. They have all pleaded not guilty. Mr. Elgindy's lawyer, Ms. Knight, declined to comment except to accuse the government ofusing a "race based" notion to deny Mr. Elgindy bail.

    Fugitive - Henry Stricker Fugitive - Karen Stricker More Henry Stricker News
    U.S. Postal Inspection Service

    I.B.B. Wanted


    More Karen Stricker News
    R.I.A. Wanted

    I.B.B. Wanted


    If you are forced to flee the scam rich potential of the United States, the internet becomes the perfect way to access victims. Below is the history of the husband and wife team that is instrumental in the plot.
    From 1983 through 1989, Henry Stricker and his wife Karen, operated out of Los Angeles, California, perpetrating nationwide fraud. Numerous victims were induced to buy outlets to sell merchandise display racks. But the purchasers never received the promised outlets and were defrauded of more than five million dollars.
    On December 3, 1992, the Strickers were indicted by a federal grand jury on thirty counts of mail fraud, wire fraud, interstate transportation of stolen property, false statements to a government agency and obstruction of justice. Both of the accused failed to appear for trial and subsequently fled the U.S.

    -2 Votes
  • De
    debie101 Aug 08, 2009

    Scamming as an Art Form: Ed Magedson and [redacted]

    To be a brilliant artist, you don’t necessarily need to use paints, clay or any other traditional artistic tools. You apparently don’t need to have morals or a conscience either.

    Ed Magedson is a name well known throughout the internet as a scam artist and the man behind [redacted]. The website claims to serve as a consumer advocacy forum: “By Consumers, For Consumers”. But if you believe the many, many reports from other sources, the website is merely a blackmail scam to con businesses into paying Ed Magedson.

    The site claims to offer the consumer a chance for retribution or justice for being ripped off by a business, but there is some evidence that many of the posts are written by Magedson or employees. [redacted] says it has won numerous legal battles over the legitimacy of the reports, and it has appeared to find a large degree of protection from the Communications Decency Act (CDA) of 1996. Magedson himself has been in court and if you’d like an idea of how slippery a character he is, you can read the court transcript here.

    I’m not saying that a site that legitimately warns consumers of potential scams aren’t good for business. The internet has provided a means for consumers to voice their concerns and complaints when they’ve been slighted. But what about businesses who are targeted for no apparent reason?

    If [redacted] is to be believed, Larry Page and Sergey Brin of Google harassed a couple of 16-year-old girls in a Santa Monica coffee shop and attempted to get them to go to a hotel room (link). I don’t know Page or Brin personally, but I don’t really need to. The two founders of the largest and most successful search engine in the world weren’t drunk in a Santa Monica coffee shop picking up 16-year-old girls. The claim is ridiculous. **It appears that the name has been changed from the original post to now read Soney Bonoi.

    Unfortunately outrageous claims are all the norm on [redacted], and your average business can be targeted with little to no substantiation. The worst part about Magedson’s site is that Google has continued to rank the reports exceptionally well. Search for a given business, and if there is a report written on it, chances are the link will appear on the first page.

    Yahoo and Microsoft’s Live search engine have begun handling the reports differently. MSN won’t list Rip-Off at all in its listings, and the visibility on Yahoo is a mere five percent. Compare that to 91 percent visibility on Google and you can see why Rip-Off gets the traffic that it does.

    According to results culled from Compete.com on April 14, 2009, Rip-Off receives nearly 3 million unique visitors a month! To put it in comparison, Fox.com gets 3.36 million unique visits a month. That means nearly as many people are viewing the company-bashing reports on Magedson’s site as they are catching up on the latest episodes of House, Family Guy and American Idol.

    This kind of traffic is what continues to give Rip-Off “relevance”. How much relevance can be gleaned from learning about a supposed case of adultery in Minneapolis is to be determined (link). The company openly states they will not investigate the validity of the claims – unless you want to join their “corporate advocacy program” and pay a hefty fee.

    I suppose you can call this something other than extortion, but I’m afraid my antonym finder is broken at the moment. Until the laws are changed or Magedson slips up, the only thing to do if you find your business on the site is to create your own quality content and hope Google sees the error of their ways. At least you won’t find much about R.O.R. on Yahoo or MSN.

    **All of the links to mentioned [redacted]s are nofollows.

    By: Zack S.
    Share and Enjoy:

    * Digg
    * Sphinn
    * del.icio.us
    * Facebook
    * Reddit
    * Mixx

    Tags: Ed Magedson, Rip-Off, [redacted], ROR

    This entry was posted on Tuesday, April 14th, 2009 at 12:34 pm and is filed under Blog Posts. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

    -2 Votes
  • De
    debie101 Aug 08, 2009

    I am basically checking that they remove those above comments or not? If they do that means they are monitoring the site and they are subject to prosecution...
    An attorney...

    -1 Votes
  • De
    debie101 Aug 08, 2009

    How To Fight Back Against A [redacted]

    A [redacted] on a site like [redacted] can be seriously damaging to your business’s reputation. [redacted] allows its users to publish a [redacted] on any company without fact checking or any evidence that the allegations are true. Many users misuse the site in order to perpetuate personal vendettas, or even just for pranks. This [redacted] can be seriously damaging to your reputation and the site does not allow you to fight back except to post a rebuttal. In some cases, the owner of the site declines to publish the rebuttal to the [redacted] and then you have no recourse whatsoever.

    If you pay a fee, the site’s editor will post a note under the [redacted] stating that it was investigated and the claim was false. This makes a [redacted] that is unfair amount to extortion. Such a [redacted] is especially frustrating, because this site is weighted highly in Google page rankings. If a customer searches for your company name and [redacted], or even just your company name, it’s very likely this will be the first thing he or she sees.

    There are ways to fight against an unfair [redacted] without giving in to blackmail, though. One way is to file a lawsuit. This can be expensive and [redacted] has successfully defended many such lawsuits. However, they have also settled with some plaintiffs and failed to defend other cases, in which a default judgment was entered against them. If the complaint against you in your [redacted] is minor, it may not be worth bothering, but if you stand to be ruined because of it, this is an avenue you may want to pursue. A federal lawsuit is currently brewing against [redacted] that may put them out of business, but it’s too soon to find out the results.

    Another way to handle a problem with [redacted] is to hire a company which provides online reputation management services. This is a relatively new arena but it’s likely to grow over time, since the way the Internet is structured allows people to post slander and libel without much recourse. A company that handles online reputation management may charge around $5, 000, which is still cheaper than hiring an attorney to fight your [redacted].

    They won’t just post a rebuttal on [redacted], they’ll use their knowledge of Google rankings, SEO tools and other tricks of the trade to make sure that the [redacted] about your company is buried and people see positive information first.

    When choosing a reputation management service to fight your [redacted], look for testimonials of satisfied customers. One site that claims it’s been fighting [redacted] for ten years goes on to say that he’s just now getting results. Decide for yourself, but I’d rather have someone who’s had success sooner than this. Some sites also guarantee that they get you results against [redacted] or you don’t have to pay. This is probably the first line of defense you should take if an unfair [redacted] is filed against you.

    If you have a [redacted] that you want to see taken off of Google see Online Reputation Management.

    This entry was posted on Wednesday, March 25th, 2009 at 10:40 am and is filed under Online Reputation Management. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

    -2 Votes
  • De
    debie101 Aug 08, 2009

    Accusations that Rip-Off just an Extortion Business

    Posted by randfish on January 16th, 2008 at 1:46 am Google


    One of the most interesting stories to catch my eyes in the last few months was this exposé from Chris Bennet at 97th Floor - Google, Your Honeymoon with [redacted] Has to Stop. Looking through Chris' detailed research into the practices of the website and perusing some of the appalling accusations made about the business and its founder, it's shocking that the domain continues to retain its authority.

    Here's the basic gist of Chris' arguments:

    1. The website - [redacted] - essentially earns a living through extortion of businesses based on the search results (almost like a reverse reputation management campaign).
    2. Because the site ranks well at Google (Yahoo!, Live, and Ask appear not to give it as much weight), companies whose profiles appear on the site must pay the owner to have the information removed or have administrative comments added that an issue was resolved or the complaint was found to be false.
    3. It would appear that content creators unfamiliar with the English language, yet very familiar with keyword stuffing, create many of the negative profiles on the site (ostensibly to help them rank better in the search engines so they will have a greater negative impact on the businesses they list).
    4. The site even features bizarre allegations (supposedly from a 16 year old girl) that Google's founders propositioned her and another underage girl.

    Certainly, if you visit the site (which I won't link to directly), you'll note the exaggerated style and tone of the content suggests a less-than-professional organization. The site proudly claims not to investigate the comments left by its visitors, and one is forced to wonder if [redacted] will truly investigate once a business pays them (or whether they simply remove the listing or add their "all's well" commentary).

    Beyond the ethics, I have to say that it's a fascinating business model from an SEO perspective - integrating the negative linkbait pull of trashing a business or person as a link acquisition technique, using the link weight to rank well for company names, then forcing them to pay in order to "mitigate" their bad publicity through search engines. Honestly, I'm surprised that someone like Matt Cutts hasn't taken action against the site - it would seem to fit well within his usual definition of manipulating Google.

    I think more investigation of the site might be warranted - just a few quick searches led me down a fascinating tale of dodged court appearances, paranoia, default judgments, and violent threats. Here's a few gems:

    * The Phoenix Sun Times - The Real [redacted] - the reporter's meeting with ROR's owner is almost hard to believe, and the number of businesses paying thousands each month (if accurate) make this one of the most profitable black/gray hat SEO concepts I've ever heard.
    * Eric Goldman - [redacted] Gets Mixed Ruling - it would appear that the site does have the ability to operate legally, though Chris' blog post certainly suggests that the owners themselves are behind much of the content (and thus would have to answer for it). That portion of the case (suggesting that the owners created the libelous content) is still proceeding in Arizona.
    * A video from Florida - WSVN on Rip-Off - showing fairly compelling evidence that the site does indeed extort businesses by offering to turn bad reports into positive ones for a fee.

    BTW - I'm not sure why Chris didn't mention it, but as far as Google's TOS violations go, it would appear that they're also selling paid link advertising and passing link juice (the banners in the top right corners don't have nofollows).

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.