ADVERTISIMENT

Planet Fitness

840 N Apollo Blvd, Melbourne, FL, 32935, US
Fri 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm Working Hours
Sun:7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Mon:5:00 am - 12:00 am
Tue:Closed
Wed:Closed
Thu:Closed
Fri:12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat:7:00 am - 7:00 pm

Reviews and Complaints

Planet Fitness, Melbourne, FLrude, unprofessional, deceiving advertising, low quality gym

I have heard many horror stories about how people are treated at Planet Fitness locations, but I never thought it would happen to me. Well, it did. I became a member of Planet Fitness located at 840 North Apollo Boulevard, Melbourne, FL in May 2009. Since March 2010 I have brought up some maintenance issues to the gym staff. The light bulbs throughout the gym kept going out one by one over the last couple on months, until only about 50% of the lights were still functioning in May 2010. During the same period, the AC was broken and lots of members were unhappy about the situation. The gym felt like a semi dark green house, not an environment conductive to working out. I complained almost weekly to the front desk and the answer I would receive was that there was a maintenance guy who was supposed to take care of the burned out light bulbs and the AC, but nobody knew when he was going to be around. There were some other problems as well, such as the soap in the restrooms running out, and a case of what I believe is false advertising. In the contract and on the website they claim that the black card members can buy drinks from the cooler at half price. However, when I went to the gym the sticker on the cooler said that only a few of those drinks, mainly Gatorade and water were qualifying for the half off discount. Since that was not stated in the contract or on their website I see this as false advertising. After several weeks, the issues were still not corrected so I complained directly on their website, and from what I know copies of the complaints made on their website are sent to the owner and to the Planet Fitness Main Office. Days later, on June 11, 2010 when I went to the gym, the manager Erica Russo rudely informed me that I was no longer welcome in the gym and I had to leave the premises, due to my complaints about the gym. I was beyond shocked to see that instead of apologizing for the inconvenience and fixing the broken lights, AC and so on, they just cancelled my membership. Unbelievable and deeply shocking, I have never been treated like this although I have worked out at many gyms, such as Las Vegas Athletic Club, LA Fitness, World Gym, 24 Hour Fitness, Bally’s, Gold’s Gym and others. I have heard before that Planet Fitness stuff is generally rude and abusive, they don’t try to fix the issues at the gym and they abusively just cancel the memberships of those daring to complain. From my experience, this negative perception of Planet Fitness is real. It is shameful that Planet Fitness is allowed to do this to people. In am still in shock and disbelief that an American business is which is so customer unfriendly is allowed to function. It feels like Twilight Zone.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    8 Responses
    • Pa
      Paul Hernandez Jun 24, 2011

      Planet Fitness Administration
      Who may to concern:


      I want to complain from Planet Fitness on 500 Neponset St, Dorchester MA. I had so bad experience as a customer with the service, especially with the manager on this location. This guy disrespect customers with imposing rules, Making customers do not feel this place comfortable. The manager has to be more friendly and flexible with the customers where the members understand the rules of a better way. Most people do not feel happy about the behavior of this manager because he likes to be imposed taking the members outside of gym what he’s recidivist doing it. Please try to do something to the change it. I can't recommend more people if customers are treated on this way. This manager feels that he is making a favor or charity works having us in this gym. I do not want to get upset anymore about the service of this manager because this is not the first time going to be treated on this way. Otherwise I will be in the position of looking other place where I feel welcome.

      Sincerely:
      Planet Fitness’s Members:


      Paul Hernandez Eric Burgos Jovan Saldana

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Dw
      dwo.work May 22, 2011

      I work at the planet fitness now and it is completly under new management with a new staff. There are no problems with lights or soap and drinks are stated in the commitment As half off and are half off to black card members
      . This is the most affordable gym around and I reccomend it.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Bi
      BioHazard Mar 25, 2011

      Also, to Tired_of_Stupid, no, he didn't write that because he thinks he's special, he probably said it for the same reason I thought it wouldn't happen to me, I'm quiet, keep to myself, don't bother anybody, and only expect the things in a gym to actually work, or to be able to use a gym mat that actually has some padding in it and to be able to use it anywhere in the gym...thats why they call them gym mats

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Bi
      BioHazard Mar 25, 2011

      oh, and maybe things are different in Orlando, but in these economic times, you are wrong, people will put up with far more abuse than normal due to the economic environment and the cost of other gyms, but like I've already said, eventually, it will catch up with them...and they say they are a "judgement free zone"...HA anything but. Does a nuisance member have to go? Of course! But I'm speaking of the overall treatment of the members in general, and God help you if you ask them to fix something, even once, you'll get an earfull, and months later, when it still isn't fixed, if you dare mention it again, the threats begin-most notably from the manager of the place. I've worked for many small businesses in my time, and if I ever, EVER spoke to a customer the say that "lady" (and I use that term loosly) speaks to hers, I would be fired on the spot, yet it goes on there on an almost daily basis.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Bi
      BioHazard Mar 25, 2011

      ...continued...
      but, I'd bet they don't pay their employees much at all (evidenced by the high turn over rate-there is a different person working the desk almost evry week!), so that will likely never happen, but if they got rid of that rude manager, who by the way comes at you with a very poor attitude even before she knows why you're there, then the place would be much more enjoyable.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Bi
      BioHazard Mar 25, 2011

      I totally agree with you on this one. I have never in my life been in a gym so dilapidated with so many rude people working there. Especially the "manager". I have heard her speak to people like they were dirt, including myself, and always, ALWAYS threatining to cancel membership. If you ask anything at all about all of the problems the gym has, such as the A/C, lighting, the fact that their floor mats are so old and cracked they are of little worth, etc, then you always get threatened with having your membership cancelled. Eventually, as cheap as it is to go there, it will catch up to them. Now, if they had a decent manager, one who treated people with respect and actually cared, the place would be a totally different story.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Dr
      Dreamlander Mar 14, 2011

      The Planet Fitness I go to in Orlando has its moments of looking trashed. overflowing garbage and paper towels strewn across the floor, frequent empty soap dispensers in the mens room, and worn out equipment. However everyone is so friendly and rarely fails to say hello and goodbye. When Ive complained they have apologized and although slow, remedied most of the simple issues. The Melborne location probably threw this member out because she/he probably never shut up. Considering all the other gyms this member has listed as having been a member of you have to wonder why she/he has bounced around so much from gym to gym. I tend to think because the member is difficult and cannot be satisfied. These employees do need to bend over backwards for their members whenever reasonable but when a member becomes a nuisance, they have to go. Members Im sure have complaints but are willing to suck it up because they realize they are only paying $10 a month. The clubs do have some issues but if they were so bad no one would be going at any price. If you notice something, say something then LET IT GO. I just referred a friend of mine to another of the Orlando locations and he loves it. I hope to join him at his gym from time to time given that hes signed up for the blackcard membership.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit
    • Gy
      gymrat1 Oct 06, 2010

      I agree. DO NOT join this gym. A lot of the personnel are rude. The drains in the shower will not drain. Water pressure is weak. Air Conditioning is inadequate. Only about 50% of the headphone jacks work on the cardio equipment.

      0 Votes
      Cancel
       
      Submit

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Planet Fitnessover crowding - dirty/filthy gym

    this gym has to many people registered as members and it has caused the gym to be become filthy & overcrowded...when it first opened in feb.'08, the small staff was cleaning the equipment and sweeping/mopping the floor in a diligent manner and cleaning had constant attention, now it has become just another "gym"...the bathroom/locker area is dirty, cleaning is to a minimum and equipment is not maintened properly, that is, dirty and broken!...also on sunday, jan. 17, 2010...my vehicle was broken into while parked at the site and my insurance company notified me that 25% of all break-ins reported, have been at a "gym" location...it appears some of these same people using the the facilities to enhance their health are also using their "muscle" to cause harm and violation to other members!!!...be-aware!!!...member#0627

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      Respond
      ADVERTISIMENT

      IN THE NEWS

      Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
      If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
      One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
      A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
      ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
      You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
      Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.