Having problems with US Passport?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

United States

Complaints & Reviews

Incompetent Supervisor

7/28/2015

TER-RI-BLE.

I came here to get a passport for my daughter. To get a passport for a minor, you must have both parents present or a notarized form from the missing parent or a court order stating that you have permission to obtain the minor's passport independently. Well, after weeks of trying every other possible approach, I was, regrettably, in category three.

After three hours of waiting, two employees, including "counter supervisor" Megan Coleman Stalder decided that they were more qualified to interpret an order signed by a JUDGE than the JUDGE who signed the order and decided that my JUDICIALLY ISSUED ORDER contained a travel restriction that would prevent them from issuing the child's passport.

What?? How and why would a county judge attempt to restrict the STATE DEPARTMENT'S business? On what planet?? And why is a counter processor with a bachelor's degree trying to make legal analyses of documents?

At this three-hours-later, we were at risk of missing my daughter's swim lesson, so I kindly advised Megan that her services were no longer required and asked her to return my daughter's birth certificate. This woman told me sit down while she "got the documents together" and threatened to call security on me! I could SEE the birth certificate in her HAND. She then sat on the phone and tapped away at the computer for twenty full minutes--essentially holding us hostage via birth certificate--while she went grasping at straws trying to prove her Clown College of Law interpretation of the order correct. It was a new level of petty.

When she finally returned to the window to return the documents--again, twenty minutes later, she attempted to talk at me for a good two minutes while I repeatedly emphasized that I was only requesting the return of the documents as my daughter was late to a previously scheduled appointment.

It was horrendous and unprofessional.

While there, I also overheard a gentleman complain that he had MISSED HIS FLIGHT ABROAD they were so late returning his passport and another gentleman complain that he was sent away the previous day because his passport photo was paper-clipped rather than stapled to his application.

You can't make this type of stuff up, people.

passport

I got a letter from the passport office today telling me that: Thank you for recent passport application. The evidence of your birth occurred, and the US citizenship or nationality you submitted is not acceptable for passport purposes for the following reason: the certificate shows that your birth was recorded more than one year after your birth occurred, and the evidence used to create the delayed birth record is not sufficient. And they go on to say please submit a certified birth certificate, for the birth certificate to be acceptable, is must—–
1 be issued by the office of vital statistics of the state, county, or city where your birth occurred
2 show your full name at birth
3 indicate your date and place of birth
4 list the full names of your parents
5 bear the embossed, impressed, multi-colored, or raised seal and signature of the issuing authority, and indicate a registration or file date that is within one year of your birth.

I wrote back saying—To whom it may concern; I’m so totally confused, Basically why would I need and delayed certificate of birth if I had a birth certificate within one year of my birth, I called and the passport lady customer services department and was also confused. It is not my fault that my parents were so irresponsible, but they were native Americans and did not trust the U.S. Government.
I was born in the back seat of a car on the Fort Apache Reservation, I have contacted the reservation but they only record births of tribal members.
I was born 6 weeks early and my parents ‘thought that I would die so the a priest came to baptized me, I have contacted the Roman Catholic Diocese of Phoenix and the Roman Catholic Diocese of Gallup but because the baptism happen so long ago and the speed of which it was done that they no longer have these records, but I do have my mother’s family bible showing my birth.
My mother was born on the Big Cypress Reservation in Florida on 6/6/1940 and had ran off with my father at 14 years of age. My father was born in the Alberta Canada in the Northwest Territories on 5/15/1923, both of my parents were Native American. My father had me home schooled because we never stayed in one place long.
I became pregnant at 19 years old and was kick out of the house and all communication was cut off, I have tried for years to locate them but to no avail, I have not seen or heard from them in 39 years and I doubt that they are alive
I have scan and sending copies from my mother’s family bible and I’m sending you certified copies of my children’s birth certificates as well, So please send them back when you no longer need them.——-
This is not right the way they (passport office) treat people who have no control of what their parents do or do not do. If there is help for people in my situation please help. I live day by day and I 59 years old. Please help

Additional information I gave them my marriage licenses-- a letter from a woman that was there at my birth notarized.

DELAYED

I have had 3 previous passports issued now I sent for a renewal Nov 1st 2012 Expedited on Feb 15th after going to my congressman for help I received a letter requesting additional IDENTIFICATION I have submittedd additional evidence as requested. April 22 2013 I went to my congressman's office again and now today April 30 was told I still need to submitted more ID. I have sent last us passport issued cert. Birth certificate marriage cert divorce cert. School records cert copy of DL and SS Card. Every time congress inquire s about it I get ADDITIONAL INFORMATION NEEDED this sounds like BS. It been 6 months I don't know what to do anymore.

  • Belleville May 01, 2013

    .Every time congress inquire s about it I get ADDITIONAL INFORMATION NEEDED this sounds like BS. It been 6 months I don't know what to do anymore.

    1 Votes

Lost Document

I applied for a passport shortly after I became a citizen on March 2011. I received my passport in 10 days but my certificate of citizenship wasn't included. After contacting Houston passport agency numerous times I found out that agency had lost my citizenship certificate. I submitted a complaint letter to Office of Field Operation and explained my situation. I recieved a call several days after from Houston passport agency. They apoligized and agreed to compensate me 345 dollars for getting another certificate from Citizenship office. That was back in August 2011. As of today March 14 2012 I haven't received anything from passport agency. I have left several messages for Houston passport office but not once they have called me back. Director of Houston passport office is Eric Botts and he wrote to me in his letter that I can contact him directly if I have any questions but he never answers calls or resposnds to my messages. I just wanted to write this here to let readers know what kind of service passport agency is providing for its customers.

[protected]@live.​com is scammer

[protected]@live.​com is a scammer...!!
I have already sent money as upfront but he needs more money without showing anything..
He told me our deal is changed without any notice...too poor !!
Be careful him anybody...!!

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

need more identifying documentation

I applied for a us passport 4 months ago and all I got was a letter asking me for more identifying documents since my drivers license is not enough proof of who I am so they said. I even had my wife fill a form that proofs that she knows me for more than two years at the time of the application, any ways I think its ridiculous if they require all of that info they should just make a better us passport application and stop the games of harassing people with this kind of letters, now seven years ago i become a victim of identity theft and I'm sick and tired of sending documents of who i am, its being 4 months and i haven't got my birth certificate back no letter no call, i check the online status of my passport and still tells me that my book is being process.

  • Go
    GoldOpals Opals May 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is this your first time applying for a US passport? A quick google search of US government websites has told me that if it is your first time, you actually need to apply in person.

    http://travel.state.gov/passport/get/first/first_830.html This site describe the process of applying for your first passport.
    "When applying for a U.S. passport in person, evidence of U.S. citizenship must be submitted with Form DS-11. All documentation submitted as citizenship evidence will be returned to you. These documents will be delivered with your newly issued U.S. passport or in a separate mailing."
    "When applying for a U.S. passport in person, acceptable identification must be presented at the time of application."

    0 Votes
  • Tj
    tjtex Dec 10, 2011

    The people at the State Department are total fools. They have standards that they give to the District Clerk's office stating what is required to apply. When you have sent in your money - that you can't get back - they send you a letter telling you that your documentation is not good enough even though you appeared, in person, and the clerk checked all your documents against the requirements and found that everything was in order according to the instructions they received from the Department of State.
    It would appear that the Department of State has forgotten who they work for.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RavenWolff Jul 29, 2012

    I have been reading about this problem a lot since I got the same supplemental worksheet. the news articles I found said :
    » All use of the current Supplemental Worksheet is in violation of the Paperwork Reduction Act.
    » Anyone who is given, or who has been given, the Supplemental Worksheet (or any other form without an OMB control number) has an absolute right to decline to provide any answers. They could also report the officer who gives them to form to the State Department Office of the Inspector General for violation of the Paperwork Reduction Act.
    » Absolutely no penalty (including denial of a passport, denial of permission to travel, or interference with the right to travel) can legally be imposed on anyone for declining to provide any information requested on the Supplemental Worksheet.
    http://papersplease.org/wp/2011/04/27/state-dept-already-using-illegal-passport-questionnaire/

    0 Votes

US Passport office sucks, but we solved the problem!

Our applications for renewal were sent in early March. My son's and mine got here, but my daughter's was denied because of a small headband in the photo - almost 2 months after sending it in. We called the number several times over a period of 3 weeks and got totally stonewalled. No answers, no phone number to find out, can't talk to anyone else, oh well sucks to be you attitude.<br />
<br />
After looking into canceling the trip (not an option - internet deal), it was suggested that we call our US Representative's office. Great idea!!! My wife called Richard Neal's office (he's not even the right one, LOL) and they were super-helpful. I called John Olver's office, same thing. Somehow they had the number to call, and called for us. Both offices called us back to say the passport would be expedited at no extra charge. That night we got a call from the US Passport office in So. Carolina to make sure they had the right address and to promise us prompt delivery. 2 days later we have a passport! <br />
<br />
Moral of the story is your passport customer service people couldn't care less whether or not you have to throw away a few thousand and cancel an important trip. But your US Representative can help, and will. Thank you, Richard Neal and John Over's offices. Pleasant people, and we got results.

  • Jc
    JcGreen Jul 12, 2011

    The passport process is totally broken. The website info is out of date. The customer service is pathetic. It's a completely dysfunctional system/organization. It's actually shocking how bad the service reps are - and that there is seemingly no incentive for them to actually HELP anyone. The entire process has left me speechless, and to date, without a passport.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jerrid_120 Mar 26, 2012

    I agree with you completely the Passport Agency SUCKS.

    I applied for my application Early February (Feb. 6th) And they didn't even get started on it till the 13th. Then about a week later they said my Photo ID was invalid. So I sent the letter back with a better photo. Then about March 15th they now say my personal documents are not qualified. I heard by the website you need just your Birth Certificate and Photo Identification in order to receive a passport. Also bear in mind my travel date is the 31st of March. It's the last week and they said you can send it on a different service for about 60.00, however you cant upgrade a card if it's already in the system. They didnt state that on the website so that site is completely useless, and the email notification is even worse. I constantly get bombarded with useless and pointless emails statements on the government issues and their "Oh we are sorry it's not finished yet, we are working our best to get it to you in time." BLECH. Now I have to travel all the way to Chicago and grab my card in hand. I have thrown in about 300 dollars into the government from all their failures and over looks. 50 for the Card, 12.95 x2 for the Overnight shipping, 60 for the upgrade, and 45 for the different session so I get it in time when I go up. I swear I'm going to get back at the government for screwing me so hard and dragging me around.

    0 Votes

I'm fed up!

It has been over 3 months and no passport. Why? because someone screwed up my date of birth. No one called to verify, or let me know my passport was no longer being processed. When I called, I was told it was on the way. Uninformed, understaffed and a bunch of red tape and busy signals.

I'm fed up!

Expedited passport delay!

I request a passport for my baby on April 18/2007 and they told me, i was going to received the passport on 05/29/2007, my trip was on 06/04/2007, and i didn't get the passport until a week later of my trip. Besides that in order for my to change the date of my trip i have to pay $500.00 and is not fair because it was not my fault, i paid the extra money to get it sooner and anyway it didn't happen.

  • Fr
    Fran Raff Jun 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I applied for a expedited passport a couple of months back. Still no passport. Is this another way that the government is trying to annoy us. I know that they had an idea of the number of travelers that leave the country, yet they didn't have the workforce in place to start issuing passports. Such an inefficient process.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slore Jun 24, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just wanted to share some tips on getting though to the passport office that I learned from others on this complaint board and my own experience. We just got my daughter's passport after filing in March for our June trip to Europe. We got it in time for the trip because I did several things: (1) called the passport office daily and ( 2) got my congressional representative involved. My senators were no help-- they had lots of other people to deal with first who were leaving sooner than us. My congressman's office called me every other day with an update. End result: call your senators and congressman for help and go with whichever one will help you the most.

    In calling the passport office, I found getting through in th afternoon ( like 5:30 EST) best. In the morning, most of the time the system was down. You do need to give them a date that is earlier than your actual departure date in order to get any action and to get it in time for your trip. The date you give them has to be within 14 days of when you call. Dial the 1-877 number, when it starts with the tape, push 1, wait for the start of the next general message & push 3. If you get the "due to the high volume" tape, push 3 before it ends. You will get a message saying it did not understand the command-- push 3 again. This will usually but you into the line for calls on hold. You may get a message that then cuts you off-- if this happens, hang up and go thru this process again until you are just on hold ( sometimes there is blank air when you are on hold, sometimes there is music, sometimes there are other little messages). By doing this, I was able to get through in a half hour at the longest. One time I even got the person who handles inquiries from members of Congress.

    Once you get thru and talk to someone, you cannot be assured that the passport has been sent unless they give you a fed ex or other tracking number. Ask for one!! They are sending all passports now by fed ex or express mail at no cost because of this mess. with the fed ex number, you can then track it yourself. Ours came two days after I got the fed ex number.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Carolina Cuellar Alejo Jul 15, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had to change my flight and all my family (4 of us) because my babies passport is still in process... it was supposed to take 2-3 weeks and it's been 4 weeks and still no passport.. I've called about 7 times and all i heard is call tomorrow to check the status, there is nothing we can do. We do not know ho to help... blah blah blah.. i had to cancel and gonna have to pay to change ALL our tickets. Plus we are not gonna be able to assist to a very important family member wedding and everyone had schedule vacation during our stay to see our babies and visit us. We still don't know an estimated date for my baby's passport to arrive, from ALL the millions of passports they've done they can't tell in average how long would it take for and expedite passport to arrive. Every one in the customer service passport agency had a different story. Two days before our trip Heather said the passport was almost done and they were gonna ship it next day. I called next day and Natasha told me that the passport was still in process and should be done that day, next day... nothing i had to cancel... Why they said it would take 2-3 weeks and THEY ARE STILL saying it's taking 2-3 weeks... If i knew it would take longer i just would schedule my flight later and could save all this stress and headaches, the money, and about 6-8 hrs of trying to reach the appointment line, and the agent to talk to..

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Carolina Cuellar Alejo Jul 15, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found this tips on the delay on US passports complaint.. check it out (I'm gonna try them on Monday):

    Just started calling today 14 days before a month long trip to Europe. I have included all tips so that it may help others.

    National Passport Center 1-877-487-2778

    Passport status requests 1-606-526-7600

    Washington passport desk at 202-647-7948.

    US Consular Task Force (WATCH DOG) 202-647-7948

    US Department of State phone directory unclassified
    http://www.state.gov/documents/organization/82073.pdf

    The following is a list of the abbreviations you will see next to the employees name in the directory. Assuming you know where it’s being processed look for the following. Once you have found someone make sure you have your passport locater number, name, DOB, SS# ready.

    CA/PPT…………………………………………………….Office of Passport Services
    CA/PPT/BN…………………………………………………..Boston Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/CG………………………….……………………..Chicago Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/HH……………………..…………………………Honolulu Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/HN……………………………….………………..Houston Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/LA………………………………………….…Los Angeles Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/MM…………………………………………….……..Miami Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/No…………………………………...……….New Orleans Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/NPC……..……………………National Passport Center, Portsmouth, NH
    CA/PPT/NY……….……………………….………………New York Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/PA…………………….………………………Philadelphia Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/SE……….………………….……………………….Seattle Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/SF……………………..……………………San Francisco Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/SIA…………………………………………….……Special Issuance Agency
    CA/PPT/SM……………………….……………………….Stamford Passport Agency
    CA/PPT/WN……...…………………………………….Washington Passport Agency

    EMAIL THE FOLLOWING AND ASK FOR A CONGRESSIONAL REFERRAL AND GO TO A PASSPORT CENTER IF YOUR GETTING TO CLOSE AND DON'T THINK YOUR GOING TO GET IT ALTHOUGH THE TASK FORCE IS VERY EFFECTIVE.

    Email your congressman at http://www.house.gov/

    Email your Senator http://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm

    Just for fun call
    Maura Harty. Her line is 202-647-9576.

    Update: 25th of June.
    Update: Just read this last night on the state travel site:

    We have finished processing your passport, and it has been mailed to you.

    You requested delivery by regular mail. Passport Agencies use Priority Mail. This means you should receive your passport on or about 06/30/2007.

    That would be 4 days before my trip... We will see..

    Update: June 26th
    Final update!!!

    Just called the talk force and they gave me a fed ex tracking number that says the following:

    Jun 26, 2007 8:10 am
    On FedEx vehicle for delivery

    AND RECEIVED!!!
    How happy am i!!! Wooohooo

    I have renewed faith in our system!!! With deepest sorrows for all of you who haven't received your passports in time for your trip. And to those who are panicking use the task force at 202-647-7948. Ask for Jamie or Dave they are great!!! Thank you all.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria Racelis Sep 11, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I, together with my children, became citizens of United States by virtue of Naturalization last year. All five members of my family here missed travel to the Philippines to attend my Mother’s 75th birthday. We planned this celebration 5 months before her birthday. My frustration started when we applied for US Passports. It was April 29, 2007, when we went to the Post Office to get started. We paid expedited fee to get the passports within 2 to 3 weeks, that was according to the Department of State’s website and authorized Passport Agencies.

    If that was true, then we could have gotten our passports one month prior to our travel date of June 29, 2007. My husband and stepson got their passport within 14 days of application.

    As a requirement, I submitted the certified copy of my son’s birth certificate, which was the copy I submitted to INS 10 years ago. Two weeks after the application, someone from Norwalk Connecticut Passport Agency, Patricia, called me questioning the birth certificate I submitted. She also requested for new photos, which were mailed via over-night service the next day. Receipt of which was confirmed by her through a courtesy call.

    Going back to the birth certificate, she concluded that it was a photocopy even though the National Statistics Office in the Philippines stamped it. I told her that my daughter, who is now twenty years old and also applying for Passport possesses a certified copy of birth certificate, which was stamped just like my son’s birth certificate. She instructed me to mail it and then she would let this case go.
    That was probably May 14, 2007.

    Since our expedited application took more than five weeks, I checked the application online.
    Online status showed, “Your application is now under processed. You requested for routine application.” Therefore, my application went from expedited to routine. That was the first error there.

    I was nerve-wracked. I needed to speak to someone at the Call Center immediately

    However, if you would like to speak to a Call Center Customer Representative, the requirement is that you should be leaving within 14 days. If you need to make an automated appointment to Norwalk Passport Agency, your travel date should be within 14 days.

    I waited and call on the day when it was exactly 14 days prior to my travel date.
    When I made the automated appointment, the only day and time available was 3 days before my travel date. I was getting nervous already. I made the appointment to see someone at the Norwalk Passport Agency and started calling the Call Centers from June 15, 2007.

    Every day, for two weeks, I called and spoke to different Customer Service Reps.
    What were amazing were the different versions of the status of my application. I must have called 17 times during that 14- day window before you can speak to a Rep requirement. I was so delighted when in one of my several persistent calls, I spoke to a gentleman and told me our passports are ready to be mailed out. His exact words were, “I had goose bumps looking at the status.” I did not quite get what he meant by that. He added that I should call after two days to check again. After two days, 10 days before our departure, I called again with excitement to check. To my dismay, the lady on the other line told me that our passports were still under processed and that we were missing photos.

    I told her about what the man told me two days ago and that the matter about the photos has long been resolved. She advised me to make an appointment with the Norwalk Passport Agency, which I already did. Before hanging up, adding to my already frustrated spirit, she told me that generally, it takes 10 to 12 weeks to get the passports. My argument that I paid for expedited service really did not matter anymore.

    In June 25, 2007, a woman from Norwalk Passport Agency called me in the morning. She advised me to go the East Hampton Probate court, which is the nearest authorized Passport Agency, or to a Post Office to apply. She said, “Just tell whoever is going to take the application that you are bringing the form personally after filling out to Norwalk.”

    Suddenly, I began to ask if these people at the Agency knew what they were talking about.
    Did this woman check their system first before calling me? Did she know that we already applied five weeks ago and paid for expedited service?

    June 26, 2007, my twenty-year old daughter took a day off from her work to join us for that hard-to-get appointment schedule with Norwalk Passport Agency. It was the much awaited and anticipated date. The last iota of hope for my son, my daughter and myself.

    We arrived at Norwalk at 1:30PM. Our appointment was at 2PM.
    The Agency watch person stopped us at the door but we were ushered in quickly after knowing that we have a 2PM appointment. I filled out a piece of paper with the information requested. It also required proof if you paid for expedited service. I was happy that I printed the canceled checks from the bank.

    At 2:20, I asked the man in uniform watching over the people packed in approximately 30x30 square feet room if passports will be issued on the same day. According to him, passport pick-up time is 3PM. Worriedly, I told him that we have been waiting for almost an hour. I saw people who came after us were called in first. He assured us that our names would be called soon. He asked for my last name and headed towards the window in front of us. The woman at the window told him that someone was working on it.

    Fifteen more minutes lapsed, 25 minutes before pick up time, I was relieved when a woman approached an empty window and called our last name. The smile on my face suddenly vanished when she could not do anything at that time. She emphasized that she has been e-mailing Manila for two months now. I did not know whom she was e-mailing. In her own words, “You know how Manila is.” The buck was passed on to Manila, whichever office she was dealing with

    Before we left, my husband asked her if our application was processed through expedited service because we were just wondering why the Call Center and online status check website showed that our application went through routine service. She pointed at the paper she was holding. “It showed here you paid for expedited service,” she replied. Was this a case of error, omission or lie?

    Combining ignorance with incompetence, she advised us to go to INS to get our Green Passports stamped. “You can still travel with that,” she added. Her name was Miss Figueroa.

    Out of desperation, my daughter and I went the next day, June 27, 2007, to INS in Hartford, Connecticut. I requested the INS Officer to stamp my Green Passport. With a seemingly surprised look, she asked for our permanent resident cards. I told her that they were taken away when we were sworn in as Citizens of the US. She could not believe what she heard because we did not have business there anymore. We need Blue or US passports to travel. We should have known that. We tried out of desperation and frustration.

    We left the INS building. My daughter and I were walking as if the whole world was on our shoulder. Our feet were heavy as we dragged them towards the parking area.

    I called my husband and told him what happened. As soon as I got home, I went online and checked on the Philippines’ National Statistics Office website.

    My thought was perhaps it would help if I could send the NSO direct contact information to the Passport Agency Call Center.

    That was if Norwalk Passport Agency was trying to prove the veracity of the birth certificates. So I called the Call Center again on that same day and gave the person I talked to the link to the website where they can e-mail the person from NSO to verify the information.

    My husband and I also sought the help of the offices of Senator Christopher Dodd and State Representative Joe Courtney.

    A woman named Anita from Joe Courtney’s office tried hard to contact Norwalk and speed up the processing of our passports. Nevertheless, to no avail.
    Two days are what we have.

    Curiosity pushed me to chat again with the Call Center. I already memorized the numbers to press to bypass the recording. Press#1 for English; followed by #1 again if you are traveling within 14 days; then press# 0 for operator. Then, I was transferred to a live person. I told her about the whole story from the very beginning. She told me that I should have pressed #3 instead of #1 when prompted. I argued that I have been pressing the same series of numbers every time I called Call Center.

    Anyway, she still transferred me to another Customer Service Rep. The man on the other line explained to me that the change in the telephone system was made because of the misinformation that other Reps were giving out to the public. In short, if you have applied and it was taking more than the promised date, then you are required to press #3 to get to a more competent person. Well, he talked as if he was more competent than the others were. At least, there was understanding and compassion to his tone. I was not sure if he helped at all. But I was happy by the way he handled my frustration. A woman I spoke with earlier that day even blamed for not marking my application form as expedited, which was the job of whoever was taking the applications at the Post Office.

    Our travel date came. There was no sign of passports at the mailbox. We missed our trip. We have to pay cancellation of $287 per ticket. Multiply that by five. We lost almost $1500 of hard-earned money.

    If you missed your trip, as in our case, and still would like to contact the Call Center to follow-up, the Rep will ask you what your travel date is.

    I called the Center again in July. Because our travel date already elapsed, I could not give the Rep a travel date, which was the first question a Rep would ask. However, I made sure that I emphasized to her that we already missed the trip and that we were still waiting for the passports so we can book a flight soon. The Rep quizzically asked,” So you don’t have any travel date yet?”

    Did these Customer Service Reps receive their degrees in the “Art of Aggravating People?
    Did they think that people would book flights again after missing their trips without the Passports? Did the travel date really matter? Not at all.

    And by the way, Call Center should change the message recording immediately.
    It should eliminate the recording where it says, “If you are not traveling within 14 days, don’t worry. We hired staff to make sure you don’t miss your trip.”

    It should say, “If you have not received your passports yet and it was taking longer than the expected, you really have to worry.” Because you may get not it on time.

    It should also eliminate the promise of delivery within 2 to 3 weeks for expedited service and 10 to 12 weeks for routine service.

    My son can travel with his Green Passport. My daughter and I could have traveled with Green Passports if we did not become Citizens of United States last year.

    I was holding and looking at my Philippine passport as I was writing this. After all this mess, who would argue with me if I say, “Green is better than Blue.”

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Meredith Jan 08, 2009

    Hi All –

    I work with a law firm that filed a class action lawsuit against the U.S. State Department for the passport problems in 2007.

    The suit represents everyone who submitted the $60 expedite fee for a rush passport and didn’t receive their passport within 21 days or a refund. Anyone who’s experienced problems since 2001 can join. It’s worth checking out.

    You can learn more about the case at the firm’s Web site – www.hbsslaw.com/passport.

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    Lodalina L Issa Jun 12, 2013

    It seems that they will just take the money and forget the passport, I paid for expedited because the woman in costumer service said i could get right away just pay 60 + overnight fees they will overnight it for me. I did it paid them and waited, i was told it is in process, but how long, and now, probably, I will lost the round ticket for my daughter, My flight is 3 day from now and the passport according to them is still in process, I will probably leave without her because INS did not issue the expedited order that according to them is 24 hours service.

    0 Votes

Depressed and frustrated

We applied for passports for my husband's kids so they could visit us on their summer vacation. With this delay, he will not be able to see them till next summer. After preparing for them for several months - we are very depressed and frustrated that we may not get to see them because of this f'd up passport situation.

  • Gi
    Gina Aug 22, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got back from my second trip to the local US passport office (and finally have my passport in hand) and I am going to write what did and did not work for me so that others may benefit. Waiting up until 2 days until departure was stressful for me and my family .My desire is to help others avoid what I went through.I want to say one thing about this experience. It taught me that playing by the rules and following directions and doing what you are told to do (by representatives of our government in this case) may be the worse thing you can do. As you will read below, I did everything I was supposed to do. I did everything the State Department web site and the customer service representatives told me to do and in the end, when I arrived at the passport office I found out it had gotten me no closer to actually getting my passport than if I had done nothing at all. Keep my story in mind as YOU are told what to do and remember that rules are meant to be broken.

    #1: Do not necessarily rely on information given to you by anyone-in my case I made 3 trips to local post offices for answers on what to include and none of the advice I received turned out to be correct. US passport Customer service reps may also be unreliable. I was told by one that the system was down and would not be working for 4 days.

    #2: Immediately begin checking via email for yout "status" and print out confirmation when it finally comes up. Add your email address for contact purposes when you do the status check and keep track of all emails : both emails sent to you and by you.

    #3:Do not wait until you are within 14 days from departure to make your automated appointment with the passport office. If you wait until that point you may find, as I did, that no appointments are available until well after your departure date. I did wait and the only appointment I was able to make was 4 days after my departure. So, go online and get that phone # and call at least 3 weeks prior so you can get a date several days prior to departure.(You may need to go back so give yourself wiggle room-it looks like it takes one visit to get passport applications to the surface so they can be finalized and a second visit to actually pick the finished document up)

    Also-and this may not be true : a customer service rep. told me the appointment system is updated between 4a.m & 6a.m. each day. If you are unable to get an appointment in time it may help to call back early the next day. The reason I suspect this advice maybe untrue is I tried it and never found an earlier appointment.

    #4: Writing local elected officials: I wrote local politicians for help. I began with emails as that seemed quickest and I was desperate. I was told you have to call or show up in person. It seems that emails get lost so talking directly to someone is best.It turns out that this effort ended up not helping me and it is not to be relied upon. Try your local council person, senator and so on-it maybe good to do simply so that elected officials know that scope of the problem and so that you can feel as if you have done everything you could to advocate for yourself. I personally think the high demand problem is going to go on for several months beyond the expected date and folks need to get the word out.But-I can not stress enough that you should NOT rely on them for help. You may find yourself without your passport if you do.

    #5: WILLCALL: I have no idea what this magic word means but: after I had done everything the passport web sight requires-I called for my status, I emailed for it, and finally, at 72 hrs. to departure, we called and were told there was nothing we could do ... we asked to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor put us on the "WILLCALL" list and made an appointment for us that day. This is what worked for us. I hope it helps others.

    #6: we did not rely on the US mail system.If you need your passport within the next 72 hrs. and can pick up your passport in person I would suggest you go. There is just too much that can happen -and the truth is there is no way you can accurately track things or control things once your passport enters the US postal system.

    #7:As the new restrictions currently in place to help ease passport demand for those traveling to Mexico, Canada,Bermuda & the Caribbean require a drivers license and printed proof of one's passport application-I am more than a bit surprised that this has not resulted in lawsuits. Anyone who is disabled and therefore unable to drive and get a license is, in effect, discriminated against by this new requirement. As all other photo I.D. (learners pernit, non-drivers I.D. and so on)is state issued and therefore not valid-only people with drivers licenses are able to travel to Mexico , Caribbean, Bermuda and Canada if they have applied for but not yet gotten their passport. That leaves a huge segment of Americans unable to travel... I speak as someone who works with people with disabilities and who believes each of us should have the same rights and opportunities as Americans.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarri Jul 02, 2009

    this is the goverment working for you, they dont give a fyilng f...k, I am renewing my passport, present my birth certificated, my social security card and the aplication. Guess what this guys send me a an additional application to fill up asking for my last jobs (20 years), my family personal info, the phone mumbers of my 25 year employers etc. and also en explanation of how I got my social security card can you beleived this, So welcome to the land of the free,

    0 Votes

Passport delay!

I send my passport for renewal over 10 weeks ago and I was told that there was plenty of time for my scheduled travel abroad. I am supposed to leave today and still no passport. I made countless phone calls and countless e-mail, but no answer. Where are the congressmen to ask some question from the authorities. There has to be some accountability. Why people who answer the phone can not help? The rep on the phone just tells that she/he will send an e-mail to the passport processing office. I was told today that passport processing office does not answer e-mail of rep either.

I think the site to track passport and send e-mail is an insult to us since no one responds to the e-mails. The phone calls are worse since they can not help either.

I wish news media would take this news and embarrass the Visa office and the people who run it. Instead of Paris Hilton, they can report on real news. Who cares what Paris ate in jail.

In a meanwhile the airlines are winning since we have paid for tickets that can not be used and are non-refundable. This is an insult. Where are the elected people? Of course, taking vacation...

  • Di
    divya gandhe Aug 25, 2011

    Sir,
    I have applied for my new baby passport on May 4th and Police verification completed in july, so far i didnot receive my passport.I have been emailing passport office but no response and their telephone lines always busy and if it rings they will not pick.Is there any way so that my issue can be solved and i am in need of passport right now please make it as soon as possible.

    Appreciate ur support

    File no -HYD w604327
    DOB-05/10/1990

    Thanks and Regards
    G.Sri divya
    Mobile - 09032193598
    Email - [email protected]

    0 Votes

Passport not sent on time

I applied for a passport for my 15 year old daughter on March 08 to have it by May 24, 2007. My daughter did not travel to Europe as planned because her passport did not arrived on time. They had all the information, day of travel, birth certificate and her old passport but they spelled her last name incorrectly, they noticed this 2 days prior the day of travel. Passport arrived 4 days later. I loose the money and she loose the experience of traveling to Spain and France with us and her grandparents. I need information to pursue a legal action.

International Flights charges a penalty fee $200.00 plus the difference in air fee. Air flights don't care that you had problems with the passport department and you did not get your passport on time.

Poor service!

I am a student, studying aboard, applied for a passport in Feb to have it by June and still haven't gotten mine. I took out a loan of 6,000 to pay for my trip and refund date was in March. Now I am going to be in debt for a trip I was never able to go on all because of the service at the US Department of State. They are absolutely ridiculous. I applied in Feb to get my passport within 10 weeks. Why should I loose 6,000 dollars, 6 school credits, and an experience of a lifetime all because the passport agency cannot get their ### together? I am looking to take legal action.

  • Br
    Brittany Jul 18, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is not Department of States problem you people purchase your tickets and then decide to apply for a passport. It makes more sense to perhaps have your passport and then buy your ticket? That may be the smart approach. DOS is not sitting around twiddling their thumbs waiting for you to apply for your damn passport nor do they care when you are traveling when you and every other stupid damn citizen in this country think the world revolves around you. It is not a product that you can go purchase at a mall... it is a government travel document that the government has the right to not issue and even revoke. It is a travel privilege. Its amazing how you all will dish out $6,000 on a trip not knowing if you will even get your $97 passport in time or not.

    -2 Votes
  • Ze
    zeshaz Jul 19, 2007

    Totally agree that tickets should not be bought before getting the passport. However, if you do not have the tickets to show that you are going to travel within 14 days, they are not gonna process your application and they would not even want to talk to you. So, better off not traveling outside the US and not knowing what's going on in the other part of the world. This is a great attitude towards the American dream...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miserable Jul 26, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife and son applied for passports more than 4 months before our trip to Rome. They're supposed to leave this week but have been told that the passports will likely not arrive in time, even though they've been classified as "urgent status." And the Manhattan office isn't taking appointments to expedite. A trip we've been planning for 9 months might not happen, and we'll be out over $2,500 in plane tickets. As if one needed another reason to be disgusted with the US government.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Henry Johnson Jul 27, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been waiting for the passport for my daughter (16 months old now). And, it's been 4 months since the application. Even if she gets the passport now, the length of time waiting for her passport would be about one fourth of the time she has lived in this world. Gee, I could really see how important this document is!
    When we applied, we were told we have plenty of time. And, now, we already postponed our trip to China once. Looks like we need to postpone again.

    I tried to be as neutral as possible when looking at this mess. But, I was disappointed again and again. I feel totally helpless. And, I really do not know how to reconcile this with the reputation of America being a place of efficiency.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melford webster Feb 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    been waiting for my passport over 2 years

    0 Votes
  • El
    elnoraJackson Dec 31, 2015

    The passport office in my city is appointment only. I've been trying to get a appointment for two weeks. Someone from the passort office keeps leaving me a message saying if I still need a appointment for my son to call them back. I can't get anyone on the phone with the scheduling office. This ridiculous!

    0 Votes

Passport delay

Applied in March for a passport for a June travel.

Countless phone calls and e-mails. And still the passport arrived 24 hours to late for our trip. Money lost, people disappointed. I know I'm not the only person in this situation but what a loss for my family on a one in a life time trip!

  • Na
    nancy konnerth Aug 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We filed our children passport application on May 3rd for an August 2nd trip to Europe. At that time we were told 8-10 weeks. Based on this information we did not file for expedited service as we were well within the stated time frame. As the trip approached we followed the directions on the website an tracked the progress, which stated "In Progress". Two weeks to departure (on an Monday) we called and after 4 hours trying to get through we were told that they had actually only begun to process the children applications on Saturday. We were told when asked that we best cancel our plans... which we did and lost about 700.00. Today, August 19th, I receive an email stating that we should receive them on August 22nd... 20 days after our scheduled departure. Nice Vacation!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gina Aug 22, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got back from my second trip to the local US passport office (and finally have my passport in hand) and I am going to write what did and did not work for me so that others may benefit. Waiting up until 2 days until departure was stressful for me and my family .My desire is to help others avoid what I went through.I want to say one thing about this experience. It taught me that playing by the rules and following directions and doing what you are told to do (by representatives of our government in this case) may be the worse thing you can do. As you will read below, I did everything I was supposed to do. I did everything the State Department web site and the customer service representatives told me to do and in the end, when I arrived at the passport office I found out it had gotten me no closer to actually getting my passport than if I had done nothing at all. Keep my story in mind as YOU are told what to do and remember that rules are meant to be broken.

    #1: Do not necessarily rely on information given to you by anyone-in my case I made 3 trips to local post offices for answers on what to include and none of the advice I received turned out to be correct. A US passport customer service reps told me that my passport status could not be check as the system was down and would not be up and working for 4 days. I have no way of knowing if this was true but it sounds impossible unless things really are worse than we think.

    #2: Immediately begin checking via email for your "status" and print out confirmation when it finally comes up. Add your email address for contact purposes when you do the status check and keep track of all emails : both emails sent to you and by you.

    #3:Do not wait until you are within 14 days from departure to make your automated appointment with the passport office. If you wait until that point you may find, as I did, that no appointments are available until well after your departure date. I did wait and the only appointment I was able to make was 4 days after my departure. So, go online and get that phone # and call at least 3 weeks prior so you can get a date several days prior to departure.(You may need to go back so give yourself wiggle room-it looks like it takes one visit to get passport applications to the surface so they can be finalized and a second visit to actually pick the finished document up)

    Also-and this may not be true : a customer service rep. told me the appointment system is updated between 4a.m & 6a.m. each day. If you are unable to get an appointment in time it may help to call back early the next day. The reason I suspect this advice maybe untrue is I tried it and never found an earlier appointment.

    #4: Writing local elected officials: I wrote local politicians for help. I began with emails as that seemed quickest and I was desperate. I was told you have to call or show up in person. It seems that emails get lost so talking directly to someone is best.It turns out that this effort ended up not helping me and it is not to be relied upon. Try your local council person, senator and so on-it maybe good to do simply so that elected officials know that scope of the problem and so that you can feel as if you have done everything you could to advocate for yourself. I personally think the high demand problem is going to go on for several months beyond the expected date and folks need to get the word out.But-I can not stress enough that you should NOT rely on them for help. You may find yourself without your passport if you do.

    #5: WILLCALL: I have no idea what this magic word means but: after I had done everything the passport web sight requires-I called for my status, I emailed for it, and finally, at 72 hrs. to departure, we called and were told there was nothing we could do... we asked to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor put us on the "WILLCALL" list and made an appointment for us that day. This is what worked for us. I hope it helps others.

    #6: we did not rely on the US mail system.If you need your passport within the next 72 hrs. and can pick up your passport in person I would suggest you go. There is just too much that can happen -and the truth is there is no way you can accurately track things or control things once your passport enters the US postal system.

    #7:As the new restrictions currently in place to help ease passport demand for those traveling to Mexico, Canada,Bermuda & the Caribbean require a drivers license and printed proof of one's passport application-I am more than a bit surprised that this has not resulted in lawsuits. Anyone who is disabled and therefore unable to drive and get a license is, in effect, discriminated against by this new requirement. As all other photo I.D. (learners permit, non-drivers I.D. and so on)is state issued and therefore not valid-only people with drivers licenses are able to travel to Mexico , Caribbean, Bermuda and Canada if they have applied for but not yet gotten their passport. That leaves a huge segment of Americans unable to travel... I speak as someone who works with people with disabilities and who believes each of us should have the same rights and opportunities as Americans.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    usacitzenwithnopasport Jun 19, 2015

    So this problem hasn't only been happening to me, well I would hate to repeat just about the same scenario over again, but I had the same situation but in my case they also did it to my partner and myself and we have different addresses and last name .

    0 Votes

Maura Harty can't run Passport Office

My fiancé Katherine has been waiting for her passport for over 10 weeks. We are supposed to leave for our honeymoon on June 18, but it doesn't look like we will be able to go because of the passport chaos. She has tried to call the number posted on the State Dept. passport website, but it just says that the call volume is so high that she can't be helped, then it hangs up. She then went down to the passport office in Washington D.C. and it was utter chaos. She waited in line for over 5 hours. Some people where there from the day before. When she finally was helped she met with someone who said that her passport is in New Hampshire, but she can only E-mail the facility to ask them to send it. There was no phone call to the facility, no contact phone number or E-mail for Katherine, no type of accountability for getting the passport in time. We are hopeless at this point.

Katherine is going to go to the Passport office again. There are lines out of the door. Somebody needs to be held accountable and I think it should be Maura Harty, Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Consular Affairs. She is in charge of this and it has become a large mess. Any help or attention to this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Delay of US passport

Can we take legal actions against the us department of transportation? Applied for passport in march, paid...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem