Triton GlobalUnauthorized collect charges

V
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Back in june i had some mysterious collect call charges on my bell bill. There was only 1 but they cost $10 / min (From within canada) and the total was $12. 95. I called bell and they removed it.

Later the company sent me a bill directly, already marked as 'this account is overdue", for the same $12. 95. They also said that it would be wise if i paid or they would screw with my credit rating. They were nice enough to include a stamped envelope for my payment.

Called triton global services on july 13 to investigate why i was sent a collections invoice by triton global directly.
[protected] spoke with a jim liang who checked into the invoice # on the bill. Asked why i was being charged for a collect call when the call was a local number made from a pay phone. The person rerouted the call from toronto via calgary telco and back to toronto.

I find it very strange that i also received 2 additional calls on july 13 at 7:41pm and 7:43pm from a representative from triton global service asking about a product i purchased from the brick in 2008. Did a *69 twice on the last calls in
Number [protected].
The scam is not to accept the call as your fridge, stove or dishwasher has been recalled can we have the make and model with s / n as the product is defective and may cause fire not to use until repaired.

Unauthorized collect charges

Responses

  • Pr
    Pree T May 12, 2015

    I saw two charges on my phone bill that I never authorized and I called spoke to someone named Danielle who later hung up on me and I told her I didn't approve those charges she said that I confirmed yes or allowed in a text message to verify the purchase.. guess what I don't have a text message at all I then requested proof from their end that I replied allowed for the purchase because I cannot find the purchase nor can I locate a copy of the transaction through my apple store. If anyone is willing to file a suit against this company I am down!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jodie77 Nov 24, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This month I saw a long distance charge on my bill totalling $43.92 for a 2 minute collect call. Looking at the date that the call was made, I called Bell aliant to dispute this charge, as no one was home. I can even prove nobod was home through pay stubs and witnesses. They told me that somebody had to be home to press a button to accept the collect call so I have to pay it. I told them I'm not paying it and was going to take this further. Still they won't take it off. The number is [protected], from Montreal QC and it was charged to my Bell Aliant bill using TRITONGLBL. I have no idea what I am going to do as I can't afford to pay that much. This is just a stress nobody needs so close to the holidays. Arggg its so frustrating how this company is making money off innocent people!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    PerkySet Jun 15, 2014

    Can we not sue these guys? If I found a lawyer would anyone be interested in taking this further? They are an American Company can we not sue them for an damages, time spent dealing with this, bad credit issues or being bullied by bogus collection agencies? This shouldn't be able to happen over an over again without some repercussions. I will look into what our rights are to put forth a civil class action suit against these scam artists. If even just to bring them down. I just wasted my Sunday afternoon trying to figure out what all this bs was and my time is money. I want that time back.


    Please respond if you are interested in pursuing this further or email me at [email protected] If anyone else has already looked into this or if something is already in the works please let me know as I will happily do whatever it takes to put a stop this.


    Cheers,


    Renee

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daryl Tremblay Jul 04, 2013

    My name is Daryl Tremblay and I just received my phone bill from Telus today and saw that I have a charge of $49.88 for 2 minutes to Triton Global made on May 17th at 7:32 PM. I called Telus and was told that they are in no way connected to these people and to not answer the phone if this number appears on my call display. This is fine providing that I or my wife are home, but what if my answering machine takes the call? Telus has agreed to credit this to my next phone bill but I am stuck paying this charge this month. When I mentioned contacting the RCMP if I see this number again, I was basically told not to bother as they are a legitimate company. I wonder what the next entity will be with their hands in my pockets!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah Rozell Apr 20, 2013

    I received 2 unauthorized charges on my phone bill, I called shaw and they said it wasn't their problem, this Triton global needs to be shut down before they scam too many people .

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edgardo Gonzalez Apr 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Be careful with an app on android called Droid Defender, your battery runs out, this app appears asking you to assist you for battery drain, making you think is the samsung galaxy S3 included Battery app. You follow the instructions, next thing you know you receive a text message saying thanks for buying the app for 30 dls!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CRCT Advice Feb 21, 2013

    If you get strange phone charges on your bill from [protected] or other similar numbers. THIS IS A SCAM, FRAUD! Call your TSP (telecommunications services provider), eg. Bell Canada, Primus, Rogers and start a ticket = dispute for the charges. Tell your TSP that this is Triton Global fraud, you never accepted any collect calls. (They know all about it because there are many victims and big investigation going) http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-514-664-8629/2#p506726115635427024

    If you are in Canada:
    Register a complaint with CCTS (Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services)
    https://www.ccts-cprst.ca/en/complaints/complaint-form

    Register on the do not call list of CRTC (Canadian Radio and Telecommunications Commission)
    https://www.lnnte-dncl.gc.ca/insnum-regnum-eng

    Call the scammers TRITON GLOBAL toll free at [protected] You have to leave a message because no one answers the phone. Say that you registered a complaint with the CCTS and are on the CRTC (do not call list (register if you are not already) you did not accept any collect calls, and I demand that you reverse the charges from my phone number xxx xxx-xxxx,

    Apparently, Triton Global counts on people not noticing the charges and just paying the bill. 100, 000's of people getting caught in this scam not only in Canada, but also USA

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CRCT Advice Feb 21, 2013

    http://www.sse.gov.on.ca/mcs/en/Pages/Scams_Telephone.aspx
    Ontario Ministry of Consumer Affairs website:
    Phony telemarketers cheat Ontario consumers out of millions of dollars each year. While you may not be able to avoid all unsolicited calls, you can learn how to spot the ones that may be a fraud.

    1-900 Numbers
    Any time you call a 1-900 number, be aware that:

    •You are paying for the call — often at a minimum charge of about $35.
    •Area codes 1-900, 1-976 and 1-809 have a similar minimum charge.
    •The promoter gets a portion of the money from each incoming call.
    •Pay-per-charge numbers are used by legitimate businesses to charge their customers for information services; however, such businesses tell you about the fee upfront.
    •One scam artist often sells to another the names and telephone numbers of people who’ve lost money.
    •If you are concerned, you can order a call-blocking service from your telephone company that restricts your phone from making certain types of calls. Don’t confuse 1-900 numbers with toll-free numbers, which allow consumers to contact government and business offices without paying a long-distance charge. Toll-free numbers begin with area codes 1-800, 1-888 and 1-877.
    Two 1-900 Number Scenarios

    Scenario 1

    His pager alerted the man to call an odd-looking number beginning with 1-900. He called, then sat through a long information message about health. Before he spoke with a live person, the line was automatically disconnected. Shaking his head, he hung up.

    A few weeks later, he received a telephone bill for $35 with the 1-900 telephone number he had dialled earlier in the month beside the amount.

    Scenario 2

    The newspaper ad said to dial the 1-900 number splashed across the page in bright red print to win a trip to Mexico. "All you have to do is call!" It sounded simple enough.

    The consumer decided to take the plunge. After all, what did he have to lose?

    He dialed the number and waited patiently for the lengthy information message to end. But before he could speak with someone, the line was automatically disconnected. He hung up.

    One month later, the man’s telephone bill showed a $50 charge for the 1-900 call he had placed.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CRCT Advice Feb 21, 2013

    http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/info_sht/t1001.htm
    First-time waiver
    900 content providers and telephone companies providing 900/976 services must waive all reasonably disputed charges for first-time disputes with their customers. Companies must also tell these customers about the call blocking feature that prevents calls being made from their phone to 900/976 services.

    Blocking service
    Telephone companies providing 900/976 service must offer the call-blocking feature for free the first time it's requested. After that, the company can charge $10 for any further requests to add or remove the feature.

    Check with your telephone company for details about call blocking for 900/976 services.

    0 Votes
  • Km
    KM50 Aug 17, 2012

    I just received my phone bill today and have one of those Triton Global charges on it as mentioned here. I was pretty angry - this bogus charge doubled my phone bill. I immediately called Telus and thankfully the customer service agt was smart enough to Google Triton Global and discovered tons of complaints about this bogus charge and was willing to reverse the charge. Although, he did admit that normally they would not be willing to do this. I would like to suggest that phone customers read their bills carefully so they don't wind up paying for this scam. And to anyone caught up in this - suggest your phone company service rep Google this so they can reverse the charge for you. Hope this helps anyone with these bogus charges on their phone bills :o)

    1 Votes
  • Ya
    yasmiell rodriguez Jul 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was also charged almost 40 dollars for 2 phone calls from Triton Global and Bell says the system registered that and that I had to pay. I also blocked my collect calls. Any way the damage and the SCAM is done

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    JJPrit May 28, 2012

    $39.95 in collect call charges for April 20, 2012 at 6:27 am

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack Smity Mar 07, 2012

    They scammed me also but thankfully Bell Aliant reversed it and put a collect call block on my phone.
    Thank you Bell Aliant and a chorus of boos to Triton Global for running such a scam

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hassan Elamrani Oct 28, 2011

    I was billed 19.46 by bell for a collect charge I never accepted from triton global Toronto the # is [protected]..I sincerely hope bell should investigate

    -1 Votes
  • Sy
    sylvain richard Jul 03, 2009

    NEVER USE ONE OF THERE PHONE BOOTH you will be charge 4$ a minute

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.