Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
The College Network

The College Network review: scam 11

E
Author of the review
9:00 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I to was scammed into believing this was a legitimate college with good resources to help test out for LPN to RN courses.I have been a LPN since 1993 and wanted to continue my education to obtain my RN.After getting loan in 2010 to pay for modules and testing fees i received my first module book.After reading the entire book several times and taking practice test after each chapter.I just was not scoring high enough.I even tried taking practice final exam several times and still scored poorly.I knew then i was in trouble and lost out $ 11, 000 dollars on this bad deal.I am still paying every 2 weeks out of my checking $93.00 and some change.Know College network is sending me emails stating some courses are being upgraded and will have to be retaken if not completed in certain time.I have not reordered any more modules so my money is basically going to waste.I wish someone would look into this and file a class action suite.I could sure use this money to attend a legitimate college.This loan is holding me back from furthering my education.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More The College Network reviews & complaints

The College Network - fraud and cheating 59
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The College Network - scam, liars, fraud 40
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The College Network - Want a refund asap 48
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The College Network - scam 22
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The College Network - bad business contract 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
The College Network - fraud, liars
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
11 comments
Add a comment
K
K
KarD11
, US
Jan 19, 2010 12:53 pm EST

Keep it going people, complain! Until they hear us! The government is the only thing that can shut them down! Let them know that the web page exists.Also Lawsuits Against The College Network, tell them to read these websites.People can be heard if we stick together.This company is selling this nursing packet to our American soldiers, Fact.I want you to tell your Senators and your Governor, these men and women are fighting for your rights and while they are overseas, some are getting screwed over by "The College Network."Every penny should be reimbursed to all.

P
P
PissedoffPregnantBitch
Bryan, US
Oct 28, 2010 7:53 pm EDT

I enrolled with The College Network back in April 2010. The sales rep made it sound like a dream...easy as pie to get your RN through Excelsior college. I finished 4 classes by September 2010. Then in October, I get a letter stating that my payment is going up because they are adding another class in order for me to be able to get my RN. I called them & asked them why I had to take Art of the Western World...how does that pertain to nursing in any way?! They said that according to my transcripts that I needed another humanities elective. The part that really upset me is that my payment went up without them calling & letting me know. How is it legal for them to continue to add classes and increase everyone's payments? I called them & asked them if I could just pay for what I had already taken, and forget the rest. I told them it was a scam. The man on the phone was very short & said "no, you have to pay on all of the CLM's that you purchased whether you have used them or not" so basically it's like paying on a dead horse. $10000.00 my loan has gone up to now. It started at $7000. It's so wonderful because my husband and I are expecting a baby, my husband is laid off, and they keep upping my payments, and now they tell me I can't get out of it. Anyone wanna get ahold of dateline with me & expose these thieving ###?

L
L
Louis Smith
Las Vegas, US
Aug 04, 2011 10:06 pm EDT

Like so many people on this forum I too have fallen victim to the College Network scam. The materials they gave us are totally insufficient for the tests you have to take (at your own added expense); they lied about the refund deadline; told me they were affiliated with a University that they are not; they are a publishing company that misrepresents themselves as a college network to dupe people into trusting them. They say I owe them about $10K, but because they lied about at least 6 different things at the consultation I have legal recourse to say that the contract was null and void. Therefore I do not owe them a penny. In fact, I am suing them for the $2K I unfortunately paid them. Can I get advice from others who are fighting this battle? Will they sue me for the balance and how do I fight it? Also, if there is ever a class action lawsuit please contact me via this forum and I will gladly participate.

S
S
srichardshn
, US
Jan 07, 2013 10:22 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I too am in the same situation. The College Network is a scam and I will be willing to sign a petition as well. Thank you. Shannon Richardson

E
E
Eloisamarie
, US
Sep 18, 2012 5:02 pm EDT

I just created a petition: College Network Petition: Stop the conning into huge financial burden, because I care deeply about this very important issue.

I'm trying to collect 100 signatures, and I could really use your help.

To read more about what I'm trying to do and to sign my petition, click here:
http://www.change.org/petitions/college-network-petition-stop-the-conning-into-huge-financial-burden?share_id=sJTTJCupNX&utm_campaign=petition_creator_email&utm_medium=email&utm_source=share_petition

It'll just take a minute!

Once you're done, please ask your friends to sign the petition as well. Grassroots movements succeed because people like you are willing to spread the word!

Eloisa

C
C
cjaust
Fulton, US
Jul 17, 2012 2:13 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hello all! I have started a petition to to The Department of Justice to stop TCN on Change.org. I too have been scammed by them and am now being sued by them. Please take the time to sign via the following link:

http://www.change.org/petitions/stop-the-college-network-tcn-from-scaming-americans-i-want-the-college-network-to-stop-scamming-hard-working-americans?share_id=cJCZxwbdRT

M
M
MGCF
Clarklake, US
Jun 24, 2012 11:17 am EDT

Excelsior college will tell you that they are not affiliated with the College Network or RUE educational publishers. I am thinking about going directly through Excelsior but will be costly. They have many good reviews but also some bad ones mainly about the clinical aspect for their ADN in nursing. I almost got sucked into the College Network [-meeting with their rep.] but cancelled the appointment after reading some of the negative reviews about them, Do your research before you take the plunge,

M
M
MarloJean
Elk Grove, US
Jun 11, 2012 11:29 am EDT

I am finally finishing paying off my $5, 000 loan. When the sales man smooth talker came he presented this fabulous opportunity to transition from LVN - BSN. I bought it hook line and sinker. I took the first test and passed it only because of what I knew from my college classes. The study materials they give you are worthless. Nothing I studied from them was actually on the test. This was a huge mistake but TCN is raking in the dough because of all of use that fell into their trap and got the loan and never completed their program. I was duped out of $5, 000 and still an LVN. I really wish there was a way to get even some of my money back. I hate being taken advantage of.

L
L
lpage1516
, US
Jan 11, 2011 3:50 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

There are 4 requirements to proceed with a class action.
1. Numerosity - enough plaintiffs to make class action an efficeint way to handle the claim.

2. Commonality - common issues of fact and law for each claimant

3. Adequacy of Class Rep - the person who is the class representatitve needs to have claims that are the same as the class members and that they are capable of serving as the representative.

4. Adequqcy of Counsel - that the law firm representing the class has sufficient skill and resources to represent the class.

A certified class action suit is one brought on behalf of a large group of people as plaintiffs who have suffered some similar harm from the same actions of the defendant or defendantsA certified class action suit is one brought on behalf of a large group of people as plaintiffs who have suffered some similar harm from the same actions of the defendant or defendants

Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_do_you_start_a_class_action_lawsuit#ixzz1Ak7MmoSI

N
N
N1colina
Syracuse, US
Dec 02, 2010 3:58 pm EST

Yes, I do! I enrolled with those thieves in June '08, and they told me the same...that I would Ethics, and Micro when I later found out from Excelsior College that I did NOT need either one! I did request a refund for both, and got it so I apologize for you not getting yours. But, it still makes me mad the fact that I didn't need to even go through them to earn my degree! Did you know you could just apply to Excelsior College alone? I didn't either...until now. Now I have paying $151 month on a $5, 000 loan, for 2years that is down to $4978 because of interest! It's complete bullsh**! We are paying them for absolutely NO reason, too because I'm paying tuition to Excelsior as well! So, I began to wonder what the he** am I paying College Network for anyway? TOTAL SCAM! I wish there was a way to get all my money back and cancel my loan...

W
W
west
Louisville, US
Feb 04, 2010 11:33 am EST

A Facebook page has been created call "The College Network - BEWARE". Log on to Facebook and search for this page. Become a fan and post your problems. We need to spread the word and let the world know how the college treats their students! A direct link to the facebook page is:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Radcliff-KY/Fort-Knox-Federal-Credit-Union/144132373548?ref=mf#!/pages/The-College-Network-BEWARE/285853579603?ref=nf