ADVERTISIMENT

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Starbucksovercharging

M

I just moved into the neighborhood and was revelling in my new-found urban lifestyle. I enjoyed strolling down to the local Starbucks, and did so last Sunday, March 1, 2009 to purchase the Miami Herald. That day, it was $1.25 (the marked price) plus tax = $1.34. Today, since I was in more of a hurry, I went out with exactly $1.34 in my pocket to purchase the paper again.

The cashier rung up the price as $1.61. I pointed out that that would be about 30% tax and it should be the $1.34 that I paid last week, directing her attention to the marked price of $1.25. She agreed and called over the manager, who stated that it rings up at $1.50 and there was nothing he could do. I explained that was wrong, possibly illegal, and that I brought with me only the $1.34 that I paid the week previously in that very location. He questioned whether I knew where or what day I bought the newspaper, but I definitley knew it was there. He said, "Well there is nothing I can do. I can't override the computer; you can pay $1.61 or go." Nice customer service. I offered to tender the $1.34 in my hand which was not accepted.

I have several gripes about this: (1) I would pay the $1.61, if that were the price ($1.25 was CLEARLY marked as the price of the paper); (2) their inability to remedy my complaint, especially having paid face value only a week earlier; and (3) their complete lack of regard, especially in this economy, for making things right with a paying customer. I won't be back.

ADVERTISIMENT

Responses

  • Re
    Reviewer14927 Jan 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my coffee was not very good at all i would like to request a refund

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Te
    TexDix Jul 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    interesting how one can easily spot the immature. They don't understand the concept of "principle."

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ra
    Raysons Jul 28, 2010

    Agreed, even for pennies, a company that profitable should be skimming like this off loyal customers.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Te
    TexDix Apr 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The complaint was valid because it was about the practice and not the money.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ti
    Tina145 Nov 05, 2009

    You're complaining about twenty seven cents. Twenty. Seven. Cents.

    Think about that for a minute.

    :)

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ge
    Geoff Evans Oct 11, 2009

    ### guy

    1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ge
    Geoff Evans Oct 11, 2009

    Oh, you poor thing. However shall you recover from such a traumatic experience? The poor children in Africa eating shoes need to donate money to the "buy this [censored] a newspaper" fund.

    1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • H3
    H3H3 Sep 25, 2009

    Depending on the market you are in, certain taxes kick in at certain price points.
    FOR EXAMPLE: In Ontario, you are NOT charged PST when the purchase is under $4.00. HOWEVER, once it goes over, the extra tax is added. SO, that may explain the extra charge. I would carefully look at your receipts again. I'm pretty sure you will find yourself feeling very silly. Also, please spare the poor baristas the chore of ringing up everything separately in future to avoid paying taxes.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ly
    ly206 Sep 05, 2009

    The price of the drink depends on whether or not it is iced or hot. You probably didn't get your drinks the same way both times.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Vi
    vivi! Aug 10, 2009

    haha agree with tim

    serously, if less than two dollars is what you have in your wallet,
    go to mc donalds

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • timduncan86 Jul 15, 2009

    if you're really concerned about 0.43 cents, then you probably shouldn't be buying starbucks overpriced coffee.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • So
    solsona May 16, 2009

    I am been charged a higher price when I buy 2 or more drinks together, then when I buy them individually. Example:

    1 Grande Latte + 1 Tall Coffee = $6.16 (taxes included)

    Separately: 1 Grande Latte = $3.94(tax included)
    1 Tall Coffee = $1.79 (tax included)
    -------------------------------------
    Total = $5.73

    So Starbucks "extra charge" = $0.43
    I have the receipts to prove this.

    I've asked for the Store Manager, and I was told that he is not present in the store. The employee who was working on the cashier was impolite, and gave me misleading information: I called the number they gave me on a business card, and it is actually the store phone number. At the phone, the Supervisor by the name Rena, told me that she is the Store Manager. Only when I've specifically asked for the Customer Service number, only at that time she disclosed the phone number to me. I've called and there is no one to be talked to during the Weekend.

    It is sad that such a large and reputable brand name like Starbucks is employing practice like this…


    The Store Manager (or supervisor) told me that it is a known issue, and she advised me to buy the drinks separately.

    It is unheard of such practice, that when you buy more merchandise to pay more, when you should be paying actually less.

    The consequence is that all customers (who are aware of this issue) will be ordering multiple drinks individually, causing more work for Starbucks employees, decreasing the productivity

    -1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
Comment Guidelines

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    ADVERTISIMENT

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.
    ADVERTISIMENT