Complaints & Reviews

mattress failure, warranty not honored

We purchased a Serenity king mattress from Sit and Sleep in Murrieta, CA in May 2016 order number [protected]...

Mattress

We just bought a mattress from Ali at Sit n Sleep Murrieta. The mattress in the store was perfect, but the one that was delivered was hard as a rock. I splurged on this mattress because i have a herniated disc in my neck and needed the best i could get. 2 years of physical therapy went down the tubes in one week one this thing. both my arms are numb and i am in constant pain. Ali stated a dozen times that he will guarantee the mattress. come to find out there is NO guarantee!!! i have the option to forfeit 20% of the cost to swap it for a new one, but no returns. He has NO idea what guarantee means!!! He stated that after 30 days it will be just as soft as the one in the store. NO WAY!!! it’s been almost 2 weeks and it’s not a bit softer. Now i have no choice but to sleep on an recliner, just to keep to pain manageable. DO NOT BUY A MATTRESS FROM THIS COMPANY, AND ESPECIALLY DO NOT TRUST ALI BELAGASEM. When i call to explain my predicament, he cut me off and said stop talking, you should have read your contract. The amount of paperwork was like buying a car. i unfortunately trust people, that's where i went wrong. CAUTION STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.

Airloom mattress

I spent over $5000 on the top of the line organic mattress. Sit and Sleep sold it to me repeating over and over that it had a 20 year warrantee. When I purchased it all the salesman did was write on the receipt "20 year warrantee". I complained after several months because it sags a lot on my husbands side of the bed and there is a big lump in the middle of the bed. They sent out an "independent" person to measure the problem last year and they said it was not bad enough and I would have to wait a year. I did that and it is still not meeting their scale and this year they said my bed frame was faulty. It is the same heavy wooden frame I have had and it was not a problem when they saw it last year or when they delivered the mattress.
We are seniors and we cannot continue this game.

Misrepresentation by salespeople

My wife and I purchased a bed at Sit 'n Sleep. As part of the deal, the salesperson insisted that we...

Resolved Damage to our property. they won't pay

Sit'n Sleep Delivery personnel (from Artesia California) scratched our car with a box-cutter. They...

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Bad Bed Company

We purchased a Bed and paid cash. Within a week we heard popping and other noises on my husbands side. Within a month we called about the noises and complained that as my husband would stand the Matress would " Pop out". Three months in, the bed did have a sag. We turned the bed to see if it would help. It did not. The next month we asked to return it. The company sent out a man who took "measurements" Of the bed. He never sat or lied down in the bed to see if the problem existed.( This was like saying I want to return the shoes I bought and they say the shoes look fine). The only way to know the problem is to lay in the bed. Of course he said we would get a letter and ruling on the return of our bed. Can you guess the answer to the ruling. We could not afford another bed so our backs are in pain until we can afford it. Their must be a better way to purchase a good bed.

  • Nv
    nvrh0me Oct 04, 2013

    I too have had a similar situation recently... the bed on my side was much softer than my wife's. they sent out a "technician" to check out the bed. And I never saw any results of the bed being within specs. My suggestion to everyone, use SLEEP TRAIN if you have one near you. they advertise MONEY BACK GAURANTEE... NO 20% RESTOCKING FEE. SHAME ON SIT N SLEEP. I GET DISGUSTED EVERYTIME I SEE THERE ADS. I emailed them. They never responded.

    0 Votes

Do not purchase your mattress from this location

I purchased a Serta Metropolitan mattress from the Store in Palmdale Lancaster California. My Sales person was Michael Robinson.

My first complaint is that they promised me a week out delivery from the date of purchase, which I had to take off work to be home for. I was notified the day of my delivery that the mattress was not put on their delivery truck. My sales person offered me a 200.00 refund for my inconvenience. I was satisfied at that point.

The next week’s delivery again did not show up as promised by sit n sleep this happened three weeks in a row. Each time I had to take time off work to sit and wait for them to come.. With last minute notices that my mattress wasn’t in the store for some off the wall excuse, by my Sales person.

I was promised this 200.00 refund and to this day still haven’t seen it hit my mail box. Almost a month into my check of 1986.00 clearing. As I speak to Michael I become more and more frustrated due to his babbling on with excuses instead of straight answers.

As we were purchasing this mattress, our sales person was also preoccupied with new customers and the phone then giving me his 100% attention for the 20 minutes it took to write up this invoice. I as well work with the public and was very unhappy with his customer service skills.

My last complaint is that I purchased a California King that is suppose to be 72x84 but the mattress that was delivered is 72x80. This I am taking up with corporate because it is not the size that I ordered and what is stated on my invoice. Not to mention I cant bear to hear Michael babble with anymore lame excuses for one more minute.

Do not purchase your mattress from this location.

My last comment: YOUR KILLIN ME LARRY!!! GET DECENT SALES PEOPLE.. WHO DONT BLOW SMOKE UP OTHER PEOPLES ###.

  • Ce
    center99 Feb 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went to Sit and Sleep in Tarzana california. I went in and was shown by Doc (Sales Person) some beds that might be good for my back comfort. He showed me a Airloom Bamboo Hybrid line. There were 3 different kinds in this line (Bamboo Hybrid). He showed me the one that was firm but had a memory foam top. It was firm and soft and supportive. He said that is the Windflower. We wrote it up and had it delivered. As the men were delivering it. Something seemed not right with it by looking at the top. I asked the men to please show me the tag on it, since they put the name tag to the back. He pulled out the mattress about a foot. And I saw a green tag that said Bamboo Hybrid. I said I guess this is it. And they left with my old mattress. I went back to the room and layed down on it and it was hard as a rock. But sice the tag said Bamboo Hybrid it must be right. I have phsical limitations right now or I would have pulled the be out and looked at the tag again. Two hours into sleeping on the bed that night I woke up with such hip pain, Burning pain. I panicked and soothed myself by saying I will call them in the mornig and pick a bed that could be delivered the next day. I called and spoke to Doc, and told him the bed was way to firm and caused me alot of pain. 4 hours total sleep and in crippling pain, he said no you have to sleep on it and give it a try for a minimum of 30 day's. I said what ?????? He said read it on your invoice, it's on your invoice. I said you never told me that. He said it's on your invoice. I said I would have never bought a bed with that kind of limitations. And repeated back to him I can NOT sleep on this bed. He kept saying Im sorry there is nothing I can do. It will fell better the longer you sleep on it. I said that is not an option for me. I asked if there was something we could do to help me. I also reminded him of my physical limits and that this bed would cripple me the longer I slept on it. He said if I brought in a note from my doctor (noterized !!!) he might consider it, in another 2 weeks. He said he might consider it ?????? At this point I am crying on the phone. Begging him. Nope, cant help me, he knows I will like the be if I sleep on it longer. He also said the manager can't help me eather, because it is policy 30 day's min, and YOU signed the reciept. He said go buy a mattress topper, that sould help. So my husband and I went to the mall. $300.00 this little one and half inch, mush with your fingers topper !!! Left the mall thinkingwe better find a cheeper one or a better one.
    Going back the bed we puchased was $1, 700.00. I had my eye on another one originaly and Doc talked me out of it because it was $900.00 more. and that the one I was picking was just as good I"LL GET BACK TO THAT IN A MINUTE. Well after the mall we drove past a LEED'S MATRESS STORE. My husband said let see if they have a a thick higher quilty topper. We talked to the sales person and told him our problem. Well he worked for Sit and Sleep for over 8 years and said... Thats crazy... you go back and tell Doc you are going to return that bed TODAY !!! And that if he will not go to the manager and have them call corp. He said the reason Doc dod not want to return the bed ONE of cousre is the commition.. He cant earn commition off of a bed I upgrade for another. So he would end up with less of a commision if I switched to another bed any bed. TWO: Also, Sit and Sleep has a contract with Airloom Beds not to sell there bed's in Leed's stores. So Sit and Sleep has to fill a quata of Airloom beds sold to stay within there contract with Airloom for product limited disrtibution with any other retailer (LEED'S). THREE: Doc gets a bigger commition on selling me an Airloom bed. Meanwhile this sales person can not benifit by telling me this because I can not RETURN the bed to Sit and Sleep. I have to EXCHANGE it with another one of there beds. And ## FOUR IS comming. We talked to Doc face to facew and he was cold and and unhelpful. We talked to the manager and he said he would need and ok from corp. They did THANK GOD ! So we went looking at other beds. And went to the one we picked. It was not the same bed that was delivered !!! They delivered the wrong bed. It gets better. The tag DOES NTO SAY WINDFLOWER ON IT. Just the line Bamboo Hybrid. We told the manager he spoke to Doc and he said no... we picked that be, the Windflower, since they are not named, we pointed felt, layed on one bed but Doc wrote it up as antother bed (WIndflower) Airlooms firmist and hardes bed it the line. And ALSO THE ONE THAT IS HARDEST TO SELL BECOUSE OF THE FEEL> Which brings an even HIGHER commition!!! That guy is something else.. THe manger said he had to believe his Doc and that it was our mistake. We are taking 2 totally different beds. The ultra rock hard bed (delivered) or the firm plush top we wanted . Manager said we still have to pay the extra $280.00 for the exchange period. We will be talking to corp the tomorrow and let you knwo what they say.

    0 Votes

We have been trying for almost 30 days to exchange our $4,000 mattress

If you buy from them ( Sit n Sleep ), make sure you get what you want. We have been trying for almost 30 days to exchange our $4, 000 mattress. The new mattress came today. They said they sent the best delivery team, , , HA! They bounced it off the tail gate of the truck, then punctured holes in it as the tried to get it up our stair case. They were very rough with it. When I told them I wanted to take pictures of the damage, they rushed the mattress out and almost had it loaded before I got back outside. The only thing that kept them at my location to deal with the issue was taking the keys out of the truck. An hour later, and several calls to multiple people (seems the supervisor that we were dealing with wasn't there, even though he promised me he'd be in all day). The old mattress is finally out of my house, they had to leave the mattress with the holes in it (wow, this time they got it up the stair with no problems, , , amazing). Now, Ive got to wait another 13 days to get this damaged mattress replaced, and out of our house. VERY CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! If you do need to speak with anyone there, contact Teresa at extension #1219, so far she has handled my issues the best. Don't deal with Frank, Leanne (ext #1218), or Shannon (ext #1217).

  • St
    stvo Dec 17, 2009

    If you buy from them (Sit n Sleep), make sure you get what you want. We have been trying for almost 30 days to exchange our $4, 000 mattress. The new mattress came today. They said they sent the best delivery team, , , HA! They bounced it off the tail gate of the truck, then punctured holes in it as the tried to get it up our stair case. They were very rough with it. When I told them I wanted to take pictures of the damage, they rushed the mattress out and almost had it loaded before I got back outside. The only thing that kept them at my location to deal with the issue was taking the keys out of the truck. An hour later, and several calls to multiple people (seems the supervisor that we were dealing with wasn't there, even though he promised me he'd be in all day). The old mattress is finally out of my house, they had to leave the mattress with the holes in it (wow, this time they got it up the stair with no problems, , , amazing). Now, Ive got to wait another 13 days to get this damaged mattress replaced, and out of our house. VERY CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! If you do need to speak with anyone there, contact Teresa at extension #1219, so far she has handled my issues the best. Don't deal with Frank, Leanne (ext #1218), or Shannon (ext #1217). GOOD LUCK.

    0 Votes

Resolved We paid almost $2000.00 for a mattress that should have been sold at an outlet mall

In southern California there is a mattress company named “Sit-N-Sleep” which fills the airwaves with advertising. My wife and I bought a mattress from them after laying on dozens of mattresses in their store. When the mattress was delivered it was much softer than the one we tested in the store. Because “Sit-N-Sleep” had a “..return the mattress within two month return policy which included a 20% restocking fee, ” we continued to sleep on the mattress for a month.

After a month we returned to the store and contracted to trade up to a firmer mattress. The extra cost including the 20% restocking fee came to more than $600.00. Sit-N-Sleep said they would deliver the new mattress and pick up the old mattress in about a week.

A few days later we noticed some of the mattress tags were wrongly placed. At that point we realized the delivery guys had put the mattress on our bed up-side-down. When we turned the mattress over and laid down on it we noticed it was much firmer. We canceled the second delivery and pickup and Sit-N-Sleep said they would remit our credit card payment within 3 business days. Two weeks went by and nothing had been done. We are now disputing the payment with our credit card company.

It has now been more than two months and we discovered that the mattress was not put on our bed up-side-down. Now we suspect the entire mattress may be a reject poorly constructed. We paid almost $2000.00 for a mattress that should have been sold at an outlet mall.

  • An
    Anthony Ciancio Mar 25, 2010

    Sit& Sleep is Crap... There customer service Sucks, along with there empty promises. I spent over $1000.00 for a defective mattress that has yet to be exchanged. I have been told by them several times, that my new bed would be delivered. It has yet to happen? I have filed a complaint with the BBB about there company and owner, who is full of Crap! I do not suggest anyone do business with them...

    0 Votes

Resolved Warranty service

I bought a 2300 Chatom and Wells mattress from Sit and Sleep with a Mattress pad that would guarantee the mattress from any stains. The mattress has sunken in over the five years and I called for the warranty inspection to have it taken care of. I was told when we bought it that any problems within the ten years that they would replace the mattress. The company sent out some guy who took measurements and said I would be contacted about the warranty. Approximately five days latter I received a letter from Sit and Sleep that due to a Stain on the mattress the warranty is null and void. The mattress pad sold to us was to guarantee the mattress warranty and not allow any stains to the mattress. The stain is the sized of a Quarter on a Cal. King mattress because the mattress paid did not due it job. I am thinking of filing an action against Sit and Sleep and Chatom and Wells but it is hard to get the information on the warranty from the company. Does anyone have any experience with this that can help us? It is obvious that Sit and Sleep did not back up the warranty on the mattress paid that would have not voided the warranty and you would think that a small stain would void the warranty. Anyone out there thinking about buying one of these should take note.

  • Mo
    Monkeyin my Bed Aug 17, 2009

    I am having a problem with my mattress from Sit in Sleep as well. I have an E Collection Vitality that is less than a year old. The bottom of the mattress "tears" when we change the sheets. We had the "mattress inspector" come out and take pictures. A week later I called to see what was happening and was told that since the mattress has obvious tears in it that it is not covered under warranty. The customer service agent would not let me talk to a manager or give me the warranty company information. Her advice was to read the instructions on how to move the mattress correctly. I asked to return the mattress, she calmly said not allowed and then she hung up. I would not buy from Sit in Sleep or recommend any one to buy from them.

    0 Votes
  • 97
    97james Jun 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased two mattresses at Sit and Sleep and the nightmare started when they didn't deliver it. Then after taking delivery two weeks later the pillow top shifts and on the center of the bed a big lump. First of all, the customer service reps in Gardena are speak GHETTO and start out by saying, "How can we provide you with excellent service." Well, this company can't because they "DISHONEST." I don't get why they start out saying this, I just wish I'd never put foot in their stores. The CEO of this company or owner must be a total idiot and isn't paying attention to what is going on. He needs to pick up his head off the cement and hire a consulting firm or something that will increase quality assurance. Whatever you do, stay away from Sit and Sleep. Shop for your mattress elsewhere. This place is a HOAX!!

    0 Votes
  • Sv
    SVillarreal Aug 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a Serta Metropolitan mattress from the Store in Palmdale Lancaster California. My Sales person was Michael Robinson.

    My first complaint is that they promised me a week out delivery from the date of purchase, which I had to take off work to be home for. I was notified the day of my delivery that the mattress was not put on their delivery truck. My sales person offered me a 200.00 refund for my inconvenience. I was satisfied at that point.

    The next week’s delivery again did not show up as promised by sit n sleep this happened three weeks in a row. Each time I had to take time off work to sit and wait for them to come.. With last minute notices that my mattress wasn’t in the store for some off the wall excuse, by my Sales person.

    I was promised this 200.00 refund and to this day still haven’t seen it hit my mail box. Almost a month into my check of 1986.00 clearing. As I speak to Michael I become more and more frustrated due to his babbling on with excuses instead of straight answers.

    As we were purchasing this mattress, our sales person was also preoccupied with new customers and the phone then giving me his 100% attention for the 20 minutes it took to write up this invoice. I as well work with the public and was very unhappy with his customer service skills.

    My last complaint is that I purchased a California King that is suppose to be 72x84 but the mattress that was delivered is 72x80. This I am taking up with corporate because it is not the size that I ordered and what is stated on my invoice. Not to mention I cant bear to hear Michael babble with anymore lame excuses for one more minute.

    Do not purchase your mattress from this location.

    My last comment: YOUR KILLIN ME LARRY!!! GET DECENT SALES PEOPLE.. WHO DONT BLOW SMOKE UP OTHER PEOPLES ###.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stshd Nov 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased a mattress and mattress pad from sit and sleep 5 years ago that came with a 10 year warranty on the mattress and a stain warranty from Phoenix mattress pad company. We had spilled some juice on the mattress that created a small stain and called Phoenix to have it cleaned. They sent a tech out and he made a poor attempt at cleaning the stain and left. We then called sit and sleep to report a large depression on one side of the mattress. They sent a 3rd party out and preformed a measurment on the mattress. The result was 1.25" depression which did not meet their 1.5" requirement to replace the mattress. I went to Sealy's web sight and downloaded the specs and procedure to measure the mattress. I measured over 2". Called Sit & Sleep and they sent the tech out again and he found the same as I did. HMMMMMMMM!!!. Now we have had Sit and Sleep out twice to replace the mattress and they refuse as they say they can see a stain. We have had numerous people look at the mattress and we can see no stain. They are trying to get out of replacing the mattress and hope we will give up. We are filing a claim in court to make them honor the warranty. Bad business. Do not do business with these people.

    0 Votes

Resolved Bad mattress

In southern California there is a mattress company named “Sit-N-Sleep” which fills the airwave...

Resolved Scam

I purchased a high end Chattam & Wells mattress from SitNSleep on 7-29-06 with a 10 year non prorated...

Resolved Toxic mattresses

I bought an expensive simmons mattress from sit and sleep one week later I have developed severe rashes, I...