The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
SalesForce.comunauthorized charges

G

We signed a contract with salesforce.com on 03/27/08 which was a 3 month contract for $1, 125.00. We did not want automatic renewal, so the salesman put billing frequency as annually on our contract.

On 11/26/08 our contract was void. on 11/28/08 our account was fraudulently charged by salesforce.com for $3, 375.00. We had NO contract stating that they had authorization to do this.

We called on 11/28/08 when we saw this charge hit our account. We left two messages with the billing department and one for the salesman. Our salesman reconfirmed that this was not agreed upon and that salesforce.com was at fault. Salesforce.com kept putting us off and saying that 'the money will be in your account tomorrow'. This was the same excuse we heard day after day.

After one month, the billing department finally called us back. Finally we made an arrangement with the salesman to give us another 3 month contract for 1 user for 12/23/08 through 03/22/09, and then we would receive a $3, 000.00 refund. We received a refund of $2, 675.00. After battling with them we received $375 less than we had agreed upon. Their excuse was that we had lapsed time without paying them. First of all, they automatically charged our account 2 days after the contract went void without authorization. I guess 2 days of lapsed time equals $375.00 !?!?

I strongly suggest not to do any business with salesforce.com. Their Tech support is TERRIBLE!! and I have not once been able to reach their Billing Department during business hours. After 20 minutes of waiting on hold, it transfers you to voicemail. I have not had one good experience with salesforce.com - their program isn't any good anyway! Look at how many bad reviews they have! Don't sign a contract, they won't honor it anyway!

Responses

  • No
    NoSalesforce Jun 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SO MANY CRM'S OUT, THERE STAY AWAY! THEY LOCK YOU INTO NASTY CONTRACTS. IF YOU ARE TWO WEEKS DELAYED ON SENDING THEM A PAYMENT YOU WILL RECEIVE THE MESSAGE BELOW!!

    Your account with salesforce.com has an outstanding balance of USD XXXXX If this balance is not settled by XXXXX, your account will be placed with a third party collection agency. Additionally, if payment is received by salesforce.com after this date, payment for the full contract value will be required before your account can be reactivated.
    Please note that as we are obligated to pursue the entire unpaid contract value of any and all agreements between salesforce.com and XXXXXXX, your company will be liable for the entire outstanding balance and for any and all collection costs incurred by salesforce.com including the fee for placing the account.
    We would like to avoid these measures; however, we feel we have no choice but to take these steps.

    Please be aware that if your account is placed with a third party collection agency, it can dramatically affect your credit rating. In addition, salesforce.com will have no obligation to maintain or provide Your Data after the time specified in your Master Subscription Agreement, and will thereafter delete or destroy all copies of Your Data in Our systems. You may request a Data Export within this time period by responding to this email. If you decide to re-establish an account with salesforce.com at some point in the future, your company will be liable for any and all collection costs that were incurred by salesforce.com.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Z Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Salesforce is very responsive when you're interested in buying their product but once you do...good luck getting any kind of customer service. I was told they would bill me on a quarterly basis but got the full bill at once. They're are extremely unhelpful! I've been trying to get this resolved for 2 months now.

    0 Votes
  • Fp
    FPC Jan 30, 2015

    I've been a customer for close to 7 years now. My credit card expired. I went through hoops to try to pay my bill once i noticed since the billing info in my account was inaccurate and i wasn't aware of the cancellation until much later. I spoke to someone in billing on Nov 11th about changing currency and paying the balance. She said she'd look into it but never got back to me. Shortly after i received a call from a collections agency. That's unacceptable and disgraceful.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Morteza2 Apr 29, 2014

    Horrible company! Don't do the sale mistake that hundreds of people did. I did the same mistake and now there is no way out of the bloody contract costing me every single month. I hate salesforce a lot

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Ed Le Mar 23, 2013

    I've desperately needed to speak with support and have tried on two occasions to reach them and waited for over an hour each time before giving up. We even pay for their 'premier' support. I think it's pretty simple; they have so many customers that they don't have to invest any more in expanding their support to still turn a big profit. They also know that once you start using their platform that it's nearly impossible to switch to another CRM. So many customers trapped in their CRM, massively profitable, not incentivised to provide adequate support. IF YOU'RE READING THIS AND ARE CONSIDERING THIS CRM, DON'T MAKE THIS MISTAKE!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bentouttashape Mar 19, 2013

    Same as above. Credit card expired and never used it... surprised now to find them threatening third party collections!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    batman11 May 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been unable to access my Salesforce account due to a bad password (they force you to change your password every few months). As a result, I submitted a "forgot my password" request. I received a questionaire asking me questions that DO NOT PERTAIN TO ME WHATSOEVER (name of pet- I have no pets). When I asked my sales rep to help, he could not. Neither could my 2 hour call to tech support. So, when my credit card expired, I said adios. Or so I thought... then, I was sent a threatening collections notice from Salesforce stating that unless I paid for the past 3 months (no service because I could not access the database without my password that NOBODY was able to give me), I would be facing a full year of payments AND COLLECTIONS. Wow, what a caring company. So I spoke to the collections person, Malinda Hanson (Iowa). She refused to help and insisted upon immediate payment. Then I told her to get lost. She told me she would only communicate via e-mail from now on (I guess I'm not important enough for them). Now I'm forced to pay $780 for a FULL YEAR UPFRONT WHICH I CANNOT USE. THEY DO NOT ALLOW YOU TO CANCEL UNLESS YOU FIT INTO A 3 WEEK ADVANCE NOTICE. OTHERWISE, YOU ARE STUCK STUCK STUCK in a contract. I referred them to my family business which has purchased a LARGE MULTI LICENSE subscription and they didn't even bother to thank me. SCREW SALESFORCE - THEY ARE LOSER CENTRAL and ACT LIKE A DICTATORSHIP . VERY SHADY.

    0 Votes
  • Gc
    GCK Jul 28, 2011

    We signed a one year contract and quit using the confusing program after 3 months. I didn't try to get a refund for the remaining year, but then they automatically deducted $1, 200 from my account. Now I'm getting emails from their collection department. I contested the charge and was refunded with my bank. I plan on sueing them in my county small claims court for my time involved. I may not win unless they don't show up. It should cost them about $1, 200 to have a representative show up and cost me $33 for the filing fee. I suggest that you do the same until they quit scamming others like us. I learned a good lesson about web companies.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rock211187 Jul 28, 2011

    Salesforce sucks...we signed a one year contract with Salesforce in July 2010. Initially, we thought it would help us organize our sales and marketing plans. However, it was just a piece of ### crap and after struggling for 4 months we stopped using it at all and informed the account manager for the same. He said that now its a one year contact so nothing can be done - you wanna use it, then use it or else leave it. We understood that, it was absolutely fine with us. However, in the month of June 2011 they started sending us the renewal emails for which we called up the account manager and told very clearly that we do not wish to renew it. He assured us that this is just the system generated email which gets rolled out automatically and please ignore them. We will not renew it. After 15-20 days I received an email stating that your account has been renewed and we have automatically charged your credit card for USD 780. I felt disgusted and called up the account manager who in turn says that I am sorry...I forgot to remove the auto renewal that's why the account has been charged and nothing can be done now. I immediately called up my bank and informed asked them for the transaction they said that we have not received any such transaction till now. I wrote them an email narrating the entire story and requested them to not to release the payment. We have also got them issued a legal notice for unauthorized use of our credit card...till now we are struggling with them...we have decided if required we will prosecute them in the court of law...but will not leave these shameless fraud people...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Salesforce Class Action Jun 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I believe its class action law suit time. They pulled the same practices on us and its time someone put this mega corporation in its place. They think that when someone cancels services with them that gives them the right to report you to a collections agency. Time to get back what we deserve and make sure that big companies like this do not continue to screw all their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    macroProducts Aug 23, 2010

    salesforce.com is an unethical and terrible company. Terrible, terrible customer support. They tried unauthorized renewal with us too. The sales rep was a fast talker with no accountability for the relationship.

    Moreover, salesforce.com was developed haphazardly in a reactive manor over time - salesforce.com has been reacting to their customers needs and now find themselves with a big unfixable mess on their hands. From what I hear, their code is a real nightmare.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MarcLanz1 Aug 09, 2010

    I agree with all and have been trying to cancel with no success. Does anyone have the CEO's email address? Maybe a class action lawsuit is warranted. Does anyone have any suggestions for redress?

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The Web Doctor Jun 25, 2010

    Salesforce.com is complete BS. It focuses your attention on number and data gathering versus actually building a relationship and making a sale. Miller Heiman has a better thought process. Salesforce also has terrible contracts--DO NOT sign a year contract unless you actually use. 1 month is not long enough to sign a year contract for Outlook online. Outlook works as well or better than salesforce, excluding numbers, which sales managers should be focused on results. Salesforce life will be short.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    salesforce.comBAD Mar 13, 2010

    salesforce.com has complaints with the Better Business Bureau for their deceptive and terrible billing practices including unauthorized automatic renewal.

    http://www.bbb.org/greater-san-francisco/business-reviews/computers-software-and-services/salesforcecom-in-san-francisco-ca-44164

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    James Wells Jan 30, 2010

    Within the Sales dept it is well known that if you can deceive the customer in any way possible to keep contracts rolling it will be done. Do not trust your rep will do the right thing. Watch your back and Document Document Document. If you need to file a lawsuit, do so. They will try to manipulate any word or phrase within the contract to extort more money if at all possible. When the rep leaves (As most do), youll have worse problems with a new guy who has to prove himself to management. Stick with Sugar or others and avoid con artists.

    2 Votes
  • Ny
    NYCcompnay Nov 14, 2009

    salesforce.com billing policies are deceptive and fraudulent. They do not disclose automatic renewal in your contract, in rep verbal conversations or rep emails, nor is it disclosed on the confirmation email you receive after purchasing your licenses. Customer service is non existent. Your "account manager" claims to know nothing - except he does know pressure tactics to try to sell you additional services. Really a very awful company. It was a nightmare dealing with them. Don't let salesforce.com into your business. Run from salesforce.com.

    2 Votes
  • In
    Ingmar Nov 03, 2009

    I would have to agree with everybody. We were under the impression that we had signed a 6-month contract, yet were charged automatically after 6 months, citing that we had signed a 12-month contract (we have yet to receive this contract).

    Even though we had only used their services for 2 months, they refuse to let us go.

    We have revoked their credit card charges, and they are now threating us with a collections agency. We have a 1-user contract, and haven't used their service in 4 months!

    I would look elsewhere for any sort of CRM and stay away from Salesforce.

    1 Votes
  • Om
    Omar Kassim Sep 13, 2009

    I am having difficulties with cancelling my existing Salesforce.com contract. While I cannot shy away from the fact that we should have in hindsight read the small print, for all practical purposes - not many people do (credit cards anyone?).

    I think it's only fair that a firm that so clearly advertises itself on providing access on a per month, per user basis should allow it's customers to exit on a per user, per month basis.

    I've written a little more about this issue on my blog - http://www.omarkassim.com/2009/09/12/salesforce-com-no-refund-can-i-sell-my-license/

    If I can't get a refund, can I sell my license?

    1 Votes
  • Da
    [email protected] Jul 15, 2009

    Salesforce has misbehaved similarly on our account. We prepaid a year but after 3 or 4 months it was clear that the service was not going to work for our organization. At the end of the year they attempted bill our account and we contacted the billing department to tell them we wanted to cancel. I later received an exit interview survey. This week I have been receiving calls from a low-life collection firm. Facts and explanations bring nothing to bear on the attitudes and actions of these ### Salesforce partners. When I called Salesforce billing department to clear it up the rep kindly explained that we were obligated to pay the full amount. She did not have all of the records as she explained that they had been sent off to the collection agency. Of course, we know that Salesforce specializes in complete documentation of all customer contacts so... go figure. She explained that it was my obligation to provide this proof to the collection agency.

    The culture of companies that insist on being paid for services they did not provide is consistent with choices like using ### to manage their follow-up relationships. They, of all companies, should understand the concept of relationship. I was not unhappy with the program. It was not right for our small organization and the training requirements outweighed the benefits. I would have considered using them again until now.

    This is a fundamentally ugly company. DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE. There are better alternatives. Uncle Bill used to say, "If you sleep with dogs you'll get fleas." I unwittingly let these dogs into my life and it appears it is going to take a while to scrape them off of me.

    1 Votes
  • Dm
    DMXTEC Feb 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes I totally agree with you Goos. We had something similar but in a different way. We also signed a one year contract and agreed to pay every 3 months 1125 too which was going to be charged on our credit card. The first six months it was ok, but in the 7th month our credit card got stolen that was registred with salesforce. So when the third payment had to be done they sent us an email that the automatic charge could not be done. So I called with my account executive which never picked up the phone nor responded emails. So we calld with the billing department which told us to call with our exective. after weeks struggling to pay it we suddenly got an email from a ams collections that said we could pay with them. so we were happy and paid them 2250 usd. But when paid we couldnt enter our account. So we called salesforce again, and of course they told us again to talk with our executive who never picked up the phone or never respond her emails. Now we are 5 months ahead our account is still blocked and we didnt get any answer. a few weeks ago I decided to call with the ams collections company and they told me that i had to pay another 800 usd so my account could be opened. I told her i paid everything but she responded that they charge a 30% extra to activate our account We have a non us account so they charge you more cause they think you cant do ### to them) because they were a collecting company and salesforce hired them to collect our money cause we didnt pay. But we did pay and we did tried it but they have such a lousy support that things go bad because of them. Our contract is finishing the 19th of february 2009 and since august 2008 we have a licked account. So they robbed us 2250 usd and nobody seems to know anything they dont pick up the phone or they treat you like a stupid and send you to your executive that never picks up. They even throw the phone on the hook cause they are so narrow minded and have an iq of less than 60%. Now we are planning to send some lawyers to them due to fraud and not giving the services like they had stated in their contract. PLEASE DONT BUY SALESFORCE SERVICES IT IS A HOAKS WHAT THEY SAY!!!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.