SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Complaints & Reviews

dropbox unstable

My Dropbox keeps disappearing. Received the folloxing report:

bn.BUILD_KEY: Dropbox
bn.VERSION: 88.4.172
bn.DROPBOXEXT_VERSION: failed
bn.is_frozen: True
machine_id: ccc2dced-a508-5f5c-bcc9-63f6f2a8761a
pid: 504
ppid: 1
uid: 501
user_info: pwd.struct_passwd(pw_name='avrilbayer', pw_passwd='********', pw_uid=501, pw_gid=20, pw_gecos='Avril Bayer', pw_dir='/Users/avrilbayer', pw_shell='/bin/bash')
effective_user_info: pwd.struct_passwd(pw_name='avrilbayer', pw_passwd='********', pw_uid=501, pw_gid=20, pw_gecos='Avril Bayer', pw_dir='/Users/avrilbayer', pw_shell='/bin/bash')
euid: 501
gid: 20
egid: 20
group_info: grp.struct_group(gr_name='staff', gr_passwd='*', gr_gid=20, gr_mem=['root', 'avrilbayermac1', 'avrilbayer', '_xcsbuildagent', '_serialnumberd', '_glimmerblocker', '_xcscredserver'])
effective_group_info: grp.struct_group(gr_name='staff', gr_passwd='*', gr_gid=20, gr_mem=['root', 'avrilbayermac1', 'avrilbayer', '_xcsbuildagent', '_serialnumberd', '_glimmerblocker', '_xcscredserver'])
DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH: None
cwd: '/'
real_path='/'
mode=0o40755 uid=0 gid=80
parent mode=0o40755 uid=0 gid=80
HOME: '/Users/avrilbayer'
appdata: '/Users/avrilbayer/.dropbox/instance2'
real_path='/Users/avrilbayer/.dropbox/instance2'
mode=0o40700 uid=501 gid=20
parent mode=0o40700 uid=501 gid=20
dropbox_path: '/Users/avrilbayer/Dropbox'
real_path='/Users/avrilbayer/Dropbox'
mode=0o40700 uid=501 gid=20
parent mode=0o40755 uid=501 gid=20
sys_executable: '/Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/MacOS/Dropbox'
real_path='/Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/MacOS/Dropbox'
mode=0o100755 uid=501 gid=20
parent mode=0o40755 uid=501 gid=20
trace.__file__: '/Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/Resources/python-packages.zip/dropbox/client/ui/common/boot_error.pyc'
real_path='/Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/Resources/python-packages.zip/dropbox/client/ui/common/boot_error.pyc'
not found
parent not found
tempdir: '/var/folders/ds/9ghdhvgn40n9jgyzysl9d0980000gn/T'
real_path='/private/var/folders/ds/9ghdhvgn40n9jgyzysl9d0980000gn/T'
mode=0o40700 uid=501 gid=20
parent mode=0o40755 uid=501 gid=20
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "dropbox/client/main.pyc", line 825, in wrapper
File "dropbox/client/main.pyc", line 6896, in finish_dropbox_boot
File "dropbox/client/main.pyc", line 6341, in _init_components_for_account
File "dropbox/client/main.pyc", line 6295, in create_sync_engine
File "dropbox/sync_engine_boundary/factory.pyc", line 348, in make_sync_engine
File "dropbox/sync_engine/nucleus/classic_client/sync_engine.pyc", line 417, in __init__
File "dropbox/sync_engine/nucleus/classic_client/thin_adapter/in_proc.pyc", line 217, in __init__
File "dropbox/sync_engine/nucleus/classic_client/thin_adapter/in_proc.pyc", line 628, in _init_new_engine_locked
File "dropbox/sync_engine/nucleus/thin_client/client.pyc", line 143, in __init__
File "nucleus_python.pyx", line 87, in nucleus_python.NucleusSyncEngine.__cinit__
nucleus_python.SyncEngineError: Initializing engine |>> Initializing filesystem |>> Attempting to register icons |>> Removing old xattr |>> fremovexattr syscall: write_xattr |>> Unknown error: Os { code: 16, kind: Other, message: "Resource busy" }

Would be obliged if you could find me a solution. Thanks.

dropbox professional

Dropbox corrupted my files so the online and offline versions don't match and there is no way I can resolve what files sit where. The result is that I will lose files whatever I do. And there are over 500, 000 files...

The support is pathetic. Non existent. Just a bunch of platitudes saying how sorry they are and that someone is working on it. 6 weeks (SIX!!!) now and still no resolution, no escalation, no refund. They don't answer the questions and give you the standard cut and paste support "try this please".

Professional version is their top tier product and the support is useless. Stay away.

Google "How do I file a complaint against a Dropbox support technician?" and read the comments left on the dropbox forum so you see this is not just a personal rant.

dropbox desktop app

They refuse to admit that there is an issue with their desktop app and blame on my ISP, though everything else on my computer works including a fast upload speed (confirmed with...

dropbox business

I've been in search for a business plan for my community business networking group for a while now. Having always been a big supporter of Dropbox and us already using their free platform, I thought I'd talk to them.

It started really well with the sales agent taking an interest in my needs, offering me a great deal, all the discounts, all the benefits, blah, blah, blah.

I was sold! I went through the motions of putting presentations together, working budgets, getting sign off from committee, creating a trial account, setting up folders, transferring data...this was our solution!

Called to finalise the purchase of the account and get my not for profit discount, which I had already been quoted, applied, and suddenly the hoops arrived!

Seemingly, I needed to provide evidence of our company status...okay, wasn't told that but not a problem...sent.

Not good enough m'am, passing you on to the technical team to assess.

Sent more evidence. Sorry m'am, not good enough. Please come back when your UK organisation meets our US evidence requirements.

I'm sorry - what now?!

I want to lodge a complaint.
Thank you for your feedback. I've passed this on to the relevant departments.

No. Pass me to your complaints team. Sorry m'am, that's not our process, we don't have one. We pass your comments on to the relevant departments so that we can learn. Have a nice day.

FURIOUS!!! What kind of company dismisses complaints like they're nothing?! How is that even legal?! Your American consumers might not have any rights but I know for damn sure, as consumers in the UK, we have rights. How am I not able to lodge a formal complaint with this company???

Beat to worst platform...in the space of a couple of hours. Well done Dropbox. Well done.

dropbox is losing it!

We have a Dropbox for Business account. 10 days now and our issue has not been resolved. Support is not coming back to us. Online chat people are totally to trained to do their...

customer service

In August 2018 I agreed to pay to increase the capacity of my dropbox account as I was working remotely and needed to use the account of an employer. The charge was £7.99 which I...

support

Today, May 4, 2018, I spoke to a Myron in support re all of my files in Dropbox being deleted. I explained to him that:
1) No one has accesss to this computer but me
2) I do not delete anything regarding my work
3) My files were there one minute, and gone the next
4) I did not move any files

As I am a writer, I do have numerous files that I want to hold on to for my profile, hence I use Dropbox, so why would I go in to physically delete or move them? I have a 2 day deadline and need to expedite the recovery of my files.
Myron did not want to help at all. He would not let me speak to his supervisor or boss. He also told me that any customer service questions would go to him.
I found this complaint board by myself, with no help of anyone from Dropbox.
I would like expedited restoration of all of my files and a refund of the account that I just upgraded to today before all of this happened.

I have been a user of dropbox for many years, but after this experience, I am closing my account down.

Hello, how can I help you?
Me: I'm a writer and Dropbox deleted all of my book
Just a moment...
Myron: Hi there! Thanks for contacting Dropbox Support! My name is Myron and I'll be happy to assist you today.
I'm going to do a quick security check. Can you provide me with the authentication PIN that is on your page above the Live chat now button?
Me: where?
oh
[protected]
Myron: Great, thanks!
Dropbox keeps a copy of all files for 30 days after they are deleted.

Provided that the files were deleted within that time period, you can restore them directly from your Events page on the Dropbox website:

dropbox.com/events

From there, click the event you'd like to restore. The "Restore" option will appear above the list of deleted files.
Me: I tried that
Myron: And are you seeing any error message when you try to restore?
Me: ok just a sec
Myron: All right.
Me: its still loading. It says that I've edited my book every two minutes
Myron: Okay.
Me: ok I've got only the book that I'm working on now. None of my other docs.
How do I restore them once I've pulled them up
This is a mess! I have a dealine to meet
Myron: Click on the event you want to restore, then click the Restore button on the page that opens
Me: So I have to click 50 events?
Isn't there a faster way
Myron: You would only click on the deletion event.
Me: Dropbox is responsible for losing all of my doc, including my Trust from my inheritance
Myron: Please note Dropbox doesn't delete or modify your files in any way.
Me: Then why would I have it one minutes, then not the next if I haven't gone in it
Myron: We don't have a way to know why files are deleted, but I can tell you where the deletions happened.
Me: Ok
Myron: What is the name of the file you are missing?
Me: Everything
Myron: Can you give me two or three file names?
Me: Trust, Double Motive, Courtney and the Jade Broach
Myron: Thanks. Just a moment
Me: Amongst all others
This is my career
Myron: Is that /Trust.pdf?
Me: Yes
Myron: And is it /double motive 2.12.18.scriv?
Me: I have several of those
Myron: Okay, we can restore these for you.
They were deleted on a computer linked to your account DESKTOP-18IIEEU
Me: What about all of Legend of the Royal Emerald
I don't understand
Myron: I don't see that one being deleted.
That was added to your account at the same time as all these deletions
You should be seeing Legend of the Royal Emerald in your account, as it was just edited within the last hour
Me: What is DESKTOP18llEEU
Myron: It is the name of a computer linked to your account. It is on this computer that the files were deleted from.
Me: I have no idea what tht is
Myron: We can restore the files for you.
You wanted to know how the files were deleted, so I'm just letting you know that is where they were deleted from.
It is a computer connected to your Dropbox account.
Me: There is no such computer in my possession
If you can please restore alll of my files then close my account
Myron: All the files in your account are being edited on that computer.
You can see a list of connected computers on your Security page here:
dropbox.com/account/security
We can restore the files for you. For security purposes we require that users close their own accounts, so I will provide instructions by email on how to do that.
So I will follow up with an email with a ticket number for your reference and I will ask for your written confirmation for us to restore the files, and then we will get back to you when the restoration is complete.
Me: Can you give me an estimated time frame as I have a
2 day deadline
Myron: They are done as soon as possible, but we can't guarantee it will be complete in 2 days.
Depending on the circumstances it can take several days.
Me: So I'm charged $500 from publisher because someone has deleted my files?
Can I expedite this?
Myron: As a Plus user your case is already prioritized, but the restoration process does take time.
Me: I checked the desktop that supposedly deleted my files and it was on an hour ago, a week or two after this happened
Myron: Yes, your files are edited on this computer as recent as within the past hour.
Me: Ok that is the one that I'm on. How can files be deleted to this computer if this computer is the one that it is saved to
Myron: If they were moved out of the Dropbox folder on your computer, or the files were deleted on that computer, they would be deleted from Dropbox
Me: I have never had trouble with Dropbox. I don't understand why now?
they weren't moved or deleted
Iknow better than that
Myron: The files were deleted at the same that Legend of the Royal Emerald was added to your account.
Me: But parts of Legend were deleted as well.
Myron: parts were, yes.
And some parts were added, such as /the legend of royal emerald 4.25.18.scriv/files/Docs/787.rtf
Me: That's the one that I am working on now that about half of file is missing
Myron: Yes, some were deleted and some were added.
Me: I have not deleted
No one else has access to coomputer
So what you are telling me is that the only way for these files to be deleted is if I deleted them myself? Which I would not do!
Myron: We don't know what person actually deleted the files or the reasons why or how they were deleted, we can only see from what device. In most cases deletions are accidental
Me: I did not do this, but you are not going to help anyway. Just please restore my files as quickly as possible.
Is there any way that I can speak to a supervisor
Myron: You are already speaking to the highest of level of support. I can answer whatever questions you have.
Me: To whom do I write a letter of complaint?
Myron: You can write in to us by opening a ticket at dropbox.com/support
Me: and who does that ticket go to?
Myron: To Dropbox Support.
Me: How do I get a hold of your boss?
Myron: As we discussed previously, I am the highest level of support already.
Me: Someone has to be over you.
Myron: There isn't anyone else at a higher level that you can speak to.
You are already speaking with the highest level of support.
Me: How about customer service???
Myron: I can answer any customer service question

dropbox

Good day

Dropbox started deducting money from my account for a subscription i do not remember accepting. After a few emails to dropbox asking them to cancel the subscription as i do not want this aswell as they are deducting twice a month it was eventually cancelled. Ticket nr:7742286. Guess what? Dropbox deducted yet again!!! When i send an email again stating to them that Dropbox deducted yet again money the women's response is to send the details from where it has been deducted from. Why is this so difficult to cancel and why do i need to provide everything again seeing that this is supposed to be cancelled? Dropbox is stealing my money. I want this to be cancelled and all my money paid back to me asap!!

subscription fees and discontinuation

Account information: Tom Biordi [protected]@gmail.com 2134 Australia April 15, 2017 4:47 AM GMT 4G3JGT115LBH We have tried contacting and calling customer support to cancel our...

unauthorized credit card charges

I was unable to cancel my subscription online (they only let me upgrade it), so I submitted a ticket and was told I wouldn't be billed for the next billing cycle. I was indeed billed for the next cycle and spent way too much time after that trying to clear this up, only to be told by a Dropbox representative that he couldn't process a refund and I would have to dispute the charges with my bank. It was incredibly frustrating to spend so much time going back and forth with an agent, only to be told that Dropbox policy didn't allow him to grant a refund for the charge.

I received no notice from Dropbox about the additional billing; I only noticed the charges on my credit card statement. This is completely unacceptable!

1tb of storage space paid with american express $99.00

Filed complaint that I did not received the 1TB of additional space for one year as promised. $99 collected on Nov 3 via AMX. I have material to download from my work, but I can't...

dropbox business trial

I was using a free Dropbox account when I ran out of space and a Dropbox pop-up suggested that I try a free one month Dropbox business trial.

The options presented looked to be somewhere in the region of £7 per month, so I decided to give this a try.

On 26 August 2017, on the day after the free trial ended, I received an invoice from Dropbox for £72. I immediately went into my online account and cancelled the account. I noticed later, however, that the full £72 had been taken off my bank account.

I have been trying to correspond with Dropbox Customer Services (who only have an email contact and no phone contact, despite the fact that I have asked for this several times) since beginning of October. They refuse to give me a refund, and have since explained that the reason for the £72 is that I was charged for 3 licenses plus 2 additional licences...which must have been pre-selected since I am a one-person business and therefore have absolutely no need for 5 licenses.

Furthermore, I have explained to them that, being based in the EU, a 14-day cooling off period should apply and therefore I am entitled to a refund. However, they simply claim that 'refunds are not part of their policy'.

I have asked for my issue to be escalated to a complaints or legal team - a request which has been met with silence on several occasions. I have now corresponded with them for 30 days.

I feel that this is very unfair treatment and I believe I am entitled to a refund.

Marli van Staden

Poor service dealing with an critical business issue

We encountered a issue with our Business Dropbox account affecting over 35, 000 files and resulted in us having to cease our operation until the issue had been resolved.

We followed process and logged a support ticket which then we followed up with several phone calls due to the urgent nature of the incident and affect to our business. Multiple different tickets were raised on account of our interactions but no-one was able to provide us with any answers or even confirm that the problem was in hand.

Today after 3 days of back and forth we received a further email response advising that they could not deal with our request to roll back the individual folders but could do a complete account roll back, which we confirmed for them to go ahead with as we needed to get operational ASAP.

We were advised the account roll back had been completed but as a result we did not find our account to be in the state we expected it to be as at the roll back date/time. We actually had further issues of completely missing folders. After responding to advise of this, we are still awaiting a response 4 hours later and continue to be unable to continue our business operations until the issue is resolved.

We are 36 hours into a critical issue that we still have not been able to speak to anyone about in person that can provide us with any kind of update and have no idea how/when the issue will be resolved!

We will be escalating our complaint through all channels possible in order to get some answers, a resolution and ensure that this does not happen again.

Please see below a summary of all the communications (more today not included, as this is still ongoing):-
Original issue logged, Aug 28, 1:49 PM PDT
Response from Candice at Dropbox, Aug 29, 2:49 AM PDT – Ticket #6380141
We responded August 29, 2017 at 10:01:37 AM PDT
We followed up with a call to Dropbox August 29, 2017 at 12:44pm PDT
Response from Ronnie at Dropbox, Aug 29, 12:51 PM PDT: Ticket# 6385541
We emailed list of folders to be rolled back: Tue 8/29/2017 3:26 PM
We emailed to follow up Tue 8/29/2017 4:26 PM and Requested acknowledgement of receipt and ETA
We called Dropbox August 29, 2017 at 4:52pm PDT
Response from James at Dropbox, Aug 29, 5:02 PM PDT: Ticket# 6387069 - Take over the case and escalate
Response from James at Dropbox, Aug 29, 5:05 PM PDT: Ticket# 6385541 - Sent request to a member of team who specializes in this kind of issue
Response from Candice at Dropbox, Aug 30, 12:46 AM PDT: Ticket #6380141
We called Dropbox August 30, 2017 at 7:33am PDT
Response from Allie at Dropbox, Aug 30, 8:01 AM PDT: Ticket #6389892
We called Dropbox August 30, 2017 at 10:52am PDT – Spoke to Charlie & John (Supervisor). Informed that they are an independent department who are only able to communicate within guidelines for security purposes. Informed me that my issue is probably being dealt with by a “Specialty Restoration Team” and they are only able to contact through an internal note but have no way of getting updated information on my issue, and that an update via email would come soon from the specialty team. They informed me that for these reasons they are not able to provide any indication of timescales but informed me that it was a very surgical procedure.
I requested escalation of the issue through internal communication channels to the necessary department and contact from someone who is specifically dealing with our issue within an hour (by 12:30pm PDT) to provide our business with reassurance that our issue has been received and understood and is being dealt with and to provide us with an ETA for resolution.
Received an email response from Charlie at Dropbox, Aug 30, 11:34 AM PDT: Ticket # 6391087 – Confirming my request above.

my paypal account is being charged by dropbox for a service I did not give permission for.

I noticed my PayPal account is being charged $9.99/mo. from Dropbox that I did not give authorization for. I need to get it stopped but am unable to find someone to contact so I...

Very poor service

I used Dropbox for a long time now. Recently I something went wrong and now I'm unable to edit my files, I actually can't do anything there. That is a big problem for me because I'm using Dropbox for my studies.
I contacted customer service and asked them to fix everything as soon as possible, but they did not reply to my messages. First message was sent about two week ago and still no reply.

Stay away!!

I decided to try Dropbox and signed up for a 30 day free trial.
There was nothing special about this site and I was not so impressed so I decided to find another file sharing service.
Later when 30 days passed I've noticed a charge on my card and I was shocked when I found out that someone took over $700 from me!! After contacting my bank I found out it was Dropbox who robbed me!
Their rep said that I was charged for the whole year and there are no refunds possible!!
These guys are ridiculous! And I will not give up until I get all of my money back!

Unauthorized credit card charge!!

I have signed up for a 30 day free trial and wanted to try Dropbox.
30 days later I received an automated message from Dropbox and was told that I was provided a new business account!
I immediately contacted my bank and they said that recently Dropbox charged $300 from my card!!
I tried to contact these scammers to get my money back, but they did not reply!!
I'm out of $300 because of these thieves! And there was no where mentioned on their site that after 30 days of free trial you automatically get subscribed to the business account!!

  • Sm
    SM Fung Aug 27, 2016

    reference: unauthorised charges of my Mastercard.

    Hi, Mine Mastercard creditcard (number 5100 0815 2207 3772, name SM Fung) was charged on June 18 2016 .
    Specificatuins payment : a. Dropbox *T6B7NRRSDPHX, 415-986-7057 IRL, USD 9, 99
    b. Dropbox*735J9GQ9S2RQ, 415-986-7057 IRL, USD 89, 34
    I never authorised for these payments. Please payback ASAP throuigh my creditcard !
    signed, SM Fung
    August 27 2016, Zoetermeer The Netherlands

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    Kbok Jun 08, 2017

    I have also been charged $850 twice unknowingly!! I only signed up for a 30 day trial just to get my wedding photos! They have said too bad, no refund. ABSOLUTE SCAMMERS!!! STAY AWAY FROM DROPBOX

    0 Votes

Dropbox.comIf you need support, plan on waiting a few days

Yes, file sharing is convenient, and the site is easy to use and share with others. HOWEVER, if you need support, plan on waiting a few days. Bandwidth space to upload files is a meager 26 - 62kb... AKA takes FOREVER for large files to upload!!!

Waiting 24 - 48 hours for a response as a paying business is simply unacceptable to resolve issues!

  • Na
    Nadine Morneau Nov 18, 2019

    On my credit card i have this charge: 155.88 Oct. 8th

    M/Card 5457 4982 3416 4245 exp: 07/24 Jean-Francois Dubé

    Just need to received the bill for that amount!!!
    Also the description of this service you billed me for.

    0 Votes