Magazine Service Center Complaints & Reviews

Magazine Service CenterReceived several magazines that I did not order

I have now received three magazine subscriptions that I did not order. I cancelled first two, contacted this company to remove me from their mailing list - and today I received yet another magazine that they ordered for me. Each of them holds no interest to me - especially the third, Maxim, as I'm a woman. This company is fraudulently sending subscriptions to individuals. They should not be allowed to do so without a customer's consent or even knowledge.

  • Ma
    Marcus Rodriguez Jun 07, 2011

    Hey there Laura. My name is Marcus Rodriguez and I have the exact same thing going on right now. I'm currently receiving "Maxim" and "Car And Driver" neither of which I actually ordered. Have you fixed this problem yet? If so, how? Because it is very frustrating trying to get a hold of them to remove me from their systems.I called both of them and they told me the subscriptions were made through Subco inc. So I called them and no matter what time I call, it says it's after their regular business hours. Please advise if you have any insight how to get rid of these burdens. Thanks.

    0 Votes

Magazine Service Centerautomatic subscription

I agree with others who have left messages about this company. I received a surprise billing of $65 for Time magazine. When I checked on it, I was told it was a renewal. I would never knowingly consent to an automatic renewal at that price.

I went through an automated phone system and got the renewal canceled. When I got the reverse of charges on my credit card, there was a shortage of $4.64 which I assume was some charge or fee from the company. I just paid the amount to get rid of the hassle. Of course, if this is policy for the company, they can make money from such small amounts from numerous customers. I will never use them again.

Magazine Service CenterNo magazines, said I have to pay anyway.

I got an unsolicited call in early July of 2010 asking me to sign up for a 3 year subscription to 5 magazines. I would only pay $29.90 a month for 24 months and they would throw in a $1000 online shopping spree. Sounded good enough. The $1000 certificate came first (in mid-late July)with a release form, signed the form and looked at the options to be purchased. The items were low quality and they required you pay shipping so i disreguarded still waiting on the magazines which would take 10-12 weeks to come through. I changed my mind in late August about the subscription and when I called, they said it was too late to cancell. (I found odd seeing as how it takes 10-12 weeks to even see anything and I hadn't even subscribed for a total of eight weeks) The lady agreed to waive that months payment and I should see magazines in September. Okay, but nothing came, no following charges were made to my account so I thought it was canceled, wrong. i got a collection call on October 25th from a man who right of the bat had an attitude. I told him the situation, he first accused me of not provided the correct apt # then found I had when the subscription was authorized. Said I was lying about not recieveing the magazines because they had the address, I ended up hanging up the phone and called back October 27th. I talked to a lady who was nice enough who admittedly couldn't help me and transfered me to a supervisor. The supervisor also started a call with an attitude, (I would like to include I did not once raise my voice or curse in any one of these phone calls, I work in customer service too.) He refused to cancel the subscription and told me 'legal action' would be taken if I refused to pay. I told him I would not pay for what I did not have. He said I got the shopping spree and that was that even if I didn't have the magazines. I was thrown. The $1000 was supposed to be a FREE gift! He told me again if I refused to pay, 'legal action' would take place. When I asked what forms of legal action, he refused to provide me with the information or transfer me to the department that could. He said only attorneys could speak with that department, and if he told me what possible legal action would take place, he would be violating company policy. I was on the phone for 40 minutes trying to get the details of what he was threatening me with. I eventually was only able to get the address to write a complaint letter to the administration of the company. I regret ever signing up for this and if anyone is experiencing problems as well please e-mail me. [protected]@yahoo.com.

Magazine Service CenterBill

I talked to someone who called me back in April 2010.The man Tryed to sell me magazines.He said i had 2 weeks to unsubscribe.I told him the only magazine I would even be interested in is Tattoo magazines.He said they had them but i would have to wait until I recieved a letter in the mail to choose what i wanted. weeks later I cancelled.I was laid off.Now 3 months later I recieve 9 magazines dated from May-Aug. with a bill stating I owe a back payment of 89.70 or I can pay this off for $852.15. I called customer service she said there was nothing she could do and she could'nt cancell.So I imediately called back and asked for a manager he said that I never cancelled that I must have called another magazine conpany. I've never got magazines in my life before this.The manager was rude and then asked me why did you order these if you cant afford them? I told him #1 all I wanted was tattoo magazines and he said they didnt carry those.#2 Igot laid off then I had a house fire, my husband was laid off so Thats why. I am so mad right now I dont know what to do.If someone else which i'm sure there is has went through this let me know.

Magazine Service CenterDid not receive &People& magazine

Dec 9, 2009, while checking out at Books-A-Million, I was offered a 2 month risk-free trial magazine. I could choose between Sports Illustrated, Time, People, Entertainment, etc. The associate's name was Candace. The brochure states:
"WHAT YOU GET: As a special thanks try the first 2 months risk free of any 2 magazine selections listed. After your order is processed, look for your first issue in 6-10 weeks.
CONTINUOUS RENEWAL FEATURES: ... Your card used at Books-A-Million today will be charged the rate shown for each selection. We'll even send you a reminder notice..."

My complaint:
I never received any magazines and was not sent a reminder notice; however, I was billed on Feb 16, 2010 for $58.50.

  • Da
    Darlene Gretzinger Jun 16, 2011

    I received my People magazine today in very poor condition; It was cut so poorly that most of the articles are impossible to read; I'm very disappointed;
    Darlene Gretzinger
    2307-24th St
    Kenosha, WI 53140

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Magazine Service Centerbogus charges

i have already been a member of one magazine club since january or so. august 10th, i got a phone call. actually it was more like 15 calls in ten minutes (some were private, some were numbers) to my husbands phone asking for me (why they had his number, i dont know!)! they claimed they were my magazine group and told me that because i was such a good customer, they were going to take off 6 payments which left me with 20 left. and they also said they would drop my monthly payment to $20. but the only way to keep my monthly payment down was to automatically debit it from my account each month. they asked me to verify my credit card number, and i did (STUPID!!!). after i called back to make sure i understood everything that happened, (this is where all the phone calls happened, and they claimed their pc's went down and took me from the "do not call list" to the "call list" and offered to drop my payments to $10 for the hassel.) they acted like they didnt know what was going on as far as the phone calls OR even know about dropping my payments. acted very unproffessional, studdered, etc... by the time i got the last call, i said i already got a phone call to lower my payments. anyways, 2 days later i noticed 2 different charges from my account in 2 different amounts. one was from magazine service center for $49.90 and the other was from dedicated readers for $39.90. my other mag club im in always, every month, has the same name, description, and even a phone number to contact them. these 2 i didnt recognize. i have been trying like hell to get phone numbers for these places to find out whats going on, but the one phone number i have for M.S.C. doesnt work at all [protected]) and i couldnt find anything for dedicated readers. if there is anybody reading this who knows of another number/s i could call or anything i can do, please please please let me know!! you can email me at [protected]@gmail.com, yahoo.com, or hell, even call me at [protected]...just dont try to sell me anything!!!

Magazine Service CenterCHARGES TO MY BANK ACCOUNT

MY GOD...WHAT A TERRIBLE TERRIBLE UNRELIABLE SERVICE THESE MAGAZINE ARE. YOU RECEIVE A SUBSCRIPTION AND IF WANT TO CANCEL, IT TAKES FOREVER TO FIND A HUMAN WHO WILL ANSWER THE PHONE. FINANLLY GOT THROUGH NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC SOCIETY AND THEY PROVIDED ME WITH THE CORRECT NUMBER AND HOW TO GET THROUGH TO A REAL PERSON INSTEAD OF A MACHINE.
CALL MAGAZINE SERVICE CENTER EXPRESS TRANSACTION SYSTEM: [protected]. PRESS 0 THREE TIMES UNTIL YOU ARE TO REACH A REAL PERSON. SUGGESTION: DO NOT PRESS ANY OTHER NUMBERS. JUST 0 UNTIL THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTIVE ANSWERS YOU. THEN GIVE YOUR INFO, BUT DON'T LET THEM INTERRUPT YOU. EXPLAIN YOUR ENTIRE SITUATION, THEN ASK FOR YOUR CANCELLATION AND REFUND. ALSO ASK HOW MUCH YOU ARE GOING TO BE REFUNDED AND HOW LONG IT WILL TAKE. I WAS ANSWERED 72 BUSINESS DAY HOURS WHICH IS REALLY 9 BUSINESS. DOES NOT INCLUDE SATURDAY OR SUNDAY, SO ACTUALLY YOU WAIT MORE DAYS.
I AM SUPPOSED TO RECEIVE MY REFUNDS ON AUG 4TH ACCORDING TO THE TIME FRAME.
NORMALLY YOU ARE INSTRUCTED TO CALL [protected].THAT'S THE BILLING INQUIRY LINE FOR MAGAZINE SERVICE CENTER AND IT'S ONLY A RECORDING WITH A MACHINE. THAT'S WHERE YOU WILL GET TOTALLY SCREWED. AVOID IT. AGAIN CALL MAGAZINE SERVICE CENTER EXPRESS TRANSACTION SYSTEM: [protected]. PRESS 0 THREE TIMES UNTIL YOU ARE TO REACH A REAL PERSON
SO HOPE THIS HELPS A LOT OF PEOPLE SO YOU CAN AVOID ALL THE BS I WENT THROUGH TO GET A REAL PERSON. KNOW WHAT I MEAN. GOOD LUCK.

SORRY BUT REFUSE TO GIVE OUT MY PERSONAL INFO BECAUSE YOU ALL KNOW WHY.

Magazine Service CenterFraudulent company

My credit card was charged for magazines that I did not order. When I called the number on the credit card statement, [protected])the voice system indicated they did not have record of the charges or magazines. The system does not allow talking to live person at the Center. What can I do to resolve this matter and ensure that I do not get charged for future subscriptions not ordered. Can the Better Business Bureau look into this matter.

  • Ke
    kelsey reid Oct 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    accessed checking account and withdrew funds for magazines we didn't order

    0 Votes
  • Mt
    mtaylor Apr 02, 2009

    The same thing has happened to me. Unfortunately I didn't completely check my past credit card charges until 3 months after their fraudulent charges were made. I'm now expecting only a partial refund. I hope at least that ocurrs.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Skyeyes Oct 08, 2009

    Same is happening to me!! I tried the automated system but the charges are still on my credit card. I'm disputing them now. Is there anything else I should do?

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    yerby Apr 23, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have charges on my account and I did not order these magazines either.Perhaps the BBB can get involved, If not maybe a class action lawsuit will get their attention.

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    yerby Apr 23, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I want charges dropped from my account IMMEDIATELY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    yerby Apr 23, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did NOT order ANYTHING from this site ! Cancel immediately or legal action will be taken !!!
    Deborah Yerby

    0 Votes

Magazine Service CenterBank account charged w/o permission

Upon receiving my bank statement this month, I saw three charges I didn't recognize: EW Magazine, Time Magazine, and Blender Magazine. I don't subscribe to any magazines, and I certainly do not read any of these three. Upon calling all three (different) contact numbers listed for the three charges ($22, $27.50, and $13.50 respectively), I found that they all connected me to Magazine Service Center, which I had never heard of. I looked them up online, and every single thing that came up on Google seemed to have the word "fraud" or "scam" attached to it. Apparently they can take money out of your account to renew your subscription whenever they want, but I don't recall ever subscribing to these magazines in the first place. I have no idea how these people got my credit card number, but I plan on contacting them tomorrow during business hours.

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem