Southern Magazine Promotions Complaints & Reviews

Southern Magazine PromotionsFRAUD AND SCAMMED

I received a call in December 2008. I told the employee i wanted off the list and didnt want to purchase any products. Two weeks later I received another call. I decided to purchase 2 years of magazines(paying for 4 and receive 9) for 50.00 a month but I got it knocked down to 33 a month. I was told money would be taken out in March, I double checked and asked repeatedly about EVERYTHING.
In Jan money was taken out 42.00(not the amount I agreed to), I figured it was an early payment. I tried to call the number I was given...it was invalid. So I was going to wait to possibly get mail that they said I should get, along with the free paid vacation to any one of the 50 selected locations. Yea that was b.s. too. Money ended up being taken out of my account in Feb and March...no products received. I called my bank, they blocked the company. which was listed as a Childrens Book Club. About 2 weeks later my bank called and said they finally found a number that worked. I called the number...of course they had nothing of me on file...name, number, address, or banking info..nothing!
So that phone number was with customer service, but you cant talk to anyone with the actual SMP company unless they call you. Well the customer service lady said to dispute the charges...so I did. THEN the magazines and calls started.
I got calls thorughout the entire day. I explained to at least 30 people the issue...they didnt care. I was called a [censored] by one girl who said "you dont have a choice, you have to pay!" And another guy who said I was a piece of crap and if I didnt want the commitment I shouldnt have signed up. Another guy told me to "[censored] off" because I had to pay and didnt have a choice. The last jerk to call in July of 2009 set me off bad. I tried to talk and appariently he had had a horrible day already and started cussing, yelling and freaking out. I couldnt understand half of what he said...imagine some of the worst names you could call a girl/woman...this guy had a bad mouth. So I finally hung up and just ignored any numbers that werent in my phone book.
I didnt receive any calls for roughly a month.. Then I started to get a call from the phone number 1. Yes, only one digit. It freaked me out so I didnt answer it until I was with someone who could hear everything with me. Go figure it was SMP. The customer service manager "David" called because the employees were having trouble trying to get my payments from me. I told him everything in detail. He then said "Im sorry to hear of your troubles, but I can only go off of what the computer shows and the computer shows nothing about what your telling me about." I said "of course your computer isnt going to show any loggings that an employee called me, harrassing me, and calling me a b*itch...would you log that in?" He didnt care what had happened. The original price for the 2 years was supposed to be around 200.00.(you pay for a few months in bulk so you didnt have to make smaller "annoying" payments. After a few months of not paying because it was a load of crap the amount went up to 386.00. I freaked. How the heck am I supposed to have that kind of money laying around to pay off some jerks so they will stop calling me?!?! Well my boyfriend talked them down to 250.00 and payed with his credit card in Nov of 2009. He told them if there are any further issues he would get a layer etc. David agreed that everything was resolved and I would receive my paperwork within 2 weeks...over a month later nothing showed up...of course.
I called and spoke to David who said my account has been cancelled. WTF! I paid 250.00 to cancel my account??? And NOT receive any products?!? I was pissed, so he re-activated my account, then I received a letter a few days later. I payed for 2 yrs of magazines, the letter stated I would only receive them for 6-8 weeks. So I called again. He said it was a "regular" letter that they send the same one to everyone. Well its been a few weeks and nothing else has shown up. He also claimed it would take longer to get them because of the holidays. Yea, im sure, as long as he has his money he doesnt care if they ever show up.
Before when I looked up the co. in early-mid 2009 I found nothing, then today Jan 2 2010 I found TONS of complaints all matching similar ones as mine. So I have now disputed my 250.00. This is the biggest bunch of crap and b.s. I have ever dealt with in my life. I feel bad for anyone and everyone else who has had any relations with this company. Im about to change my phone number and look on my credit score to see if its listed there...if it is im disputing that as well...they can count on it. This is a scam, harrassing, fraudulent company who doesnt care about customers or product...all they want is money. DISPUTE ANY AND EVERYTHING YOU CAN WITH THIS COMPANY! If they dont have any paperwork signed or legal consent...in any written form...you CAN dispute the money. And I highly recommend recording any and ALL conversations. My e-mail [protected]@yahoo.com

Southern Magazine PromotionsTried to cancel

I too had received a call from from Southern Magazine Promotions. When I answered the phone, they said that I had been entered into a drawing by one of my credit card companies and that I won a free vacation and three magazines subscriptions. The only thing was that I had to pay for the fourth one. By the end of the phone call, I had signed up for six magazines and was paying $50 a month for 20 months. Of course I didn't do the math and was caught off guard. When I hung up the phone, I had realized that I just signed up for a $1000.00 magazine subscription. I called them back from my caller ID and said that I wanted to cancel the order that I just put in. I was also told that I could not cancel my order. I have been trying to cancel and cancel but to no avail. I will gladly pay the two months that I know owe, but would appreciate anything help that I can get to get this cancelled. So, I looked up their name on Google and found a link with a letter describing a similar situation listed on your website. I was able to get the whole canceled through the pushiness of my father.

I just wanted to add a complaint to let people know that they are out there again, and preying on anyone they get a hold of. They are fast talkers and will tell anything you want to hear, and then ask for a credit card number. I was gullible to fall for it, so I wanted to try help warn other consumers.

  • La
    Laura Jun 01, 2009

    Melissa,

    I you happen to get this.. Please let me know how your dad managed to cancel this. Unfortunately my boyfriend fell for the same scam-- which, I never thought he would.. and I don't want him to have to pay so much.. Not only is it costly, he's getting all these magazines neither of us would pick or will read!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steady Jun 19, 2009

    I got sucked into the free vacatoin thing too but i took actions to get all of my money back this is what i did:

    1st. I filed a police report (they more then likely can't do anything but you can use the info for your bank)

    2nd. I went to my bank and had them fill out papers for fraud, they did an investigation and i also gave them a copy of the police report.

    3rd. I ended up gettin all my money back in less then a week

    So see there are ways to cancell you subscription and still get all your money back. These people need to be stopped. All of their fast talking and promises are crap. So that is what i did hope it helps you all.

    0 Votes

Southern Magazine Promotionsneed customet names

hey if u have been scammed by this company n already have money out of your account n never recieved magazines in tifton, ga... please list ur name . i think its rediculous. need names to prove matter, this will be taken into legal hands, help put a stop. think about the elderly, young teens in college, pple getting screwed all for couple bucks in their pocket. help out by listing your name and what city and state u live in. thx

  • binder Apr 15, 2009

    Dear "Anonymous, " based on your poor spelling, grammar, lack of punctuation and request for the personal details of others, you sound like a con artist yourself.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donorica Harris May 20, 2009

    hey they got me to my name is Donorica

    1 Votes
  • He
    helperfor=u Jul 24, 2009

    Whomever is requestings names please let me know my name is helper for right now. But I would like to help out as much as I can and I think I can nail 'em!

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angela T. Jul 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have been scammed by these people and what is so bad about it is when they call they do not outright give you thier name. I do have a magazine company that I do actually receive my magazines; however, like others I do not receive any from SMP. I am getting ready to file suit against them as well in TN. I have asked repeatedly for them to send me a list of all my payments and my remaining balance. I have asked for this over three times and still have yet to receive anything from them.

    In fact, just yesterday, I completely went off on the girl that called me and I advised her that they had best not take another red cent out of my account. So, she told me that a collection agency will be contacting me. I told good I invite them to and hung up.

    So, if anyone in TN would like to join in please feel free to to comment with your first name last inital.

    Angela T.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    AprilMay2008 Aug 17, 2010

    My name is April and I'm located in Kansas City. I've had an account with them for a long time now and they said I couldn't cancel. What should I do?

    Ever since I've had an account with them, I've been the victim of other magazine scams. I got out of one with Readers Club Home Office and now I'm dealing with Readers' Service!

    0 Votes

Southern Magazine PromotionsScam

I get this call form a nice lady named Carrie, She says that I am a finalist in a free vacation contest. She also asked me if I wanted to buy magazines. I told her "No magazines, I just want the vacation. " She need my card number to verify that I had an active account. She assured me that there would be not transactions, no magazines, only a vacation entery. Now I'm sitting here with 10 magazines I don't read, $200 out of my account and I still owe $40. Maybe I was a little nieve. I feel I am in part to blame for not forseeing this, but had no right. Do not fall victom to these animals.

Southern Magazine PromotionsFRAUD

SOURTHERN MAGAZINE PROMOTIONS****IS FRAUD****
ALSO KNOWN AS **CRC** or **READERS RESOURCE CENTER**

Some lady named: CARY/CARRIE/CARRY *I am not for sure how she spelled it, but she called me saying to me that I was selected to be one of the finalist for a drawling, all I had a to is ver. My credit card number and then I would go on into the next drawling, then she asked me if, I would like a magazine I said no I do not want any magazines or my card to be used for any other purchase, I told her if anything shows up on my bill I will dispute it and I did put a hold on my card that day cause something just did not seem right to me after the phone call was over... she used a phone number which is based out of *GA* I tried to call her back and talk to her but all it was a message I was getting saying hi you have reached my desk this is carry leave a message.. Her number is #[protected], which she never answered but this is how it all started... they did send me a Dispute Letter which I am fuling out right now as I am leaving this on here, I did Dispute this with my credit card company as well, but the company now is trying to take me to collections just because I closed down my credit card and changed my number.. I did make copy's of all the paper work that was sent to me, that I will be sending back to them.. I hope that they catch this company or who every they might be and shut them down

  • De
    dee May 25, 2009

    Stewart G Carswell III, President. Phone Number: (229) 423-5489. (866) 452-4415. Fax Number: (229) 423-5491. BBB Accreditation: This business is a BBB A+ : Emailed the BBB about the rating also.!!!
    THANK GOODNESS MY BANKING INSTITUTION ISSUED NEW CREDIT CARD NUMBERS AND THEY COULD NO LONGER USE IT. THEY WANTED MY NEW ONE AND I SAID NO I WOULD PAY CASH . THIS COMPANY CALLED ME ONCE AND TWICE A WEEK AT HOME AT WORK AFTER THAT WANTING PAYMENT THAT WAS NOT DUE. I TOLD THEM IF I GET ONE MORE CALL, JUST CANCEL MY SUBSCRIPTION. NO MORE CALLS RECEIVED, JUST WISH I HAD SAID CANCEL IT ALL TOGETHER AT THE TIME. GOT A CALL WANTING TO VERIFY MY CREDIT CARD AND IT BEGAN WITH "5" TOLD THEM TO READ IT TO ME, SAID COULDN'T OVER PHONE BY LAW, BUT WANTED ME TO READ IT OVER THE PHONE. WHAT CRAP.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Southern Magazine PromotionsFraud and Lies

My son was sucked into a scam by this company. They called him about a vacation. That's literally all he remembers about the phone call. He knows they asked a bunch of questions but wasn't sure what. then all the sudden all these magazines start showing up. We live in a small town so even though the mailing address was WRONG, the magazines still ended up in my box. I didn't know what was goin on. It was my son's name but I know he would never order "Time" or "Handyman. He was called by the company today and was told what I've read in several stories, about how he agreed and they have verification and stuff and that he better pay or they will ruin his credit. (By the way, my son is 19) He told them he would have me call and then he hung up. I called them back and asked to listen to the verification tape. They were right when they said it was his voice. But something was off. First a computer would ask him a question, then a lady would come on. My son's voice would be garbled, and then a lady would repeat the answers. (or her version of the answers) He had pauses before some answers and no pause for others. There is no way this was an actual conversation. It's cut and pasted. The lady asked me what I was going to do and I told her I would call my son and visit with him. But we are gonna let them know that we will just turn this over to the Better Business Bureau and that I've found large numbers of complaints of this company with fraudulant claims. If needed, I'm sure a lawyer will be able to get this taken care of. We were some of the lucky ones. They didn't get our address right or the credit card number right. So they have no way to charge him. As for his credit. I don't think so!!!

  • Er
    Erin Jul 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company pulled the same crap on me. They promised me a free vacation and I never recieved one. Fortunatly for me my bank caught this company trying to access my account and blocked them. I then changed my credit card number so they can never charge me. They keep calling from all kinds of different numbers that I keep blocking on my phone. I called them a few days after they had first tricked me and told them I wanted to cancel. Then when I called a few months ago they said they had no record of me trying to cancel my subscription. Of course they wouldn't! This company is as sleezy as they come and I will never pay them anything.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anonymous Aug 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had someone call me on my cell phone! I'm 18, I have no idea how they got this information, and they said something about a trip, then she said that she was billing me for a magazine and I said, well wait, no no no, if I have to pay for something, I don't want it. She notified me that someone from billing would contact me. Two minutes later, I receive a phone call from her supervisor asking me what the problem was. I told her, that I didn't want to the magazines or anything because I have to pay. She very rudely then said, "Why did you give her verification and authorization then?" (While being on the phone, she asked if such and such was my address and I said, "well yes". AGAIN, this was on my cell phone and I assumed it was something vitally important for a deposit I had just made. They also claimed that I won because I am a visa credit card holder. I said yes but in all actuality I'm not. The supervisor hung up the phone as soon as I said that I didn't want anything and said it was going to be billed anyway. They didn't ask for my credit card information, so I'm assuming that they can't do anything. I might be wrong, can someone tell me what to do, so they DONT begin billing me?

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    worried, thank you Feb 05, 2009

    I am nervous now, I did not give them my information but I did say that I would call back after I considered the offer. But they had my address on file, so is it possible they have my credit card information too. I called the number back but received a busy signal. If you get the second call does that mean you confirmed the order in the first call?

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steady Jun 19, 2009

    I got sucked into the free vacatoin thing too but i took actions to get all of my money back this is what i did:

    1st. I filed a police report (they more then likely can't do anything but you can use the info for your bank)

    2nd. I went to my bank and had them fill out papers for fraud, they did an investigation and i also gave them a copy of the police report.

    3rd. I ended up gettin all my money back in less then a week

    So see there are ways to cancell you subscription and still get all your money back. These people need to be stopped. All of their fast talking and promises are crap. So that is what i did hope it helps you all.

    0 Votes

Southern Magazine Promotionsdon't take their crap!!!

holy crap, these guys are persistent. thanks everyone for posting the crap these horrible people are pulling. i was so close to giving them my debit card number, but i told them to call me back so i could do a little research and this is the only sight that let me know it was a scam. thanks again everyone, you all really just helped me out more than you know.

  • Sh
    shay Jul 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    damn i wish i would have done the reasearch before i bought the ### but i really like the selsctions of magazines that i was subscribed and it really is cheaper that gettig the magazine from a local store plus it shows up at my mailing address. i still have yet to recieve a vacation package.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steady Jun 19, 2009

    I got sucked into the free vacatoin thing too but i took actions to get all of my money back this is what i did:

    1st. I filed a police report (they more then likely can't do anything but you can use the info for your bank)

    2nd. I went to my bank and had them fill out papers for fraud, they did an investigation and i also gave them a copy of the police report.

    3rd. I ended up gettin all my money back in less then a week

    So see there are ways to cancell you subscription and still get all your money back. These people need to be stopped. All of their fast talking and promises are crap. So that is what i did hope it helps you all.

    0 Votes

Southern Magazine PromotionsDo not be taken in...

I was dumb enough to subscribe to SMP for the same deal, knowing that i would be moving overseas soon. They assured me that i was able to receive the magazines to an overseas address, and that all i had to do was to call back and change the address on the phone. What happened after i got the package was that they told me that they do not ship overseas and hence i was stuck. However, i managed to push for a refund after complaining to them about it. They told me to send a letter in, which i did, 1 mth later, still nothing. Only after speaking to the supervisor did i mange to get a refund immediately credited back into my acct. WTF...... if they could do it now, why put me through so much trouble in the first place?

Southern Magazine Promotions — Fraud & cheating!

I was promised a vacation package to Florida with an outstanding deal on 3-7 magazines. The order was placed...

Southern Magazine Promotions — Never give your credit card number!

I recently received a call from Bradley Evans and his supervisor, Melissa, from Southern Magazine Promotion...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem