Jim Walter Homes Complaints & Reviews

Jim Walter Homeshouse

February [protected]- our home was defective from time construction started to construction finish. The "supervisor" would not make us sign off on several items because he knew they were not code standard for two story home. He left the original blueprint to the house along with statements saying OSB was NOT to be used on two story home and was. Now all corners of every door in house has cracked because of the way the house was not constructed correctly on the corner supports. We have NUMEROUS photos of construction that no one ever wanted to look at because they knew it was not being built correctly. The original salesperson, James Butler that was in Lufkin, Texas office, was let go shortly after the contract/lending was approved. We are now with the third mortgage company since original JWH filed bankruptcy and now we find out via mail that DITECH has filed for bankruptcy. We are not wanting any money for all the sicknesses or the payments we have made on our home. We are looking to have lien paid in full by these thieves for the shoty work they agreed to when contract was executed. If attorney is involved their fees should be paid.

Jim Walter HomesCrooks

We purchased a Jim Walter home about three years ago and have been having problems ever since. We have called several times about the problems with our home, and always get the run around.

We called Chris Little in McComb, and the only responses we ever get back is that once we got the keys it is no longer their problem. I mean what is the point of your warranty?

If you are even one day late then you get harrassing phone calls and they are always telling you to get out of the house. I have been told multiple times that I can't afford the home. I can't afford it because it is a piece of crap and I am constantly making repairs.

Something should be done about this company and their rude employees. We hired a lawyer in south Mississippi named Hector Gonzales, and he is willing to take Jim Walters on. If you are having problems with your home and are ready to get results, you should contact him.

  • TEETE Jun 13, 2013

    this is a company with no respect for their customers and the company that took them over greentree servicing is the same way im sick of jwh and greentree

    0 Votes

Jim Walter HomesHelp needed

I purchased my home less than 10 years ago, I'm now having structural problems with my floors. I have holes in my floor near my kitchen door and the remaining floors in the kitchen, laundry room, both bathrooms and hall area are very weak. I tried to notify the company in the past with no return. I'm unable to repair the floors myself, I'm not sure if there is a warranty for the floors at this time. This is a structural problem and i feel the builder is at fault. I would appreciate any direction as this is urgent.

  • Ja
    James barrett Dec 22, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can not redeem the girt certificate for $500.00.I been try to get in touch with the company about the certificate.

    0 Votes

Jim Walter HomesBad job done

The racks in the closet are falling and the back door frame is comming apart and my house is four years old they didnt do a good job at all.They wasn't finish when they said it was going to be finish. The master bathroom sink counter is comming apart from the wall.Two pieces of siding done fell off the house.I think they just would have taken there time it would have been put together properly like they should have but they didnt so they get a F from me If they was still in business I wouldn't refer no one to them to get a house built.

Jim Walter HomesLiars, beware

I am a single mother of two, who really wants to stop renting and own my own home but due to bad credit, it is hard for be to obtain financing. I saw this cut Jim Walter for sale in my local area. I called and the so-called loan officer to be what the asking was for the house which was a little too steep, but he said that we could work something out with bad credit because I had enough income. I went into his shanty office on Monday to do the three page app. I was told that it would only take about 2 days to get an approval.I thought that I had struck gold. so I got all the income in to the officer and one the second day, I called the loan officer back and he said, that everything was looking good and that he would know by the end of week, I of course questioned him about the one or two days that he first told me that it would take to get approved and he said, that the mortgage company was getting slower and things were looking good, and that I had not got turned down as of yet. I just wanted that after a week or so of back and forth, they came back and so that they could not approve me because of my credit score. I had bad credit from and they lied and led me on. Who ever heard of JW checking credit. Please beware of the lies and the high prices. Their houses are not all that any way. You don't have to lie just tell the truth upfront, me and kids were very dissapointed.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Jim Walter HomesRotten house

My home has no heat, or air. The structure has falling apart and I haven't had the house over five years. They didn't complete inside no appliances. Didn't measure the doors right on my closet's so they left my doors laying on the floor. didn't do the inside of my walls. And they put my two storage home on very high bricks. It's sitting very dangerous and I'm so scared if a tornado come through it's going to blow me and my kids away. And it leaks from upstairs.

  • Ep
    Eponymous Mar 05, 2010

    Welcome to home ownership. Maybe you should have had an inspection before you bought it.

    0 Votes

Jim Walter HomesDefective gome

I have a very defective Jim Walter home as well as many other families in the 17 states that they built homes in and i have an attorney i can not name any longer on here because their nice attorney Mr Kenneth Culbreth says i am trying to get clients for my attorney I only hope that if yo have a defective home you seek the help of an Attorney if not mine one of your own

and If you live in South Texas and have to have your house inspected by Jim Walters and their attorney don't be fooled by the very Beach boy looking Attorney with the painted on jeans and pretty blond hair or smile

He is just waiting to chew you up in the hearings and I have been to mediation he is a great whit shark in mediation so I can only guess how he is in arbitration

but do not let that bother you the facts are the facts if you have a defective home you need to fight for your Rights if you have a good house then you have no reason to fight but in my case and many others we truly have defective homes.

  • TEETE Jun 13, 2013

    IN SEPT 2011 I PURCHASE A FORCLOSED JWH AND I SIGNED AN ADDITTIONS PACKAGE JW WAS SURPOSE TO REWIRE MY HOME LITTLE DID I KNOW THEY REWIRED AND REPLACED WIRING ALRIGHT THE WIRING IN MY HOME IS A POTENIAL FIRE HAZARD AND IS UNSAFE AN THE ### DONT WANNA HONOR THE AGREEMENT AN WIRE MY HOME UP CORRECTLY WELL NOW GREENTREE IS OVER WALTER HOMES AND IM SICK OF THESE ### AS WELL SO NOW IVE GOTTEN THE ATTORNEY GENERAL INVOLVE AND IVE GIVING THEM THE OPTION TO REPAIR MY HOME NEXT STEP IS WLBT ON YOUR SIDE !!!

    0 Votes

Jim Walter Homesselling house before foreclosure

they offered to let us deed back the house instead of going through a foreclosure, i sent them the keys to house with address where to send papers, they marked envolope return to sender. the following week there where for sale signs all over our house. how can they sell it with it still in our name. then this week i get notice they are forcably putting insurance on the house in our name and adding $3000 to our final bill. they sold it to us with no sewer system, took 18 dump truck loads to clear the debris out of the front yard. the plumbing will not drain, no insulation in walls. we started with payments of a little over $400 when we made downpayment, after downpayment was made they came back and made us sign two more contracts ended up with payments over $700. they are rip offs never do bussiness with JIM WALTERS they will screw you over every time not good bussiness practices. we need a good lawyer

Jim Walter HomesDid not finish house on time

Jim Walter Homes did not finish our house on time. causing us to have a breach of contract with the bank because Jim Walter HOmes did not finish on time. They got their money and ran. and so did the bank Republic State Mortgage. My family did not get teh home we wanted and are very upset. Jim Walter Homes sucks. I wish i would have never purchased a home through them. I will never do it again. Because of them we didnt even get the house when it was finally done. They suckkkkkkkkkk!!!111
Petra and Dan Rutherford

Jim Walter HomesScam

Dear Gisgruntled Jim Walter Homes customers: My complete frustration with Jim Walter homes originates in the very sub-standard construction, however the following Jim Walter business practices may fall outside of their arbitration protection (careful notes should be collected throughout your dealings with Jim Walter Homes): Anything unusual in the financing of your home including posting dates of payments made (interest charges); manipulation or pressure used to tender the house; statements/promises made prior to contract signing or after tendering; availability of english speaking supervisor at the job site; hazardous material dumped or buried at site (especially within clean water act areas); and presence of obvious mold on building materials prior to installation. Protect yourself; take numerous notes!

  • Vi
    vina campbell Sep 22, 2009

    wish i could get help from some one jim walters lied in court he told me a dead man cant talk but i have evidence that jim walters caused my son to kill him self double payments, false inspections, lied about survay
    took 2000 in cash and the land, i cant fight because i have my sons funural to pay and the lawyers have taken most of my money.but my son left notes signed and witnessed all about what jim walters was puting him through i have my sons driver, ss card to prove a dead man can talk.help me prove my how jim walters caused my sons death

    0 Votes
  • VINA
    WHERE DO YOU LIVE PLEASE TELL ME MORE ABOUT YOUR STORY I HAVE A JIM WALTER HOME AND SO DO ALOT OF MY FRIENDS
    WHAT STATE DO YOU LIVE IN AND HOW LONG AGO DID THIS HAPPEN? i AM SO SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS, I AM LIVING A NIGHTMARE WITH THEN AND HAVE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE EASIER TO DIE THAN DEAL WITH THEM AND YOUR STORY BREAKS MY HEART IF I CAN HELP YOU IN ANY WAY I WILL BE HAPPY TOO
    I LIVE IN TEXAS.

    0 Votes
  • TAKE NOTES AND ALSO THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES SAYS HE WILL NOT TOLERATE MORTGAGE COMPANIES RIPPING OFF HOMEOWNERS ALOT OF US HOMEOWNERS IN SOUTH TEXAS ARE WRITING TO THE PRESIDENT AND REQUESTING THAT THEY PLEASE LOOK INTO THE MORTGAGE PRACTICES OF WALTER MORTGAGE AND THEIR OTHER COMPANIES AS WELL AS LOOK INTO THE SHABBY HOMES THEY BUILT US THAT ARE FALLING APART WITHIN DAYS EVEN OF OWNING THEM AND CONTINUE TO FALL APART AT THE SEAMS FROM THE POOR MATIERALS USED TO CONSTRUST THEM AND THE LACK OF EXPERIENCE THE BUILDERS HAD AND QUESTION ALL THE LISCENCE'S OF THE BUILDERS ALSO IS YOU LIVE IN A WINDSTORM AREA HAVE THE WINDSTORM COMMISION TO INSPECT YOUR HOUSE DO NOT RELY ON THE ENGINEER THAT JIM WALTERS HAD TO SIGN OFF ON YOUR HOUSE IT MAY NOT PASS INSPECTION IF YOU THE HOMEOWNER PAY THE ENGINEER YOU WILL GET AN HONEST INSPECTION
    IF WE DO NOT STAND UP FOR OURSELVES WHO WILL
    WE TRIED AND TRIED TO GET OUR HOME FIXED AND THEY DID NOTHING THEY WILL TELL YOU HOW THEY FEEL FOR YOU AND RAISE YOUR PAYMENTS HOW DO THEY DO THAT ON A FIXED RATE MORTGAGE
    IT IS FRAUD IN MY BOOK AND IF YOU HIRE AN ATTORNEY AND START LOOKING INTO EVERYTHING FROM THE PAPERWORK TO EVERY INCH OF YOUR HOUSE YOU WILL FIND THAT YOU WERE TAKEN TO THE CLEANERS BY SOME BAD PEOPLE WHO CARE ABOUT NOTHING BUT YOUR MONEY

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bernnie Mar 10, 2010

    I have a jim walter home and I had problem with these people right after I sign the ok. They lied to me, changed monthly payment and always calling about late payment. They never up to this day completed my house. I had to get a loan from another bank to pay them off. That was the best thing that happen with me. But to think about all the lies and work that was never completed and hear about so many other people that had the same problem and the money they rip people off. There should be some kind of way to make the pay for this.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    Abused By Walter Mortgage Mar 06, 2013

    The thought about Jim Walters and Walter Mortgage or who ever they are now. My blood pressure stay high thinking about how they rip my husband and I off. We bought our property, 1 acre, in 1993 in cash. Then Walter Mortgage came along and built the shell stage home in 1994. It took us 5 years(1999) to do insulation, septic tank, well sheet rock carpet, toilets, etc...what ever it takes to live in a home. We got a little behind, when economy went down but only going on the second payment, Elliot Jones called and harassed me, threaten me, told me to pack up and moved. Next day, he came bye with a nasty attitude and hit my husband and so my husband hit him back, Glynn county police took me husband to jailed and let him go, So the next day we wired the payment, and he sent the payment back.. So we filed bankruptcy because we was backed up against the wall. We tried to do modification they would not work with us. So we filed a second time because now the two payment jumped to 10 thousand dollars. We paid on our home for 20 years and that's the tanks they gave us. They got away with beating my husband in his drive way, and then taking our home that we was paying 11% int. and a acre of land ($10, 000)and contents well $50, 000 out of our pocket.

    0 Votes

Jim Walter Homesdefective homes

My jim walter homes is still leaving behind defective homes and people with big debts and unsafe homes it is time to take action and fight for our rights i hired an attorney here and we know an attorney in Ms and a few other states my home is 11 months old and falls apart on a daily basis and they had done nothing to correct the issues they give you the run around and do not follow through please defend yourselfs from being taken advantage of

  • Sh
    Shiloh13 Jun 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just wondering if you have been able to take any legal recourse against Jim Walter Homes? We've been in our JW house for a little over 2 years. We have many problems. Excessive mold and dampness under kitchen cabinets that has caused counter top to swell, countertops are coming apart do to the swelling. Doors are warped, some doors are barely hanging on. We have mold growing in 1 of our bathrooms. Our central unit went out about a year of being in the house (we got that fixed. I could go on and on as I'm sure many Jim Walter home owners can. They are supposedly out of business but do you know if there are legal actions to take against them? Thanks!
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    april renee Oct 10, 2011

    I agree my jim walter house siding on the out side has turned to mush, thers cracks up every wall in my house, and my windows r falling out .its not safe for my 7yr old and 3yr old, im even embaressed 2 have peoople over, i looking for an action my self if u can email me at [email protected] thanks

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nanna3 Apr 11, 2014

    we have been our jim walter home for going on 8 years now and we tried to get them to fix what was falliging apart but they would keep saying they would get to it as soon as they could and never did we got windows that has been brook sence they finshed the house if you can call it that and now we having to replace the front and back door and all the inside doors and all the toilets and tubs and all the water foesits and some of the walls dont know what to do we still owe as much as we gave for it at my ends

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dana Friloux Feb 23, 2015

    I have purchased a home that was built by Jim Walter Homes. I am not the original owner from day one, but I do know that there was a class action suit going on for the defective siding. my siding is falling apart and is rotten. If anyone can assist me with getting more information on this, it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks please email me @ [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Fritsch Apr 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello,
    Was wondering if anyone has heard of a class action lawsuit against Jim Walter's home in reference to missing beams therefore causing the house to pretty much sink. We spent 22, 000 to get the house leveled. If anyone has any information please email me at [email protected] Thanks in advance

    0 Votes

Jim Walter HomesTERRIABLE HOMES

Well we have still been waiting andnothing from jim walter homes of course and two days ago my house fell again on the side of the master bedroom and now theres a big 6 inch gap in The side of my house and they are not going to do anything
Today I met three more familes and they have terriable homes just like mine and they hired my attorney to go to court against jwh because they cant get anything done to their houses either and they are tired of being jerked around and every day my Attorney is getting calls I think the count is up to over 30 people and still counting tomorrow i have been asked by three more familes to come to their house and show tem all my paperwork and see what is wrong with their houses
I am not going to sit back and take the abuse and shabby house they built on my family land i am fighting them legally in court for whats right and thats my dream of a new safe home and i have never had that feeling here
i can not say enough everyone please HIRE YOURSELF AN ATTORNEY AND FIGHT FOR YOUR RIGHTS

TERRIABLE HOMES
TERRIABLE HOMES
TERRIABLE HOMES
TERRIABLE HOMES

Jim Walter HomesSHABBY.SHODDY,POOR WORKMANSHIP HOUSE

I AM STILL WAITING FOR SOMETHING TO HAPPEN AND NO REPLYS OR ANSWERS FROM JIM WALTER LLC/WALTER ENERGY AND THEY SAY THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG AND IT IS MINOR BUT WE WILL SEE WHEN WE GET INTO COURT MY ATTORNEY HECTOR GONZALEZ IS ADDING CLIENTS EVERY DAY AND I CAN NOT BELIEVE HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE DEFECTIVE JIM WALTER HOMES AND I HAVE PUT ALL MY FAITH AND TRUST INTO MR GONZALEZ AND KNOW HE CAN HELP PUT A STOP TO ALL THE DEFECTIVE HOMES AND HARRASSMENT OF THE JIM WALTER AND WALTER ENERGY PEOPLE IF ALL THE HOME OWNER BAND TOGETHER AND HIRE EITHER MR GONZALEZ OR AN ATTORNEY OF THEIR CHOICE HIS NUMBER IS [protected] AND IF NOTHING ELSE YOU CAN GET A PIECE OF MIND IF YOU KNOW YOUR OPTIONS AND WHAT YOU ARE UP AGAINST I HAVE ALL THE PICTURES OF MY HOUSE AND THE WAY MY HOUSE IS SUPPOSED TO LOOK ON MY SPACE AT WWW.MYSACE.COM/PROUDMOMMATX PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LOOK AT THEM AND IF YOU ARE TIRED OF THE WAY THEY TREAT PEOPLE AND THE DEFECTS PLEASE CALL ME ATTORNEY OR ONE OF YOUR CHOICE Don't let them get you

Jim Walter Homessadly built house

I MADE THE BAD MISTAKE OF GETTING A HOUSE BUILT BY JIM WALTERS AND IT HAS BEEN BUILT SINCE AUGUST OF 2008 AND HAS BEEN FALLING APART EVER SINCE AND IT HAS BEEN LEVELED THREE TIMES TO DATE THEY HAVE A 40 FOOT BOX SITTING IN MY YARD WHERE THEY SAY THEY WILL FIX HOUSE BUT ONLY IF I SIGN MY RIGHTS AWAY TO GET ANY FORESEEN OR UNFORESEEN PROBLEMS FIXED IN THE FUTURE THIS PLACE IS A DUMP THAT I AM ASHAMED TO BRING PEOPLE TO SEE THERES HOLES WHERE THE PLUMBERS CUT INTO MY WALLS AND NOONE CAME TO FIX THE FLOORS ARE UNEVEN AND WARPED THE STAIRS NEED REPLACED AND THE LIGHTS FLIKER THE AC IS OFF BALANCE AND ONE SIDE IS HOT AND ONE SIDE COLD THE WALLS HAVE DEEP CRACKS AND THERES SO MUCH DAMAGE I BOUGHT A HOME LIKE THE MODEL I GOT A GETTO VERSION AND STILL DO NOT HAVE ALL MY SCREENS WATER POURS IN MY BACK DOOR MY MOTHER IN LAW FELL DOWN BADLY BUIILT FRONT STEPS AND ZACH YELLED HE WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT AND SHE N EEDED TO BE MORE CAREFUL IF YOU HAVE ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS TOO CALL MY ATTORNEY AND PROTECT YOUR SELF MR HECTOR GONZALEZ [protected] OR YOU CAN CALL ME TERESA HOLTON [protected] OR BETTY TOVAR [protected] EVERYONE HAS TO FIGHT FOR THEIR RIGHTS

  • To
    tolate Jul 31, 2009

    I know the person that wrote the compliant first hand and she is the lowest life form here on earth. She lies and cheats and does not care who it is.What ever she is dealt the rest of her life she will deserve .Your time is coming TJ

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TRYING TO GET BACK ON TRACK Jul 31, 2009

    I do not kow anyone in Oklahoma but if you have something to say My number is posted call me and have your say I am sure you are a jim walter personnal so stop your lies or i will have your ip traced and file charges on you for defamation of my charactor and see you in court
    We are home owners that are here for a reason and do not need your petty lies on here and if I do know you I am sure you would not know anything worth reading so I am asking you to stop your lies or i will file a complaint at the court

    0 Votes

Resolved Jim Walter HomesStay away!

I have electrical problems and structure problems inside and out -I tried to find some help but all this happened around the hurricane and not enough lawyers to take on a case like this if anyone knows of anyone who wants to take on the case let me know at [protected]-joy

I have all the proof you needed to destroy these people my gfis and the phones not working and now an electrician has told me some more bad news about the electric box it is missing some grounded wires and more I am yrs later and still need help Jim Walters will not help and I have proof of that also from the hm office.

  • Bl
    Blaquegal May 22, 2010

    Jim Walter Home! Total dang nightmare!!! I came in and bought a foreclosed home from them with only 750 down and 447 per month. That was fine and dandy until financial problem came about. I've filed chapter 13 twice with them because of bogus charges. Please read your contract carefully. We purchased the house for $45, 000, the final price will be $139, 00.It was in fair condition. Now my question to all ppl with jwh's, why they don't report to the 3 credit bureaus and if I abandon the home will they file foreclosure on my credit. I actually put about 25 grand worth of work into the home and it is very nice now, but I really want out. Help me please. Send me a email if you know into their practices. [email protected]

    0 Votes

Resolved Jim Walter HomesAwful company

We questioned jim walter in reference to a deferral and they treated us like we were the worse people on this earth and we have only been late twice after 15 years. We were told that they were sick and tired of us and that they were going to foreclose on us and file legal.

Finally we were told we could send the payment in in four sections along with the regular payments, but we must call with the check #, the date the payments were mailed and if the date was one day different than the mail date they would send our money back and file legal.

We have been called lairs, cursed out and so many other things by these people. Buyers beware.

  • Da
    Dawn Glenn Jun 02, 2009

    My story is like that! Ive been paying on my house almost 5 years. NEVER late until these past few months my hours got cut at work. Well I have aquired another job. I have 2 jobs now and 1 month behind and they are still being ugly!! Im trying to get caught up quick as I can just so I dont have to deal with mr. lewis! Theres got to be someone elese to deal with that actually cares!

    0 Votes

Jim Walter HomesCon Artist

I like the first complaint I read was mislead by the representative into thinking I could afford the paymebts. Finally after getting the paperwork completed it took forever for them to get started on the house. Then they threw it up so fast that I knew I would have problems and sure enough I did. It rained during the building and they didn't let the ground dry and settle before continuing so as a result the house shifted causing problems with the foundation such as doors not closing and cracks in the wall. Their comment was foundation problem not their problem. Then they decided that my insurance wasn't good enough so they force placed insurance on my house causing my payments to go even higher to the point I couldn't afford but still I struggle to keep the house. All the while them calling and harrassing me talking about foreclosure. Then when I managed to work with my insurance company to correct the insurance problem. They told me it still wasnn't good enough. I'm still struggling to pay for the home but only because my dead husband worked so hard for that property and because that is where he died, otherwise I would have give up a long time ago. They have made my life a living hell almost to point of a nervous breakdown. So next buyer beware.

  • Tr
    TRYING TO GET BACK ON TRACK May 28, 2009

    Ruthie
    We are in the same boat I am hoping that you will join us and help yourself make these people stop the way they man handlepeople and stop their henchmen from treating us badly

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    phillis55 Jun 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought a house in oct 2009 and have had nothing but hell from these people.They didnt go to a title company to close or have a lawyer with us.We were told our payments would be 825.00 plus insurane and taxes which made it around 1200 a mnth.Now we got a letter saying something about the taxes and now it jumped to 1414.00 a mnth.My husband is in the oil buisness and now that obama shut the rigs down his work has been slow.We got behind a note and they have done nothing but call and say there going to foreclose have people knock on the door ect..We talked to some man on the phone who by the way was VERY rude to tell him we would make it up before i next payment was due.He said express pay now or we will foreclose the home..How can you foreclose on someone who is not even a mnth behind yet??This is not a true mortgage so buyers beware..Im taking my paper work to a lawyer to look at to see what can be done..

    0 Votes

Resolved Jim Walter Homes — Terrible experience!

Jim Walter Homes - www.jimwalterhomes.com Jim Walter homes assured us that we could afford the payment...