Hutch Mumbai Complaints & Reviews

Hutch MumbaiIncorrect charges / customer harassment

A copy of email to:

The Hutch Complaints Division,
Mumbai.
Dated: 10th March 2007.

From: Kunal D Nerlekar,

Brisbane, Australia.

To whomsoever this may concern,
I the undersigned was on a visit to India from the 15th nov2006 till 29th dec 2006.

During my visit to India, I was interested in a prepaid sim for the sole reason that I would be around in India only for a month and a half. I purchased the same from The Hutch Shop, Shivkrupa CHS, Opp. Malhar Theatre, Gokhale Road, Naupada, Thane – 400602 on the 18th Nov2006. I had been clear about wanting only a prepaid offer to the representative Shruti Shinde. It was only on reaching home that I discovered I was not able to make any international calls. On checking with the customer service hotline, I was made to believe that I was on some experimental package and now that I had made a payment for this sim I would not be able to change it! This was really upsetting for me as all I wanted was to stay in touch with my Workplace back home.
Furthermore, when I walked into the gallery again, no one was really helpful or even bothered to accept responsibility of their own mistake. I was disappointed with the response and the treatment I received from hutch during this entire ordeal of one and a half month of my stay. I have been on your network in the past as well and that too on a corporate account. I have never defaulted on my bill payments and used to boast about your service till this tragic rollercoaster I have been experiencing from you till date. My mobile number being [protected] for the purpose of this complaint and my Relationship no: [protected]. If Hutch lives by any of their values, and I doubt it, had you to investigate, it would be an appalling and shocking story of a customers misery, misfortune and total extraction not to mention the mental trauma I underwent in my vacation period back home.

I had to submit my address verification twice, first when I purchased the cursed sim card and second after a month when a rude customer service agent ordered me to resubmit my entire documentation all over again. So I am supposed to dance around every time my mobile service provider decides it needs a verification for the service plan I have not asked for and still end up paying for. This is a clear case of taking undue advantage of a customer’s situation.

The drama doesn’t end here. Despite keeping your so called up-to-date and state-of-art call centre abreast of my departure from India and asking them to disconnect the service on the midnight or rather day end 29th dec06, you will be interested in finding out why my mother is still being sent invoices till date!

Here are the details:
INVOICE REF NO [protected]
TR DATE 11 DEC 06 AMT 505/-
INVOICE REF NO [protected]
JAN 07 AMT 904.75 (bearing in mind I had already left the country)
INVOICE REF NO [protected]
11 FEB 07 AMT 268.11 TOTAL 1678.11 (bearing in mind its been 2 months since I left the country)

And I am sure here are the payment details which will never strike your eye as Loyalty!!!

PAYMENTS REF NO [protected]
19DEC 06 AMT 205.00
PAYMENTS REF NO 991911 19
JAN 07 300.00 TOTAL PAYMENTS 505.00
TOTAL INVOICE AMT 1678.11
TOTAL ADJUSTMENT AMT .00
TOTAL UNBILLED OCC AMT .00
TOTAL PAYMENT AMT 505.00
TOTAL OUTSTANDING 1173.11
STATEMENT AS ON 02/03/2007

I fail to understand what am I being charged for? After jan07 which should have ideally been my last invoice.

Now I would appreciate a prompt and detailed apology as well as explanation as to why my family and I being harassed even though we have been what you call as LOYAL Customers unless your company has lost a copy of your value definitions. I also need to make this clear that I will be mailing a copy of this document to all the necessary sources I have in media, newspapers to get this settled. I’m absolutely amazed at how careless and inhuman your company can possibly be, after being patient for this long.

  • Ra
    Rajeev Bagla Apr 09, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Despite informing Call Center, Hutch has not resolved my problem of facing faulty network - on making a call it either gives a creeping sound to the receiver or blank call with no voice exchange. Call center blames it on handset, where as I got it verified thrice from Motorola.

    Hutch should correct this immediately and refund for excess calls thus billed due to faulty network.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    Swati Sinha Apr 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There's some problem with messaging service such that i can send sms but neither do i receive the report for the same nor i am able to receive sms. How can this problem be resolved. Urgently needs the solution for this!!!

    0 Votes

Hutch MumbaiSim registration failed

I bought prepaid 6 days back. I have submitted the necessary documents on 16th October (on last Monday). I got sms on Tuesday that your documents are not as per TRAI regulations. I have again submitted documents again on 18th October (on Wednesday). And even now after submitting documents 2 times without informing me Hutch has disconnected my cell no.

  • Pa
    Pat Moyer Mar 02, 2007

    I totally agree with the complainant as I am in a similar situation. I am holding the pre-paid connection since approx 6 years and have submitted my documents thrice. In spite of doing so now Orange has de-activated my caller id as they claim not to have received the documents.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Farheen Jun 06, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have a similar problem i myself is using a phone more than 3 years n even after submitting my document n filling so many form or re connection my no was activated just for a week n again im facing the same discontinued problem.

    I have called the hutch shop were i have submitted the document and i have even called the help line ppl thy just dont have any answer to my problem.

    Can any one let us know what is to be done there is just no co ordination between hutch providers and retailer...

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rajesh Aug 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Seriously i feel its a bad service, as hutch doesn't care for their customers. They care only till the connection gets activated and then they are not bothered just wana increase the numbers thats all... if my problem is not solved then ill make sure with all my colleagues for disconnection on lines.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sanghmitra Kumar Aug 18, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is absolutely disgraceful that such a big company has such horrible services. I transferred my pre paid to post paid, first Hutch reps. used to call me at least 6-7 times daily to ask for my documents which I had provided them the first time. For four weeks they kept calling and harassing me. Hutch reps. visited my house 3 times so they can find the right documents they need (which they themselves didn't know what was required) and when I finally received my sim the registration failed. It has been five days and everytime I call up the agents or the call center, I get a different answer which doesn't really solve my problem and neither is very satisfying. In fact, the last call I made to Hutch, the customer service representative handling my call was extremely rude and abusive and when he couldn't answer my questions, calm my anger down and finding a solution to a simple problem, he disconnected the phone on me.

    I have lost a lot of business in these 5 days and also lost my job as my employer could not get in touch with me. Honestly, I feel that Hutch should be compensating for the damage it has done.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charmaine Sep 12, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hutch should be sued as they are the most disgusting and disgraceful services provided. I have been harrowed by them restricting my services for a bill payment that i have made at their very own easy payment centre. It is simply unbelievable that a service provider such as them should harrow their customers for measly amounts. Their customer care executives are more will executionists and leave aside customer care they need to be oriented to the word care all together. The only time you see them active is when they have to remind you about the payment. To end hutch is the worst service provider and with such services they are making sure that they will lose their clientele. I am not even expected an result out of this complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Naresh Parmani Oct 08, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish I had read this site before taking the connection. My situation has been like a dog wagging its tail in frustration. Should have understood it from their ad. I am so tiered of repeating my horror story to customer service that I dont have much energy left to repeat here..in short..dont go for it. I have to stick out for a while till I understand how better other service providers are.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem