Menu
CB High-Tech Institute

The good, the bad, and the ugly - discover what customers are saying about High-Tech Institute

Welcome to our customer reviews and complaints page for High-Tech Institute. We understand that making informed decisions about where to invest your time and money can be challenging, which is why we've created this platform for our community to share their honest feedback about their experiences with High-Tech Institute.

On this page, you'll find a comprehensive collection of reviews and complaints from real customers who have used High-Tech Institute's products or services. Our reviews are authentic and unbiased, providing you with a complete picture of the company, its products or services, and their customer service.

Whether you're considering doing business with High-Tech Institute, or you've already had an experience with them, our community's reviews and complaints will give you a valuable perspective on what to expect. Our goal is to help you make informed decisions about where to invest your time and money, and we hope that our platform will be a valuable resource for you.

Please feel free to browse our reviews and complaints and share your own experience with High-Tech Institute. Your feedback is an important part of our community and will help others make informed decisions.

ComplaintsBoard
O
7:26 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

High-Tech Institute ripped off of an education

I attended high tech institute this year 2009 I did not graduate I had a car accident leaving the crappy site they sent me to and now I have lost my job my back is to messed up and I can not work. My complaint is they got my money at which the state founded through a TRA and I am 50 years old. The whole time I was there I learned more about the teachers problems than anything and yes they gave us the answers to the test in their round about way and I only got about 20 hours of lab time and they falsified and gave us the required time each month I know for 2 months I did not get any lab time I wanted to go to the president and my friends talked me out of it which they probably did not care either. When a student got pulled from a site the teacher would tell all of us about and how bad the student was. We paid for this education this should be private and promising us a site where we wanted to be in that filed it did not happen. $10, 000.00 dollars down the drain I learned more in high school this place is a joke, it should not be an accredited school because if it was not for my talking me into going there I would be able to education at a real school. I think one girl complained and they started started giving a little more lab time. How can they graduate students and they do not have that time they say you get in the lab, is illegal to do that and get degree or diploma for the time you really did not get.

Read full review of High-Tech Institute
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
V
4:24 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

High-Tech Institute Scam and rip off!

I started to attend High-Tech Institute in September of 2001 for a computer networking degree. When I first went to sign up for classes they told me that the degree was accredited and I could have transfered to any other school after I graduated from High-Tech. It was all a LIE! The lady who spoke to me told me that they will assist me on finding a job after graduation, they never did anything. She told me most of their student go on to find 50k+ jobs when they graduate, how stupid I was to believe them.

The teachers there were horrible. They rarely came to class on time and most of the technology equipments in the lab were outdated. A lot of the times they did not have the right lab equipments for the students to complete a lesson.

Now I am stuck with a 15k loan that I am unable to pay off because I cant find a job working in my profession. If I were to find a job in my profession, I would not have the necessary skills to perform that job. High-Tech does not teach you anything at their schools, all they do is lie to you.

My teachers gave the answers to 99% of the tests they gave at that school, that was the study time. A day before the test the teacher goes over the exact test and gives you the answers to the questions, all you have to do is memorize them.

I wish a law suit is filed on High-Tech. I will give any necessary information needed to do so. People are still being lied to there and it needs to stop.

Read full review of High-Tech Institute and 63 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
63 comments
Add a comment
C
C
Carol Coleman Morris
, US
Oct 24, 2022 7:07 pm EDT

I also got screwed by them, does anyone know what can be done about it?

Y
Y
yoyo80
Lenexa, US
May 02, 2021 6:46 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I also got screwed in 2007 or 2008. i was told that they could'nt forgive my loan because i actually graduated. well what is the point when you cant use the degree and i have tried to get a copy of my transcript over the years but was unsuccesful. does anyone know of anybody getting their money back. i was in dept for over $20, 000.

S
S
Shana Clark
, US
Jan 03, 2023 10:43 pm EST
Replying to comment of yoyo80

I am in the same boat attended in Irving Texas. I payed over 16k. Can't get a transcript. Basically, the degree is trash and I had to work my way up myself in the career I wanted to take. The time and money down the drain. Why don't we get together and sue the heck out of them for all the lies. They told me I would be getting an associate degree but after all said and done it was only a certificate. The accomplishments I have obtained have nothing to do with the fake certificate. It was my hard work and dedication to play catch up due to the lies.

A
A
armscastro
Auburn, US
Mar 15, 2021 4:20 pm EDT

I also attended this school for medical billing and coding. I liked the teacher but the whole process was a scam. I am alumni 2008. I had to restart my "externship" because i had a financial hardship and lost posession of my vehicle. To get a medical billing and coding job you have to pay extra and do many outrageous amounts of hours to be certified and noone will hire an uncertified biller and coder. This was a total rip off. Now i owe 12K in student loans when i could have taught myself out of the book. Does anyone know thier sign on bonus that they get when us idiots sign up for this scam? I would love an email as to help get my student loans taken care of. arms_castro@yahoo.com. Im glad im not the only one who feels this way.

J
J
Jennifer A Scott
, US
Feb 15, 2019 11:27 am EST

I wished someone would've warned be about this scam...I also was a victim years ago. I thought the Gov't shut that dungeon down!

E
E
ECorral
, US
Feb 14, 2017 11:45 pm EST

Has their been any new updates on this matter? I attended the Phoenix location 2004 and have exactly the same issues as you all.

M
M
Monica Noble
, US
Dec 27, 2016 2:31 pm EST

And another thing I never received a penny from them!

M
M
Monica Noble
, US
Dec 27, 2016 2:27 pm EST

This was a terrible school wish I would've waited when I got out of high school! Rip off! Scam! Never found a job I started in 2006 graduated in 2008! Today is 2016 still no job left with loans! Biggest mistake of my life only thing I have on my credit pulling my credit score down! Like the other reviews teachers Hardley came and I also remember them not coming back because most of them didn't know anything about the profession, high tech institute basically hired people off the street! Teachers gave answers because they didn't want to teach except for Mr. Cody he actually tried by going over the book to make sure we understood. Lord if I can go back in time I wouldn't never went there. Me and my twin sister stuck with loans and degrees we can't use because the school wasn't accredited when they said they were! Over the years changed their names and Closed Down! If anyone know of a way out of these loans please comment.

L
L
Leroy Kendrick
Austin, US
Oct 25, 2016 10:05 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just don't know why with all these complaints, does the government allow this to continue. What is wrong with this country, no attorneys want to take the case against this name changing school. We signed up for a school that was accredited and said it would provide quality training and education, but all we received was no jobs, unpaid loans, and constant harassment calls from collectors. Collectors for loans companies, that were in bed with this shady school that was poorly run, and lacked an accreditation that was stated on all brochures and paperwork that they handed out. Where is the help?

B
B
B. Holm
, US
Oct 19, 2016 9:08 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I totally agree with everyone's complaints. I attended High Tech Institute during [protected], 2004. I am approximately over $30k in debt and was unable to use the degree for anything. It's basically a piece of paper in a box now. I thought their was a class action law suit against the school. I know their was some federal agencies attempting to help us figure out how to resolve the debt earned through the school. This school over charged student, improperly trained them and used us for our grants and loans. I never received anything from the school. They used every penny the government loan companies provided them with. They are "Vampires". I hope this law firm can bring us some justice.

Bryan H.

T
T
twang2002
Pevely, US
Feb 14, 2015 10:49 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

FYI 2/14/2015 to let everyone here know I have received a letter on 2/4/2015 it was sent on 1/26/2015 from salliemae now know as NAVIENT that my loan has been totally discharged I owed over $5000 to them salliemae is being charged with fraud from federal govt please all of you must keep pushing all lenders to forgive loans from these for profit colleges under ...
The school that you attended falsely certified your ability to benefit from the education.
False certification of a student's eligibility occurs, for example, if the school failed to test your ability to benefit or conducted testing in an improper manner. A school is required to certify that students who lack a high school diploma or GED have the ability to benefit from the training offered by the institution.

Elevating the Voice of the Consumer

Empowering Real Complaints

At ComplaintsBoard, we understand the impact of genuine consumer grievances. Our platform is a dedicated space for authentic voices, where complaints, both positive and negative, are shared with honesty and transparency.

Dedicated to Validating Complaints

We are committed to ensuring the authenticity of every complaint. Our team uses rigorous verification methods to confirm that each complaint stems from a real customer experience, maintaining the integrity of our platform.

Encouraging Detailed Complaint Narratives

We value complaints accompanied by concrete evidence. Be it a photo, a detailed narrative, or additional documentation, such substantiation lends credibility to your complaint, aiding others in making informed decisions.

Balanced and Constructive Dialogue

ComplaintsBoard is more than a platform for airing grievances; it's a community where balanced dialogue is encouraged. We welcome complaints that not only point out issues but also recognize any positive interactions, promoting a fair and comprehensive perspective.

A Free and Impartial Platform for Complaints

Our unwavering commitment is to provide a free and unbiased platform for all complaints. Every complaint is given equal importance, ensuring your concerns are heard and respected, irrespective of their nature.