Global Travel International Complaints & Reviews

Global Travel InternationalConsumer Portfolio Services

My boyfriend has his car financed through CPS. We moved from Tampa to Orlando and missed a payment in the meantime just from being so busy to remember. We authroized one payment to got through by bank account then another was to go through on a Saturday. I go to get gas on the Friday prior to the next authorized payment only to find that my card was declined. I called my bank and was negative $166. The gentelmen on the phone informs me that CPS took the money out of my account on Thursday. Them taking the money out before they were supposed to caused me NSF fees for their withdrawl and fees on a purchase I had made on Wednesday. So now my account has $64.00 in NSF fees and I looked at my account today and since it had been a week with these fees I got charged ANOTHER $5. Im still in the process of trying to get some of my NSF fees back but it's seriously frustrating. These people are rip off artists. I would never suggest to anyone to use their services!!!

Global Travel InternationalScam and rip off!

I signed up with Global Travel a few months back. The sales representative sounded pretty positive and made it sound like she was making a fortune with Global Travel as a travel agent. She said it was against the law for her to tell me how much though. I signed up by paying about $450 for a silver membership for a 1 year membership with global travel.

During the first 2 weeks with Global Travel I was able to get over 21,000 (twenty one thousand)people to my individual global travel website through pay per click marketing. I was able to book 0(zero) dollars in commissions. About 14 days into this, I decided that it was a waste of money and called to cancel. They wanted a $175 cancellation fee. I thought I was still in my 14 day trial period, but they said I had my dates wrong and it had been 16 days. So I decided to stay with the program and take advantage of the free cruise for 2 and free 5 nights Hawaii hotel room that they had promised me.

After going to their website and filling out the proper paperwork I received more paperwork to fill out on the cruise for 2, but nothing on the Hawaii trip as of yet. Going through the fine print, I found that there is a $249 per person charge for port charges, government taxes and agency processing fee for the 4 night cruise. The 4 night cruise was with Royal Caribbean, so I went to Royal Caribbean website to check and see what kind of a deal I was getting.

For $169 per person I could actually purchase the same cruise directly from Royal Caribbean site, that I was getting with Global Travel for $249 per person. I called and spoke with the supervisor in the Global Travel cancellation department. I'll be nice and leave his name out. He went on to say that the cruise is free and the $249 is for port charges, government taxes and agency processing fee. So we went through Royal Caribbean's site together, and figured that port charges and taxes would be about $70 total for the $169 per person cruise.

I asked how much the agency processing fee is. To me it looks like it's 498-70 which equals $428. So the agency processing fee works out to $428 which is more than $338 which would be the cost to book this cruise myself. I will admit that other sailing dates for the same cruise interior cabin are as high as $229-249 per person. But even using the higher numbers I'm still not getting a free cruise as the agency processing fee is about the same price as I would pay for the cruise.

The manager in cancellations went on to point out that some holiday dates on a 4 day cruise interior cabin with Royal Caribbean can run as high as $399 per person. I went on to point out that clause 5 on the cruise travel certificate, clearly states that: Sailings are available on select dates with an additional charge for high or peak season and holidays. Offer is capacity controlled and subject to availability.

The people at Global Travel seem nice, but I don't see any value in the membership I purchased with them. After reviewing my free cruise certificate, I will decline to take the cruise, and don't feel comfortable booking any travel through their company.

I wish they would refund my $450 and cancel my membership with their company. At this point they won't even let me cancel for the $175 cancellation fee, they want me to pay for the whole year, even though the gigs up and I've figured out that my individual global travel website doesn't sell travel, and the free travel certificate isn't really free. It's more expensive, and at best completive in price. They never tell you about the agency processing fee when they sign you up.

  • Le
    Leroy Jones Dec 10, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been with the company for several years now and I have made pretty good money from providing friends and family their travel needs. I would suggest trying a little harder and dedicate a little more time in becoming an Independent travel agent. The company has been around for 13+ years they are trusted by me and many other independent travel agents.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed off and tired of liars Mar 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Global is a scam!!! Leroy Jones is a liar also!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smartc00kie Mar 23, 2009

    Are you serious? A blind man can see that your being scammed I mean really, stop ignoring the gigantic pink elephant in the room!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Georgios Kosmidis Jan 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    well, i keep reading scam reports, scam alerts and other warning sites against GTI, and really it makes me laugh!!!i signed up 13 years ago, i kept going out to friends and relatives booking travels and also advertised in the local newspaper.I received my checks properly, had no problems with check ins from my customers whatsoever, everybody was happy and at the end was traveling like a pro!!i really dontunderstand some people, like the complaint above, that actually wanted money from hypothetically pay per click ads!!!where on earth does it say in google ads that every person that visits your website will actually buy from you!!!????and yes, i have tested myself many many times the rates and they were actually some times cheaper from the main websites of airlines.Never had problems with my tax reports, my local authorities, or anything.People here write very easily their inability to talk to other people about what they have to offer.They expect money from the sky.Well it doesnt rain in USA for as long as i can remember!thanks and try to work a bit!!

    0 Votes

Global Travel InternationalNever received a contract or anything!

My name is Christopher Bertone. I have read complaints about this company and I too have had the same experience. I bought the gimmick and signed up to be a travel agent. After 2 weeks I never received a contract or anything. I figured since I am in Hawaii things take a while. I never received a contract and I never signed anything. I am now receiving calls at 6:30 in the morning from Monterey Financial Services. I received a collection notice from them and immediately called. They told that I have to pay and it is on my credit report.

  • Be
    beenscammed Nov 19, 2007

    I am going through the same thing. I never received anything in the mail, and forgot about it. Have tried to cancel several times, but hold times are ridiculous. Eventually cancelled my bank account, and thought they had only scammed me out of a few payments. Then I started receiving calls from Monterrey Financial. This is the worst scam I've seen. I don't even know what I am paying for. Does anyone know what to do?

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leroy Jones Dec 10, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have to disagree! I have been with the company for several years now and I have nothing but good things to say about them... they are very informative when it comes to what information I need to succeed as an Independent Travel Agent of theirs. I recommend Global Travel to all my friends... they are well worth checking into. A company that has been around for 13+ years must be doing something right!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason Hardy Dec 11, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Your an idiot Leroy, this company is the biggest scam I have ever seen. They have me for some bogus $400 dollar charge for something i have never even heard of. If you google there name, the first webside that comes up is complaint.com... this company is a scam through and through, they need to be shutdown!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ketan Patel Feb 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the same complaint as all you guys do.. how do we get out of this mess?

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Didier Oct 13, 2009

    I purchased from Global Travel... they say its a trial... but you can't cancel until next year. Please investigate this online scam... Once you sign up for free trial they keep you on... you can't cancel a 30 day trial until next year... they need to be shut down...

    0 Votes

Global Travel InternationalMisleading advertising!

Global Travel is relies on false advertising of a "free" trial period to get people to sign up for their services. Once signed up if you cancel you are not informed that you must return their information package within the "free" time period or you will be charged a full year membership at $29.95/month. Additionally they charge a one time activation fee BEFORE you agree to their service during the "free" trial period which they say is non-refundable despite all of their terms & conditions implying that this activation fee is only applicable upon agreeing to their membership.

Global Travel is a unethical company which relies on false advertising of a "free" trial period to get people to sign up for their services. Once signed up if you cancel you are not informed that you must return their information package within the "free" time period or you will be charged a full year membership at $29.95/month.

Additionally they charge a one time activation fee BEFORE you agree to their service during the "free" trial period which they say is non-refundable despite all of their terms & conditions implying that this activation fee is only applicable upon agreeing to their membership. Once you cancel your "free" trial you are still stuck with their $49.95 activation fee despite not having activated anything.

I had tried them since they were cheaper than the other travel service I have used in the past by $20/month. After looking at their commission schedule and reservation tools I found out that they represent the saying you get what you paid for to a tee or in their case you get very little for the amount charged.

Global Travel is a unethical company which relies on false advertising of a "free" trial period to get people to sign up for their services. Once signed up if you cancel you are not informed that you must return their information package within the "free" time period or you will be charged a full year membership at $29.95/month. However, they do have this information listed in their very long and very small terms and conditions pages which I fortunately read in time to return my materials on time.

Additionally they charge a one time activation fee BEFORE you agree to their service during the "free" trial period which they say is non-refundable despite all of their terms & conditions implying that this activation fee is only applicable upon agreeing to use their membership. Once you cancel your "free" trial you are still stuck with their $49.95 activation fee despite not having activated anything and thus the trial is NOT "free".

I had tried them since they were cheaper than the other travel service I have used in the past by $20/month. After looking at their commission schedule and reservation tools I found out that they represent the saying you get what you pay for to a tee. I have since returned to using the services of my prior travel service agency despite it being more expensive it provides me with superior service.

In my opinion a reputable company would not have to rely on baiting potential customers with false advertising techniques and would happily refund any fees to someone who only tried their service for a few days.

  • Pa
    Pamela Nov 25, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was looking into this company to join but have been very skeptical about it. I haven't seen anything about they charge you $29.95 a month for membership fees. They must supply you with this information after you join. I also went to the BBB and looked them up because they said they belonged to that. They've had over 103 complaints this year on different issues. Now I'm really skeptical about this company. I agree with you though that if a company doesn't give you a refund back within less than 14 days after you've joined then this should definitely be a red flag.I I was just curious if you have found any travel agency that was not a scam?

    Thanks for your comments, it sure helped me decide what I'm going to do.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leroy Jones Dec 10, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The company has been around for 13+ years they are a well trusted company. I have been with them for several years now and I've made a decent amount of money by providing friends and family with Travel when they need it. If people would invest a little more time in becoming an Independent travel agent they would understand the concept a little more.

    0 Votes
  • He
    heidy Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am processing my visa work permit to the UK with Global travel international and I would like to know if it is legal
    i have sent some money and I need to send more but now people are seying that this company is fake.
    please can someone help me .
    ASAP

    0 Votes
  • Js
    jsemple Jan 25, 2010

    I got autocharged for renewal last year US$149, called to complain and my credit card company said I needed proof... so I sucked it up and tried to have the membership one more year, and I got verbal confirmation from GTI that I will not be renewed automatically. Well, there is another charge on my statement this month, these guys are a fraud. They keep sending "invoices" instead of a membership renewal form, its opt-out instead of opt-in each year. And I even had them tell me straight over the phone, no auto-renewal. Fraud fraud fraud.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem