After Hours Formal Wear Complaints & Reviews

After Hours Formal WearTuxedo Rentals For my Wedding

I was informed of After Hours by Davids Bridal after I bought my wedding dress and seeing as they are also a Men's Wearhouse I decided to give it a try. We went into the store to registar the wedding party and get the groom fitted for his tux. Lucky us we were fitted by the store manager. They entered in the wrong color vest the wrong pants and the wrong tie, we went back to the store and had them fix it, so we thought. One groomsmen and the father of the bride were out of state measured in a store there with directions to have the tux's for pick up at the grooms store. The other two groomsmen and father of the groom were measured at the same store as the groom. Skip to two days before the wedding when we were fnally able to go pick up the tuxs. ALL of them were WRONG. They all had the wrong pants, not to mention the grooms pants being about five inches to short. His coat was made for the same person because the sleeves were also about five inches to short. and he didn't even have the correct color shirt. Bestman lucky for him only had the wrong color pants. Father of the bride, had a shirt that could fit two of him, and of course needed new pants. Father of the groom had to have a new shirt and new jacket ordered with his new pants. one of the groomsmen had nothing but pants and vest to be ordered and the last had to get new pants and ended the whole process without any shoes. I would never.. and I really mean never, let any of my friends use this company... no sorry we messed up, no nothing.

After Hours Formal WearHorrible service

I thought that I was so lucky to find this company offering a special to give you two free plane tickets for your wedding if you purchase your tux rentals with them. I went and bought my dress at Davids Bridal in Des Moines, IA and there was a representative from After Hours there selling their promo for the free plane tickets. I paid $20.00 Fully refundable deposit to insure I would get this promo when we went in to be fitted. We went in the weekend of the promo end sale and my fiance was fitted for his tux and we paid our extra for the free grooms tux we had for special shoes (square toe) and tax. Again informed at this store two times that if we changed our minds this was fully refundable and our brochure for the plane tickets would be in the mail since they were currently out August 06.

October 06 we stop in for our brochure since it hasn't come to us yet, they were still out and they took my name and phone number to mail it out to me.

After the Christmas holiday I called and complained to the manager that it has been 6 months and still no brochure. He said that they had some in the store apologized and would send one out. I said never mind and I would like a refund. He then tells me there are no refunds. I told him that we were told now 3 times that it was fully refundable. He said no store policy that all sales are final, but would mail out my brochure.

Received the brochure about 2 days later via mail and it was in select places for a minimum of 4-7 days. Well, us paying for our own wedding couldn't afford a 4-7 day vacation. We decided to cut our losses of $50.00 and find another retailer.

Went to a more local vender who sells flowers, dj service, and tux rental. I told them this story and they said that is the reason they don't sell After Hours tux rental anymore is because of the horrible service they provide. He even had to foot the bill for their mistakes a couple times. I was shocked and agreed that they have horrible customer service.

I received a call today 6/27/07 about 4 mo prior to my wedding from the store manager that the month of our wedding is becoming a very busy month for them and wondered when the groomsmen were coming in. I said that we went for a more local vender, he said okay good because we are extremely busy - I hung up on him. Got online to their website for a customer service number or email address. Nothing. You can't call them and complain. Best bet is to not utilize them and spread the word!!!

  • Bp
    B. Peters Oct 24, 2006

    They got my order wrong in just about every possible way-vest was too short, suit sleeve too long, shirt wrong size, and they got the color of vest for one of my wedding party wrong, also. I did point out the color issue, but they did not change it (I suspect the person I spoke to changed it, & then another employee changed it back).

    As the groom who's trying to take care of last-minute details, this was additional stress and inconvenience I did NOT need.

    Company details: After Hours Formal Wear at Southridge Mall, Greendale, WI (Upper level)

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Nelson Goodreau Dec 15, 2006

    I used the store in the Westshore Mall in Tampa, FL because I needed a Tux for a Black Tie company event.
    With every visit, these yahoos made me feel like I was an imposition on their social time. When I went in today to pick up my tux and try it on, the geek on duty was in the back room chit-chatting with his girlfriend/boyfriend/mother or whatever and I had to go back there a couple of times for help. Each time he "sternly" reprimanded me to stay in front and spoke to me in a condescending manner.

    What a dope! I was on my lunch hour and did not have the luxury of hanging out while he ignored me, the only customer in the store.

    This is the last time I use these losers and would caution anyone in Tampa to take your business where it's appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terri Jan 01, 2007

    This company stinks. Our experience for our wedding was terrible. They screwed up all the tuxes- too big/too small. It was ridiculous and very inconvenient to have to drive back to the store to pick up tuxes they screwed up! Might I add they screwed up when we requested a tie from one store that they did not carry in the original store- they sold us the wrong tie. When we found out, they would not take the tie back. We never even used it. If it had been my fault, I could have accepted that more easily however, they made the mistake. They were unfaltering in their policies- no returns whatsoever. I think truthfully this company cannot be trusted as a reliable resource. The worst part is that they are incredibly aggressive and called my phone at least 5 times per day! Save your money and your sanity and go elsewhere! You will be much happier!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alyssa Lehbian Feb 15, 2007

    I live in Milwaukee,WI and I went through After Hours at Mayfair for my wedding, and it was amazing. We did see a customer complaining about something when we were in there, but come on, its rental, you take your chances. If you are so concerned with everything being PERFECT, buy a tuxedo. My grooms coat was a little tight, which WILL happen sometimes, but the next morning they had a new replacement. That was the only issue we ran into. and I think the girl working did a great job handling it.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bri H Mar 04, 2007

    Anyone have any luck finding a phone number or address for After Hours that is for their headquarters and not a store?

    They owe me 20 dollars for a refund on a registration, but instead of refunding me they charged me, now they owe me 40 and this has been going on for a month, We are not even using them and they are messing things up!

    I need to talk to someone higher up because the store is not cutting it. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whitney Scott May 29, 2007

    I had a VERY negative experience with After Hours as well. I have also been looking for an address or phone number to talk to someone "higher up" and have been unsuccessful. It is conveniently not on their website. My now husband and I rented 9 tuxes for our wedding from them, and all but 1 tux pant did not fit. All of them had the elastic stretched beyond repair, and each guy had to wear a belt to keep the pants from falling down. They did not offer to Fedex Overnight any of the pants to get better ones. All they would tell us was to wear a belt with them. Plus, we felt like it would have been a huge hassle to have all the guys drive back to the store in Jackson, TN to pick up the pants that should have fit the first time.

    My husband's pants (the groom) had a huge hole in the crotch, which the company had held together with safety pins. He didn't notice this until he arrived at the wedding to take pictures, and his dad noticed them shining from his crotch!!! When we returned them and told them what was wrong with the entire experience, the lady at the store said she could refund only the groom's expenses. HIS TUX WAS FREE! The only money that would have been refunded was what we paid for the accessories.

    This company has no customer service skills at all, and they don't have good tuxedos. Please tell everyone you know, because no one should have to go through this on their wedding day! AFTER HOURS IS NOT THE PLACE TO GET YOUR TUXEDO!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Ellis Jun 03, 2007

    I urge everyone to stay away from After Hours Formal Wear. They made a gross error in my tux measurements and I had to wear tux pants that were 6 inches too big. I was so embarrassed. They looked like balloon pants from the 1980s. The local store manager at the Carolina Mall After Hours in Concord, NC was rude, uncaring, and did not even apologize for the mistake. When I informed her that I would be contacting her boss, she very sarcastically wrote his name and number down for me and said go ahead and call. When I tried to call, the operator at the main office said the extension number and name that was given to me was not correct. I tried to lodge a complaint with the customer service department and I just got a voicemail with a full box. I could not leave a message and was disconnected. Finally, later in the day I got in touch with Gina from customer service which was a nightmare in itself. She did not want to hear my concerns and she argued with me. Since when was arguing with a paying customer that has done nothing wrong kosher? Gina never offered an apology for the error or the stress that was caused. Who ever hired her for a customer service job did a huge disservice to the formal wear industry. She did say she would drop ship the correct tux pants to me and promised they would be there before the wedding. This was about 5:30pm last Thursday and the wedding wasn't until Saturday at 6:00pm. Plenty of time to overnight something. By the way the local store manager never offered this to me. She said adjustments to the order was not After Hours policy. Anyway, today is Sunday and the wedding is over. I never received the tux pants and I never received a follow-up call to make sure things were okay. What kind of customer service is this for a national company, supposedly the leader in tuxedo rentals?? I am absolutely floored to have been treated in such a sub-standard manner. I had to stand in the wedding party looking like a whale. I was so embarrassed. The wedding was huge. There were 24 groomsmen and 24 bridesmaids and tons of guests. Word of mouth advertising travelled fast in a couple of days. After Hours is simply NOT customer friendly and will not adequately own up to their mistakes. They are heartless and do NOT care about the well-being of their customers. I will NEVER do business with them again and will warn as many people as I can to do likewise. Stay away from After Hours Formal Wear unless you like to be treated like dirt.

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    Kyle Needham Oct 17, 2007

    Just to reiterate what many others have said. They stink!!!! They are THE WORST company I have ever dealt with. They are grossly understaffed, unreliable, and absolutely, unbelievably horrible at handling their mistakes. I was fitted for a tux in Minnesota and told them to have it for me in Wisconsin - of course it wasn't there and I literally ended up wearing the tux from a mannequin. Long story short, I had to show up at the store twice and call 2 other times before I was told I would get a refund. 2 weeks later the refund still has not shown up on my credit card. Guess who's going to be getting a visit from a pissed off customer this weekend.

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    Aileen Junco Oct 25, 2007

    This is the worse thing that could ever occur to a bride. If you want a happy wedding day do not rent from after hours formal ware. The manager at the dadeland store in Miami told me when i was at the store 4 months before the wedding that I was going to the store way to early and that I needed to go only two weeks before the wedding I freaked. Needless to say the only two tux that came back correct were the two of the guys that went for measurements more than once though the manager told me I was making her work double I think that is the only way she could get things correct. These are the biggest idiots I have ever met in my life. All but two of my 20 tuxedo bridal party are correct. They gave my brother who is a grown man little kid shoes. This is the worse company I have ever encountered they have made the last to days before my wedding the worse ever I get married this Saturday and I will be having a bunch of people dressed like clowns walking my wedding thanks to this crappy company.

    0 Votes

After Hours Formal Wear — All in all I was less than pleased

My now husband and I decided to use After Hours formal for our wedding tuxedos. We made our appointment and...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem