Rapid PlumbingRip off

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Charged me 2x the going rate for a slab leak because I obviously didn't know better. Upped the quote by $600 because of a "3/4 instead of 1/2" pipe (12 dollar part). Totally took advantage of the "emergency" nature of the situation. EVERYONE who has seen the work has told me I was really ripped off. They saw a sucker in me for sure. Manager promised to refund the 600 and re-evaluate the job cost but has been "too busy"..avoids phone calls. They never even put my toilet back in.

Responses

  • Lo
    Loretta Skahill Jun 24, 2019

    It happen to me too. But my is worse they ripped me a lot more the first time was 40, 00.00 No. 2 is 6, 00.00 No 3 was 5, 00.00. I’m 62 years old I thought I was doing something right.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    your kidding Nov 14, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company doing business in Pico Rivera is absolutely the worse. Ripped of my 86 year old Aunt for $800.00+ dollars. Check this out, $100.00 cash dollars was asked of customer by Plumber prior to leaving residence to purchase new toilet. He told my Aunt that his boss did not provide for gas in company vehicle nor pay for his lunch. My 86 year old Aunt gave him $100.00 cash. My Aunt informed me of this 2 days after at which time I called the company and spoke to Mgr. Marvin. Plumber was sent back to residence to return cash. This happened same day as my call to mgr. Aside of that they still took my Aunt for $800.00+ for snaking bathroom (no more that 40') and replacing toilet. And the kicker, they ran a camera without permission. Final cost $800.00 plus dollars. Unsure exactly how it all breaks down since they left no statement, no receipt of the work performed. Work was completed on the 7th of the month, it's now the 15th and I'm still awaiting an e-statement, which they say they will sent to my e-mail. Losers, losers losers!!

    0 Votes
  • Av
    Avon Jackie Hull Jan 31, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called them for a burst pipe between an outside wall and faucet. They gave me a 2 p.m. appt for an estimate. They did not arrive until 7 p.m. The copper pipe was attached to a galvanized T and had electrolized, where it had burst. The plumber said they could replace the damaged piping and faucet for $575. When I expressed dismay at the cost, I was told he could just cap off the water pipe so that the water could be turned back on. He did not give me a written estimate for either circumstance. Since it was dark, he said he could not fix it at that time and would come back the next day at 3 p.m. He did not come until 5:30 p.m. I advised that we had decided to just cap the water pipe, thinking it would cost less. After he completed the capping that took less than 2 hours, closer to an hour, he presented me with a bill for $605. When I expressed surprise at the cost, I was told that $575 plus vehicle cost was their going rate for a 'spot repair'. When I became irritated, the response was that if I didn't want to pay it, they would put a lien on my home and/or undo the repair!

    1 Votes
  • Mg
    m. grogan Jun 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is exactly what happened to me. The first guy said it looked bad and a camera was needed for $395 and I stupidly agreed. i had the same problem a few years ago and paid $400 so the price seemed reasonable. The camera guy showed up 15 minutes later. He probably was parked a short distance away since this whole thing seemed rehearsed. After discovering roots with the camera they said that the roots might be under the house and would be$ 3750 to get at. I'm 78 and not as sharp as I thought so I agreed to pay. The roots were not under the house and they finished the job in less than 5 hours from the time he arrived. A call to their office to complain got me this. Our price is based on set fees and have nothing to do with hours worked nor equipment used. Complaint to Better Business got me nowhere.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John_GG Oct 14, 2011

    Rapid Plumbing is deceptive, overpriced, and flat-out unethical.

    I called Rapid Plumbing to clear a blocked main drain. While on-site I was told that the drain clearing would cost $280. I have used similar services in the past, and I agreed to the price. I left my son to oversee the job. The job should have been straightforward since the cleanouts were easily accessible, and the building, including its plumbing to the street, was less than three years old.

    Rapid Plumbing sent their camera down the drain to confirm that a root was blocking the pipe (Shocking! That’s what I specifically called you out for!). Rapid plumbing then attempted to get my son to authorize an additional charge of $3, 500 to clear the root, or $18, 000 for a full pipe repair. The agreement I had with them was clear: it would cost $280 to clear the pipe of all blockages. Instead, the pipe remained blocked, and I was out $280 for a service that was not completed.

    I shopped a handful of other plumbing companies and explained the situation. Plumber after plumber confirmed what I figured: Rapid Plumbing overcharged me to take a picture of the drain, and then Rapid Plumbing tried to con my son into authorizing unnecessary work at unreasonable prices. The $280 price was more than enough to cover the cost of a root clearing.

    I hired a bonded sewer contractor for $225 to complete the job Rapid Plumbing was unable to do at the agreed upon price. The contractor stated that if I wanted to have the pipe replaced it would cost $2, 900 including all permits. For comparison, Rapid Plumbing wanted $3, 780 just clear the pipe and $18, 000 to replace the pipe.

    Take your business elsewhere. Avoid Rapid Plumbing’s bait and switch tactics.

    -1 Votes
  • Gr
    grys Jul 26, 2011

    these ### had the audacity too charge my 85yr old grandmother over 12, 000 dollars for a job that would have costed 300.00 dollars. Then when I asked them too explain themselves, They called the police on me and said i was harrassing them. Ya damn right i was harrassing them. But what Rapid Plumbing doesnt know is that the person who was suppose too be taking care of my grandmother was actually forging her checks so i will do my best too get the FBI too checks these ### out... 7/26/11

    1 Votes
  • Nu
    NurseRiverBoat Apr 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    YES - they start off with a reasonal estimate for the work requested, but then they jack the rate up 6 fold and old folks don't know any better. Rapid Plumbing sure is rapid; they make the elderly clients rapidly loose all their money!!! DON"T CALL THESE LOOSERS!!! Jose the plumber is a terrorist. He told my 90 year old grannie that she needed plumbing repairs over $8, 000.00 for a simple small section of sewer pipe. My old grannie was smart enough to kick that stupid plumber out of her house. She got another plumber out there to do the work and he only charged her $225.00. Quite the difference. PLEASE do NOT use Rapid Plumbing. They are predatory against seniors. They have no shame!!! Shame on them!!! Send them all to HEll!!!

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.