Nh Krystal International Vacation ClubFraud

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Dear NH Krystal International Vacation Club:

I am writing to you to file my dispute against NH Krystal International Vacation Club located in Cancun, Mexico. My husband and I arrived in Cancun, MX on July 2, 2008 for our honeymoon. We were approached by employees of the Krystal Hotel at the airport to attend their 90 minute presentation and in return we would receive discounts on activities. On July 3, 2008 we arrived at the Krystal hotel. We were shown the presentation by a sales representative who used high pressured sales tactics. They bombarded us with numbers, statistics, and information about a time share which were never clear. They made promises that we would see return on our investment quickly. After returning to the states, we were contacted by Peter Dunne from Global Resort Services. He said he had received our information from Krystal, and he would be our primary contact on this account. He said that he was affiliated with the Krystal hotel, and we would be renting out our weeks through him. At the time, I did not know that this was all under false pretense and Mr. Dunne was not affiliated with the Krystal Hotel. I reluctantly gave him my account information. I found out that Mr. Dunne and Global Resort Services was a rental scam and they obtained our personal information through a “leak” from the Krystal Hotel.

After further research it has been made public through the following website, http://www.thetimesharebeat.com/mex-fraud.htm, “Vacation Network Inc, aka: the Vacation Network Advertising Corporation, aka: Global Resort Services, aka: VNAC, etc. The names of the people associated with this company that we hear most often are Peter Dunne and Laurie Peck, ” are associated with rental scam and fraudulent behaviors. I have filed a complaint letter with this company and a fraud report with my Bank of American Visa card

Unsure about this whole timeshare, I did some more research, and I found several unsatisfied customers who also purchased a timeshare through Krystal. I have included these unsatisfied consumer’s letters of complaints which were filed with the resort, Bank of America, PROFECO, the Texas and California Attorneys General and the US Department of Justice (please refer to the websites I have listed below):

http://www.tugbbs.com/forums/showthread.php?p=598932
/URL removed/
/URL removed/
/URL removed/
/URL removed/
/URL removed/

Clearly we have all been victims of this fraud.

The fact that my husband and I’s personal information was “leaked” to a rental scam agency is a clear sign that Krystal International Vacation Club operates unlawfully without concern to their client’s confidentiality and does not serve under their client’s best interest. As you can see within the complaints written by other unsatisfied customers, promises of rentals made by Mr. Rafael Septien and his team of unethical employees had never taken place.

In conclusion, my husband and I’s personal information and account information has been breached. The confidentiality of our personal information and financial information has been exploited. When I tried to contact Krystal on July 20, 2008 in regards to the leak of our personal information, the only response was that it was going to be looked into and that someone would be in touch. We have not received any information regarding our complaint since then.

I am requesting that our contract with NH Krystal International Vacation Club be cancelled immediately. I request that a full refund of our account totaling what has been charged to the Bank of America Mastercard in the amount of $5, 718.11 in addition to the charge through CHCC Chicome/Suntrust Bank in the amount of $4, 900 be refunded at once. I have filed a billing dispute with the Bank of America Mastercard. I have also filed complaints with PROFECO, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), and the Connecticut Attorney General’s Office.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Nguyen

Responses

  • By
    Byrbyr Sep 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    With Krystal International Vacation Clun

    1 Votes
  • By
    Byrbyr Sep 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We sadly signed a contract with Keystal March 2015. It has been a nightmare. Can anyone recommend a lawyer?

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anna Nebrat Aug 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Jennifer Nguyen - were you successful in getting the refund when you involved PROFECO, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), and the Connecticut Attorney General’s Office?

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anna Nebrat Aug 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It appears i'm also in a similar predicament. Has anyone heard of any class action law suits taking place, or of any customers successfully getting a refund back? If so, please advise on how.

    Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anna Nebrat Aug 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It appears i'm in the same predicament. I paid in full last year (for the 25) years only to find out how horrible the service and property is. I have requested a refund, and even managed to reach the manager of the hotel. Ultimately, they gave me the run around and refused to do anything. Is there a class action lawsuit currently underway? Alternatively, has anyone been successful in getting their money back? If so, how?

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anna Nebrat Aug 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All:

    I'm facing a similar situation. They've got be going through loops and refuse to refund the money (i paid in full last year). Is anyone aware of any class action law suits taking place, or has anyone personally had any luck getting their money back? If so, please advise how.

    Thanks,
    Anna

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David65 Feb 06, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is this type of complaint still going on? We went to the Krstal in May 2013 for our honeymoon and were also duped. our agreement was to trade our other timeshare to the cost of the new one. Mysteriously, none of the paperwork showed up in our packet. Is there a possible class action lawsuit in the works? I see that no one has posted on here for quite some time. We just now found out about this scam.

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alex Rios Mar 06, 2014

    I'm a victim of these ### too, please if any one knows about a class action lawsuit against these ### please let me know they ripped me off with over 10.000 dollars.

    Contact me at. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brittany Smith Aug 21, 2013

    Timeshare scams are HUGE problem in Mexico. We purchased a Royal Elite Timeshare last year. We were promised all kinds of opportunity, while they kept serving us cold Coronas. Between HSI, RCI, and Royal Elite it seems that this is all a scam. We initially made three payments of $800, and now after Royal Elite has made a mistake with their collections back in the end of 2008, Monterey Financial has been threatening to send me to court to recover the unpaid portion ever since. Royal Elite is almost impossible to contact. This has become a huge pain, and a troubling financial burden. These are more complaints made on the Royal Elite timeshare resorts:

    http://www.timesharescam.com/timeshare-complaints-resorts-black-list/6-royal-elite-sandos-timeshare-complaints/

    We will not go down without a fight. We are working now with PROFECO and will continue to haunt them

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    Evita75 Aug 08, 2013

    I know how you feel, and it seems like this is a common problen in Mexico. I purchased a travel program through Sandos Playacar at Royal Elite Timeshare Resort in Playa del Carmen last March and I requested to cancel within the 5 day grace period but they still have not refunded my down payment of over $9000 US dollars. I have been in touch with people there and they say they are working the process but it takes time. It has now been almost 5 months and I am losing faith they will ever pay me back. This is another forum with more complaints about this company:

    http://www.timesharescam.com/timeshare-complaints-resorts-black-list/6-royal-elite-sandos-timeshare-complaints/

    I believe we should do something about it, as I understand Mexican regulations forbid the offering of gifts, free vacation certificates or any other promotion strategies without informing the consumer the specific purpose of the offer. I want to complaint with PROFECO about this, and get my money back

    0 Votes
  • Th
    ThomasR70 Aug 07, 2013

    I know how you feel, and it seems like this is a common problen in Mexico. I purchased a travel program through Sandos Playacar at Royal Elite Timeshare Resort in Playa del Carmen last March and I requested to cancel within the 5 day grace period but they still have not refunded my down payment of over $9000 US dollars. I have been in touch with people there and they say they are working the process but it takes time. It has now been almost 5 months and I am losing faith they will ever pay me back. This is another forum with more complaints about this company:

    http://www.timesharescam.com/timeshare-complaints-resorts-black-list/6-royal-elite-sandos-timeshare-complaints/

    I believe we should do something about it, as I understand Mexican regulations forbid the offering of gifts, free vacation certificates or any other promotion strategies without informing the consumer the specific purpose of the offer. I want to complaint with PROFECO about this, and get my money back

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SAlibane May 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We were very aggressively and fraudulently pushed into buying a vacation club timeshare at KRYSTAL INTERNATIONAL VACATION CLUB. We were sold a studio unit for a total of 30 weeks over a period of 5 years. We were guarenteed that we would with out any doubt be able to rent the unit for those weeks if we chose not to use them ourselves, and make a profit. We were also told that we would be able to sell the unit if we chose after the first year. The sales person that would absolutely not let us leave was an old Dallas Cowboy football player by the name of RAPHAEL SEPTIEN. Raphael could see we were have serious doubts and really didn't want to sign the contract, so he filled in a rental Application document with the heading of the rental company they refer to for the timeshare owner to have their units rented out, documenting that the amout of the checks we will receive starting March 2012 will be $5, 500. March 2013 $5, 500. March 2014 $5, 500 March 2015 $5, 500 March 2016 $5, 500. and he signed it under Resort Rep. We we got home and contacted Continenetal Connections and spoke with their rep Tim Davis, we were told that they have no affiliation with Krystal and that there is no guarentee of renting the unit or selling it. He also stated that we would be responsible to pay a $695 rental fee and he would not state if he could rent the unit for any of the annual 6 weeks. The rental rep also stated that Krystal had no authority to sign a document under the representation of the rental company documenting any possibility of prices or actual success of renting the unit. So with this circumstance we are going to try relentlessly to cancel our contract and get our money back. It's a complete travesty the way these sales people steel the money from average people with average incomes under frudulent, dishonest, and misleading terms. Any help or advice would be much appreciated!!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KrystalCrooks May 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We did go with a lawyer. Her name is Silvia del C. Herrera Salas you can reach her at [email protected] We also filed disputes with our credit card company. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • An
    annoyed with Krystal May 26, 2011

    HI KrystalCrooks, we're in the same boat. Did you end up going with a lawyer? If so, who did you go with? We have sent an email to PROFECO as well and they are aware of our case but it hasn't been 15-20 days yet, so they can not jump in.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KrystalCrooks May 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And by contact, we sent email...heard nothing back but got the credit a couple of days later. Sigh.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KrystalCrooks May 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We did get our money a couple of weeks ago. They actually started charging us loan payments and when we contacted them, they credited us the full amount plus the loan payment. I am so relieved this ordeal is over.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    judyangel May 18, 2011

    Did you ever get your money back? We have a similiar problem in Pennsylvania with IGLOBE.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    judyangel May 18, 2011

    I have sent things back to CHAZ DEAN many times it takes about six weeks for the refund. You will get it.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KrystalCrooks Apr 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are supposed to receive our refund this week, after PROFECO decided in our favor. We'll see...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Arthur Apr 03, 2011

    All ppl who have been scammed pls contact me we have a grp thats trying to get a class action suite against the Krystal Cancun. We all have been scammed so pls lets keep everyone in the circle as to how to fight back
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Arthur Apr 03, 2011

    Too Krystal and Renee pls forward any info to me there is a group of us who have been scammed as well. what attorney did u use and what lettet did u sd to Profeco [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Re
    ReneeTX Mar 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received an email today from the attorney's office in Mexico and they are very confident we will receive a refund. I will post the outcome in May.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    ReneeTX Mar 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We too hired attorney in Mexico and they have taken our case to PROFECO. Our hearing date is set for 5/9/11. I will post the outcome. I just don't understand why the Mexican Government doesn't stop these criminals!!!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KrystalCrooks Mar 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We were told the same lies about the investment opportunities at Krystal. The next morning I read through the paperwork carefully, realized we had been lied to and decided we needed to cancel. We attempted to hand deliver our cancellation, which was refused. We then hired a lawyer in Cancun who delivered a certified letter. Later we got a letter from the Krystal that basically asked us to sign away all of our rights, but was supposedly to "verify the amount of the refund". Under the advice of our lawyer we did not sign, but told them we would sign after we received our refund. We are now over 15 days and no refund. The lawyer will now go to Profeco in Mexico to pursue our claim. These crooks need to be stopped!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karlee Mar 01, 2011

    Karlee again... well, we're over 30 days from when we submitted our cancellation letter and we were definitely within the 5 day guaranteed cancellation period. We certified and overnighted a letter to their supposed Texas headquarters and also to the place in Cancun where we paid them. they said allow them 15 days to refund our money.. well, still no credit to my bank card or any luck with correspondance with Krystal. rrrrrr!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pine68 Feb 20, 2011

    My wife and I purchased a timeshare in Cabo, and we were told by the salesman that we could rent our unused weeks and actually turn an annual profit. The salesman said that he owned 2 timeshares at the resort and that Peter Dunn was successfully renting them for him. We were connected with Peter Dunn and his company Vacation Network (VNAC) to handle the rentals. We paid an up-front "listing fee" of $599, and in exchange we were supposed to get marketing services from VNAC. In speaking directly with Peter Dunn, he stated to me that he would have no problem quickly getting our unused weeks rented and that he would be in touch. It has been over a year, and we have never heard from Dunn or VNAC again. Calls and messages to Dunn have gone unanswered. When I finally got through to someone, they told me that Dunn was no longer "on my account" and that the unit was being marketed, and they're not brokers and they don't "sell" the units. This is 180 degrees different than what Dunn told me directly and also not consistent with what the salesman at Cabo said. Both are likely working together on this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam SS Feb 04, 2011

    I just returned from Krystal and my girlfriend and they got my girlfriend and I too. I can't believe I'm reading all of this, I am cancelling my contract today. My gut told me not to do this, I just can't believe it. I have been trying to call Krystal and ALL of the numbers are not in service. I would be all for a joint class action law suit. my email address is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karlee Feb 03, 2011

    we are still within the 5 days of paying $5200 USD cash for this "investment" through Krystal and because of everything we've been reading here and other websites, my husband just typed up a notice of cancellation and we plan to certify and overnight it tomorrow morning. I am really bummed about not getting the membership and the access to the RCI properties. My husband is the one who wanted to do this for the investment, me only for the perks and discounts. We just about spent $25, 000 for the investment and thank God we went with our gut and said 'no' to that first pitch (out of many more to come).. They got us at the minimum, and that was after they already told us we can call back to get the same deal if we call back within the time we said we will.. what happened to "this is a one time offer and you will not receive the same one again.".. BAH!! Does anyone know if they at least follow through with all the discounts? I guess we will never know :( my email is [email protected] and a class action suit against Krystal would be great. What gets me the most is that the American guy who did most of the sales pitch says "So what you mean is that you just don't trust me... " "oh no that's not it at all", I say... HAHAHHAHAHA oh man...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Arthur Jan 26, 2011

    I have been scamed as well we all have to stick together and fight to get our $$ back. iam not surprised that they r still scamming ppl as of 01/2011. I am in the process of going thru everyones complaints to c where we begin. Trust me with every breath in my body they will not get away w/ scam little old me!! Beware Krystal has the nerve to have CONCORD SERVCING CORP COLLECTING maintence fees. "THEY ONLY WANT CKING A/C INFO NOT CREDIT CARDS" ****RED FLAG*** wHY was i sent to collection when i was never sent a bill from Krystak Cancun. The collection agency call every wk to obtain my cking a/c info. I dont think so!!! if u rec my credit card info why not chg the card Oh i was told that they have to sd the credit card info back to Cancun for processing, WHYAT u call yourself a collection angency
    my emil [email protected] (ppl pls post ur email so we can get a class action suit going) Carol Arthur

    1 Votes
  • Lu
    Luci K Jan 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    also ripped off by Krystal, scam still going on, january of 2011!!!

    1 Votes
  • Re
    ReneeTX Oct 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Krystal Club got us too!!! The same thing has happened to me and my husband!! We were just there September 2010. BOA told us they will NOT dispute the charge!! Because we signed the contract and it's a "Mastercard" policy that they cannot dispute...that has to be bull crap...anyone have any advice????

    Help!!
    Renee in Texas

    1 Votes
  • Ce
    Cedrickevilas Aug 26, 2010

    As per the contract, you have 5 days to cancel your agreement. We as well, sent certified letters within the timeframe per the contract to cancel. Today is the 15 th day in which our money was to be refunded. We shall see...if not they will be sued for double what we paid them and a class action lawsuit will be filed and you all will get your money back and maybe they will be forced to stop operating.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    alise beccaria Jun 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had a similar issue with those [censor]. We are fighting with BOA but not going anywhere. Any suggestions or advice??

    pleae email [email protected]

    thanks

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    scunhappy Jan 25, 2010

    Same thing happened to me too. Has anyone had any success in getting a refund or making reservations at the rate they promised? Sallyc Tennessee


    s

    1 Votes
  • Is
    Isela Jul 19, 2009

    Thank you to everyone who is sharing their information in regards to the complaints to Krystal in Cancun. My family also has been a victim of fraud from these people and we were ripped off $13, 515.oo, on July 5, 2009.
    It seems so unreal that so many people have been victims and these people are still operating!!!
    Why are these people still able to rip off so many USA and Mexican citizens???
    I am trying to fight this with Hotel Krystal, cancel this unrealistic membership and to recover all of our money. Please give me some help!!!
    All the personnel including the people we talk to during the 90 minute presentation; Ray Rubio, Victor Osorio, Sergio Treviño, refuse to answer any of our phone calls.
    We are desperate as we cannot pay the credit cards these people have already charged, including the Bank of America credit card. Which bring's my attention to say: how is it possible that Back of America works with these people???
    Please help us!!!
    Thanks,
    Rosa Isela
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fraudulent Business Jul 10, 2009

    Krystal Scam!!!

    Please be aware that NH Krystal is scamming US and Canadian Citizens and you could be the next victim. if you want to know a bit more on how they work their deceitful sales practices, log into www.NhKrystalFraud.com

    0 Votes
  • Gb
    GBurns65 Jul 10, 2009

    We cancelled our contract with Krystal within 5 days of signing. I read the contract very carefully and would not have signed but for the provision of cancellation clause.

    We attended the timeshare and all the promises made to others were repeated to us - they even had some RE agent in the US fax a letter stating there's a high demand for weeks at Krystal. I felt that it sounded too good to be true, but decided to give them the benefit of the doubt. Five minutes of research on the Internet proved I should have gone with my first instinct and unfortunately they don't believe in honouring the letter of the contract. They completely ignored our cancellation notice, which we hand delivered, faxed and e-mailed, so when my American Express bill came in, I disputed the charge. After 30 days NH Krystal failed to provide any supporting documentation, so American Express credited our account for the full amount of our downpayment.

    Now they are sending us notices demanding monthly payments. After the first one I send a letter to their office in Miami, stating we had cancelled the contract and included a copy of the cancellation notice. Just 2 days ago they sent a "Late Notice: Third Notice" demanding payment and threatening to send it to a collection agency - ooh I'm scared! I have replied to their notice with a e-mail to [email protected] asking them to stop sending notices or we may take legal action against NH Kyrstal.

    Gregory Burns
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Matt Preston Jun 29, 2009

    While in Cancun we were invited to a 90 minunte timeshare speech. The salesman tour us that if we bought, he would help us renting the week because NH Krystal is very close to the convention center. He assured us there were lots of people looking to rent weeks at Krystal because of the proximity to this place.

    Dumb enough, we believe him. Six months after, we were still waiting for this rental income. We called him several times asking him what was going on until he decided not to take our calls anymore. We searched the internet just to find out that everything we were told was a total lie. We went back to Cancun to cancel and they tried to sell us more!!! It was unbelievable.

    On the way back to the airport, we found an ad of a law firm specialized in timeshare matters. We contact them and they help us cancel and recover our earnest money.

    Please be aware that if you go to a timeshare presentation in Mexico these salesmen will try anything to get you to buy their product. Timeshares are worthless!!!

    If this advice is too late for you, contact www.GonzalezGonzalezLawFirm.com, they will help you cancel. Once they see that you have legal assistance on your side they will give you the respect we all deserve.

    Matt Preston

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad Feb 18, 2009

    Who is interested in some class action?

    0 Votes
  • Vu
    vua Feb 11, 2009

    I am sure N.H. Krystal pays a lot of money to Mexico government, so that they can operate scam freely and catch innocent tourist at the airport.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.