The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Nationstar Mortgageincorrect statements

R

My HELOC was transferred from Principal Bank to Nationstar Mortgage LLC in July 2011. The very first monthly statement was a joke: inaccurate number of days in cycle, inaccurate listing of APR according to the original note, inaccurate mathematics to compute interest (a figure was inserted into the computation line to produce the result Nationstar wanted), inaccurate mathematics to compute account balance, changed ending cycle date from the one indicated in the original note. In addition, the online Account Summary initially indicated a fictitious amount past due and that changed daily. When I intially contacted Customer Service I saw that I was not getting anywhere and I requested a Supervisor who never came to the phone. My former loan servicer, Principal Bank ( still owner of the note), set up a conference call with Nationstar Rep, Kal, who admitted there were problems with the statement. Kal said the he would request someone to research the problems. For this statement I had paid the indicated interest and a substantial amount toward the principal. The problems with this 1st statement were never resolved. I received two more monthly statements (August & September) which still indicate an inaccurate APR and account balance after payment. I e-mailed Mr. Keenan Cain and Eliot Robinson and talked with Nationstar Reps Ryan and Chase Scott. The Reps admitted that these two statements were not entirely correct. It appears Nationstar is not willing to correct the inaccurate statements and provide them to me. I have filed complaints against Nationstar Mortgage with the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission. Since Principal Bank owns the HELOC note I have filed complaints against the bank with the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

Responses

  • Ha
    hailey parker Oct 18, 2016

    My children required IRS 1098 this month and were told about a great service with lots of form templates . If others require IRS 1098 too, here's https://goo.gl/tltjsD.

    0 Votes
  • Dana Shafman Mar 17, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello rhnull and other unhappy Nationstar customers,

    I routinely look for posts to answer in hopes that it will not only bring optimism to those homeowners and borrowers in distress but also some basic information to assist in fighting the banks that are "too big to fail" but yet don't appreciate the bailout that we provided in their time of need. The debt collectors like Ocwen and Nationstar are simply just ### but they can be beat at their own game too just like the big banks can be defeated. I commend you all for knowing your rights and give your further props for asserting your rights with government agencies; that is an excellent strategy!

    You are unfortunately in good company with many distressed Nationstar customers that have been abused just like you all with regard to incorrect and manipulated account statements, misapplied payments, and modification games. All of the aforementioned are violations of the CFPB at face value but I'm sure that if END Consulting dug a little deeper, we could find even more violations in which to hold Nationstar accountable for their abusive and unfair servicing practices. In fact, Nationstar is under much scrutiny right now and the NY regulators have already demanded data from Nationstar per this article http://dealbook.nytimes.com/2014/03/05/n-y-regulator-raises-questions-about-mortgage-firm-nationstar/?_php=true&_type=blogs&_r=0.

    When dealing with Nationstar, it is imperative that you get everything in writing and take copious notes as to your communication, both written and verbal, so that you can prepare a written timeline for the oversight agencies as well as for the Courts in the event foreclosure is escalated. As for the modification games, the new CFPB rules that were implemented on January 10, 2014 strengthen the protections for homeowners to prevent all of the aforementioned complaints from occurring in the future. Check out our daily debt show called "the daily complaint" where we target a complaint daily to review in an effort to provide solutions for distressed homeowners and credit card holders at www dot ENDDebtShow dot com.

    END Consulting is a full service strategic debt and credit consulting firm started in 2006 with expertise is debt negotiations coupled with an exceptional track record of strategic consulting to include the real estate industry with a formidable business foundation. We have successfully assisted over 100 clients in the past year alone in achieving desired results with regards to their mortgage loan(s) by stripping down the validity of the debt and forcing the lender or servicer to work with our clients to provide ethical, legal and affordable mortgage workout solutions. The results that we negotiated for our clients were not on the table for most when we took on the client as it took regulatory muscle and aggressive communication to achieve the desired debt restructuring resolutions.

    I would be happy to elaborate for anyone as we always offer free consultation until we can determine if we can assist you to include contacting the bank and/or servicer for you for free to uncover the options that exist for you in this situation. You can reach me via email at Dana at ConsultingEND dot com or via the web at ConsultingEND dot com. I have had the pleasure of restructuring millions of dollars in debt and helping hundreds of homeowners...my firm is exceptional at what we do!

    Every new beginning comes from some other beginning's END

    Dana Shafman
    Managing Member
    END Consulting
    [protected] Ext 101
    [email protected]
    www.ConsultingEND.com'
    www.ENDDebtShow.com

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NationStar Mortgage Sucks Mar 14, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I retired in November and my mortgage payments were current through December, 2013. My retirement checks from January - March, 2014 has been interim payments while my paperwork is being process. I contact NationStar in January with my situation since I would not be able to make the full payment. A modification was suggest. I completed the modification packet and submitted on January 5, 2014. The employee in the department that handles modification requested that I send (via email) my packet to him. I did. I would follow up (because no one would contact me unless for a payment being late). There would never be anything regarding a modification on my account. In February, a different representative in the modification department request that I send my paperwork to him, that he would take care of it right away. I did. I call in early March and there is still not any information on my account regarding a modification. I have written tons of email on the NationStar website. In March, I called again and a female representative suggest that I put my modification packet in the mail (all 85 pages). I did and I had it track. On March 12th they email me with my "Loan Specialist". I sent her an email and I copied the NationStar website. I did received a voice message from the Loan Specialist requesting that I email her my packet. This would be the fourth time of me sending my personal information to people I do not know. (BankAmerica sold my account to NationStar, I'm a resident of North Carolina and NationStar is in Texas). I did not send my documents. I received a response to one of my emails to contact the manager or assistant vice president. I responded to the email that I will not because at this point the manager and assistant vice president need to be contacting me. At this point I will be meeting with my Senator's office and filing a complaint and since the company is doing business in both North Carolina and Texas, the Better Business Bureaus for these state will also be notified. I will be filing a complaint with the U.S. District Court against the employees who request that I forward my information to them and nothing ever updated on my account. This is identity theft.

    0 Votes
  • In
    Incompetence Magnified Jan 11, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In less than a year this incompetent company has stressed us out. The payments made are consistently credited incorrectly and we have to call every month to have the payment corrected. If they get the payment before the due date, they process it toward the principal even when the check is dated correctly and the payment coupon is included. If you pay more than the "contracted amount" (which must be the phrase on the 3x5 card they read) the system posts it to the principal. So we decided to send the payment closer to the due date so they wouldn't have that problem and now they say they haven't received our payment! So either it's lost in the mail or their mailroom and we have to make the payment over the phone and then they say if they receive the check they'll credit it to next months payment - and yet we know that won't happen. Bottom line is that we will have to make 2-3 mortgage payments within 30 days to make sure we're not past due. Can't win with these people and quite frankly have a difficult time understanding the accents on most of the customer service reps. which adds to the frustration.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.