National Home Gardening Clubthe offer of the coupon card is very misleading

N
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

In June of 2011, I received an offer to join the National Home Gardening for the two year rate of $24.00. I was told that I would receive, for this money, “Gardening How-To” magazine, some packets of seeds, 4 free gifts and some other items.

The 4 free gifts are as follows: 1) Fiskars bypass pruner, 2) Kneelinjg cushion, 3) $20.00 in Gas rebates and 4) $100 Grocery Coupon Card.

On July 1, I sent my check for $24.00. I am not much of a gardener but I figured how could I go wrong with these free gifts. After repeated inquiries, I finally received the pruner and kneeling cushion in Sept. I did also receive a voucher for 4 $5.00 gas rebates, one to be used each of the next 4 quarters of the year.

A few weeks ago, I finally received a form to fill out to receive my $100 grocery coupon card. I was to fill it out and send it in with a stamped, self addressed envelope to then receive my card. Did that. Today, Nov 14, I received my “Grocery Coupon Card”. It is a list of over 900 products and 10 stamps. Each of these 10 stamps are marked “Grocery Coupon Certificate $10 and an expiration date of 9/30/2012. I am supposed to pick 48 of my favorites products from the list and send back that list of my favorites with one of the $10 stamps. I am to enclose $1.00 for handling and a stamped, self addressed envelope and I will then receive $10.00 worth of coupons for some of those products that I picked. These coupons may expire in as little as two weeks after I receive them. Then I am supposed to repeat this process each month for 10 months, altho the $10 coupons are only good until 9/30/2012.

I actually have probably gotten my original $24.00 worth but feel that I would never have joined their club without the offer of the free gifts. The offer of the coupon card is very misleading. I would like others to know of this so they can be forwarned.

Responses

  • Ll
    L. Lane Sep 13, 2013

    i was also misled by the "sweet" deals offered by the nhgc in that the offered free coupons, products to test and to keep, and allured into what has turned out to be a fancy 'front' for a high priced book club. I finally pounded the "O" button on my cell phone enough to get thru the maze of computer prompts and got a warm body on the other end. Ms jones was providing the "puppet -like" responses she had been given and she finally informed me that she could not access the info I needed due to computers being backed up(during peak business hours). I find this difficult to apprehend that a club with over a million members could not properly answer simple queries about my newly established membership. Items promised were not included and I was required to jump thru another hoop to receive the services promised. At that time I told her that I would formally send my request for the stated member fee refund because I was not at all satisfied with the services rendered according to their agreement for my member dues. I asked her what were the titles of the upcoming selections. She told me there were several collections including over sixty titles @ $24, 99 +$4.99 S$H. that comes to over $1800.00 just in book fees if I kept them all. It would take an awful lot of products to test to offset the allure of the perks promised! I'M OUT!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Janice Farver Aug 14, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My membership entitled me to all privileges and benefits of membership. Listed: Gardening How-To magazine with Club News. Free Product Give-Aways. Free Product testing opportunities and reports. And much, much more! National Home Gardening Club PO Box 3416 Minnetonka, MN 55343 member# 045855. No reply to letter, magazine and news stopped.

    Comments
    Comments

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    Joyce Kostyniuk Aug 20, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have been a life member since 2000 and havent recived anything for years just wondering why this is my membership number is [protected] i would like an answer back please and thank you

    2 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Locklear Apr 21, 2019

    I paid for life time membership May 2005. My member number [protected] and my address 3241 Moss Neck Rd. Pembroke, NC 28372.

    I would like refund of all money paid. Some of us struggle to make ends meet and then you got people taking advantage of that. Pretty sure y'all not struggling to make it after stealing people's hard earned money.

    3 Votes
  • Ga
    Gaye Quick Nov 04, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought the lifetime membership and I moved so I looked it up on the internet after receiving nothing. I can't believe they are not honoring the membership. This is highway robbery. They should have to give our money back. No integrity at all. This is stealing.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.