Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Medical Negligence and Deficiency Laser Spine Institute no morals
More
N
Author of the complaint
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have been in the medical field for well over 17 years, and this is the first company I have ever worked for that did nothing buy lie to their employees and their patients.

LSI was something that I was hoping to have a career with. During their presentation they give to all new hires, this is a company that speaks highly of family, integrity, their surgeons, employees and would do anything for you. BULL, THIS IS NOT THE CASE. THIS COMPANY IS FAKE AND CARES NOTHING ABOUT YOU.

This company I have watched push people into having surgery. SELL surgery! They do not follow up with their patients after surgery and they are not there for them when heaven for bid a problem would arise. They refer you to PSD. Patient Service Department. Are you kidding me? A Patient Service Department? What ever happened to speaking with the surgeon who just performed a $30k or $18k surgery on you? You can't. You don't even see that surgeon at your post operative visit. You see an MA or an LPN. Quick too, because post operative visits are not suppose to be any longer than 10 minutes.

My job was to talk the company up. Tell patients that our statistics were over 90% and they would be better off with LSI, than any other surgeon. Get their money and get them on the schedule. Get them in and get them out. Push, Push Push. Listen to the patient and pretend that you want to help. Little did the patient know, the company is only trying to hit their monthly goal. The patients are only a number. And an expensive one at that, while the CEO and the VP's all pocket highly from it.

Truth is, being in medical and understanding values and morals I could no longer handle that my job was to hit a number. That these patients who were looking to me for re-assurance, I could not give my heart felt truth. I had to give the LSI truth.

And if you didn't hit your numbers, guess what? You weren't performing and you will be replaced. Well I love my patients, and I have learned that those patients come to us for help. For comfort and for guidance. I could no longer take the pressure to push so much, and basically be a car salesman. It wasn't in me. I morally felt wrong. And anytime I would question something that I knew in my heart was wrong, I was repramanded for it and pretty soon all my questions got me fired. Right out the door. And on my way out, I had to sign lots of paperwork indicating that I would never sue or disclose any information.

Well, I am now and I fell 100% better informing anyone who looks into their horrible horrible so called company. They do not care for patients, they laugh at them, make jokes and sketch on them during surgery when the patient is under anesthesia. HIPAA, ya right. There is an unconditional amount from one patient to the next that is out in the open for EVERYONE to see. And the staff, 90% of them had no medical background what so ever.

How can someone open a surgery center, run a medical practice when their only background was Outback Steakhouse and Red Lobster. You should read the other Laser Spine Institute complaints. All are true. All are so horribly true. That company is nothing but FAKE and only wants what is best for them, $$ money. They do not want what is best for a patient. They simply do not care.

ADVERTISIMENT
Oct 22, 2010 10:18 pm

You must be a complete idiot and have nothing better to do, than to "try" to make yourself seem like you have some sort of an education. You can't even spell let alone use punctuation well.

I am making statements about "what I know". NOT by second hand info, although that has helped since there are people who work there that speak about it.

So "stealth pilot" you are the one who should be ashamed, simply because you are an idiot and you seem to think you know all. Unless you have worked there, been fired from there or are a part of the "boys club" from there, then you have no room what so ever to talk.

Oct 05, 2010 5:52 pm

then you should keep to yourself since you have no truth about the company, you haven't worked there, you know of no one who has, your not a patient and all you do is make comments and jokes on your main page.

this is a serious matter where people are reaching out to others who have somehow been affected by LSI, which clearly you have not.

some of us have, and most of us have seen the negativity and know of the stories that have been seen first hand.

Sep 15, 2010 2:11 pm

there is about 2 people still working there that do know and they know. they also know that the nurse and/or whoever cleared him for surgery is under investigation.

so i am not accusing, just stating what has already been told. you don't refuse aftercare which in the medical world is called "post operative" care, when you are sent to a hotel room until your next day post operative appointment just a few short hours after the procedure.

Sep 15, 2010 2:00 pm

well, just two weeks ago they had their first death occur after surgery. i have no idea what all the details are but i do know he died in the hotel room shortly after surgery. also, that he should have never been cleared to have the procedure due to his own medical issues.

that company has hired and fired everyone who helped set them up in arizona all within their first year of opening. all of the people that know what they do, how they go around and how they lie, are all gone. that should tell you something right there. the more you know, the quicker you are let go.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Laser Spine Institute complaints & reviews

Laser Spine Institute - buyer beware
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Laser Spine Institute - careful! scam!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Laser Spine Institute - lsi treats their employees like garbage
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Laser Spine Institute - lawsuit filed in florida
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Laser Spine Institute - terrible
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Laser Spine Institute - no complaint
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
31 comments
Add a comment
G
Sep 24, 2015 12:43 pm

Is this still going on? My husband was fired from LSI. His story sounds remarkably similar to Not Allowed to Speak's

Helpful?
0 0
U

I cannot think of a more awful scam in the world than Laser spine Institute...

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jan 16, 2014 12:43 pm

I had C 5, 6 herniation repair in April 2012. For 2 plus years I had injections, RF ablasions, PT etc. LSI was the first place to offer me a surgery that did not involve hardware or fusion of my Cervical spine. The facility and the staff were outstanding. My Doctor ( Dr. Luke) was there before and after surgery. I've had knee, shoulder surgeries in the past and I work in the medical field. LSI in Scottsdale was the BEST medical experience I have had from beginning to end. I am, and have been 98% pain free since my surgery. When I awoke from surgery I could feel my fingers and the numbness was gone for the first time in over a year. Twice since surgery I have taken Ibprofen for some heavy lifting I have done. Otherwise, my career as a medical helicopter pilot would have ended 12 years before it had too. We wear flight helmets and Night Vision Goggles. I would, and have recommended them to others. You should do your homework though and get opinions from people who specialize in what you need. Do your research. I for one am very pleased with the entire experience and results.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Oct 25, 2012 12:43 pm

lets see if they will keep this post on their page. My last comment was removed. But for all who are looking for relief from back issues, read on...
I had a procedure done at Laser Spine Institute in Tampa and they did the bait and switch routine on me.. I was scheduled to have Dr. Prada, but the day of surgery, Dr.(?) Ashraf Ragab introduced himself as the surgeon(?) that was going to do the procedure. L4-L5 Lamenectomy. The procedure was done on 25 July 2012.
I am in such severe, intense pain after this procedure, (started about 3 weeks after and continues today.. 25 Oct.) Pain that I never knew existed.
I had a post surgical MRI done and reviewed by a local neurosurgeon. He laughed when he read the surgical report from Ragab while looking at the MRI images. Ragab missed everything he was supposed to do. The incision was in the wrong place, work was done in the wrong place, etc. I'm serious... run for the hills if you are referred to this guy. What a joke!
Please PM me at any time for more details.
oh, and for those concerned about the tricare insurance... it did cover it, but the initial billing will surprise you. I had one charge of $34k+.. another for $36k+ and several more that were a lot less. total was probably around $73-75k.
I think i would've had a different story if Prada actually did my procedure. He was the one who 'studied' my mri, talked with me the day before, etc.
Oh, one last thing... the report that the surgeon types up after the procedure was an absolute lie. Like I said, I had no idea that this guy would be doing my surgery, yet on the report, he states that we had quite the conversation as to what he was going to do. He even stated that what he told me POST procedure, was explained PRE procedure.
I'm sure they have their bases covered, but I will be speaking with a law firm to pursue this. I've got nothing but time on my hands now because this procedure has given me the most intense pain that I have ever felt... and has also led me to unemployment.
Don't even chance it... DO NOT let this person do anything to you!

Helpful?
0 0
W
Oct 11, 2012 12:43 pm

LKA can you not read. You say that the patients don't give any background. I had their so called operation and was taken to the cleaners. I also suppose that the story Bloomberg News did on them lacks any background. Its so obvious that you are on their payroll.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Sep 10, 2012 12:43 pm

I am looking for legitimate complaints about the surgery institute. I like to fully research good or bad doctors and hospitals before I even go for an appointment. But the few complaints I just read, just complain without giving any background. Such as: "This is a terrible place, let them advertise all they want"... or "LSI just cares about how many surgeries not about the patient"...
Why is it terrible? Why do you say they don't care about the patient?
Look, I don't know you from Adam's house cat and I am not going to put stock into your complaints unless you give me some of the information that lead you to this conclusion so I can come up with my own. With people I don't know and/or don't know if you have special credentials that would allow me to believe what you say without verification, if your going to complain start saying why you don't like them or why I should run from them quickly.
Really people, give some background so I can say Oh wow, they did that. Now I think people are just writing things to be mean. Just my two cents.

Helpful?
0 0
W
Aug 29, 2012 12:43 pm

Take everything you read about LSI on this and the many other complaint sites with a grain of salt. They have more shills on their payroll than you can imagine. They will truly do anything to get your money. I know this for a fact . They performed their so called operation on me Nov 07. You cannot imagine the nightmare I have been through since then. The hundreds of complaints on this and other sites aren't here for no reason. PLEASE DO YOUR HOMEWORK.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Jun 30, 2012 12:43 pm

This sounds like people with a personal axe to grind. I had surgery at Laser Spine and it was terrific. They took such good care of me and my wife. From beginning to end it was truly remarkable all I know is I can dance with my wife again and I am off the narcotics. I would recommend laser spine to everyone.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jun 11, 2012 12:43 pm

I belive LSI JUST CARES ABOUT HOW MANY SURGERIES they not ABOUT the Patient

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 08, 2012 12:43 pm

Completed agreed with person who wrote comments about "Laser Spine Institute", not only are wrong on "Medical treatments", they employees are no values for the company, they use employees for few month and fired before giving benefits without any reasons. Specially in Billing/Appeals Dpmt, if you don't go often to Clay Grossman (Director) or Mark (Manager and through people under the buss they don't like you...Is a place with a really bad "KARMA"...Please don't go there, do not refer absolute any patient, do not do any type of bussiness with this place and pass the voice to other.

Helpful?
0 0
U

This is a terrible place and it needs to be closed. Let them advertise all they want. God sees everything, he/she knows what they do and what they have done. There is nothing that will ever change my feeling about this.

Helpful?
0 0
W
Mar 11, 2012 12:43 pm

I also had surgery there in Nov 07. Can honestely say that it was the worst experience of my life. The operation was a complete failure. It did seem to help a month or so then the steriods that they injected during the surgery wore off and I was back to where I was before surgery. I also had to put up 30k but was assured by LSI that I would be fully reimbursed. After over two years of fighting with ins received only about 6k. I asked LSI about their assurance that I would be reimbursed. They basically told me tough luck and would refund nothing. The 30k was my retirement fund. Before I realized how I had been taken I regretfully told a friend of mine about them. His financial results were similar to mine but his physical results were even worse. Had to have a three level fusion shortly after their procedure. Hope anyone that reads this will stay away. Bloomberg news recently did a story on them that hopefully will help expose them for what they are. I could go on and on about my nightmare with them but will leave it here. There certainally is a reason for the hundreds of complaints on this and the many other sites concerning them. Their PR department does a good job but how they treat their desperate patients will catch up with them eventually.

Helpful?
0 0
I
Feb 15, 2012 12:43 pm

@BlueStarOkie: I am so glad you and I both came to visit this site. Isn't it horrifying? I am still in pain two months since my re-injury but am actually so thankful that I did not step forth with the procedure and funds! I keep thinking of the poor people that didn't take a minute to research and ended up with a lot of money upfront and no 'promising' results.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Feb 14, 2012 12:43 pm

Thanks for helpful reviews, especially Irene26. I have been in contact with Mr. Bobby H. with LSI since a week ago, after first submitting my MRI results. After I said I'd discuss this with my husband, I received an email stating if I didn't respond soon, they would close my case. I responded, asking by what time frame they needed to know. My gut feeling is that this was a "hard sell" approach. Next thing, he asked to verify my insurance, but never addressed my question. I grew suspicious, and started looking for reviews because although his words are all about getting me relief from my pain (assuming he knows what my condition is - he's way off on particular symptoms), he wanted to see whether we could afford the treatment. Glad I found this site and read the reviews. Thank you!

Helpful?
0 0
I
Jan 18, 2012 12:43 pm

I highly agree with these said complaints. Injured my back roughly 7 years ago, underwent two spinal surgeries with some relief for years. Due to a recent re-injury per sae of my lower back and being told I would need a fusion, I wanted to seek further options as the fusion can be a lengthy recovery. I found the LSI to be 'promising' so I called and spoke to a 'Bobby' who immediately tried to 'upsale' the procedure. I knew something wasn't right when he said to get insurance and call back. I went on to my Husband's insurance through his employer (through a strenuous fight to get me on with the hope of a 'cure'). We called him back less than a week later with the insurance info. He said he would verify benefits and call me back with the information/costs. He called me and stated that the cost for me out of pocket would be $11, 000! He said the cash pay for this procedure is $21, 000 but that they would bill my insurance $60-70, 000 and hope to get paid around $30+K. This is insurance fraud. My mother who is a CEO of a large medical facility called 'Bobby" back to speak with him about his 'upfront cost' and he hung the phone up. We have left several messages to review any more potential information that we would need to make a decision and they won't call back...Why? Because we weren't stupid and knew they NEVER checked benefits w/ our insurance company and better yet they NEVER even reviewd my MRI as promised too, that is a bold lie! Long story short, I am glad I came across these mortifying reviews because it saved me and my family a lot of financial hardship and grief.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Dec 05, 2011 12:43 pm

In some ways I agree, others I don't. I found them to be very cordial with no indication of any "laughing or other" comments. I will say that I do believe they misled me somewhat in almost promising (90%) chance of full relief. That did not happen and now 6 months out of surgery my pain has returned. They do not do a good job of followup with their patients, it is almost like a long distance lover relationship. My surgery was in Oklahoma City and the doctor who did the surgery was from Arizona and came in one week a month to perform the surgeries. When I called them back, they offered to review another MRI if I wanted to obtain one (my expense of course) and possibly offer further surgical suggestions (again at my expense if needed). LSI is not a network provider for mine (or probably most) insurance plans in Oklahoma, so the cost can be hefty. Bottom line is, they seem to be the Walmart of surgery, sometimes you get a good deal, sometimes you don't, but you won't ever get the personal service you would from a specialty store.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 19, 2011 12:43 pm

if all the surgeons as Laser Institute are bad, then where do we go from here? we thought this surgery would change both my husbands life (he suffers) and my life...now what do we do? where do we go from here? is there any hope left in this world for hope, recovery, and happiness?

Helpful?
0 0
P
Jun 09, 2011 12:43 pm

I too, had the LSI lumbar spine "state of the art" procedure! I never saw th same doctor twice! I saw my surgeon in the recovering room for about 5 mins after surgery. I told him I was in more pain now than ever! He told me "that was normal" and you have to allow about 4-6 wks for recovery. wow! They sure didn't mention that at any of the (3), seminars I attended in Scottsdale! In the followup phone calls, I kept reporting that I felt more in pain than ever (after 6 wks) they told me again to wait 6 more wks! So on and so forth for many mos. We have BC/BS and had to pay $20, 000 out of pocket! We are sick! We got scammed big time!

Helpful?
0 0
P
Jun 09, 2011 12:43 pm

In June 2009, I had lumbar spine surgery. I attended three seminars in Scottsdale, 2 yrs before. I was continuously told by various LSI doctors that I could expect to be 80% better. The afternoon before the surgery, after all tests were completed, I was told by yet another LSI surgeon (btw never saw the same doctor twice) that I could only expect to be up to 30% better! That was my huge clue to run, run, run and never look back! I have BC/BS and it still cost my husband and I over $20, 000 out of pocket! Bottom line, "if it's too good to be true, it usually is"! Stay away from LSI and save your $$$

Helpful?
0 0
C
Mar 17, 2011 12:43 pm

I received treatment for my disk a couple of years ago at LSI. They used what they called a state of the art procedure to shrink the disk by heating it . After paying $30, 000 cash I have had zero improvement. First they changed my surgeon after I was prepped for the surgery. That surgeon only spoke to me for about 5 minutes. He cut me off when I tried to ask if the procedure could cause stenosis and said we'll talk about that later. After the procedure the surgeon didn't even talk to me or my husband who also happens to be a surgeon. My husband has never neglected to talk to family members after a surgery and could not believe they did not talk to him. I was told don't expect the pain to improve for several weeks, which it never did. Then I was sent to be discharged by one female employee who seemed to be overwhelmed by the fact that she had to discharge three other people at the same time. She had me walk out without a back brace. The next day I was seen by a nurse practitioner at my follow-up. She wanted me to wear a brace. I didn't appreciate not seeing a real doctor for my follow-up. During the whole process I felt like I was just a part of a herd of cattle they were trying to get taken care of. It's definitely not worth the money, the time, nor even the phone call to LSI. The place is a scam.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Feb 17, 2011 12:43 pm

Not Allowed... thank you for your comments and insights. While there will always be recalcitrant ex-employees at any company... individuals who will trash their former employers out of a visceral sense of rage... I sense that yours is a sincere and at least reasonably accurate perspective. Furthermore, I agree with the general tone you described. I have only been to a seminar and spoken by phone with LSI reps and already I'm dealing with punky kids with no professionalism. The surgeon at the seminar, moreover, spent all of 60 seconds looking at my MRI images and speaking with me. I already feel like dollar sign! I think I'll go elsewhere for my cervical spine surgery. Thanks again for your help.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Dec 20, 2010 12:43 pm

It is sooooooooooooooo expensive to be alive and well. $32, 000.00?
I am not sure my medicare/Tricare For Life. These doctors are overpaid!

Helpful?
0 0
T
Oct 27, 2010 12:43 pm

I am currently 28 days post-op. I went in after years of intermittent back pain, and six months of radiating pain through my buttock down to my toes. I will admit, the pre-op procedures are much like getting onto a flight with Southwest Airlines. They just push cattle through the chute. But the surgery was 100% effective and I had zero pain after the operation. The post-op visit did not include a visit with the surgeon. I saw him for a total of 10 minutes before the surgery. They were very brief as to post-op wound care and physical therapy. I've had one follow-up call yesterday to check my progress. The surgery was expensive. I have Blue Cross and they told me the total cost was $32, 000, and my share, after insurance, was $8, 000, which they require up front. So as you can see, there are both pros and cons. Hope this was helpful.

Helpful?
0 0

Boy! I am really torn about committing to LSI for a procedure to relieve my lower back pain. I've been told by a representative of LSI that they are part of the PHCS network and that Guardian Insurance Co will pay all but $200 of the cost of the procedure. The Dr. that looked at my MRI also wanted to see an xrays of my spine in extension so he could determine whether or not the LSI procedure will be effective. I have the xrays, but have been put off by the negative comments and the possibility of lawsuits. I have also been considering the AccuraScope technique, but the collection of negative information about Dr. Rothstein has made me very wary about this procedure. It sounds too good to be true, but seems to make perfectly good sense. So, I'm thinking that the device may work for lots of back issues, in spite of the fact that Dr. Rothstein has been sued a zillion times and has no medical malpractice insurance. T he Dallas facility seems to be relatively free of these issues, which all seem to be directed to the Ohio practice. So, I'm still on the fence and probably going to get yet another epidural to put a band aid on the pain.
I'd love to hear any comments on this blog.
Thanks
DJG

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jul 26, 2010 12:43 pm

The complaint does not, in any way, bear on our good experience at LSI.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jul 26, 2010 12:43 pm

My wife had surgery at LSI in Scottsdale about a year ago. We were treated very well at the facility and her back pain has been greatly reduced. We have received followup ca lls and letters asking about her progress. On a scale of 1 - 10, I give them at least an 8.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jun 21, 2010 12:43 pm

There are many things you can do. For starters, I would try to find a malpractice law firm in Tampa, FL. In the meantime, I would get a doctor expert opinion and not from the state of FL either. I would go out of state. I live in PA thus I will be getting a doctor expert in that state or NJ or DE. I hope to find a good neorolgist.

In the meantime, I would contact the Florida Board of Health and put in a complaint against LSI.
Contact a Bar Association outside of Tampa County. There are too many defendant law firms in that county that get paid big bucks to help out LSI. Look at EHeathforum.com and check out further complaints against LSI as well.

Stay in touch!

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jun 21, 2010 12:43 pm

there must be something that we can do

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jun 21, 2010 12:43 pm

we need to stand together

Helpful?
0 0
H
Apr 20, 2010 12:43 pm

Comments like yours have been what has kept me from seeking any type of alternative or relief from pain due to degenerative disk/spine disease for well over 15 years. At that time, I was told I'm too far gone and inoperable, so I've just lived with pain ranging from 1 to 100% regularly. I'm now at my witts end, and am seeking "something" to help me. I've had continuous pain for over 4 months now, and really can't even find a painless position to sleep in. It's driving me nuts. My girlfriend receives text ads on her cell for LSI continuously, and gave me the info today to look into. From tax scams (JK Harris lawsuit) to electric cheese slicers, I've experienced them all. So before I read the seller's info, I read the complaint info.
So, with what I've read, I'm better off suffering some more rather than being made a slab of beef. Thanks for the head's up! [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
D
Mar 01, 2010 12:43 pm

Thank you for letting me know what I didn't want to hear. Because, I was lied to, sold too, and returned to damage goods. I am so upset since my surgery in 2008. It has prevented me to return to work full time. Stay on hard core pain killers, and continue treatments. most recently i have pelvic pain which feels like scar tissue or build up in the pelvis area. I need your help fast. Please contact me.

Thanks,

email [email protected] I need to take action against this company. Thanks!

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

36 complaints
16 resolved 20 unresolved

Laser Spine Institute contacts

(added by reviewer)
5332 Avion Park Drive, Florida United States
ADVERTISIMENT