The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
LakmeLAKME and STREET WEAR selling Expired Cosmetics

LAKME and STREET WEAR are selling their Expired Cosmetics and products whose Expiry date is fast approaching/near.


Incident No.1: I bought a LAKME High definition Eye-liner from Health & Glow store at Bangalore's shopping mall 'The Forum' on June 2009.
I used it twice and started feeling itchiness on the skin above my eye lashes. Once the upper part of eye lids slightly swollen with a kind of mild infection.
Later I realized the Eye liner was the culprit and checked its expiry date. It was expired 2 months back when I bought it at the store.
Unfortunately i did not have the bill to register a complaint against this incident.

Product Manufacturing date: April 2007
Batch No. : B003

Purchase date at store: June 2009.


Also there was one more Lakme Product (Lakme Nine-To-Five Defining Lip-liner) I bought on the same day. Its Expiry date was fast approaching/near.

I mean the product does not show what is its Expiry date. It is not printed any where on the product.
Usually any cosmetic has to used with in 2 years from the day of manufacturing.

Product Manufacturing date: October 2007
Batch No. : 1K7

Purchase date at store: June 2009.


Incident No. 2: Again it was my forgetfulness to buy LAKME and STREET WEAR products (especially at outlets like HEALTH & GLOW).
Yesterday (23rd January 2010) I bought a STREET WEAR lip-liner/lip-definer from HEALTH & GLOW at Koramangala, Bangalore.

Today I half-tored the bill for the product and immediately realised to check the expiry date of the product.
As suspected the product is an expired one (or near approaching the expiry time). There is no Best before usage date or the instruction when it reaches the Expiry date from the day of its manufacturing.
It just printed only the manufucturing date and has not mentioned the expiry date on any of the STREET WEAR products.


I still have that half-tored bill with me. I'm not sure if it may suffice to register any legal complaint against the Health & Glow store or the STREET WEAR Company.

Store Address:
Health & Glow
No. 116, 80 ft Road,
Opp. Raheja Arcade,
Koramangala 7th Block,
Bangalore -59


Bill No. [protected]

Product Manufacturing date: 12/2007
Batch No. : 66K7
Purchase date: 23rd January 2010.


Also i want to register a separate complaint against Health & Glow store located at No. 116, 80 ft Road, Opp. Raheja Arcade, Koramangala 7th Block, Bangalore -59
and one more Health & Glow store at 'The Forum' shopping mall at Koramangala, Bangalore.

These Health & Glow stores at the above mentioned locations are selling Expired Cosmetics (LAKME, STREET WEAR etc...).

No matter what kind of high-end store we visit, we are getting bad quality products. You must personally check the expiry dates even at other outlets and stores too when buying such sensitive products.

So I want you people to be aware of all the LAKME and STREET WEAR Products (any cosmetic for that matter..) and the greedy and cheap stores like HEALTH & GLOW.

  • Lakme India's response · Aug 26, 2020

    Dear Ritika,

    Thank you for reaching out to us.

    Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

    Be assured that all our products go through stringent quality checks before they are released in the market.

    To help us assist you further regarding Lakme product, we request you to contact us on our toll free number [protected] or email at [email protected]

    Our advisors will be happy to assist you.

    Your Sincerely,

    Pooja Sarkar
    Levercare Expert
    Hindustan Unilever Limited

Responses

  • Be
    BettyeRocks Dec 17, 2010

    Try using checkcosmetic.net website to verify manufacture and expiration date for your cosmetics by the lot number printed on it.

    0 Votes
  • No
    novelty fancy Sep 30, 2009

    we dont get regular supply of lakme products . its very irregular. and there is no proper response.we are the dealer of lakme produts for past 30 years.even after contacting HUL office of chennai there is no proper response

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.