Jacob Law GroupHarassment

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I sent this collection agency a cease and desist letter 2 months ago and they are still calling. I am sending the second notice ou today, July 9, 2010. Not only do they not know what cease and desist means, they call all hours of the day, before and after legal hours and on Sundays. They also have talked to minors about my debts, which is against the law in all states. When talking to collectors, they talk to you like you are not a person or that you are a relative. I am neither and I expect respect. No other collection agency calls this much and breaks laws in the process. Citing Commercial Code Law# 806 Harassment: 5 and 6, 807:3, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, and 14. These are laws that govern what and how collectors may collect for a business re: credit. The laws also say that the debtor can directly pay the original business the debt owed without going through collections.

Responses

  • Sc
    SCTTHIL May 21, 2014

    They called my home looking for someone with the same name as my wife, who lived in a city where we never lived. They insisted that we give them personal information such as social security number over the phone to verify who they were looking for, we refused. I told them to give me the last 4 of the social of the person they were looking for so I could verify, but she said it's against the law. So it's ok for me to give them information, but not ok for them to give me information? After arguing with them, I gave them 4 numbers and told them to figure what they were and they realized they were barking up the wrong tree. The employees at Jacob Law Group needs to learn how to treat people with respect. If the situations were reversed, I'm sure they would appreciate being treated with respect. ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY ARE CALLING THE WRONG PEOPLE!!!
    Sometimes people fall on hard times due to no fault of their own and can't pay their bills. If this happens call or write your creditors and most of the time they can work with you.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnybegoood Dec 19, 2012

    This company Jacob Law group sucks. They call you 6 times a day. And break every law out there. They call on Sundays with a computer saying you need call back. So u do and they are ### you ask them stop calling and they tell u they call 5 times a day until I pay. Gus's what Jacob law group. U can take your job and shove it. You will never see anything from me. You broke the law and this is phone harassment. Now I do not ow anything it is Ohio law that it is paid in full now . Good luck getting anything from me

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Benjoh Nov 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If they keep sending you letters, you may have to send them a cease and desist letter. Make sure it is certified mail. Keep the green card when it comes back.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harrassedcustomer Nov 07, 2012

    I agree with Benoh, Jacob Law Group is just Phishing for information. They send us a debt collection over a year now for a name that does not match any names in the household. We have called 3 times and still they send the letters. Some companies are so hard up for money they will do anything to try to collect

    0 Votes
  • So
    Someonewhocares1 Jan 05, 2012

    WOW! To contact someone with no legitimate purpose is considered harrassment. However, if someone has not paid their bill it could be for a number of reasons. Financial hardship, loss of job, illness. So lets not be so quick to judge the circumstances. I have collected bills for over 10 years. People are real, not a bag of crap to kick around. Everyone has something going on and if you cant find out what it is and work with them instead of against them...maybe you should find another job!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Benjoh Dec 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Debt Collectors, If the Original Creditor has not yet sent out 1099Cs for write offs or charge offs, then they legally own the debt not you. If they have not yet sent out those same 1099Cs to the IRS, then they still own the debt. It cannot be legally charged off or wrote off until the IRS gets it. So you people and Debt lawyers and debt lawyer students need to think about this. This is in the the U. S. Tax Laws.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Benjoh Dec 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To all Debt collectors, if the oritigainal creditor hasn't sent out 1099Cs for the write off or chaarge off, then you don't own it. They also have to send this info to the IRS. Well guess what, if they are sending them to the IRS and not sending them to their customers, then they still own these charged off accounts. How can you all say you own something when in reality you don't. It can't be a real charge off or write off until the IRS gets those 1099Cs.

    2 Votes
  • In
    invertedrose Sep 28, 2011

    Hey "Debt collector" why don't you go get a real job instead of calling people whom you don't even know up and harassing them? I was a debt collector in high school (shows how little education you need to be a debt collector) and I quit because I just had too much dignity and no, social services are NOT for that, you ignorant fool. It's really the credit agencies fault for loaning out credit cards to people with BAD or NO credit. Don't let these people scare you, they are not attorneys, it's just a common scare tactic.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    the debt collector Aug 22, 2011

    FIRST OF ALL...
    IF A COLLECTION AGENCY IS CALLING YOU THEN YOU ARE IRRESPONSIBLE.
    ALL YOU PEOPLE SHOULD PAY YOUR BILLS AND STOP COMPLAINING. IF YOU ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE AND MATURE ENOUGH TO HANDLE THE SIMPLE CONCEPT OF BORROWING AND REPAYING MONEY (you borrowed and promised to repay)THEN YOU SHOULD GO FILE FOR BANKRUPTCY AND THEN GO DOWN TO SOCIAL SERVICES AND APPLY FOR FOOD STAMPS AND WELFARE SO YOU CAN ONCE AGAIN GET SOMETHING FOR FREE... DEADBEATs

    -1 Votes
  • Se
    Sebastian2623 Apr 14, 2011

    Benjoh, I hope you get this message ... STOP LYING! I work there and have for 3 years, and at no point has the company EVER been open on a Sunday. Our systems shut down after we leave for the day which would directly prevent us from calling you before 8a.m. CST or after 9p.m. CST. What boggles me is the fact that even though you know why you're being called, you for some reason feel that you're not obligated to pay. Please, pay your bill, ma'am. #THATISALL

    -1 Votes
  • Co
    Confused in Brea Ca Apr 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you for the heads up

    -1 Votes
  • Be
    Benjoh Jul 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No Kevin, I should not. That would get me into trouble with the law. I did write the people a second notce to "cease and desist". This means they cannot contact me in any form. If they contact me I can take them to court and of course I will win. They clearly broke several laws that govern collection agencies.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shannon35 Jul 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Kevin, you have not the slightest clue about what you are talking about. The original complaint is valid and is right according to the law. Just because someone has debts, does not mean that they have to tolerate any abusive tactics and have every right to expect respect and their dignity intact.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.