SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Green Mountain Energy

Green Mountain Energy Company

1303 San Antonio Street, Suite 700
Austin, Texas
United States - 78701

Customer Service

+1 512 691 6100(Head Office) 1 0
+1 888 380 9410(Employee Directory) 1 1
+1 800 494 4000(Power Outages Or Other Emergencies) 1 0
+1 800 274 5289(Illinois) 1 0
+1 877 473 3646(Maryland) 1 0
+1 844 245 9583(Massachusetts) 1 0
+1 844 245 9582(New Jersey) 1 0
+1 800 636 5690(New York) 1 0
+1 800 542 8818(Oregon) 1 1
+1 800 286 5856(Pennsylvania) 1 0
+1 866 785 4668(Texas) 2 3

Complaints & Reviews

electric service

I was a green mountain customer for over four years. I just found out they switched my account with my neighbor and I own a tiny house so I overpaid severely for over 3 years. Basically this happened because I owned both houses until 2015. When I sold one house they took me off the wrong account. Oncor discovered this error (they called it an inadvertent gain in electrical lingo) during an investigation and now green mountain refuses to correct it. They even reported me to the collection agency for refusing to pay the last erroneous bill. My neighbor said their last bill was 32.77 and mine was 247.00 so I am not paying it I only owe 32.77 (which makes sense because I moved out and turn everything off but the fridge). I think I estimate I have paid about 1500.00 to much over 3 years. And also when I cut off my service my neighbor actually had service cut off instead because accounts were switched and they had to go to a motel in the middle of the night with their 2 year old and then they had to pay a 500.00 dollar deposit to have service turned back on even though I had cut it off.in addition to that my neighbors were told to get an electrician to come out when it kept getting cut on and off. It cost them 800.00 and they will never see that money again. Beware you have been warned about how they do business. I am now contacting an attorney, filing a complaint with the texas public utility commission, and the attorney general. Update: someone contacted me after this post from gm and during the conversation confirmed that they received a report from the december 17th oncor investigation on december the 26th. They put me on hold to file a dispute for reimbursement then came back and abruptly told me they could not help as it was under investigation with the texas public utility commission and the other department handling the matter had not concluded or discovered the error yet. Really??? Really??? Will the other department ever discover that error??? I will keep this updated. Its one thing to make a mistake-we all do and the average consumer knows this. Its another not to make it right. I will update this post if green mountain comes clean and treats me fairly. I want to be fair but I don't want anyone going through what I have gone through.

electric service

Green Mountain Energy Companyelectricity

I was a Green Mountain customer for over four years. I just found out they switched my account with my neighbor and I own a tiny house so I overpaid severely for over 3 years. Oncor discovered this error (they called it an inadvertent gain in electrical lingo) during an investigation and now Green Mountain refuses to correct it. They even reported me to the collection agency for refusing to pay the last erroneous bill. My neighbor said their last bill was 40.00 and mine was 147.00 so I am not paying it I only owe 40.00. I think I estimate I have paid about 3000.00 to much over 3 years. And also when I cut off my service my neighbor actually had service cut off instead because accounts were switched and they had to go to a motel in the middle of the night with their 2 year old and then they had to pay a 500.00 dollar deposit to have service turned back on even though I had cut it off. BEWARE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED about how they do business. I am now contacting an attorney, filing a complaint with the Texas Public Utility Commission, and the Attorney General.

Green Mountain Energy Company — final notice

536655 I have been with Green Mountain for ten years and at my current location for over three years. I have never experienced a problem like this before, but am extremely frustrated...

[Resolved] Green Mountain Energy Company — letter of credit

I concluded my 12-month residential electricity contract with Green Mountain Energy Company on June 22, 2017. I needed a “Letter of Credit” from Green Mountain to avoid paying a...

billing

I m on deferred payment plan. I removed myself from avg billing and wasn't informed that I'd have to pay the deferred plus current. I thought in was doing cheaper by...

separate transactions unauthorized

If and when charging a new service fee etc., why on earth would it take two separate transactions.I never approved or authorized green mountain to use my info in two separate...

billing department and customer service

All started on 12/10/15: due to credit card # change, I had to call with new number. Did so. Told I was told I was taken off automatic billing and would have to go on line to re-establish. I did, same day. The billing department and customer service are evidently not connected as they keep increasing my bills and saying past due. After more calls on 1/4, 1/7 the problem has never been corrected and the billing department keeps on billing me with late fees, bank fees and disconnect threats both via email and us mail. I tried calling today... They're closed. On 1/7, I was told to contact the bank because they were turning down the auto payments. Called the bank. The bank has never received any requests for withdrawals from green mountain in december or january and have never charge my account for any fees for returning any payment requests. This is all happening within green mountain departments. They now have a note on my account, "no checks, no credit cards". So how do I pay? I have been told twice that they are removing this flag. As of today 1/10/16, I am still unable to pay my bill on line. The payment requested to satisfy the problems on 1/7 was $51.82. I pulled up my bill today and it now shows $163.98 pass due and threats disconnect again! Beyond frustrating!

extra fees on bill

Green Mountain energy is a total rip off. I was not aware nor informed in the initial contract that if I am late paying not only do I have a late charge but I also incur a $20...

fraudulent business practice

Beware of the salespeople from green mountain energy who sell from door to door and the people that trained them. They are criminals. We've just switched from bounce energy to...

not very green

For a company that prides itself on green credentials, their pricing structure rewards the largest consumers & financially penalizes the more frugal electricity user. Check their...

switched energy service from a former energy supplier without my permission

Energy supplier called “ Green Mountain Energy” switched energy service from a former Energy supplier “ PECO Energy” without my permission. When I called them and asked what i...

unauthorized disconnection notice

I started with this company in April 2014 and it's been the most horrible experience. They charge for unauthorized late fees with no notice. Then if you make a payment...

Green Mountain Energy Company — harassment

I was approached by a Green Mountain Representative while out in the city. He spoke to me about their PECO alternative, and I agreed to take a further look upon arriving home...

service / billing

No notice given my bill went from 200 to 553. When I called they basicly said it is what is. They gave me no notice that the rate was going no option if I wanted to choose a...

wrongful power disconnection

I was placed on a payment plan March 5th, 2014. I was told by the representative that set me up on a payment plan to always go by my statement as far as the amount I'm...

billing and customer service

Green Mountain Energy changed our pricing structure without notice and refused to correct their billing. Their supervisor, Sergio, was rude, telling me I was irresponsible in...

charges

I was living in apt #2606 and moved to apt #3604 in the same apartment complaex and i called green mountain to transfer the services from my earlier apartment to new apartment...

billing / unfair fees

Green Mountain Energy has the most unfair practices of any electric company I've ever been associated with. Recently, when my family moved from one residence to another, I...

fraud

A Green Mountain Energy Salesman kept coming around trying to switch us. We learned from a previous experience that their prices are significantly higher that other services. Thi...

switched after I said no

I was at a festival and my niece wanted a baloon from the Green Mountain Energy Booth. The lady told my 4 yr old niece they were only giving them to people who completed their...

Green Mountain — signed me up for service after I had already called to cancel it

This company came to my residence to offer their services, which I accepted at first. But, after going online & seeing how they operate & swindle their customers, I called back...

deceptive practices

I was approached by Tony with Green Mountain Energy at a local grocery store. He obtained some information from me and gave me his cell phone number so my husband could call him to get more information about the company and possibly switch to their services. I repeatedly asked if our service would be switched and Tony assured me he wouldn't do anything until he spoke with my husband.
Well, guess what? We got a letter about a week later saying our service was changed. I'm not on the current TXU account, but they switched the service to Green Mountain without my husband's consent.
I'm sure they're a great company - glad that there's a more 'green' company out there, but their deception has changed my mind about it.

  • Gr
    GreenMtnEnergy Mar 01, 2013

    I'm very sorry to hear that you had a less than acceptable experience with a Green Mountain representative. We strive to ensure that our agents are transparent about the sign up process, and it's disappointing that you were left with a different impression. We take issues such as this very seriously, and we would like the chance to make this right. If you could contact me at [email protected] and provide the full agent name and ID number, we would very much appreciate the opportunity to investigate further.

    0 Votes

misrepresented rate and terms

We received a group of Solicitors at our door marketing Green Mountain Energy. They asked us if we would switch to cleaner Energy company which would save the environment and also...

auto draft and refund

On January 29, 2013 Green Mountain Energy drafted my bank account twice through the auto pay system due to their "system error". GME failed to notify their consumers. I made...

changed us company w/o permission

was approached at my home by a green mountain energy representative I was asked if we wanted to switch to green mountain we said no. next next thing we know we received a letter...

poor service

Customer service did not cancel service. I called a month in advance to notify them when I needed to cancel service. Just recently received a bill in the mail. It has been two...

I am never giving gme another look back

Just spent 2 and a half hours on the phone with the company.

Been with them for several years and never really had any problems. Sure, we've had a few "lates" but nothing like the past two years while we have been small on funds (who hasn't been in this economy).

But, in May, due to a clerical error, when I made a payment online, the payment was "returned". I even called to let them know that I'd made the error, and sent in a second payment.

Well, don't make clerical errors with GME! They turn off your ability to pay online if you have any funds returned for any reason. BUT they did not tell me that I had to make any and all further payments to them at an authorized payment center. On top of that, they didn't tell me that I had to make all payments in the form of CASHier's check or CASH order for the next year either!

SO, when I chose to make them "pay monthly" through my bank, I didn't reckon anything about it. UNTIL…

I made the payment, a sum that included past due charges, last night. This morning, I get my mail, and there's a notice from them saying that I had a discconnect notice that had to be answered YESTERDAY!!! I call to see if they've gotten my payment, which I quickly realized they didn't get.

THAT is when I found out that I HAD to make the payment YESTERDAY before 8 pm, AND IN a CASHIER'S CHECK!!!

The "customer service executive" should not be making anything more than minimum wage. Their hands are tied so that the only things they can do is tell you why you cannot make a payment on line, that their website is not an "up to the minute" website. They cannot stop a turn off notice, they cannot let you speak with a manager, they cannot note the account that you have tried and are trying to make a payment…

2 and half hours it took before we finally got somewhere. Someone (finally claimed to be a manager – and I have to say she was honestly pleasant) FINALLY said they could and would cancel the disconnection notice, and "flip" the account to accept the payment that my bank had already pulled funds to pay. But, she could not reverse the CASHier's check or CASH order requirement for the next year.

IF I HADN'T JUST signed up for another year with a huge penalty for cancelling the contract, I wouldn't do business with GME any more. Next year, I plot on changing companies, and NEVER giving GME another look back.

  • Gm
    GMECTracey Sep 20, 2011

    I work at Green Mountain HQ. I would love to speak to you about your concerns. Please call me at 1-888-380-9410 X6336. Thank you! Tracey Adams

    0 Votes

billing/customer service

Horrible customer service. I called on 8/25/11 to inquire why I was being charged for electricity that we had cancelled on 7/15/11 when we moved. I was told it would be resolved. Then, yesterday on 9/8/11, I see a charge taken out of my bank account AGAIN from Green Mountain. So I called, and after 30 minutes of being on hold, was told that one of the employees made an error. They said that they couldn't credit it back to my bank account, and that a refund in the form of a check would need to be processed which would take two weeks and then it would need to be mailed. Well, if they took the money out of my account with no hesitation, you would think that they could click a button and put it back in like every other company. As fun as it is to pay electricity for two homes, it's not really feasible for us. I find it amazing that they can't help their customers resolve simple billing issues in a timely manner. I will no longer be supporting this company, and I suggest whoever may read this that you do the same.

  • Gm
    GMECTracey Sep 12, 2011

    I work for Green Mountain Energy Company and would be happy to look into your issue and will help resolve the issue promptly. You can email me at [email protected] or call 1-888-380-9410 X6336

    0 Votes

billing/service/everything

Hands down the worst billing service ever. I live in a loft apartment and was charged $700 last month for every bill I have already paid. Went through a month of arguing that a 1...

disconnected us for no reason and left us and our kids in the cold!!!

We went out of town for two weeks prior to the two weeks my husband called the electric company to find out about our bill, ect. We went on vacation and couple days later our...

Green Mountain Energy / Oncor Electric Delivery — billing/meter issues

As of January 01, 2011, my electric meter, along with several others in my neighborhood, had been missing its lock for 4 months. I reported the problem to my rental lease office...

billing on closed account

Two years ago we ordered our service cancelled and account closed the day we moved from our apartment into our duplex because we decided to switch our service to TXU. When we cancelled our service with GM we had a balance due of about $350 which we were prepared to make payments on. A month after moving to our new place we received a collections notice from Credit Systems International (CSI) for an outstanding balance of over $950!!! When trying to contact customer service about it I got lost in the voicemail labyrinth and just gave up, willing to take the hit on my credit report. That was until now, when I've just received a phone call from June West at CSI who proceeded to try to scare me into paying this so-called debt, as well as berate me for not taking her repeated calls in the past (they total one a day, at least). I have now constructed a buzz-off letter which is found on Ben Dover's website regarding consumer rights and will make sure everyone I know is aware of the unethical and immoral business practices Green Mountain employs on a daily basis. It is unbelievable to me that this and other large utility companies are allowed to treat people the way they do. When are we as consumers going to yell loud enough to be heard to make a difference? When are we going to finally just get sick of it all and bring companies like these down?!

  • Gm
    GMECTracey Feb 04, 2011

    I work for Green Mountain Energy Company and would be happy to look into the issue for you. You can reach me 1-888-380-9410 X6336. Thank you! Tracey Adams

    0 Votes

poor customer service

Just spent 2 and a half hours on the phone with this company. Been with them for several years and never really had any problems. Sure, we've had a few "lates" but nothing...

rip off / f.o. s.

i just can not believe it.. we are only 2 adults and 2 babys in a 1 single house, we had direct eneggy for a while and we decided to switch to Green mountain energy since alot of...

rip off!

I have been with Green Mountain for the last 4 years and today my bill inexplicably DOUBLED. When I called to get it taken care of they told me that not only have they been "estimating" what my bill is each month, but that there is nothing they can do and that I would have to pay it. When I told them I wanted proof of these charges they told me there was nothing they could do. I told them that I would switch to Reliant if this was not resolved and they could not have cared less. So I switched to reliant today and did some digging, came across this:
http://www.boycottgreenmountain.com/index.html

and found out all sorts of other fun facts about Green Mountain. They are HORRIBLE! RUN AWAY!

incorrect billing

I signed up for Green Mountain Energy because I wanted to help the green power movement. This was before I saw all the shady stuff that they do to get most of their power. I got...

dishonest billing practices

I was a Reliant Customer for years, but switched about a year ago to Green Mountain Energy soley because it is 100% renewable and I felt I needed to do my part for the environment, even though they were a bit more expensive.

After 9 months with them, I noticed my bill had really increased (in the winter...when my electric bill is usually lower). So I started studying all of my bills. The reason for the increase was that they increased my kw/H charge..really hiked it. But per my contract, they can do that. But what I found that was really disturbing was I was charged late fees on 3 of my 9 bills. I'm never late with bills! I do online banking and my bank guarantees the merchant will have the payment by the due date input by me and I always put the due date or the day before.

So, I called them to see when they had received these 3 "late" payments (they don't put that information on your invoice like most companies) and they kinda hide the fact they you were even assessed a late fee...I think they don't want you to notice...just like I didn't until I studied them. Turns out that they did receive each of these 3 payments on their due dates, but received them after 11 am, so they didn't post until the next day and hence they consider them late.

I questioned how they can be late if they are received ON the due date. It's just how their receiving department works...if they don't make it in the morning "batch" to be posted, then they make it in the evening one which doesn't actually post it in their system until the next day (1-2 am the next day). I told them this wasn't right, that they need to tell their customers that (i.e. tell them that they will be assessed a late fee if it is not received by 11 am on the due date...you know...be honest with them). They refused to change anything even after I told them I'd report these dishonest practices to the BBB.

So, I ended up having to report them to the BBB. The resolution I requested was to have them either change their posting system to not assess late fees if it came in on the due date OR to let customers know that they will be charged a late fee if received after 11 am on the due date. Green Mountain responded simply that they are allowed by law to assess late fees. So basically they didn't address the issue at hand. So I responded (via the BBB process) that they did not address my issue. My issue is not with them assessing late fees, but that they do it when the payment was not late. Green Mountain's response was that their position remains the same (i.e. they are not going to be honest with their customers).

So I wanted to warn consumers out there about this. My feeling is that if you cannot trust a company to be honest, even with the things customers can see, how can you trust them with things that you cannot see (i.e. is their energy really 100% renewable)? We have no way of knowing...and frankly I don't trust them to do the right thing based on my experience with them.

So, I've looked on the internet for other electrical provider options. Turns out there are plenty! People (like me) think that Green Mountain is the only option if you want all green (renewable) energy. But wow, there are many others who offer 100% renewal and most of them are cheaper! There are all sorts of things to compare (locked in rates for 12 months or 18, etc). I found a great deal and have switched. It was so easy. Not only will I be paying less, I can remain green without paying a company who is conciously deciding to partake in dishonest business practices.

If you want to see the other options, there are many websites (google with the words energy company texas). One that is really insightful is http://www.powertochoose.org/ Read all about it and compare companies and their rates. There are programs within most companies that are 100% renewable.

Good luck, and please join me in not giving dishonest companies our business.

  • Bi
    BillWilliam Feb 28, 2009

    If your bank did not make the payment on time the statement "I'm never late with bills! I do online banking and my bank guarantees the merchant will have the payment by the due date input by me and I always put the due date or the day before." Then your disagreement is with your bank. While I think GM is being picky all businesses have to have some exact time when a bill due is on time or late. If it was your choice to make the payment at the last second, as it appears, then you ran the risk of being late sometimes.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    AP87 Feb 17, 2010

    You know that they use the same energy as reliant, right? Nothing renewable about. All they do is hike the $/kwh because it is "green".

    If you would have set up an EFT with GM all of your bills would have been on time.

    Oh well.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Nov 16, 2010

    The SCAM is the 100% Renewable Energy. They might generate wind power. But they dump into the grid to the main power station. Wind power and Solar are only 17% of total grid. So your still getting 83% Coal/Natural Gas Powered Electric. The scam is they make it sound like your power is 100% Wind or GREEN. Its not its marketing scam that plays on peoples Ignorance. Also what happens when the wind isn't blowing? One sales rep told me not to mention nationwide usage only talk the area we live in. That was his response to my statement that they'd have to cover all of Connecticut with windmills shoulder to shoulder to power NEW YORK City. I said we would all have to windmills in our yards. Everything goes into the, The grid pushes power across state lines. They lie with the deceptive sales practices.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    savethepenguins Dec 21, 2011

    Actually, I work for Green Mountain Energy. It's not a scam. Sure, our electricity goes into the whole grid, but by doing that, it replaces electricity made by the polluting factories. It OFF-SETS about 400 pounds of carbon dioxide in the air in a year, just from one customer. The Empire State Building is powered with GME, and they, alone, off-set millions of pounds of carbon dioxide. So you probably had an idiot that came to your door and explained it to you improperly. But don't call this company a scam. I know for a fact, it is not. ALL of the energy produced goes into the grid.. but by you buying GME energy... it puts that much more cleaner energy, into the grid.

    0 Votes

billing

Worst customer service ever! They are just a shadow company and at the mercy of reliant to do anything. I protested the horrendous billing post-ike and received empty promise...

Green Mountainterrible service

Before I begin this story, let my start off by thanking my mom for preparing me for times like this. My story is a sad one it starts off with me and my girlfriend living in a one bedroom apartment. Because I was having money problems and trying to rob Peter to pay Paul my creditors were demanding payment. Like any other blue collar family me being the man of the house it was my job to make sure these creditors got paid.

I was instructed by Green Mountain customer service that my account had to be paid at a payment location instead of over the phone. I must admit I had written two checks that did not clear this was my fault and I take full responsibility for it. After, about three months my girl friend had to pay the bill at a location known as Ace Check Cashing. Ace would take the payment and report to Greenmountain the bill was paid.

For about three months this system worked until November 04, 2008. My girlfreind paid our electric bill on time as usally. When we arrived to our apartment on November 12, 2008 we were shocked to find our lights were disconnected.

The first thing we did try to call the Green Mountain, It was past 8pm so the company was closed. The automated service said to call a different number after hours. I called the after hours number and was told my lights were turned off because of none payment.

I turned to my girlfriend and could not believe she did not pay this bill. I was in the middle of getting visitation of my child's for the holidays and all I could think about is what if this would have happen while my kids where here.

After, I took a walk my girlfriend showed me the receipt were she had paid the bill on November 04, 2008. The bill was paid and there was a balance that was not due until November 11, 2008. i waited until the next day to call the light company after sleeping my home and it was 42 degrees that night.

When I made it to work my girlfriend called me she said Green Mountain Had said the payment was not received and in order to get the lights turned on we had to pay another $154.00 dollars plus a re connect fee of up to $200.00 dollars.

I decided to call the company Green Mountain myself I spoke to and Manager she said that her company did not get the payment info from Ace so I had to pay all these fees. I was outraged because we had paid the bill. I told them ok and when I returned home that afternoon my lights where still off.

I know there are families out there who have issues worst than the one me and my family experience but who has the right to make any family suffer. It is time to make these big companies out there realize there are families who live from check to check and when they have to start wondering about the companies who promise to be understanding and ethical this country is in store for a major downfall.

When we complained we were told be Green Mountain it was Ace fault And Ace said it was Green Mountain fault.