Grand Canyon Universityfinancial aid/president of gcu

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I am sending forth this complaint about GCU (Grand Canyon University) which is supposed to be a Christian college. I had been wanting to attend school at GCU since Dec. 2007. I submitted the paperwork and did my financial aid papers. I waited and waited for the financial aid department to contact me; and they never did. So I became suspscious after redoing my financial aid online.

After I had seen that GCU had my financial aid papers for months, I called them to see what was going on. A representative name Tom had gotten really rude with me. He stated it was my responisibility to contact them about the financial aid. Now I'm a new student; not a repeat student. This had been five months by that time; and I realized I could've started at GCU since May 2008.

I kept calling and calling and kept speaking with Tom who had refused to allow me to speak with the head financial aid in this case was/is Tim Fisher. After speaking with two other representatives, I was told to send an email of my complaint. I had sent several complaints. Mr Fischer I spoke with on the telephone; had told me that if I wanted to attend GCU and he apologized to call him directly. Well this ended being a lie. I had several more issues/problems to arise with the financial aid department, and I called Mr. Fischer and sent him numerous emails and no call back or response.

I tried to contact Mr. Eagan and ended up speaking with Tom and Valerie who are representatives of GCU; and began the process all over again. After getting an email address and direct number for Mr. Eagan who is the manager of GCU; then again no response at all. Neither Mr. Eagan, Mr. Fischer bothered to contact me. So December 2008, I wrote to the president of GCU whose name is Dr. Kathy Player, and she never bothered to respond back to my letter. After approximately a month & a half, I received a letter from Mr. Fischer stating he wanted to do a conference call. So what Dr. Kathy Player did was passed my letter back to the one who lied and I had the problem/issue with to begin with.

I sent Mr. Fischer an email stating my time was wasted dealing with GCU and how poorly a Christian University is about the customer service I received for months. I needed my finanical issues to be corrected. As of this day, my situation hasn't been solved. I did made an attempt to call Mr. Fischer who as in the past is never in the office. I guess Dr. Player is what she is a player.

Extremely poor service at a Christian University, how sad. This complaint could go longer. I have every email and documentation of the long issues I have gone through for the past year and a few days with GCU.

Responses

  • Ja
    JaclynFulmer1996 Jan 11, 2020

    I had a disbursement made on 12/10/2019. My account says its -3339.80. How long should I have to wait until I recieve a stipend check? Or will I recieve one?

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Cristy M. Nov 02, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Forever to respond and when this particular "professor" did, she was RUDE and never helpful.
    You walk blindly through each course.
    Worst school ever.

    0 Votes
  • Vo
    Von1906 Nov 02, 2019

    Why am I still waiting for my stipend that was mailed on the 8th. I have been in contact and for this university not to do direct deposit is troublesome? I've called several times to the department's tide with disbursements. With these being federal funds and me not having them in hand looks very bad for GCU. Someone needs to correct this adapt!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina1983 Oct 01, 2019

    Hello I'm in my first week of online class at GCU. Can anyone tell me how financial aid works here? I like this school, but I see a lot of negative on here. I just want to know more about financial aid. When does it post the disabursment on your portal.

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    yung.lewis bra Sep 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was advised by my student counselor that I would receive a certain amount of funds left over from my aids. I plan on buying a new laptop with it I can't get any to tell me anything about anything

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crissy jackson Aug 19, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    grad student - my account says stipend 8/12/19 does that mean my check was sent out ? I'm super new to GCU so I'm looking for insight

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shea25 Jul 18, 2019

    This college a rip off. I dont understand there process for getting disbursements. I only gotten one and I be there almost 6 months. I thought it was every months. They have their own thing. Nobody else does their disbursement GCU.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trisha1973 Jul 14, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just curious as to how you know how much your refund will be and when it will be available

    0 Votes
  • Co
    CourtneyG2018 Feb 11, 2019

    It seems like everytime I enter GCU the "security guards" only check my ID. A ton of people who are walking both in front of me and behind me NEVER have to flash their IDs so I'm just wondering why a 5'2", 115 lbs freshman looks dangerous or suspicious. This school's "security" is a joke.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    keyboardcryer Oct 20, 2017

    My student teaching was in a 5th and 6th grade Social Studies classroom. It was the day to use the WhiteBoard. The host teacher set it up for me! We were studying Explorers and one place on the Whiteboard was the Princeton.edu website. It was set up with a picture of the Patagonian Giants reported by many explorers. Susan Rice, hearing of my dismissal for filming class, spent 2 hours with the host teacher going over every aspect of my days spent there thus far. The story she came up with was that I was teaching on giants, even though I had teaching materials and work sheets filled out by students, as well as games that we had played that day on the explorers. But according to GCU, I was dismissed for teaching on giants! I was then informed if I wanted my degree, I had to pay for and take disciplinary classes! I stormed about this for a while, but what could I do? I took them. This was in December/January and we were hit by a huge snow storm. Electric, phones, internet, everything was out for several days. By the time I got to read email, I discovered that in 3 days, I was to appear for a new student teaching gig. Now I had to work while in college. I was a live in home health care aide for a stage 4 cancer patient, I needed more than 3 days to arrange for her care! Sorry, but by refusing this placement I had refused my degree!!! Too bad so sad, they didn't owe me anything! So here I am, and may the Lord judge between us!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    keyboardcryer Oct 20, 2017

    From: Tichy, [email protected]>
    To: [email protected]>
    Cc: [email protected]>
    Sent: Sat, Oct 5, 2013 2:05 pm
    Subject: RE: documentation

    Dear Ms XXXXX,

    When our office received the very first email from Ms Sarah Rice at Grand Canyon University requesting a student teacher placement, I read the GCU Student Teaching Manual and replied by email to Ms Rice that we would not be arranging a placement because we could not agree to videotaping of students and uploading the video to a website that is not under our management as well as the extra logistics involved with obtaining permission slips and supervising students who do not have permission slips.

    Ms Rice then called our main telephone number and told the Superintendent’s secretary that videotaping is not required.

    In fact, she stated the following in an email:
    The videotaping is typically completed in remote areas where we do not have a physical employee of the university to complete site supervisions. We have multiple site supervisors that are local in your area and there will not be videotaping for this particular student.

    For this placement request, there will be a GCU Faculty Supervisor who is local in the area, and a GCU-approved supervisor who has oversight responsibility for the development, implementation, and evaluation of the teacher candidate. The GCU supervisor is also certified, endorsed, and/or licensed as a teacher. This individual will work closely with the teacher candidate, the cooperating teacher, and the course instructor, to ensure that the quality, integrity, and outcomes of the student teaching (clinical practice) experience meet the university’s standards.

    The site supervisor will come out four times during the student teaching placement. There will be no surprise visits; the site supervisor will always correspond with the
    cooperating teacher to set up those times.

    I continued to question the discrepancy between what Ms Rice was saying in phone conversations and in email messages with statements in the Student Teaching Manual. Ms Rice replied in an email:
    Thank you for your email. You are correct, I am referring to the portions in the student teaching manual where next to the videotaping information it says, “if appropriate.” The “if appropriate” is referring to the situation where a physical site supervisor is not able to be assigned and the video conferencing is an option. In this situation, I have confirmed with my colleagues that assign site supervisors for students that this particular student will have a site supervisor who is local and will physically come to the site for evaluations.

    So you have our good faith, I would be happy to provide you documentation stating that videoconferencing will not be used. Please just let me know who you would like the document from, and I would be happy to provide that to you.

    Based on this assurance, I pursued a student teaching placement for you. As you know, it was not easy to locate a placement that met GCU’s expectations for the teaching schedule.

    When I learned that indeed there was no local supervisor from GCU, and that there was videotaping with the expectation of uploading which violates our procedures about only allowing postings on website domains that we can manage, I immediately told Dr Johns that the student teaching arrangement needed to be terminated. GCU completely violated the agreement on which I ever agreed to seek a placement – a local supervisor and no videotaping – and we cannot and will not post videos involving students to domains not under our management.

    Based on the assurance from Ms Rice that there would be no videotaping and there would be a local supervisor, I did not share with Dr Johns all the communications that went on between Ms Rice and myself on this issue. Based on the assurance, it seemed reasonable for Dr Johns to expect that the normal things that happen when a school has a student teacher would happen in this case.

    Please be assured that there was no way we could or would “overlook” the breach of the onsite supervisor, no videotaping agreement – it was the premise on which a placement was sought, and we first declined to have a student teacher – any student teacher from GCU – because of those requirements. Only when we were assured that there would be a local supervisor and no videotaping in your particular case, did we proceed. That has nothing to do with you as a student teacher or as a person – at the time that decision was made, the only thing I knew about you was your first initial and your last name.

    If, when Dr Johns conveyed the decision to terminate to GCU, Ms Rice asked her about your performance to date, that was beside the point. When I personally talked with you, since you were coming from a university we have not worked with before, I did explain to you the kind of portfolios student teachers bring with them and I explained the absolute need for public conformity with the teachings of the Catholic Church. If GCU did not prepare you well for the student teaching experience, and did not staff to provide you with the local support of an onsite supervisor, that is a separate issue to pursue with them.

    Sincerely,
    Dr XXXxTichy
    Tichy
    Associate Superintendent for Instruction and Special Education
    Archdiocese of St. Louis
    Catholic Education Center
    4445 Lindell Boulevard
    St. Louis, MO 63108

    I was blamed for this mess. I went to the BBB Guess who sat on the board for the overseeing of universities? Guess who gives the most money? You can't fight the university; nothing you can do to them can ruin them like they do you, nothing!!! 160+ college credits, all tests taken and paid for, $70, 000 in debt, 3.89 GPA AFTER they gave me bad grades for my supposed misconduct! After my computer was searched for illegally gained classroom film, of which I had no idea wasn't allowed, in fact I was instructed to do, GCU wins. I am almost homeless. I try to get a job and I am told it wouldn't matter if I had 560 college credits, without my degree, I may as well work at Walmart. GCU portrays a Christian college when in reality, they have some to steal, to kill and to destroy. I wait for the day the Lord deals with their evil, disgusting ways!!!

    1 Votes
  • Us
    User1500922174 Jul 24, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In case you thought this was "old news" and they had improved, they have not. I wish I'd researched further this side of the school before allowing my son to attend. We are in financial aid hell right now. We have been going through verification with them since April. It is now the end of July. They have a terrible communication system that only allows you to speak with your advisor and no one else. What's worse, the advisors are really recently graduated students who don't know what they're doing at all and are slammed with too many students to manage. They supposedly have a 24 hour turn around response time, meaning they have 24 hours to reply to your email or phone call. However, simply sending you an email saying "working on it" suffices and they're off the hook until you nag them again. That same 24 hour time seems to apply interoffice as well. Only my son's advisor can speak with the Office of Financial Aid- we cannot. There isn't even a number published and if you attempt to go through the main phone line to them they'll redirect you to your advisor. Even trying to contact the Office of the President re-routes you to your advisor as well. The only option you have is to call their supervisor who will in turn refer you back to your advisor. It's nonsense and nothing gets done. I have pages of evidence from detailed notes of all phone calls and hundreds of emails trying to get the financial aid in order. I know my son qualifies for aid because his younger brother got his financial aid at a different school without all of this hassle. I am looking for who I am going to complain to next and possibly sue for discrimination. I am going through a divorce right now, and they've even asked me to provide them a detailed account of my separation and reason for the divorce. This is so unethical and inappropriate. I know they're a Christian university, but they're not acting Christian and they are asking things that are none of their business. I would tell anyone out there to stay away from GCU! Run!!

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    California1979 Nov 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My "enrollment counselor" did not tell me about the class drop policy before he enrolled me in classes. My "enrollment counselor" did not tell me that I would be unable to drop classes after Week 1. My "enrollment counselor" did not have me speak with a Financial Aid Advisor BEFORE he enrolled me in classes.

    1 Votes
  • Qu
    Quien Lo Sabe Feb 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GCU is owned and run by Mormons. It's not a "Christian" school. They don't want that getting out since the U. Of Phoenix - also Mormon-owned - was successfully sued for discrimination against non-Mormons. The LDS "church" is known for purposefully hiding the fact that they own certain companies. Mormons are NOT Christians; they are a cult. They teach their followers that any other faith is evil and that non-Mormons are sinners. They teach HATE. They say people with dark skin are the descendants of Cain and have no souls. Mormons teach their female followers that they should not work outside the home; their "jobs" are to please their husbands have as many children as possible. The LDS church convinces its men that in the afterlife they will become the god and owner of their own planet and will have many, many wives. It's a made-up fake "religion" founded in the 1800s by a man named Joseph Smith, who was a con artist and crook. He died in a gun fight while serving time in jail. The Mormons tell their people that Smith was a martyr. He was a fraud. He wrote "doctrines" which he claimed were told to him by God himself. Those doctrines all contradict each other, but the LDS church reads them and follows them, ignoring the contradictions. Mormons are ALL about money and will lie, steal, cheat, or do whatever to make money. Stealing is a major past time. White collar crime is their specialty. Trust me. Stay far, far away from anything owned by Mormons. They own many banks, radio stations, schools, the Utah Jazz NBA team, La Quinta hotels, and even Priceline.com. If you don't believe me, do a little digging on the Internet. You just might find the proof. Better yet, ask an ex-Mormon who is so relieved and grateful to have escaped the clutches of that brainwashing cult! They are more than happy to share the TRUTH about the LDS "church". Do NOT believe ONE word that is spoken by anyone affiliated with that school. Run!

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    PandaLadi Sep 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Not every situation is the same. I am sure some of you had good overall experiences with GCU and some did not. SO its not fair to say that someone is B****ing, they may have a valid situation which supports their claim. I, however, did not have a good overall experience with GCU. It is better if you file your complaints, especially about financial aid and not just about your refund, to the bbb.org. I could care less about a stipend. I just want a valuable education.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    thistiff Apr 22, 2014

    I understand that financial aid departments at school can be difficult to deal with. I have went to multiple scold and experienced issues. I am currently enrolled at GCU. I'm on my 7th class. So far, every experience has been great. I even failed out of a class because my grandmother passed away and I had family issues. GCU paid for this class so I would not have a balance. I just wanted to share my positive experience. Hope you all get resolution.

    0 Votes
  • He
    helpless Sep 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am still fighting to have my loan dismissed with the Fed Loan, I was and still am permantely disabled and GCU knew this, why send a loan when I said no, I did not know the worksheet was the loan application and they told me what to put on the worksheet. so what do I do...since
    That Aya and Brian made False Certification, I am planning on sueing, and Aya was told that I was Permanantly disabled at time of her having me fill out a loan application, and in fact I have copies of where she faxed it back, (her and Brian), and told me what to put in the form that what I put would not work, and I told her again, DO NOT send any thing for a Loan as I know for fact that I will be approved for D.A.R.S. (Texas workforce) as I already checked, and that I would be able to get PALE Grant due to disability and income, but they did not even file for it...this proves my case, that they just filed for loan ignoring that I would get a grant...I faxed for Pale and sent information for D.A.R.S. to them as well...my suggestion is that you pay the Federal Loan as well any interest if any to get this off my credit, I promise, no threat, to get any media to take this public so others will not fall into the lies and debt, as well as find a attorney to take this...I already reported this to the Federal Loan, so next step is attorney...I need a response within the first of the coming week. Sheryl Holder
    And I have kept all emails...so talking on the phone is not acceptable...

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jeneen gabriel Jun 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Lets join together to stop them!

    1 Votes
  • Pl
    pluck_gcu Jan 03, 2013

    Grand Canyon University has incompetent finance counselors, they don't do their jobs right, and they mess up on your financial aid. They forgot to put my finanial aid verification paper work in for 3 weeks. Then tried to lie to me about the whole situation. If your looking for a easy way out GCU is great because the work is %th grade work. But the Degree's aren't worth a dang.

    1 Votes
  • TheRealEbonyMD Nov 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with Ice Man about Lanae Brose.

    She is absolutely not the best finance counselor at all. She sucks, point, blank, period. I have had to escalate to Brian in order for her to get on her job. She is horrible at email follow up and financial aide follow up. You literally have to stay on top of her to make sure everything is processed in a timely fashion. She sucks so much that I'm in my 4th week of my capstone and I still have not been awarded which I worry about since I have a balance for the capstone. I absolutely hate that I was re-assigned to her lazy butt. UGH!!!

    In addition, I wonder why we have to pay an expensive grad fee ($150) when we cannot even walk? I paid $45 for my cap n gown in my undergrad program. That's so appropriate but $150 and it doesn't come with a cap n gown or commencement ceremony? UGH!!! I hate that GCU only performs one commencement ceremony a year (in May) so if you graduate in December (like me) or the summer, you cannot have the memory of walking across the stage unless you're willing to wait a few months or more.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    keyboardcryer Oct 20, 2017

    @TheRealEbonyMD Just don't pay it ahead of time; if they come up with their usual runaround and add this or that, you lose your money . . . probably goes to the thief that can come up with a way to make you attend longer or buy disciplinary programs or whatever. Don't pay early, ever!

    0 Votes
  • TheRealEbonyMD Nov 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow.. I can't believe you all had to deal with all of this. I have never experienced any of these issues at all and I'm now in my capstone course about to graduate. I had the best financial counselor, Ashley Henry, when I started and she went above & beyond. She made sure everything about my file was complete, accurate and done in a timely fashion. When my aide dropped, she always contacted the financial processing dept so that they could send my check ASAP as opposed to waiting the standard 14 days of processing. I have had the best professors in my program and by the good grace of God, I'm graduating with a 4.0. Luis Barnett has been the BEST academic counselor as well. The only issue I have with GCU is the various times my finance counselor has been changed. I hate that because just when I build a rapport with one, GCU re-assigns me to another. I lost Ashley some time ago and I have absolutely missed her professionalism and expertise. I have even had to escalate an issue up to Brian Stuart (Finance Counselor Manager) and he, too, was very helpful. Anytime i have made a complaint, they addressed and resolved it immediately. I think the difference between me and you all is the way I handle them. Being nice doesn't always work. Start telling them you're going to the local news or to CNN to report this program nationwide. Start threatening a civil suit. More action, less talking because if you do not handle them sternly but respectfully, they are going to continue to walk over you.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    pluck_gcu Jun 08, 2012

    GCU is a scam i just started 5/28/12 and i see the financial aid department arent worth a darn, they subjected me to a financial verification i submitted all the info thats needed and the fafsa already email me back saying it was processed and submitted back to the school but GCU keep telling me that its still processing. The deadline for the fafsa is June 30th so i'm going to give them a chance if after then i;'m going to sue them for financial aid fraud and they are going to pay me enough to fund my full bachelors degree at another college cuz i will refuse to pay out of my pocket even for 1 credit.

    2 Votes
  • Ug
    ughgcu Jul 18, 2011

    A major lawsuit is what GCU is going to end up in. A nasty class action. My husband and I have had nothing but a nightmare. I have had to do everything that has been mentioned above. My husband now owes thousands of dollars because GCU applied an aware 7 times then did nothing about it. Its awful, nightmare. I am willing to quit and start over. Applied awards you don't need, extra credits that you suddenly need, wrong check amounts is wrong. For a financial department, this is your job to keep track. Though they will tell you it is your responsibility to check and keep it straight, if you do, it gets worse. Nightmare school.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    shankelong Jun 01, 2011

    What exactly was the problem that you had with GCU?You stated that they have lied to you and ignored you...what are the specifics?

    0 Votes
  • My complaint is that everytime I am due to graduate my academic advisor calls to tell me that I need more credits! This time a week before I am due to graduate she calls me to tell me I need 10 credits because while doing an audit on my credits they found that some transfer credits that gave me are no longer valid. Whatever! Now I am taking 3 more classes! I wonder what the next number of credits will be?

    1 Votes
  • Tp
    tpowers3 Apr 13, 2011

    I and three of my co-workers signed up with GCU in May of 2009 and we have had nothing but problems. When the representative from GCU came to our school to talk to us she expressed how everything that we took would transfer to Texas and would be applied to our major, which is where we live, but this turned out not to be true. Everytime we call to talk to someone we are speaking to new people it seems that each month we have a different academic and financial counselor. When you fail a class they drop you without telling you that you will have to for the class that you failed and if you drop a class you are responsible for paying for that class out of your own pocket. One of us had surgery and dropped a class but was not told that she had failed a previous class and therefore the dropped class would also show us as failed and that she would have to pay for the two classes and then after successfully completely three classes that she could reapply for financial aid. If she had known this she would not have dropped the class but the academic adviser did not tell her this. She has been out of school since Oct/10 and is now getting bills to pay back her loan. The three of us that our left have been in the same class but with different teachers until this time and one of us is enrolled in a class to do observation, we have been told that this is the wrong class but since she signed in to the Cybercafe that she has accepted the class and cannot be changed unless she wants to pay 25% of the class fee. We do not make up our class schedules they are set up by the Academic Counselor but that does not matter they will not switch her out of the class. On Monday, April 11, two of us got calls from an Adam wanting to know if we had posted out bios on the CyperCafe and if we hadn't we should do so asap. I wondered why the rush and didn't fine out until one of the girls talked to a Michael the next day and was told that once you post to the CyperCafe this mean you accept the class and the financial aid for that class will then be released to GCU. No wonder it was so important. They are ripping people off and the government as well. I will join any class action suit that is brought against GCU and I have four other students that will also join. I say we need to BRING IT ON!!!

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jefferymc Mar 24, 2011

    I agree with everyone on here complaining. i am currently enrolled at gcu and i have been waiting on my pell grant for 6 months. my financial aid advisor has been giving me the runaround and basically ignoring the fact that i have been struggling because i need this money to further my education. i have called them over and over and they consistently tell me that it will be here. i can not get the right response. oh and did i mention the rudeness. i have been told that it is my fault that i never got anything from them yet. i am very dissapointed with this school, and i dont think anyone should go here. if this is the christian lifestyle, then im going to convert to catholic.

    1 Votes
  • Fi
    Fight the Beast Mar 16, 2011

    GCU IS A NIGHTMARE! Are there any lawyers out there that will fight this monster??!! We needed a class action lawsuit yesterday!! No one holds them accountable!! They are the worst!!

    3 Votes
  • Br
    brokemom23 Sep 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Horrible experience with this school and I am also interested in joining a lawsuit, much like the one from UOP...they have lied so much they cannot even keep the story straight, they have taken my refund (which they are not legally allowed to do) and stated they applied it to a class I failed (ONLY because I cannot find any Teachers to interview and the advisers never call you back to enable you to find one, as if they want you to fail).

    I just need a number to someone governing over this University, someone who is not financially associated with them so I can get this mess straightened out and get my money they took from me, either sent back to the loan people and/or sent to me.

    Thank you

    2 Votes
  • De
    DESPISEGCU Aug 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    hahaha!! LOVEGCU: Isn't that the excuse that was used last year and the year before? "We're switching our systems" or "We're going through some changes" That's the excuse I was given in 2008 and 2009 now you're posting the same message for 2010. What a joke!

    What are you? I'm guessing one of GCU's commission based "enrollment counselors."

    Here are some more recent articles regarding an investigation into GCU and the second article about their financial aid program review/audit by the Department of Education.

    http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/press/grand-canyon-education-inc, 1421385.html

    http://www.azcentral.com/business/articles/2010/07/09/20100709Grand-Canyon-University's-aid-programs-face-scrutiny.html

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    LOVEGCU Aug 27, 2010

    I suggest each and every one whose been complaining and [censor]ing. GCu switched their system in the spring 2010 and has been doing everything they can to accomadate to each of you. Seems to me as if you are attending this school soley to get the financial aid money in your pocket rather than an education

    -3 Votes
  • Fr
    Frustrated and in debt b/c of GCU Aug 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All of my dealings with this university have been a nightmare. I sent them my checks for financila aid back and they have yet to return them to my lender and in the meantime (3 months) I am accruing the interest on money I don't have in my possession. DON"T ATTEND THIS SCHOOL!!!

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    MamaKrzewski Aug 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can attest to financial aid problems with this university as well. My husband enrolled shortly after I did. However, since FAFSA usees taxes from the prior year, and he was one of the people who gets randomly selected to "verify" his information (we'll see if this happens at another university), there was a mixup because his 2008 tax return said single, but I am listed as one of his dependents, as is our son. They said nothing about this, and we were calling and emailing regularly about this. My husband's financial aid counselor said that we need send nothing more. Well, turns out she dropped the ball.

    I found out at the end of May that what the school needed was a letter explaining what the marital situation was. We sent that, they said it wasn't good enough, we needed to replace numerical years for "last year" and "this year". I did that, and some idiot over there put a note in that "we sent the same letter". OF COURSE WE DID, DUMB*SSES, that's what you told us to do, we just made it clearer like you said!

    Come to find out, they got what they needed and never processed it, so now it's "too late" to access the financial aid money for that semester. So they'll just have to use what we would have gotten as a stipend to cover (if that can actually happen) their mistake.

    The manager of the military financial aid department has not returned my calls. The director of the school of business has not returned my calls. I've filed a complaint with the BBB, and if I have to hire a lawyer in their county to sue them for all the money we will have to pay back in loans, not to mention for our transcripts, I will. GCU BLOWS!!!

    1 Votes
  • Di
    [email protected] Jul 27, 2010

    @GCU is a blessing. Aren't you the lucky one. I have been at GCU since Feb 2009. I will be done with classes in another 10 weeks. Until this past semester things were good. However I find things a little shady when it comes to financial aid. It has been more than 30 days since my class started and I haven't gotten my loan. I couldn't buy a book for this class and from the look of things I will not be able to buy a book for my next class.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    keyboardcryer Oct 20, 2017

    @[email protected] I said the same at first. Don't count it done until it is done. Don't pay your graduation fees early, fair warning.

    0 Votes
  • Gc
    GCU is a Blessing Jul 26, 2010

    I'm really sorry all you have had problems with GCU. I started in October of 2008, and I've had NOTHING BUT a good experience. This semester and last there is a hold up on a lot of things because of them switching their terms to meet the standards of financial aid requirements. I have had issues at times with contacting my financial adviser, or my academic adviser, but one I get with them, they have been great help. One thing to remember is with the economy a LOT of people are going to school right now, and they are dealing with a lot and they can only do so much. Make your name known to them, and regularly e-mail and call them. I've had to contact them several times, and they are VERY accomodating for me. Also, I'm even still in contact with my enrollment counselor who has been wonderful and personal with me also! From someone here who went to a community college previously, they don't hold your hand every second like at a community college, you DO have to stand up and advocate for yourself. Again, I've had no problems whatsoever and as a single mom I've gone through some devastating things and the staff through GCU has offered prayers and been wonderful to me! I would not want to even consider another school. I have no investment to write this either, other than the fact that I love the school. THose complaining also I'm wondering what your academic standing is? Because if your not meeting academic standards that are required YES your loans and such WILL be cancelled. All my classes also allow christian content and philosophy and I seriously am happy with the school:)

    0 Votes
  • Ic
    ice man Jul 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello! Right now I'm going through a hard time with the finance department especially my advisor Lanae Bensor. I been in school since June 14th, 2010. They just found out now that I had loans from a previous school. They were supposed to call my lender and let them know I'm continuing my education so that I can get my previos loans on hold. I told Lanae this before I started school. I sent e-mails and even left messages but nothing. Her excuse was I'm busy and have lot's of students. My expirence at GCU has been HORRIBLE! All I get from them is everything is ok, don't worry about it, and your fine. This department is unprofessional, inexpierenced, and liars. I read all the bad reviews from GCU and didn't think this will happen to me but my goodness it has. I do pray that this school will be investigated and shut down because it's a thorn to people who want to better themselves and continue their education. Before I started class I goot nothing but phone calls from them sying we need this and fax this etc.. My academic advisor has not called or did a follow up. So it's not just this department it's all over the schoool. Now that I'm enrolled in GCU, the calls have stoped. SHAME ON YOU GCU!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Calledlife Jun 29, 2010

    Ive been attending GCU since March 2010. Between now and my start date, I had nothing but issues. It now June and my funds just posted from my financial aid. I ve had Three financial counselors, my current counselor, havent heard any thing from her in a month or so...wtf. I finished verification in March...but funds conveniently posted at end of june...so they can try and charge me for summer classes...This school is a joke... Never heard of a school without test...All the so call Counselors are just regular / fulltime Customer Care Reps...Please dont waste your time Here is a________________________ Expense Mistake

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Julia Ezell Jun 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank God I am not alone in this!!! Most people I talk to are completely rude and I get a different answer EVERY SINGLE TIME I call!!! I have been selected for verification EVERY semester. My husband, also a student, has as well. It is almost July and we have not received funds yet. Today I was told that I should have posted my information on the student portal...I have! MONTHS ago!!! Then he said the student portal would tell me that things were due-it hasn't, because everything has been turned in. Multiple times, at that because they keep losing our paperwork. They canceled one of my husband's July classes, they now say they can't get him into another one, and are telling us that it will mess up our financial aid. I don't know what to do anymore...my husband and I have a family and both work full time nights. We have had to make major cutbacks to be able to afford to go to school, and now we are stuck with a textbook we cannot get a refund on due to class cancellation, and we have to buy textbooks for other classes...this is coming out of pocket now and we can't afford it-that's why we had to get financial aid! I have contacted the Better Business Bureau with no results. I can't get anyone to get me to a supervisor in Financial Aid, and there are not any phone listings ANYWHERE on the internet for the school to be able to find the Dean or whomever else I can call. I am at the end of my rope. Someone please help me. I don't know what else to do.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Joey 7190 Jun 21, 2010

    This is not a complaint but just a simple question that I wish I could get answered. My daughter is going to attend GCU this fall. She has been a true Southern Baptist Christian since she was very young. I know many religions call themselves christian. My question is about who owns GCU. I heard it was recently taken over by the Mormon religion who also call themselves christians. I have no grievances toward any religion. People have their own choices and freedom of speech along with religious beliefs. I don't want my daughter to get sucked in by the whole christian speech that they use to lure students to later find out that she will no longer be involved in the southern baptist beliefs but indeed with the mormon beliefs. Someone who knows the answer to my question, please post your response as soon as possible. Thank you!!

    -1 Votes
  • Tb
    TBAllen May 01, 2010

    I'm so frustrated! It's May and GCU still hasn't posted my financial aid package for the [protected] school year. They say it may be the end of the summer before I get my financial aid. But I need that financial aid for living expenses!!! One person I spoke with said I can't use that money for living expenses which is ridiculous- that's partially what it's for!!! I verified this with the Dept. of Ed. No one returns my calls or emails. When I wait for the "next available advisor, " I'm told something different each time. I'm worried that there will be a screw up and I won't receive financial aid and I'll be stuck with a huge tuition bill. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can get them to communicate with me???

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.